We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just came back from a week at this wonderful, remote location. I could not have asked for a better stay. We are the kind of family that likes a real gettaway...not full of touristy stuff, but the ability to savor some of the local life mixed with a bit of luxury. The Reef offers the perfect mix. The remote location gives you a tast of the island life. The luxury and safety of the resort is also quite luxurious in a natural, regenerating way...I mean there are no big screen TVs but the ocean views and beaches are wonderful. Our video game, TV loving kids did not miss these things once during our trip! We loved our room in the farthest building from the lobby...we did not have to see many people unless we decided to go to that area. We rented a car and braved the left-side of the road driving there and this added to our experience and freedom of exploring the communities. If you like lots of tours and crowds and the ability to replicate your American way of life while away, then this is not the place for you. If you like entrenching yourselves into a whole different culture and island living, you will love The Reef. I recommend an ocean view. The views are breathtaking! We saved a bit by stocking our room with breakfast and lunch items and then going out for dinner each night. Great for a family of four!

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBAmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    533
    175
    61
    28
See reviews for
495
793
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Ok first off I will say that this is NOT the place for everyone so be sure to read some reviews. This place IS out in the sticks so to speak. The whole Island is like 26 miles long so even as remote as it is, it isn't that remote. There is only a little grocery store, liquor store, and suvenior shop across the street and 7 Mile Beach is all the way back in town. What you don't worry with here are the many tourists. Here you get peace and quite, for the most part, unless you want to have fun in other areas. The beach is huge and there happens to be some decent snorkling just free of charge to do at your will. We drove to town with our rental car everyday to do the fun tourist stuff but loved coming back home to OUR home. It almost feels like your coming home here. Every single room is ocean front. I mean SERIOUSLY...Do I even need to say more than that. Where else will you stay that you will get a gauranteed ocean FRONT condo. I have seen some negative reviews and I agree that they do have some merit but most of those people are just whiny little "kardashians" that expect everything to be perfect everyday every minute. Guess what people get realistic! The rooms are a tiny bit dated, as is the decor and furniture. The activities are not what you will find in some other 5 big resorts. The service at the front desks we have always (2 visits 12 days total now) found to be nice, helpful, and funny. The waitresses can be hit or miss but you find this everywhere. Tony at the bar is just a freakin rock star! If you want perfect you should probably just stay home and imagine the perfect vacation. If you are able to be human and enjoy a beautiful room, a beautiful resort, and a quite setting then stay here. If you want to walk to town or walk to a restaurant then don't stay here. They offer shuttles to town daily, and I believe you can even rent cars from the resort as well. It takes about 30 minutes to get into "town" from the resort. The scenery along the way is THE BEST ON THE ISLAND hands down. I have attached plenty of photos and I am willing to answer any questions you have. Please feel free to read my first review of this resort as well. Hope you find this helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Jhw349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We visited The Reef for the second year in a row. This time we requested a 3rd floor room so that we would have a more unobstructed view of the ocean. We had a one bedroom suite. We had a full bedroom, bathroom, fully stocked kitchen, dining area, and a living room equipped with two miranda beds.

The bedroom had a nice King size bed and two closets. The bathroom has a shower and tub. The kitchen is full size and equipped with most anything you should need while there. There is a four burner stove, microwave, full size refridgerator, and a dishwasher. There is a dining table that seats four and a breakfast bar that seats two. There is a Sofa and two chairs in the living room. There were two miranda beds in the living room as well. Folded down they are about the size of a twin bed.

The balcony was amazing. It had a table and chairs for four people and one lounge seat. There were perfect views of the sunrises every morning from our balcony.

The beach was clean. Early each morning there were many people our cleaning the beach/pool/bar areas so that they were in pristine condition for it's guests.

Tony and Mickey at the bar remembered us from last year....not sure if they have overly excellent memories or if we spent too much time at the bar last year!? Both were great again this year.

The food was good. Expect to pay hefty prices for food and drinks. The resort is similarly priced to the rest of the island. We walked to the market and liquor store across the road and picked up some snacks and drinks. This helped us cut our check out bill by half.

We had excellent snorkeling again this year. There was quite a current the whole week we were there. We found that if we walked next door to the Morritt's resort and entered the water from their beach that we floated nicely back to our resort. There were tons of fish of many varieties to see. We also saw squid, an eagle ray, conch, starfish, and tons of sea anemone. The snorkeling is one reason we chose to return to The Reef again this year.

Please also see my review from my previous visit.
We hope to return to The Reef again in the future.

If you have any questions please feel free to message me. If you have found my reviews helpful please leave a helpful vote. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: All rooms are beachfront/oceanfront. The higher the room the more ocean you can see, but honestly no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jesslynn064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Recently returned from our July stay at the Reef Resort. Here are some things we learned if you plan on staying at the Reef Resort.

Swimming - Many reviews mention the beaches are rocky and there's no place to swim. While there are various size pieces of coral where the water breaks you can slowly walk past this point. There's a large sandy area about 4 - 5 feet in front of north pool. Tip: Find an entry point where you can enter and exit the water. Otherwise it can get very shallow around the reefs making it difficult to exit.

Prices - Mostly everything is in Cayman Dollars which can be significantly higher when you pay with your country's currency. Tip: Check your country's exchange rate so you won't be floored when your check comes!

Mosquitoes - We were prepared with several different types of bug repellents based on reviews and ready to report which one performed the best. However, we never used any of them cause we never had a problem with mosquitoes. And we were out around dusk a few times. Seems to be a hit or miss situation. Tip: Nevertheless you should bring some just in case.

Reef Activities - There is a fee for almost all of the activities like yoga in the pool unless you're a time-sharer or owner. Use of the gym is free. You can also sign out tennis rackets or volleyball for free. They do have some theme nights like karaoke which was great fun but way to short.

On-site Restaurants - We didn't eat at any of the restaurants but had some appetizers at the Rusty Pelican. Typical bar food. We had friends who wanted to have breakfast at the Barefoot Bistro but to wait cause they were running slow that day. Tip: Check with the restaurants to see if they are on schedule if you plan on visiting.

Food/Drinks - The Italian Kitchen across the street is fantastic. Great friendly service and tasty dishes. The liquor store can be very expensive. Caybrew is the island's cheapest beer and tastes like it too!

Snorkeling - We brought our own gear but you can rent them at the watersports desk outside. Lots of places to explore and fishes to see. Saw a yellow stingray. Be sure to visit the Morritt's pier just a short beach walk away. Lots of fish including large tarpon. Tip: Don't let children play with the wildlife! We saw a group of boys capture a small octopus and place it in a cup which killed it. Then they dumped it back in the water. The octopus would have been amazing to see! Parents NEED to be more aware of the HARM children are causing to the wildlife instead of their red solo cups!

Car Rental: This is a must have just to freely visit other great places on the island. Shuttles and taxis can get very expensive. Tip: Select a car rental before arriving on the island. The car rentals are a walk away from the airport.

Internet: Wifi is available for free in the lobby. You can also use 1 of 3 computers located in the on-site Subway deli for free. Speed was fairly quick on the computers. However, some of us had trouble connecting with our phones. Tip: Check your carrier for roaming rates which can be enormous. We had our phones turned off the whole trip to avoid a roaming connection.

Overall our stay at the Reef Resort was very nice. Weather was perfect all week with little to no rain. So we were very fortunate which is a nice change compared to some of our island trips!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are great for in and out beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bcmwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was our first trip to the Reef & we had mixed impressions, let me explain; the property itself is bueatiful, but as previous reviews have said, it's tired & needs updating, the rooms are nice, the beach is good, & the location is quiet. However there is very limited internet service & it's only available free in the lobby, this can get a bit crowded with everyone on their Iphones etc & the lobby is very small & crowded. Also I heard the activities director being mean & condecending to another concierge in the lobby. I don't think she realized how loud she was, but it wasn't very nice of her to talk like that to anyone. The water sports guys were very nice, Alan is super friendly & informative. The food at the Reef is boring, it's good, but it lacks imigination, the service in the restaurant was terrible, we went in at noon for lunch one day & the staff had no idea of the specials & seemed more intertested in talking amongst themselves than helping customers. The rooms were very nice & clean, the views are amazing & the beds were very comfortable. Front desk was very efficent, Deborah was nice, Cathy in concierge was super friendly, and did whatever she could to make our trip special, she went out of her way on several occasions to help us. The bar was good, nice atmosphere, Tony was funny. Activities were nothing great, mostly excercising & crafts, not very interesting, but the welcome party was fun, great music & dancing, and the ice cube game was good. We did the timeshare tour & went to Stingray City, the tour was interesting. Stingray City was fantastic, the staff was great & we got free transportation when we took the tour, well worth the time we spent taking the tour & if we could, we would definatly buy. So work needs to be done, the staff, some of them at least, go out of their way to be nice, others need a little work & manners, but the Reef is a quaint little resort, and while it needs updating it's very quiet, very pretty & a great place to relax & get away.

Room Tip: Rent a car, get concierge (Cathy) to help you if you've never been there before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bostonlovergosocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Dont get me wrong, we love the Reef. But this was our last time to stay there, as they cater to the time share owners and actual condo owners. We love it there because we have great access to the beach from the first floor. It's easy for our ten year old to go to the pool or beach while we relax in the evenings on our porch. we chose to celebrate our 20 year wedding anniversary there this summer with our kids.....at the Reef in our usual beach/pool access condo...that's why we stay there.
We request a 1st floor condo near the pool every time and that's where we stayed the 1 st 2 times, but this time we were put in the farthest building away from any pool on the 2nd floor. We made our usual request weeks in advanced. Apparently several time sharers and owners were coming this same week and they have first dibs. We were told we were first on the list to move if anything opened up. Never heard back from anyone the entire 5 night stay. ever.
The icing on the cake was when we counted at least 12 1st floor condos unoccupied throughout our stay. I understand if it really was a full house, but it wasn't. Kids were really bummed, as we're my husband and I. We will never book the Reef again. We are not interested in purchasing a condo/time share, so we will never be guaranteed our request. We are taking our next trip elsewhere in Cayman next time. :(

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank JenKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanSV, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We thank you for your comments and apologize for the inconvenience you and your family experienced during your stay. Our reservations and front desk teams strive to accommodate all guest requests, including room assignments. During your stay, our IT team were working in the first floor units to install our new wireless internet system. The team works in a block of units at a time which is why there appeared to be so many vacant rooms. Once project is complete, guests will enjoy faster, more reliable internet service in their rooms as well as throughout the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

What an awesome experience!! I've stayed at The Reef 4 or 5 times over the past three years. This visit was as good, if not better, than the previous visits. Once again, the experience was fantastic. The accommodations are great. Every unit faces the beach and Caribbean Sea. You can't believe the view you have, especially of the sun rise every morning as The Reef faces the east. You'll want to have a pair of flip-flops or water shoes with you when you visit The Reef as there's quite a bit of broken coral at the water's edge. We've found wearing flip-flops helps you get beyond the few feet of broken coral at the water's edge and into that beautifuly blue Caribbean Sea. The staff at The Reef can’t be more helpful or friendly. Tony, Nick and Collin man the Beach Bar and you’ll find them very efficient and truly friendly bartenders. Doris waits tables and can’t be more friendly and helpful. You’ll see supervisory staff walking the grounds throughout the day. Mr. Lawrence is always ready with a big “Welcome Home!” as he walks about checking the grounds and keeping an eye on the staff. The concierge staff can be truly helpful – if you find a need to leave The Reef. Rum Point, which is only a 15 minute drive from The Reef, is a “must experience” beach. You’ll love it. But, the more we visit The Reef, the more realize that there’s no need to leave the resort. The food and drinks at The Reef are as good as the food and drinks served at the nearby top-quality restaurants. If you want a truly relaxing vacation experience where shorts, a t-shirt and sandals are the dress-of-the-day, you’ll love The Reef. Remember, The Reef is on the east end of Grand Cayman, about as far away from Seven Mile Beach as one can get. We like that because it's quiet, less hectic and more laid back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. They all face the beach and ocean and are all only a few steps from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom and Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
369 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,747 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,129 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing