We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very relaxing, comfortable, good people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very relaxing, comfortable, good people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We have just returned from our 5 night stay at the Reef with two teenagers, 16 and 13 years, and stayed there with another family also with their 2 children.
Reading the reviews, we knew it won't be near the 7 mile beach but went there because our friends had a time share there. it was better than expected. the picture of the outside does not do them justice. the untis are completely updated, with full kitchens, 2 tv's, all rooms facing the ocean. you MUST have water shoes to be comfortable and must snorkel in the resort area. Great location for diving and learning to dive as our friends did. the staff is very warm, and helpful. take the time share tour- it's only 1 hour, NOT pushy at all and it saves you $130 towards the Stingray city snorkeling trip- which is worth it.
The turtle farm- you can pass unless you have younger kids. it's ok but not necessary.
the food at the resort is ok- but expensive. the food on the island is expensive as well.
overall- we don't like to go back to the same resort twice when we travel- but if you are a diver- you absolutely would.
extremely relaxing, clean and very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirogilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    496
    165
    55
    28
See reviews for
449
741
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

First of all, please be aware that this resort is at the East End of the island and that transportation to and from the Island atractions could be costly, depending on the size of your group. If you're planning on exploring the Island and you could get your hands on a cheap car rental, you may just safe a few dollars. By the way, the CI dollar (you'll hear this term a lot while on the Island) could at times be almost as high as the Euro (depending on where and what you're purchasing), so it may save you some time and money if you could bring CI currency from the states. We did not have the opportunity to do this (it turned out that at least in New York City, you need to order this currency in advance), and paying the extra .25 per US dollar became a little dunting at first. To make matters worse, the beach is not really suimable, as it's full of rocks; although it's great for snorkeling. If you're into that sort of thing, make sure you bring your own gear. The equipment rental fee at the resort is rediculousy high.

Having said all that, the East End of the Island and this hotel in general, is very quite and great for a romantic relaxing vacation (which it was what we were after) . The property which I would rate as a 4 star resort, is by no means luxurious or even impressive. However, we found it to be very clean and well kept. We had a 2nd floor studio with a kitchenette (we made full use of it) and a full size bathroom. Our balcony was also awsome and the ocean view from it was entoxicating. Our bed was also very confortable. We found the food to be very tasty, but expensive and the restaurant choices are very limited; but not to worry, as there's a fully packed minimart right in back of the resort which has just about everything you could pop into a microwave or toaster oven. The liquor store two doors down is not really cheap, but it's better to get your stuff there than the water down drinks they give you at the resort. The price of 6-pack of beer there is reasonable, so if you're a beer drinker, you may want to buy your Caybrew or Cay-Light beer (or the one of your choice) right there. Of course, if you plan to drink a lot of beer, ask the cab driver to stop by the beer refinery on the way to the resort. A 6- pack there only cost us $10 US, and they let you sample a draft for free (tips are welcome).

The second night after our arrival, the resort had a a very nice beach barbeque (local live band included) with two for one drinks, It ran our wife and I about about $75 US, but it was worth it to us. After that, we kind of got familiar with the currency exchange and spent our money wisely. Please keep in mind that the lunch and dinner menus are the same but the latter (although is the exact same food) will costly more. We beat this by getting to the restaurant just a little before the official end of lunch and got to eat for less. Naturally, we hit it off well with one of the waitresses who did not mind accomodating us. In addition, they may stick you with a gratuity charge, although they're only supposed to do this for groups of 6 or more. We had done our research on the report before hand (as all of you always should), and brought this practice to the manager's attention who was glad to credit our bill accordingly. Our package came with continental breakfast which included fresh fruits, oatmeal, toast and muffins, and of course coffee and juice. My wife kind of got tired out it after the 3rd day, but I did not mind it at all. It was certainly a break from our usual egg whites in the morning.

We don't like driving but made complementary use of the resort's bikes for a couple of hours to explore the vecinity. The cars drove right around us, paying carefull attention not to hit us which was very polite of them. We found this experience very satisfying and got a nice tan in the process. We also walked to the Morritts Resort near by, and did some shopping there. My wife actually got some nice bargains at the jewelry store in the lobby. We also went downtown George Town and intermingled with the cruise passengers and had some nice coconut water right there by the pear. The souveniers were rather expensive there, so we ended up getting all of of our trinkets at a small place off the beaten track, where the hispanic owner would prefer the $US.

Although I previously mentioned the beach is full of rocks, you could stil find clear patches here and there to enjoy some swimming, but be careful. The water could be rough. Although the beach looks clearer by the Morritts Resort, we ended up spending most our our time by the pool. However, if a clean clear water beach adventure is what you're looking for, you could head down to Rum Point. We did, and had a great time snorkeling and touching the sting rays. Yes, YOU COULD TOUCH THEM! One of them actually hitched a ride on my wife's back. She screamed at first, but we all found this painless incident to add to the whole experience.

Although we enjoyed our stay on the Island and at the Reef Resort, we were sorry we did not visit the 7 miles beach, but ended up going to the Botanical Garden to see the Blue Iguana instead. Being the nature lovers we are, we found the experience enjoyable, as the place has some beautiful trails and nice ponds; but I would not recommend this experience to adventure seekers.

All in all, we recommend this resort to those who want to get away from the regular crowds and want to be at piece for a while; while making some of the good choices we made to enjoy what this side of the Island has to offer.

Room Tip: Fortunately, this is a beach front resort, so you're just about garanteed to have a fabulous vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ram003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corpus christi texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our first trip to the island, and we did not want to be where everyone else goes. We picked the perfect destination. It is quiet here, the water is beautiful, pools are great and the resort is very nice. The kitchen is well stocked and for our family of 6, the two bedroom unit was great. You definitely would want to rent a car, as it is far from a lot of things like Georgetown, about 1 hr. Rumpoint is fun, stingray city, diving and snorkeling right out in front of the resort is great. The people here are friendly, although we never ate here, but cooked our meals in our room. We did go out to The Lighthouse ,and the food was good. All food on Cayman is expensive! The driving is safe, nothing like Mexico, and we felt safe at all the places that we went, even in the evenings. Kids enjoyed the pools, tennis courts, ping-pong tables and the volleyball net a lot! We definitely will be going back here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GO BUCKEYES!!
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just got home last night from our trip to the Reef. I was nervous about going to this reosrt and e-mailed many fellow trip advisor reviewers. Worried for No Good Reason! We had prefect weather. The island is very safe, rented a car, drove to our resort and loved the drive - beautiful. I hope to help sone of you out with grocery prices, in case you plan to cook at the resort and feed your family, rather than go out to eat. First of all, take food with you if you can! I took peanut butter, jelly, tuna, mayo, canned chicken, micro popcorn, cereal, pringles/snacks/ cookies, coffee, creamer, pasta....NO problem going through customs - as long as everything was unopened they were fine with it. thank goodness I took food - cause I am still in shock over the price of food (see pictures). Most of it has to do with the US dollar being worth only 0.80 to their dollar, and remember they have to import so much of their food. Add 20% to everything! Your $20.00 bill is only worth $16.00, before you even buy anything. 1 lb. of bacon - $10.00!
We snorkeled everyday for the majority of the day. Between The Reef and Morrits, you really don't need to go anywhere else to snorkel. We did 1 trip with white sands, and enjoyed it very much - saw 3 snorkel sites - Apollo is the best at what he does - what a valuable ee for the Reef. You can't help but smile when he's around. And like everyone says - Sting Ray City is a must do.
If you want a relaxing, peaceful, beautiful trip to GCI - go to the reef and leave your worries at home.
Everyone at the resort is Fabulous. So friendly and pleasant. What a relaxing vaca! Just what we needed. This was truly one of the best vacations we ever had. We are already looking to book our next trip!
Hi to Mary and Joe from Boston, Pearl, Jing and Wei - met many, many nice people @ The Reef!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOOGIEKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Reef Resort for 10 days for our 20th Anniversary. This place is absolutely paradise. The room was clean and the views were amazing. Our kitchenette was handy. We bought food from the grocery store across the street. There are bbq's available for use at the resort as well. There was plenty of beach chairs available for use.

We rented a car and drove around the whole island. Takes a bit of time getting used to driving on the left but definitely gets easier and you'll want to be able to see the whole island.

There is Wifi at Dunkin' Donuts across the street from the resort or you can pay about $30 for a week of Wifi through the resort. The signal was strong as the antennaes are located in the palm trees right outside the door.

You'll definitely want to bring swim shoes. The ocean has many rocks. Not a great place for swimming but you can get better areas to swim closer to main building.

There are tons of things to do while you are there: Turtle farm, swimming with stingrays, snorkeling, diving, jet skiing, kayaking, visit Rum Point, visit Georgetown, Queen Elizabeths Botanical Gardens, and much more.

It is on the far side of the island but very nice accomodations. There is always a breeze blowing. A great beach-very clean-as they clean it every morning!

We will definitely be back. We had a wonderful time there, people are so courteous, and the resort was outstanding.

Room Tip: We liked having a 1st floor room as it was easier to run back into your room for more soda, water, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmkbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family and I stayed at The Reef for 7 days and when we arrived our room was on the second floor. We asked to be moved to the bottom floor so that we could have access to the beach from our room and we were moved the very next day. If you stay at the reef I highly recommend to request a room on the bottom floor for the view and ease of access to the beach.
The hotel is on the East End of the island, on the opposite side of busy George Town but still has a beach with great marine life so be sure to bring your own snorkeling gear and a water camera to capture great photos and memories. The hotel will rent out snorkeling gear, but if you need to rent a water camera I recommend Cathy Church's Camera shop on S. Church Street inside the Sunset Hotel. (Pick up a free copy of Activity Guide at car rental places or inside stores for tons of coupons including 10% off water cameras)
The Barefoot Bistro inside the hotel is decent but overpriced. Expect dinner prices for lunch. I had coconut shrimp appetizer and a fish wrap, and I would recommend them both.
There hotel has 6 different turtle nests on the beach and on our last day we were able to see baby turtles hatch and we even got to pick one up and place it near the water and watch it swim away.
At night the hotel has live music where guests can eat and outdoors or have a drink at the outdoor bar. The guests are mature and keep to themselves so its a safe atmosphere for children and parents to enjoy.
If you enjoy relaxing in uncrowded quiet beaches with lots of space to explore then you will truly appreciate The Reef Resort for its beautiful beach front properties, and quiet and spacious beaches.

Room Tip: Request a room on the bottom floor to have access to the beach from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Reef left me 'hot and cold'. Some aspects were great - like the beach and the room, while others were not so good - like the service and the food. The staff, with a couple of exceptions, are surly and contrary. It seems that if you are not interested in buying a timeshare, they have no use for you. We stayed from August 7-13, 2011.
The Resort: We chose the Reef because of its location - we wanted to be as far from 7-mile beach as possible. For tranquility alone, the resort did not disappoint.
The Good: The rooms (we had a 1-bedroom) - very spacious with an awesome view. The beach glorious - lots of space, shade and chairs available. The water was not as 'clean' as I prefer - lots of seaweed and 'grassy' areas - not many sandy spots. Difficult to walk in and out of the water because of the rocks.
The Bad: The service is terrible - they add 15% to your bill automatically so really, what do they have to work for? The food was average at best - my greek salad whose description indicated cucumbers and tomotoes, contain 0 cucumber and exactly 2 pieces of tomato. The salmon ordered for supper was overcooked and inedible.
The Concierge staff made you feel like you were disturbing them. Not very accommodating. We wanted to rent a scooter (my friend rides a Harley), and we were told that it was a very bad idea! We did anyways and it was great! We had no problems and felt safe at all times. They charge $10 round-trip each for the shuttle into town (45 min drive) but to go to Rum Point which is a 15 min drive, they charged us $45! Ouch!

The Island: Our 5 full days...
Day 1 was spent at the Resort - see above.
Day 2 we took the shuttle into town and rented a scooter for 2 days. Went to cemetary beach - a disappointment as it was supposed to be a great place to snorkel - we could barely see our knees in the water. 7-mile beach was lovely but nothing special. Our day was saved when we went to Smith's Cove (or Smith Barcadere) - GORGEOUS - a must see!
Days 3 and 5 we spent at Rum Point - LOVED IT. Wonderful snorkeling, free beach chairs, showers and restrooms, restaurant and bar, gift shop - all at you fingertips!
Day 4 we took an excursion with Captain Bryan to the Barrier Reef and Stingray City. Can't go to GC and not do Stingray City! Very cool.

By accident we stopped at Tukka Restaurant for supper one night (east end - Gun Bay) - FANTASTIC!

All in all, I'd probably not go back to GC because there are so many other places I haven't been BUT if I did return, I would not stay at the Reef - I'd stay in Rum Point.

Happy Travels

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Firstly we would like to thank our guest for taking the time to provide feedback on their vacation and indeed offer pointers as to where we can look to improve our guests overall experience. It’s great to hear that they enjoyed our location and exceptional views however we feel it is important to respond to some of the details.
I’m truly sorry to hear that our guests felt that the service they received from the Concierge and the Food & Beverge team was below our usual high standards. I am however disappointed that we were not able to rectifty theses issues whilst they were on site. We implore all guests to please talk with us. We have no record of any complaints received by these guests during their vacation and as such we were unable to rectify any of their issues.
Here at the reef resort we enjoy the longest natural beach on the island, this means that we do have have a reef and vegetation. It is these factors that give us some of the very best snorkeling in Grand Cayman as they play an integral part in the overall eco system. It’s also a major reason why we average between 5-10 turtles nests every single year! Our reefs are close to the shore in some areas. However, this does not by any means cover the entire beach. We have two certfied scuba instructors in our concierge team along with our very own on site water sports company White Sands. Please drop by and we will be most happy to show the very best places to safely snorkel in front of our resort.
A 15% gratuity is only applied for groups of 6 or more and this is noted on all of our menus. This guest may not have been aware of this policy and for that we apologize. No gratuity is added for smalller groups.
Regards transport, we have a daily bus service that collects guests every morning to take them into the local capital Georgetown. As it is a regular bus service picking up other passengers it carries a return cost of US$12. As there is no regular bus service to Rum Point the guests requested a taxi. A private taxi ride will carry a higher cost than a regular scheduled bus. The Reef Resort takes no money nor plays any part in the costing of these trips as they are externally licensed taxi drivers and not employees of the resort.
Regards scooters, the only company that rents scooters is located around 25 miles away from our resort. We are of course more than happy to help organize these, although we do feel that daily round trips of 50 miles plus on a scooter is something that we need to make our guests aware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,844 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing