We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!! Best vacation!!!! great place!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! Best vacation!!!! great place!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I just came back from the Reef Resort (May 10-17) with 4 friends ( the girls from Pittsburgh Pa). The Reef was a great place to stay, I have been on Trip advisor for several months before my trip reading all the reviews about the reef, some of the reviews I had read there were some complaints, and I have no idea what they were thinking or where some of these people stayed, but I can tell you it was not at the reef! If you are looking for a quiet place nothing to do or if you do not want to go shopping every day on your vacation, then the Reef is the place to go. We stayed in a two bedroom studio, that was beautiful, very clean and we were on the first floor. the view was breath taking every day. Lawrence Haughton (resort manager) came over every day and asked how we were doing, what a great guy! every employee that we incountered was so nice, always asking if everything was ok or if we needed anything. A couple of tips for people coming to the Reef, if you do not do the all inclusive (we did not, we cooked everyday) stop at the bigger fosters grocery store on your way from the airport, so you do not have to spend money on a taxi. There is a small Fosters store across the street form the Reef, but if you are going to really cook for the week you need the bigger store to shop at. You also need water shoes for going into the water, it is very rocky going in and some of the reef and coral in the water can be very sharp if you walk in the ocean. I took my laptop to use , but the Reef provides 3 computers with internet service for free in the computer room, and I never had to wait to get on one of them. The beach is beautiful there are plenty of chairs for all the guest. and the free breakfast that so many people complain about, well it's just your free basic continental breakfast (NOT A BUFFET) I have no idea what some people think when they write these reviews. But again, if you are looking for a fast pace, lots of things to do, shopping, site seeing, and people every where and night life, then go to seven mile beach and stay, and do not stay on the east end of the Cayman Island. If you want peace and queit and relaxation, a beautiful view, freindly people, and a nice place to stay, then book your vacation at the Reef Resort!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are oceanfront and look wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ncbc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    539
    178
    61
    29
See reviews for
505
801
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This was a good vacation. There were a few things I was not pleased with. The beds, as mentioned before, are extremely hard. By the end of the week we both had back problems. Probably not because of the beds, I know I had a sprain, but the beds did not help. We requested first floor, and were on the second floor, right next to the bar. Some partiers had a blast right outside until the wee hours one night. The night of the Barefoot Man, one party was obnoxious, finishing his sentences loudly, shouting out, laughing at the wrong times and too loudly. Not much anyone could do, so we left, along with most of the others. On Sunday and Monday all the lounge chairs had towels or something on them to save them, although only a few were occupied, and there were not many folks in the pools or ocean. Maybe the local holiday?

Otherwise, we had a good time. The room was big, had everything we needed, and had beautiful views. Sunrise was spectacular. The food was good, plentiful, and the service was amazing. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The water was warm, and very calm during the trip, and the snorkeling out front was great. Whoever suggested water shoes--yes, take them! There are rocks, and the sand is soft and shifts quickly. The water shoes helped a lot with that. They also fit inside the fins, so no problem there. The entertainment at the bar was good.

We also ate at Kaibo, Over the Edge, Tukks, the Lighthouse, David's at Morritt's. All were very good. All were an easy drive. The grocery, liquor, and Dunkin Donuts across the street came in handy, and had all we needed for breakfast and snacks. We took the town shuttle one day and it was great. Not too sure about the driving around the airport, etc. so it was a good decision. Also drove to the Botanical Gardens. Spotted a few iguanas, and some beautiful floral displays.

Overall, we would return, and would recommend it. Except to families with very small children. The pier is just too tempting, and we saw many parents chasing two year olds by and on the pier. They do, however, have a kiddie pool, if you could keep them off the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kris48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Everyone at The Reef Resort is very friendly and helpful and they will do what they can to make sure that you are taken care of.. All the rooms are ocean view rooms.

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bama0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The Reef Resort was everything it said it was on the website and more. it was just perfect. Everyone from the front desk to the bartenders were wonderful. The rooms were great and you were steps from the beach. We spend 7 days there and just got back last Sat. so sad to come home. it was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connieread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We had the most wonderful trip to Grand Cayman Island! There were two major factors that lead to this. First, the location of the hotel was off the beaten path but had great food at the resort and near by. It was fabulous to be able to drive to the bigger city if we wanted nightlife or shopping but most nights we chose to stay right at the resort. The seclusion of the beach couldnt be compared to. Second, the staff at the reef made sure we had the greatest experience. Those that stood out to us were Frankie, Tony and Nick (the bartenders who were extremely knowledgeable and friendly) as well as a guide we had from white sand sports (Apollo) who was the most entertaining, energetic and knowedgeable of all the tour guides on our snorkling trips.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nascarchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The Reef Resort is on the quiet side of the Island, so it is always peaceful, however if you want the night life, or the bustle of 7 mile beach, Georgetown is an easy 30 minute drive. (Driving is on the left but no one is in a hurry, so it is very safe)

The rooms all face onto the beach, are spotlessly clean, and well furnished. The beach is quite big and cleaned every morning. There is plenty of water sport activity and fun provided by “Whitesands” Apollo will always make you welcome, and perhaps demonstrate how to climb the nearby coconut trees! The Snorkelling off the beach is fantastic particularly under the dock of the adjacent resort Moritts.

It is difficult to fault the resort, but if you want to dine out there are only a handful of restaurants nearby, but this is the price you pay for such a fantastic peaceful resort.

The resort is a time-share, but the sales team are fantastic, very friendly and if you do opt for a free gift to partake in the sales pitch it is extremely low key and no pressure is applied whatsoever, as they all say “the resort sells itself”. We bought into the time-share on our second visit and we are now looking forward to our fourth visit later this year.

The must do trip is Stingray City, and a visit to the Kaibo restaurant at Rum Point.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I with our two young kids loved this place. When I booked the resort, I spoke with Camiel who was so great that I we bacame good friends. Suzy was alo great and helped us a lot. Tony at the bar was excellent so was Sandy, Maria and Boris.

We were given anything we asked for. The staff at the front desk was great and when they did not know what we asked, they said so with the smile. My family and I had a great time. We took all inclusive so it was great for us. But i realized that we did not eat as much as we thought so perhaps next time, we will not take this option.

We stayed at the beach all the time so for us, it was fine. We did not want to go anywhere as our lives are filled with running around so we wanted to just sit and enjoy the resort. If you are the type who likes to do explore the city, this resort might not be for you as it is far away. For us, it was perfect. By the way, ask the resort if you can be picked up at teh airport by Tropicana Bus company because that is waht we used when we left the resort to go to the airport and it was cheaper than taxi.

We were sad to leave but we will come back. Thanks Reef...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenpat052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
414 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,329 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,204 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing