We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour
Ranked #6 of 10 things to do in East End
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Behind the scene tours of the Blue Iguana Recovery Programme's captive breeding facility and a guided tour of the woodland trail. Monday to Saturday at 11 a.m. Tickets are available at the Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park's main gate.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This was a great tour...very informative and you see several blue iguanas of various ages. John is a great guide and answers all your questions. The recovery program is a very worthwhile cause. They're doing great work to save this species.

Helpful?
Thank scottstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    8
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must for all!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Previous reviewers (especially WMarkR) have clearly explained the importance of the Blue Iguana Recovery Program and I could not agree more. Being able to visit the breeding pens and view these highly endangered animals up close and personal was the highlight of my recent visit to Grand Cayman. John Marotta (Head Warden) led our tour (which took about 1 1/2 hours) and provided us with a wealth of useful information, not only about the Blue Iguana but also the vegetation and rock formations along the path to the breeding area. The cost of the tour was $20US.

More in information on (and ways to support) this Recovery Program can be found at:

http://www.blueiguana.ky/

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MidwestAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Be part of a success story”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

If you find yourself on Grand Cayman, don't miss the opportunity to see the world's only blue iguana species—yes, they really are bright turquoise blue, particularly on their faces and especially during the breeding season in April/May. Pictures don't truly do them justice.

The Grand Cayman Blue Iguana is endemic to this island and highly endangered, having all but disappeared in the wild just a few years ago. Thanks to the tireless efforts of the team at the Blue Iguana Recovery Program, which your tour fee helps to support, there are already around 650 Blue Iguanas living free in restored populations around the island. This is truly one of the most amazing conservation success stories anywhere.

While I can't imagine anyone not enjoying the chance to see these charismatic creatures up close on the tour, consider going a step further as we did and volunteering at the breeding centre for a day or half-day. We helped the enthusiastic, friendly and informative wardens John and Alberto tend to their captive-bred charges, gathering the iguanas' favourite leaves, and watering and feeding them. We considered it a real privilege to be able to contribute in such a direct and tangible way to the recovery of this beautiful animal.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An inspiring story”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had the great pleasure of a tour of the Blue Iguana Recovery Program with Fred Burton MBE himself. A very inspiring story of how these animals were saved from functional extinction. There's more to the Cayman Islands than beaches, diving and fancy restaurants!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best activity we did on the island”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This tour is fascinating. Lots of great information, all while looking at iguanas in all stages of development. We were lucky enough to see a couple female iguanas chasing each other because one was in the other's space. They came within feet of us. They are curious animals and you can get very close to them in order to look at them. It kept my interest for the whole tour and I would wholeheartedly recommend it. My only tip: getting out to the park is difficult if you don't have a car. But it is worth renting a car for the day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank julieAskimagine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing