We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saving the Blue Iguanas”

Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in East End
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Behind the scene tours of the Blue Iguana Recovery Programme's captive breeding facility and a guided tour of the woodland trail. Monday to Saturday at 11 a.m. Tickets are available at the Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park's main gate.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Saving the Blue Iguanas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Visited the Botanical Gardens and luckily arrived in time to participate in the Blue Iguana revovery tour. The naturalist conducting the tour was very passionate and knowledgeable about the program, he was the head warden. I was accompanied by an 11 year old and he was sensitive to conducting the tour for her entertainment and enjoyment also. Great to see a successful animal recovery program similar to the California condor .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great inside story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Visit the beautiful gardens first at 9a.m. then head over for the 11a.m. tour. Be on time they leave promptly! Our tour guide was very passionate and knowledgeable. Our tour consisted of 10 people, so you can ask all the questions you may have. We were able to take some excellent close up pictures and learn about the local plants and animals. Quite a success story implemented by a group of hard working people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSixofUsescapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative way to spend a few hours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

To be honest, I wasn't too keen on visiting this place but my wife is very keen about animals and helping endangered species so I went with the expectations of just tagging along while she enjoyed it. Safe to say, I was completely wrong and ended up enjoying more that her!

For start, it's a beautiful location. Long winding paths with a stunning variety of flora and fauna to look at and learn about. Our guide, John, was awesome. His tour was a great mix of enthusiasm, information, friendliness and light comedy. His passion for the iguanas is evident and after spending a few minutes in their company, I can see why he's trying to help save these majestic reptiles. We saw and learnt about all stages of the iguana life cycle, from the tiny, curious infants to the distinguished adults. Most of the iguanas were relaxing in their pens away from human contact but we got the pleasure of having 2 of the wild residents (eg: living freely in the reserve) cross our path. Slightly disturbingly they were called "Mad Max" and "Biter", but both didn't live up to their namesake thankfully and it was great to see the personable little fellas doing their own thing.

In the end we learnt a lot more than we ever expected about Blue Iguanas, Green Iguanas, plus some of the plants and culture on Grand Cayman! Overall, it was a great experience and really nice way to spend a few hours. The botanical gardens that surround the reserve are amazing as well and definitely worth a visit if you're inclined to that sort of thing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent! My children 5 and 8 have talked about it all day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed learning about the blue iguana recovery program! John did an amazing job answering my children's never ending questions, and we learned so much more about other island plants and animals. They were fascinated! It made a great start to another beautiful day. Everyone at the park was so friendly and helpful!

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This was a great tour...very informative and you see several blue iguanas of various ages. John is a great guide and answers all your questions. The recovery program is a very worthwhile cause. They're doing great work to save this species.

Helpful?
Thank scottstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour also viewed

 
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Blue Iguana Recovery Program Safari Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing