We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Down to enjoy the views”
Review of Sir Lowry's Pass

Sir Lowry's Pass
Book In Advance
More Info
US$151.32*
and up
Private Full Day Tour: Whale Watching, Penguin Viewing and Wine Tasting from...
Ranked #160 of 376 things to do in Cape Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: E ' un belvedere sulla N2 e guarda False Bay
Cape Town
Level Contributor
406 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Slow Down to enjoy the views”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am not sure what the altitude drops is on the pass but it is significant. This leads to great views but the problem is that it is part of a National highway so the traffic moves very fast on it, slow down and enjoy the views, take pictures if possible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
791 reviews
468 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“A nice detour on your way back to Cape town”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Most people going between the cape and Cape Town will take the roads down in the valley and along the coast but I strongly recommend to take at least one way on this pass.

It has not many bends and curves and does not climb that high but it allows for the best view into Fals Bay and up to Cape Town which are possible. One nice picture stop but the traffic is normally not that intense so short other stops will be possible.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning views despite the late afternoon haze”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I drove down this 'Pass' on my way back to Cape Town after a day out via Stellenbosch, Franschhoek Motor Museum, Franschhoek Pass & Theewaterskloofdam. It was the icing on the cake with yet more stunning views over Somerset West. I'd missed the top photo stop so did a very quick stop at the road side midway down as traffic was very light. The views back up the pass from the bottom were equally good and had I had time, think I might have driven back up to the proper viewing location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank timcr005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
752 reviews
590 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Amazing views but hard to stop for a photo”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We drove through this pass on our way from Frankshoek back to Cape Town. There is only one viewing place at the very beginning of the pass (or the end depending on which direction you are travelling), if you miss it like we did then you have to go all the way back if you want a photo....we decided against it as had plenty of photos from what I think was nicer Frankshoek Pass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What view!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Travelled this pass on way back from Stellenbosch to airport and oh boy what a view over the valley to Strand and on to Cape Town. Do it if you can and the only downside was that we couldn't find a place to stop for a photo moment

Helpful?
Thank Linergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sir Lowry's Pass also viewed

Western Cape, South Africa
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Sir Lowry's Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing