We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windy Reef Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Windy Reef Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Windy is a complete understatement. Locals call it Christmas Wind. Stayed 2 nights in Nov. Great beach view room with nice balcony super clean. Could not use balcony as it was like a sand storm.
We had a nice meal and entertainment from Barefoot Man which was the highlight of our stay there.

Room Tip: Very remote location. Nothing around other than resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unme5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    499
    165
    55
    28
See reviews for
451
743
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

First time at The Reef. Nice room and hotel. Beach was not swim able but I prefer pools anyway. Free wifi at Duncan Dounuts across the street even after hours. Met many couples after hours sitting outside. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here in April for five nights. We picked Grand Cayman because we had never been there and it is a quick 1 hour and 10 minute flight out of Miami. The hotel was about 45 minutes from Seven Mile Beach and the other tourist stops so if you stay here and want to spend some time near the seven mile beach you will need to rent a car. We took a taxi from the airport and it cost close to $100. This hotel was extremely clean, we had a full kitchen, the room was on the bottom floor and the sliding glass doors opened right to the beach. There is a small market across the street where you can buy food to cook if you do not want to eat at the restaurant on site. The beach was beautiful, there was not many people here at all so we had the beach among ourselves and a few others which was just what we were looking for in this vacation. There is a bar on site, and the food here was very good as well. The entire staff was very nice and accomodating except for the manager in the Subway who was very rude to everyone that was walking in. It turned out he was suppossed to be off that day and had decided to take it out on the employees and guests. If you want a quiet, relaxing vacation on a beautiful beach this is the place to go!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just got back from my second stay at the Reef on July 3. While the beach, privacy, and atmosphere is still great, other aspects were worst than my first trip. If you don't start dinner when they open at 6pm, prepare to spend easily an hour and a half to eat. Not great with kids. If there are more than three tables the cooks/staff can't keep up. They are understaffed. The food was not the same quality, for instance, the ribeye steaks simply weren't good.

Management failed to honor the Summer Splash offer. The spa let my wife and I substitute equally priced services due to my sunburn and my wife's pregnancy. At checkout we were told the person who made this agreement with us wasn't working and refused to give us the discount. The nominal money wasn't the issue, being basically called a liar was.

The trip was still pleasant, the White Sands guys were great. I was just disappointed in some aspects of the service and management. Hoping they improve cause the beach is still great.

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet, take a room in one of the rooms in two end units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AIJones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just spent a great week at the Reef Resort. Nice comfortable rooms overlooking the beach. We wanted a week of rest and relaxtion away from the all the people and hotels and 7 mile beach and that's what we got. We had the whole beach to ourselves all day. There were people around at night, but beach to ourselves during the day. The staff was very friendly. Collin and Nick in the bar, awesome!! Lindsey and Roci consierge very friendly and accomodating. Our only negative experience was with Kathy in concierge, very unprofessional. We did the all inclusive package all the food was great. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent a few nights here and if you are looking for a place where the beach is empty, you never have to wait for a beach chair or a drink and there are no crowds this is it. If you're looking for more hustle bustle and activities head over to 7 Mile Beach.

There aren't many dining options here but the little beach bar is good. Good bar food, stupidly strong drinks and a friendly staff.

At night the entertainment options are limited. The karaoke night was fun. Barefoot Man was different - a little dirty which, surprisingly, the older crowd seemed to like (not suitable for kids). The resort next door had a dj and dancing one night and it's an easy walk to their beach bar.

We had a Beachfront Deluxe Suite with a "kitchenette." Unless you wanted to microwave some popcorn a chill your water the kitchenette was useless. It's so small we didn't even see it at first. The room was very clean. The bed was hard as a rock.

The only downside is this is on the eastern side which means the sunlight is beaming into your room at the crack of dawn and the drapes do little to block it out. So sleeping in is a challenge but with that rock hard bed you wouldn't want to anyway.

If you stay here definitely rent a car. Most sights and good restaurants are an easy drive. Rum Point is a must. Tukka for dinner is a must. Blowhole is a nice quick stop. All within an easy drive.

They also had a lot of water sports equipment for rent. Never seemed to be a wait for anything.

The beach was great. Amazingly empty. Finding a great beach chair was never a challenge. The beach is a bit rockier and the water isn't as clear as 7 mile but amazing nonetheless. There are a couple of small pools too

The housekeeping staff was a little eager to clean the room and wouldn't crack a smile

Room Tip: They are all beachfront and all have a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueteej1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The Reef is a friendly and casual resort in a quiet, idyllic setting on the far East end of Grand Cayman.

It is about a 45 minute drive from the airport and tourist-centric West end of the island and I strongly recommend renting a car from Marshall's when you arrive at the airport. A one week rental at Marshall's cost us $124 total, in 2011. Being a British territory, the Caymans drive on the left side of the road and use frequent roundabouts. This is always fun, but can be a bit exciting for inattentive drivers.

Rooms are large and clean, with astounding beachfront views and spectacular sunrises every morning. The ability to walk-out of your room and snorkel the shallow reef is simply awesome.

Food at the Reef is adequate, not bad. Prices for food are generally too-high for what you get (a Cayman theme!) However, this shouldn't prevent you from staying at the Reef, the pros FAR outweigh the cons.

The RedSail Sports operation is based out of the adjacent Merritt's resort offered great SCUBA excursions to some of the very best diving in the world, all for reasonable prices. The RedSail staff was friendly and accommodating. If the weather and currents are cooperative, be sure to take the Babylon dive!

For the reviewers claiming there is no place to swim at the Reef, well, that's incorrect! There are two nice, clean pools for the timid, and a large, shallow (2' - 6') deep lagoon spanning the width of the resort. That lagoon offers warm, calm water, tons of fish, Spotted Eagle rays! tarpon, etc. It is a fascinating place to snorkel.

My wife and I are still seriously considering purchasing a timeshare and would love to go back soon!

Room Tip: They are ALL good rooms! A lover floor will let you walk-out onto the beach from your room. The &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing