We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will come back again”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Spent a wonderful week at this resort and will be back again and again. May is the best for me the best time to travel to Cayman. It is not crowed during this time. Went to Seven Mile Beach with a cruise ship in town and was able to enjoy the water without the crowds. The staff at the Reef were the best group of people that I enjoyed meeting. They were very friendly, knowledgeable and fun!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom has a full kitchen and there is a grocery store across the street. Would also recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARobe_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    532
    175
    61
    28
See reviews for
494
792
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Looking for a great resort at the right price on a beautiful beach. Go to The Reef Resort in Grand Cayman. Located on the eastern end of the island, this resort is away from the hectic pace of Seven Mile Beach. If you love to snorkel, this is the place for you. If you want great service, come here. If you want the most personable staff you'll ever find at a resort, try The Reef. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at The Reef. Cudos to the bartenders - Tony, Nick and Collin. They're super!! Great service, friendly and well-made island drinks. Doris, a member of the restaurant staff. couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Dain is new to the restaurant staff having just arrived at The Reef this year, but he's a natural for this resort as he's outgoing, friendly and works to make sure the guests' are well taken care of. Mr. "Lawrence" runs The Reef on a daily basis and makes his presence know to the staff and the guests. He's very friendly and if you have a concern, he'll see that it's addressed immediately. Viktoria in member services has been extremely helpful in working with us to arrange our trips to The Reef. You won't go wrong spending some time at The Reef. You'll love the food and drink. You'll appreciate the great service and friendliness of the staff and you'll never forget the breathtaking views of the Caribbean from your room (each room faces the ocean - no "garden view" here). So, if you're looking for a truly relaxing vacation with a great room, a beautiful view and a terrific beach, all coupled with a wonderful staff, delicious food and terrific dirnks, give The Reef Resort on the east end of Grand Cayman a try.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so there's not a single room with a bad view. The building is extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Spent a week at The Reef recently and can't get over how beautiful this East End of the island is. We traveled with our 17 month old daughter and this was the perfect place. The beach is right outside your door and the two separate pool locations add variety.

The East End provides plenty of things to do away from the cruise ships on 7 Mile Beach. Rum Point is only 20 minutes away and is one of the most beautiful places I've been to.

All in all, great time and highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanview. Can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Spent a week here on a timeshare exchange in March. The resort is located on far end of island approximately 1 hour from airport located on a very pretty beach. Swimming is not the best as there is quite a bit of rocky bottom but can be done at the far ends of the resort buildings. Units are well appointed, and offer everything you need however I did notice the bed was quite soft but even with a bad back I made it thru the week. Gym is sadly in a basement and some of the equipment broken but enough to get a good workout. Ended up in center building in front of pool and jacuzzi with lots of small children and activity. Woke me up on more than several mornings. Asked to move as entire far end building was empty but as a timeshare exchange they wouldn't allow it. Italian restaurant across street in little strip mall is excellent! VVV pleasantly surprised. Osso Bucco nicely prepared as were all dishes we ordered included chocolate mouse dessert. Maid service annoyingly inconsistent and then non-existent. At check out, hit with a utility charge of approx. $200? Told manager they really should inform people of this at check in. Deceptive in my opinion. Full disclosure is best policy. Overall a great spot to get away from it all! Tip: Stop at large grocery store at roundabout half way out to east end. Small strip mall behind resort VVV expensive.

Room Tip: Middle building is busiest with lots of family and children activity. Can be quite loud. Ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freja3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Recently spent a week here with teenagers. Nice and quiet for us, not enough "action" for the teenagers. Great place to unwind, read on the beach, snorkel. Activites such as kayaking, waverunners, tennis and snorkelling for kids, but not a popular place for the young crowd. Beach bar had some entertainment in the evenings. The marine life around the facility was great -saw some small sharks, rays, plenty of fish. Not much sandy bottom beach for young swimmers but great coral for snorkelling. Plenty of pools. Walk out onto the pier and throw some bread into the water & you'll have 100 fish begging for more. We had sun all week, nice breeze to keep things comfortable. Rooms were huge (we had a 2 bedroom) with full kitchen, very clean, nice view from the balcony. Quiet at night. Staff very friendly. They provide beach towels. Plenty of beach chairs at the beach. Handy to have a Subway right on site for breakfast sandwhich or salad for lunch. Coffee shop across the street had great latte's though a bit expensive. Best place for a regular coffee (only $1.20 instead of $3.00) was the small grocery store in the plaza directly across the street - Keurig machine with lots of variety. Nice liquor store in same plaza with a huge wine selection, plenty of beer and liquors. Small gift shop handy for last minute souvenirs. Grocery store had all the basics for an occasional meal at 'home'. Great Italian restaurant in same plaza. Doesn't look like much but food great and inexpensive compared to other area restaurants. The Reef's restaurant had good food (ate there once) but view is lacking - suggest having it served outside on the beach tables. They also have a breakfast/lunch menu that you can order from at the beach bar and eat at the tables outside. Food is expensive for everyday, but a nice treat. "Must do restaurants" are the Lighthouse (along the road towards the airport - 10 to 15 mins.) which is expensive but well worth it for a special evening out. Suggest the lasagne, which I would never order usually, ( happens to be the cheapest item )but I promise you it will be the best pasta you've ever had and you'll want to return for more. Excellent service, salads, garlic bread, pastas are amazing. Make a reservation. There is a special table over the water "for two", which needs to be prebooked as they only have one, but what a treat that would be. Tukka, is another nearby restaurant, owned by an Australian, and again, fantastic food. Recommend the lobster or lamb. Everything superb. They will come and pick you up at the Reef, free of charge, and bring you home. Didn't get much shopping in at Georgetown, but plenty to do and a Hard Rock Cafe for the kids. Stingray city a great activity - shallow water, very safe. Best to rent a car so you can organize your activities on your own. Found the organized activities through the hotel more expensive than booking them yourselves. Plenty of magazines and guide books to help you out. The iguana park, which is only 10 minutes away, is fun for a short visit. Beautiful gardens. Only $10 to visit. We did the shortened version rather than a full guided tour. Just drop by when convenient. Car rental at Avis was simple, right at the airport (2 minute walk). Driving on the left side of the road was easier than we anticipated. We were there in May, so the roads were pretty quiet. Even driving to Georgetown was easy. Just follow the other cars to guide you through the roundabouts ! Great place and plan to return again soon!

Room Tip: There are a few pools, one specifically for children. Stay away from rooms near them. A lot of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Itsneverlongenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a studio. A great room with a very large bed and jacuzzi where you could sit and enjoy a view if the sea. Very close to the beach which was very good for snorkelling. We would recommend this resort, whilst we were there it was very quiet, plenty of sunbeds for everyone and it was so good that we did not leave to visit any other areas. The only negative point is that the wifi does not work and even if it did they see this as an extra, wifi should be free!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JFM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Reef Apr 14-20 and we're glad we stayed there. We like to vacation away from people and crowds which is exactly what you'll find on SMB. Instead, we had a peaceful and relaxing week at theReef. We rented a car for the entire week which is necessary if you plan to stay on the east side of the island.
My only complaint is/was the soft bed. During our first night stay, we slept separately on the murphy beds as the king size bed was extremely soft. The next morning we asked if there was something that could be done and they immediately called someone on a walkie-talkie type radio and had it promptly changed.
Overall, the people were nice..not just at the hotel, but everywhere. It's refreshing just to be able to deal with nice and courteous people since there aren't many nice people around my hometown.
We stayed on the third floor, which is what I requested for privacy, but I wish we would have had a ground floor room with direct access to the beach.
If we return to Grand Cayman, we'll likely return to theReef.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatMama05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
354 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,114 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing