We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the reef provided the most wonderful 10 year anniversary trip imaginable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the reef provided the most wonderful 10 year anniversary trip imaginable”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We had the most wonderful trip to Grand Cayman Island! There were two major factors that lead to this. First, the location of the hotel was off the beaten path but had great food at the resort and near by. It was fabulous to be able to drive to the bigger city if we wanted nightlife or shopping but most nights we chose to stay right at the resort. The seclusion of the beach couldnt be compared to. Second, the staff at the reef made sure we had the greatest experience. Those that stood out to us were Frankie, Tony and Nick (the bartenders who were extremely knowledgeable and friendly) as well as a guide we had from white sand sports (Apollo) who was the most entertaining, energetic and knowedgeable of all the tour guides on our snorkling trips.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nascarchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    532
    175
    61
    28
See reviews for
494
792
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The Reef Resort is on the quiet side of the Island, so it is always peaceful, however if you want the night life, or the bustle of 7 mile beach, Georgetown is an easy 30 minute drive. (Driving is on the left but no one is in a hurry, so it is very safe)

The rooms all face onto the beach, are spotlessly clean, and well furnished. The beach is quite big and cleaned every morning. There is plenty of water sport activity and fun provided by “Whitesands” Apollo will always make you welcome, and perhaps demonstrate how to climb the nearby coconut trees! The Snorkelling off the beach is fantastic particularly under the dock of the adjacent resort Moritts.

It is difficult to fault the resort, but if you want to dine out there are only a handful of restaurants nearby, but this is the price you pay for such a fantastic peaceful resort.

The resort is a time-share, but the sales team are fantastic, very friendly and if you do opt for a free gift to partake in the sales pitch it is extremely low key and no pressure is applied whatsoever, as they all say “the resort sells itself”. We bought into the time-share on our second visit and we are now looking forward to our fourth visit later this year.

The must do trip is Stingray City, and a visit to the Kaibo restaurant at Rum Point.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I with our two young kids loved this place. When I booked the resort, I spoke with Camiel who was so great that I we bacame good friends. Suzy was alo great and helped us a lot. Tony at the bar was excellent so was Sandy, Maria and Boris.

We were given anything we asked for. The staff at the front desk was great and when they did not know what we asked, they said so with the smile. My family and I had a great time. We took all inclusive so it was great for us. But i realized that we did not eat as much as we thought so perhaps next time, we will not take this option.

We stayed at the beach all the time so for us, it was fine. We did not want to go anywhere as our lives are filled with running around so we wanted to just sit and enjoy the resort. If you are the type who likes to do explore the city, this resort might not be for you as it is far away. For us, it was perfect. By the way, ask the resort if you can be picked up at teh airport by Tropicana Bus company because that is waht we used when we left the resort to go to the airport and it was cheaper than taxi.

We were sad to leave but we will come back. Thanks Reef...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenpat052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

So we stayed at the Reef for 7days. The weather was awesome. The location was horrible. You absolutely need a car to get around. The resort was nice. Average but nice. Beach was a little rocky but not bad. It was beautiful and scenic. Lots of great snorkeling. But water shoes were a must!
The food in the resort was horrible. Firstly the menu is limited and costly. Drinks are small and really watered down with ice. Secondly, the resort is far from most amenities so the resort really has an opportunity to make the most for its guests. But they don't. I found that they overcharged for food and drinks. One other couple we traveled with did the all inclusive option and they wished they hadn't. It was costly for what you really got.

The staff are amazing! They made the visit great.

The Stingray Visit was AWESOME and I didn't mind suffering through the time share presentation as a result.

The other thing that really grated on my nerves was, for a resort that claims to be a 5 star resort they really should upgrade the quality of toilet paper. Seriously! There were so many times I would witness guests coming out of the bathroom with little pieces of paper following them. Think of the Charmin commercial.
Continental breakfast.... it wasn't great. We were on a tropical island and were not once served tropical fruit. The breakfast consisted of bread, bagels, Fruit (melon and grapes) and coffee/tea and juice. Yup that was it! Occasionally you could get muffins. But if the fruit jelly ran out then you were stuck with grape jelly until they went shopping again.

The best part of the resort was the sunrise, sunset and the quiet. Not bad place to stay if you are seeing the Caymans for the first time. But there are other places that provide more for the same value.

Restaurants we loved! TUKKA-- gosh the food here was AMAZING! Really worthwhile.
Cayman Grill and the Lighthouse. All great places. There are some other little spots we found for a quick bite but the fun was finding them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tabasc0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We did the all inclusive (AI), not too many reviews on it so I thought I would share. So here are my pros and cons including AI.

Pros:
- Location is away from the hustle and bustle of the cruise ships. We did rent a car and found that to be very helpful. $20 per person for a shuttle each way from the airport or george town or you can just pay $200 for a rental car for the week.
- Quiet beach with plenty of beach chairs.
- We took a snorkeling trip with the White Sands and it was awesome, Apollo and Matt where great and helpful for first time snorkelers.
- With AI we didn't have to worry about where we were going to eat or how much we were spending and it gave that extra relief while on vacation. Tip is included in the AI but we still gave a little extra to the waiters that were extra helpful.
- Staff was excellent from the front desk to the bar
- Great rooms - wasn't expecting much after reading other reviews, but found the rooms to be perfect. We stayed in a Studio on the ground floor right off the pool and it was never noisy and we left our sliding door unlocked all day with no problems. If you are planning to stay in your room for your whole vacation then maybe you would expect more, but it was nicer than I was expecting. To the review that said there was sand in there room all day, you are in a beach front room!! They do provide a broom in the room... ; )
- No pressure with the timeshare walk through and you get money out of it, we took the sting ray city catamaran cruise and it was amazing!!!
- We spent a lot of time at the bar and it was great! Frankie is awesome and was so helpful on island recommendations. She was usually the one working when we were there so I can't speak for the other bar tenders. We closed down the bar a couple of nights and never felt pressured to leave. If you are looking to party this is not the place for you. The bar closes at 11 and it is a ghost town at the resort after that.

Cons:
- The food was just mediocre. This place is a Condo/Timeshare resort so most of the guests cook for themselves or go out to eat. This is the risk with AI, but we are still glad we did it with the prices of food. We only ate out twice, once while in Georgetown and then for dinner on the last night.

Overall
We would totally go back again and even considered a timeshare. Like I said the AI was good for us and helped in the relaxing part of the trip. Would we do it again at The Reef? Probably not, but I think they just changed the packages around for different inclusions. If we could have had one for just the bar we would do that again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rugs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vernon,nj usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

It was our 1st trip to the island. We checked in the staff were helpful. We went 2 our rm. changed into island wear,found our way 2 the rum punch wow 3 bottles r better then 2. After the happy juice,our bodies began 2 destress!! Great place for some much needed R&R. If ur looking 4 crowds & nightlife,try 7 mile beach or Georgetown. Snorkeling was fun,water was warm.We went across the street where the liquor store is and bought the island beer called Caybrew mm good. For a very good meal try Tukka!! The food at the resort is okay. The drinks are good ask 4 a rum runner if u like rum. Go with a open mind ,happy heart,and allow urself 2 enjoy!!!! We want 2 give a big thank you 2 Victoria she was fabulous& very helpful.

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Are you looking for a relaxing, quiet, crowd free resort. The reef is it. I must say at first my family was unsure about our decision, but after unwinding we enjoyed our stay. There isn’t a lot going on at the resort or a lot around the resort. The resort is isolated so you will need a car. Here’s what you need to know.

Resort – very clean, very friendly staff – housekeeping not so good. Beach bar and grill has great food. Always fresh and delicious. We only ate upstairs for the continental breakfast, which was limited to hot cereal, bagels and a small amount of fruit. Across the street is Dunkin Donuts, liquor store and grocery store.

Rooms – we had a large 1 bedroom, first floor room. Very big, with 2 murphy beds for the kids, separate bedroom for parents, large kitchen. Very roomy, very clean. Walked off the patio onto the beach, couldn’t ask for a better beach front room.

Beach – VERY rocky – you will need water shoes – Very windy for about 3-4 days making it hard to get in the water with the kids. After the wind calmed down it was much better. The snorkeling is UNBELIEVABLE – right off the beach. Walk down to the Morritt’s pier and start there, the current will help you swim back to the Reef. The sea life is amazing. Lobster, crab, Tarpon 3 feet long, tropical fish galore – even a nurse shark.

Pools – small, but clean – hot tubs were nice also

Restaurants and sites – do rent a car. We went all the way to the turtle farm, which is on the opposite side of the island. It’s about an hour or so depending on traffic. The kids liked the Turtle Farm, their enclosed lagoon and pools are very nice. Stop at Makabuca tiki bar across the street for an awesome lunch and view of the bluest water you will ever see. Rum Point was a nice stop also. StingRay City is a must! We used Captain Marvin’s and loved his tour. The stingray are beautiful, graceful creatures. The coral gardens and barrier reef snorkeling was amazing. Cemetery beach has great snorkeling and is very relaxing. Seven mile beach is nice, but can be very crowded. We stopped at the Marriott and snorkeled their reef. It had great sea life. The hotel seemed nice too. There are a lot of people staying on this side of the island so if you like busy then I suggest the Marriott or the Westin. Casanova’s was the best meal we ate on the island. A must for dinner. The view was pretty and the food was delicious.

Overall we loved the island, the people are friendly and you feel safe were every you go. If you love to snorkel or scuba you will love the Cayman islands. If you are looking for relaxing, quiet facility and don't mind driving a bit for activities the reef is for you.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank patraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
354 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,114 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing