We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What All-Inclusive Means”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What All-Inclusive Means”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Before our recent trip to The Reef, 10 days in January, 2012, we investigated the reviews. We preferred all-inclusive because of the location of the resort at the eastern end of the island. We wanted to relax as a couple without the congestion of the 7 Mile Beach area. We worked with a travel agent who got us a great deal on airfare and told her that we did not need an all-inclusive plan with alcohol. Contrary to one review that we read, when you do not include alcoholic beverages with your package, you are also downgraded to what is called the "Reef Saver" menu. This menu is limited and excludes you from some of their specialty nights such as "prime rib night" and "steak night". We would have paid an upgrade charge to participate in those but they refused to do it. We were stuck with the same 5 entrees every night plus 3 pastas and a few salads. We were allowed to enjoy the "Smoothie of the Day" at the beach bar for no added charge. In talking with the manager at the end of our trip, there are now 4 all-inclusive plans to chose from, so when planning your trip be aware of what they are. There is the plan that includes everything with alcohol and non-motorized sports equipment. The next plan excludes the alcohol and sports but gives you the full menu. The next 2 plans are called "Reef Saver" and can include alcohol or not but gets you the lesser menu. Had we known we would have chosen the 2nd plan or even no plan at all. If you have a car, there are several good restaurants in the area but Grand Cayman is an expensive place to be. Tukka's has a van that will pick you up.
Other things to mention. The Bare Foot Bistro where we ate most of our meals, needs an upgrade for atmosphere. It is dingy and outdated. We like to snorkel but it was windy and the seas were rough almost every day. We did snorkel one day by Morritt's dock and saw many huge fish, one being a tarpon. We took the snorkel trip with Apollo and that was very good. The beach at the Reef is not great to swim because of the surf and the lack of entry points. We went to 7 Mile Beach 2 days and the beaches are beautiful and the water gets deep quickly for swimming but kids do fine there. Rum Point is beautiful and the beach is good but it stays shallow for a long time which would be good for smaller children. We went to Sting Ray City as a complimentary gift for attending the time share presentation. That was a unique event and we recommend it. The boat takes off from Rum Point so this gives you a chance to see that area if you don't have a car.
We ate at Tukka's once. It was good but not exceptional for the price. A lesser expensive restaurant which we thought was better, was David's at the Morritt's Resort next to the Reef. The Italian restaurant across the street was good and a nice change of pace. The time share presentation took about 2 hours and was non threatening. You learn a lot about time shares but we declined even though there are cost incentives to sign up the day of the presentation.
Finally, keep your receipts especially if you are on a meal plan. At check-out, we where overcharged by $200 because the waitresses were confused about the meal plan that we were on even though we wore the wrist bands. The manager was a big help and we resolved the problem easily without a big hassle. We probably will not go back to the Reef because we think that next time we would prefer 7 Mile Beach but at the far end away from the crowds.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have good views. The first floor has a direct access to the beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    527
    173
    58
    28
See reviews for
482
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We came to the Reef Resort from George Town to experience the quiet, rustic side of Grand Cayman as part of a school project with Cayman Prep and High School. We were looking at customer service, facilities the hotel offers and activities that you can participate in around the area as part of our A-Level course for our coursework.

The food was really good at the Reef and we all enjoyed it. Mike in the restaurant checked to see we were all ok and ensured food was served promptly and sectioned off an area for us all.

The rooms were very large and nicely decorated, with self-contained kitchens. The rooms were light and bright and very welcoming to be in, along with a balcony to relax on outside and see the sea. All rooms are sea facing which is a real selling point of the resort.

We found the concierge staff to be extremely helpful, along with Sandra who assisted us with our booking from the beginning. Nothing was too much trouble to sort out.

The customer service and hospitality at the Resort was superb and we all certainly recommend it to customers. We will all definitely come back to the Reef Resort again with friends and family for long weekends and overnight stays from town.

A little bit far out if you prefer more of a busy holiday in terms of choice of restaurants, bars etc. This truly is a place to relax and experience the fun activities like Stingray city, Rum Point, The Kite House and Scuba diving. If you want quiet, but want to enjoy the choice of bars and nightlife, then just hire a car for the time you are there.

The facilities in the hotel make the place enjoyable. The pools, beach and hot tub are quiet with nice sunbeds and areas to relax, along with outside rinse showers.

The Resort has a good island feel to it, with extremely friendly staff.

Stay there to experience it for yourself. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you book to stay here. See the rustic side of the Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We recently returned from an enjoyable week at The Reef. Having been to Grand Cayman before, staying in the Seven Mile Beach area, we knew that the resort's location would be removed from the main tourist areas of the island but that was fine with us. That being said, before booking we read numerous reviews on the resort (here on TA and other travel sites) as well as the information supplied on the resort's website, so we had no big surprises. Here's our take on the resort:

Rooms – We had a standard studio which was fine for the two of us. It was the size of an average hotel room but had a small kitchenette area which included a bar sink, coffee pot, toaster, microwave, and under-counter frig. It was fine for fixing breakfast and a light lunch or snacks, but certainly not for preparing a full meal. Workspace and storage were tight. If you plan on cooking, upgrade to a one bedroom which has a full kitchen (make sure you check the resort's website for room layouts and amenities before selecting your room type) The bathroom was a little small but adequate and like the rest of the space, very clean. There was a double dresser for storage and a good sized closet that amply stored our clothes and luggage plus contained a small safe. There were also two small chairs plus a coffee table, but no dining space, which was a bit of a draw-back compared to other studios we have stayed in. The balcony did have 3 chairs and a small cocktail table but again, no standard height table. It was odd that the 1 BR's, which ave a full-sized dining table indoors, also had a standard height small table and chairs outside. Seems like the patio furniture should be reversed to provide a dining space for the studios. We received daily housekeeping but we got the impression this is not the case if you are there on a timeshare. We requested and received a top floor room because I'm a light sleeper and having people thumping around above us can be an issue for me. For part of our stay we had no neighbors on either side, which was nice, but for a couple of nights we had two kids next door, so noise was an issue, particularly around the door that connects the studio to the 1 BR unit to make a 2 BR unit. Replacing the door with a better quality door that would provide more sound-proofing would be recommended. Also the balcony or patio is one big space for the entire unit (1 BR and studio) , with just a partial wall separating the two spaces so you will hear/see your neighbors if both parts of the unit are occupied.

Common areas/ facilities – We did not find the lobby to be “like a cheap motel”. If you want high end finishes etc. then go to the Ritz Carlton. The lobby was functional with the front desk and concierge services, as well as access to the restaurants, outdoor bar and eating area, and there was a self-serve library and information area with a lot of brochures and magazines on the island. There were two pools and hot tubs available, as well as a tennis/basketball court. The outdoor bar/restaurant area was furnished with typical plastic tables and chairs. Some nights they set up additional seating on the beach.
We never saw trash laying around and each morning they were out cleaning the seaweed and other debris that had washed ashore. In the winter the winds come from the east so being on the east end , it's not unexpected that debris can be an issue at times. There were ample loungers at the beach and we enjoyed not having to be up at or before dawn to stake out chairs on the beach. Yes, the entrance to the water is rocky in many places but you have to give up something if you want decent-to-good snorkeling right out your front door. There will be nothing to see if there's nothing but a sandy bottom, which is not a big attraction for fish. There are 4-5 BBQ grills for guest use but we could see it being a challenge getting to use these during times when the resort is very busy. They're supposed to be on the beach but we saw people in the ground floor units pull them up to right outside their patio and lay “claim” to them for the entire week. A sign-up procedure and possibly securing to a beach location would eliminate this happening and make the grills more accessible for others to use. Charcoal is not provided but can be purchased across the street at Foster's. There are washers and dryers available which we did not use but a friend did. She didn't have good luck with the one dryer at all but hopefully this has been fixed by now. One other issue we had was with parking. For half the time it was not an issue but there was some meeting being held at the resort for two days and it became very difficult to get a parking spot for the north (Castaways) buildings. The resort seems to have more land available to expand the current lot, which would be recommended.

Food- Since we like to eat at different places, we only ate at the restaurant twice – once at the outdoor bar (The Bistro), ordering off the menu and the second time for the Monday Caribbean BBQ. We didn't find the prices any worse than most other places on the island. We felt the food quality was good but were a little disappointed in the BBQ because there wasn't much of a selection for side dishes , just rice & beans, plantains, and coleslaw. What was provided, including bread pudding for dessert, was good though.

Activities: When we checked in we were given a schedule of activities for the week. Not unexpectedly, most activities are at an additional cost. There are bus trips to town a couple of times a week, as well as one late afternoon trip to Camana Bay, the entertainment and dining complex located near Seven Mile Beach, and also the Botanical Garden. There was a Karaoke night and a band played two nights (all free). Although not that loud, it's outdoors so noise could be an issue if you have a room close by. I think they all ended around 10PM so it 's not like it should keep anyone up. The Barefoot Man show is there two nights but we didn't go. There's a variety of water-sports available including jet skis, kayaks, snorkel trips, and a charter Stingray City trip on Wednesdays thru Red Sail Sports at Rum Point (transportation provided to/from Rum Point). The resort provides some complimentary bikes for guest use, but as with the BBQ's, we could see usage being a problem. Two kids laid claim to two for their entire stay, keeping them at their ground floor unit. Another issue was that they road them up and down the path connecting the buildings, plus thru the pool areas and in the parking lots, which we considered a safety issue.

Staff - We found the staff very accommodating and friendly. We had two minor maintenance issues, which were resolved immediately. Maintenance was contacted before we even left the front desk. Our questions were always answered and during our meals at the resort the wait staff was efficient and other staff members, including the concierge, always checked to make sure everything was OK.

Computer Access - We didn't have any issues with accessing the 3 free computers available in a room off the Subway shop at the front of the resort. The printer was pretty finicky but served the purpose for printing our boarding passes, which is the only printing that is supposed to be done (no printing off all your e-mails that have accumulated on vacation!). We saw the WiFi access stations along the beach in front of the units and you can purchase access to this if you want. In our travels we have not encountered that much free WiFi other than in the US. Dunkin Donuts across the street does provide free WiFi if you really need it.

Timeshare Presentation – This was purely OPTIONAL. During our entire stay we were never contacted about this, either in person or via phone calls to our room, as has been the case at other timeshare resorts we have stayed at. The only mention of this was prior to our arrival when Cathy, the concierge, indicated that since we were arriving on a Tuesday and the Stingray City trip was on Wednesday, we might want to sign up in advance of our arrival, before the timeshare people, who arrive on Saturdays, filled all of the available slots. She said she could provide us with one free trip if we took the timeshare tour. Since we're not interested in buying a timeshare, we just let it slip. A friend did do it and did not find it pushy. Perhaps some salespersons are pushier than others but they certainly didn't hound her about it. Many people probably take the tour to get either the free Stingray trip or a food and beverage credit ,so if you want one of the freebies, don't complain about the presentation.

Is The Reef for everyone? Absolutely not. It's location and laid back atmosphere would not suit everyone but is a blessing for others. Would we return? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Research the resort, read reviews, and most importantly read the info on The Reef's website befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarbP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is great place to relax and enjoy the caribbean, but don't get sucked in to buying timeshare. Other than a never-ending push to buy more in order to enjoy your investment, you'll have to deal with a hired "pitch man" who's sole motivation is to make money off of YOU! Yes, Cheesy Salesman can be found in Grand Cayman too..
You'll get answers, just not the accurate ones...even after you buy.
Rent only!

Room Tip: Beds are thin, prepare for a bad back in the States
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank Di V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, Nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Wonderful place, absolutely beautiful and clean. The only problem I had is that there is no room service. For the price of the hotel I do not think it is fair to make a guest go all the way to the restaurant to pick up food. I am staying towards the end of the resort and have to walk through a desolate beach at night to pick up my own food. Also, this side of the island is breezier than Seven Mile Beach and downtown If you like a constant breeze, this is the place for you. I, on the other hand, would much rather have constant heat. But other than that, the place is absolutely wonderful. Everything you need is right here, the staff is always ready to help and the small beach where the resort located is a jewel.

Room Tip: I'd get a room on the second floor. You have a gorgeous view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zilbuzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We traveled to Grand Cayman in April 2011. This resort was out of the way and beautiful. It wasn't too crowded and offered lots of freedom to our three children ages 11, 13 and 15. It is safe for families. The water in front of our suite was perfect for snorkeling. We did leave the resort to explore the island and to dine at other restaurants, but there was plenty to do at the resort. We enjoyed some of the entertainment at night. We had a large suite, plenty of room for the five of us. We were on the ground floor and could walk right out onto the beach! We did go to an information session on time shares. We did not get involved, but we did listen to what they had to say. The salesman was a little pushy, but he was nice. The food was good, not great, but it was ok. No complaints.

One caution, it is very expensive in the Caymans. We spent a lot on food and activities. More than we expected! We had a great time and loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASLOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I spent a week at The Reef in January 2012. We reserved the week through Interval International. It was our first trip to Grand Cayman and we loved the resort. The condo was clean, comfortable, & well-equiped. But no washer/dryer in the unit. We had a 2nd floor condo over-looking the beach & the bar. We were pleasantly surprised that the noise from the bar was minimal after 10:00 PM and we weren't disturbed at all! Be prepared for cool, breezy evenings. The staff at the hotel was very helpful & friendly, particularly the concierges (Rocky, Suzie, Lindsey, etc.). Everyone made us feel like owners. The snorkeling right off the beach was great -- walk about 500 yards down the beach to Morritt's Resort, snorkel under the Morritt's pier, and ride the current back to The Reef. White Sands Watersports, located at The Reef, offers a great 3-hour snorkel trip with Alan acting as your guide in the boat and in the water. Well worth the price! We had a great time. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MannySchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
299 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,300 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,051 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing