We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Reef Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,026
US$958
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
US$507
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$260
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$619
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Palm Villas(Bodden Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,814)
Filter reviews
1,814 results
Traveller rating
936
580
200
65
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
580
200
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum pointbeach baracross the streeteast end of the islandstingray cityfishtime shareliquor storeseven mile beachdeluxe studiorented a carwhite sands water sportsgrand caymancaptain chrisfull kitchenall inclusive optionall inclusive plan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,160 - 1,165 of 1,814 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The reason we missed one year was because of Ivan. Grand Cayman suffered a lot of damage from Ivan and it was still noticeable a year later.

We have found The Reef to be a wonderful place to stay. It is right on the ocean with only sand between your room and the ocean. We usually stay about ten days and go scuba diving almost every day.

The Hotel is a long way from Seven Mile Beach which we prefer. We always rent a car and on the way from the airport we stop at one of three grocery stores and by groceries for breakfast, lunch and snacks. There is a beach bar, and restaurant on-site along with a Subway. Across the street is an italian restaurant, The Italian Kitchen, a place to buy beer and wine and a small grocery store.

If you want some place that is clean, quiet and relaxing this is the place.

Room Tip: If you want free internet select a room close to the office.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our third floor unit and the resort pools. We met alot of nice people at the pools at night and enjoyed drinks and conversation with them. The ocean was very shallow for quite aways out had decent snorkeling. The food was ok and pricey. We bought our own booze and groceries on our way there and cooked in or grilled out. Make sure you bring bug spray along with that sunscreen. The little mosquitos come out at dusk. We went scuba diving with Red Sail at Tortuga dive shop right next door and had a fabulous time. Very attentive crew and lots of fun! Shout out to Spike, Rachael, Travis, Debbie and never will forget Nigel! We watched him spear a lionfish, way cool! They did a lionfish hunt one afternoon that you could tag along with but we had made other plans. We will definitly use this outfit again.
The sunset sail we got as part of our dive package was great too. Afterwards we ate at the Rum Point restaurant for dinner and it was delicious. Another good restaurant was Tukka. We ate a spectacular lionfish dish there and can't wait to have it again. Grand Cayman was such a lovely place that I didn't want to leave. I will keep going back as long as the Lord allows!

Room Tip: The ground floor units were great for people who don't do stairs. The main path for the pools is right there and you have to endure people walking by and loose a little privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyandJoeLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Windy is a complete understatement. Locals call it Christmas Wind. Stayed 2 nights in Nov. Great beach view room with nice balcony super clean. Could not use balcony as it was like a sand storm.
We had a nice meal and entertainment from Barefoot Man which was the highlight of our stay there.

Room Tip: Very remote location. Nothing around other than resort.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unme5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First time at The Reef. Nice room and hotel. Beach was not swim able but I prefer pools anyway. Free wifi at Duncan Dounuts across the street even after hours. Met many couples after hours sitting outside. Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here in April for five nights. We picked Grand Cayman because we had never been there and it is a quick 1 hour and 10 minute flight out of Miami. The hotel was about 45 minutes from Seven Mile Beach and the other tourist stops so if you stay here and want to spend some time near the seven mile beach you will need to rent a car. We took a taxi from the airport and it cost close to $100. This hotel was extremely clean, we had a full kitchen, the room was on the bottom floor and the sliding glass doors opened right to the beach. There is a small market across the street where you can buy food to cook if you do not want to eat at the restaurant on site. The beach was beautiful, there was not many people here at all so we had the beach among ourselves and a few others which was just what we were looking for in this vacation. There is a bar on site, and the food here was very good as well. The entire staff was very nice and accomodating except for the manager in the Subway who was very rude to everyone that was walking in. It turned out he was suppossed to be off that day and had decided to take it out on the employees and guests. If you want a quiet, relaxing vacation on a beautiful beach this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews