We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where We Have Stayed Here Nine out of the Last Ten Years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The reason we missed one year was because of Ivan. Grand Cayman suffered a lot of damage from Ivan and it was still noticeable a year later.

We have found The Reef to be a wonderful place to stay. It is right on the ocean with only sand between your room and the ocean. We usually stay about ten days and go scuba diving almost every day.

The Hotel is a long way from Seven Mile Beach which we prefer. We always rent a car and on the way from the airport we stop at one of three grocery stores and by groceries for breakfast, lunch and snacks. There is a beach bar, and restaurant on-site along with a Subway. Across the street is an italian restaurant, The Italian Kitchen, a place to buy beer and wine and a small grocery store.

If you want some place that is clean, quiet and relaxing this is the place.

Room Tip: If you want free internet select a room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our third floor unit and the resort pools. We met alot of nice people at the pools at night and enjoyed drinks and conversation with them. The ocean was very shallow for quite aways out had decent snorkeling. The food was ok and pricey. We bought our own booze and groceries on our way there and cooked in or grilled out. Make sure you bring bug spray along with that sunscreen. The little mosquitos come out at dusk. We went scuba diving with Red Sail at Tortuga dive shop right next door and had a fabulous time. Very attentive crew and lots of fun! Shout out to Spike, Rachael, Travis, Debbie and never will forget Nigel! We watched him spear a lionfish, way cool! They did a lionfish hunt one afternoon that you could tag along with but we had made other plans. We will definitly use this outfit again.
The sunset sail we got as part of our dive package was great too. Afterwards we ate at the Rum Point restaurant for dinner and it was delicious. Another good restaurant was Tukka. We ate a spectacular lionfish dish there and can't wait to have it again. Grand Cayman was such a lovely place that I didn't want to leave. I will keep going back as long as the Lord allows!

Room Tip: The ground floor units were great for people who don't do stairs. The main path for the pools i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyandJoeLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Windy is a complete understatement. Locals call it Christmas Wind. Stayed 2 nights in Nov. Great beach view room with nice balcony super clean. Could not use balcony as it was like a sand storm.
We had a nice meal and entertainment from Barefoot Man which was the highlight of our stay there.

Room Tip: Very remote location. Nothing around other than resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unme5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First time at The Reef. Nice room and hotel. Beach was not swim able but I prefer pools anyway. Free wifi at Duncan Dounuts across the street even after hours. Met many couples after hours sitting outside. Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here in April for five nights. We picked Grand Cayman because we had never been there and it is a quick 1 hour and 10 minute flight out of Miami. The hotel was about 45 minutes from Seven Mile Beach and the other tourist stops so if you stay here and want to spend some time near the seven mile beach you will need to rent a car. We took a taxi from the airport and it cost close to $100. This hotel was extremely clean, we had a full kitchen, the room was on the bottom floor and the sliding glass doors opened right to the beach. There is a small market across the street where you can buy food to cook if you do not want to eat at the restaurant on site. The beach was beautiful, there was not many people here at all so we had the beach among ourselves and a few others which was just what we were looking for in this vacation. There is a bar on site, and the food here was very good as well. The entire staff was very nice and accomodating except for the manager in the Subway who was very rude to everyone that was walking in. It turned out he was suppossed to be off that day and had decided to take it out on the employees and guests. If you want a quiet, relaxing vacation on a beautiful beach this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just got back from my second stay at the Reef on July 3. While the beach, privacy, and atmosphere is still great, other aspects were worst than my first trip. If you don't start dinner when they open at 6pm, prepare to spend easily an hour and a half to eat. Not great with kids. If there are more than three tables the cooks/staff can't keep up. They are understaffed. The food was not the same quality, for instance, the ribeye steaks simply weren't good.

Management failed to honor the Summer Splash offer. The spa let my wife and I substitute equally priced services due to my sunburn and my wife's pregnancy. At checkout we were told the person who made this agreement with us wasn't working and refused to give us the discount. The nominal money wasn't the issue, being basically called a liar was.

The trip was still pleasant, the White Sands guys were great. I was just disappointed in some aspects of the service and management. Hoping they improve cause the beach is still great.

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet, take a room in one of the rooms in two end units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AIJones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just spent a great week at the Reef Resort. Nice comfortable rooms overlooking the beach. We wanted a week of rest and relaxtion away from the all the people and hotels and 7 mile beach and that's what we got. We had the whole beach to ourselves all day. There were people around at night, but beach to ourselves during the day. The staff was very friendly. Collin and Nick in the bar, awesome!! Lindsey and Roci consierge very friendly and accomodating. Our only negative experience was with Kathy in concierge, very unprofessional. We did the all inclusive package all the food was great. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
558 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,819 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,464 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £164 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing