We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards seem to have slipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Standards seem to have slipped”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Things go off to a bad start when we arrived post long haul flight and were left to hunt down are room with heavy bags. No offer of help or directions. The room was adequate but hot water was spasmodic and the WiFi really patchy and poor. We tried the bar a couple of times but found the place dirty and tacky. If you like drinking frozen cocktails out of a plastic glass with your feet sticking to the beer soaked floor, this is for you. On our first visit to the bar, we were greeted by an argument between the bar staff who couldn't have been less friendly. The bar is popular with local dive instructors and when I went to bar with some of them, out came the red carpet for the locals whilst the guests were ignored. The food is really average. Don't bother with the restaurant unless you have no standards. I suspect a good place has turned bad judging by some of the positive reviews. Wild horses couldn't drag me back.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank AngloPoshScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your vacation in March of 2012, and for allowing us an opportunity to clarify your issues.

I am sincerely sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We implore all guests to please refer any issue immediately to our Manager on Duty who will be happy to resolve and correct any problem. If we had the opportunity while you were here, we certainly would have resolved some of your concerns and improved your vacation experience.

Yes, our WiFi was problematic when you were here as it was provided by a third party service and we were in the process of installing our own internet service. As of October 1st we have completed our new system and are happy to provide a quality high-speed internet service throughout the entire resort.

Your observation of service level at the beach bar is very troubling. It is imperative that all our guests are treated with the upmost courtesy and we have brought this matter to our new General Manager for Food and Beverage. You are assisting us in identifying an area where we can do some improvements and even though we are truly sorry about your experience of inferior service received we are very grateful that you are making us aware of it so we can address it.

Our weekly activities schedule provides many different types of entertainment choices as well as our exercise and yoga classes. We have different activities for every day of the week and receive many rave reviews from our guests.

In closing, we are proud of our great reviews and our ranking as a top destination in the Caribbean and sincerely apologize that your experience was less than stellar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    507
    167
    55
    28
See reviews for
462
749
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just got back from enjoying a week at the reef resort. Loved the location. The staff was very helpful. This is definitely the place to stay in Grand Cayman. It is located on the east end of the island. Definitely the place for relaxation and the ability to snorkel right out your door. We plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daltongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband won a week here bidding on a Rotary International fundraiser and so we were guests on a timeshare exchange program that was donated from a fellow Rotarian. I love that international friendship family. We came to dive the less traveled East End with Tortuga Divers located at the Moritts property next door and were not disappointed in any way. The Reef Resort had everything we needed to make us comfortable. I loved the quiet, as we were there the week before they closed for maintenance, (September 8-15th 2012) what a dream to have the resort mostly to ourselves. The view made for very pretty sunrise photos down on the soft sandy beach. Fosters market saved us a small fortune getting our own food to prepare meals and drinks. Staff members of The Reef were courteous and prompt in responding to our requests for more paper towels and dish soap. Rocky at the concierge desk helped me make my first tie died t-shirt and Travis helped us book transportation for our return to the airport. I loved the Crabtree & Evelyn soap, shampoo and conditioner so now you know it’s there you can leave yours at home and save some room in your luggage. I always recommend getting a room on the top floor in most places I stay because I don’t like upstairs neighbors if at all possible.

Room Tip: I liked the top floor, better views and usually more piece and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMMTIGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort in August. It's a smaller resort away from all the crowds, retail shops and hustle & bustle. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place to stay. We love to snorkel... This resort is on the end of the island and has amazing snorkeling just a few steps from your room. The fish are Beautiful... Will definetly return to this island and resort.... We had a great relaxing vacation... Thanks Reef Resort.....

Room Tip: We prefer higher floors so you don't hear people above you.. Plus, you have a better view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scvrdll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Located on the quiet, peaceful side of the island, we love visiting there! We enjoyed our stay so much the first time that we bought a timeshare! The people are friendly, the food is delicious and the view is breathtaking! You definately will want a car as there is so much to see and do on the island. The drive from the airport to The Reef is beautiful. You have the option to get all inclusive. If you are going to be touring around a lot, as we did, we just bought groceries and refreshments across the street at the mini-mall. We loved to have a drink each day at the beach bar as the staff is incredible. Our home away from home!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. We have stayed on second and third level. The view is amazing at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was my third trip to the reef and the first time that the weather was not great every day. It is not a five star resort and to enjoy the reef you have to be looking for quiet relaxation. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a great view. Although this was my third time to the reef it was the first time I have spend any time in their 2 pools/ hot tubs,,,,, constructive criticism for the management in the southernmost pool the ladder to enter the pool was broken and the hot tub situated in the pool to the north was not working properly. Overall a nice stay I would like to return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the reef but the first for 3 years, after reading a few of the reviews I was concerned the standards had dropped, BUT they have not. In our opinion the standards in staff, room quality and the complex were still as high as we remember. If you are looking for quiet relaxing time this can't be beat, if you want party till dawn it's not for you.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bstressfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
217 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,260 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
579 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4,907 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing