We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in July 2011! To our surprise our room even had a jacuzzi, even though it did not say so in our room description. Beautiful ocean view from all rooms! If you are on the first floor, like we were, you walk out on to soft sand and see the beautiful sunrise on this side of the island! We loved our stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view ;)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Things go off to a bad start when we arrived post long haul flight and were left to hunt down are room with heavy bags. No offer of help or directions. The room was adequate but hot water was spasmodic and the WiFi really patchy and poor. We tried the bar a couple of times but found the place dirty and tacky. If you like drinking frozen cocktails out of a plastic glass with your feet sticking to the beer soaked floor, this is for you. On our first visit to the bar, we were greeted by an argument between the bar staff who couldn't have been less friendly. The bar is popular with local dive instructors and when I went to bar with some of them, out came the red carpet for the locals whilst the guests were ignored. The food is really average. Don't bother with the restaurant unless you have no standards. I suspect a good place has turned bad judging by some of the positive reviews. Wild horses couldn't drag me back.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
23  Thank AngloPoshScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your vacation in March of 2012, and for allowing us an opportunity to clarify your issues.

I am sincerely sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We implore all guests to please refer any issue immediately to our Manager on Duty who will be happy to resolve and correct any problem. If we had the opportunity while you were here, we certainly would have resolved some of your concerns and improved your vacation experience.

Yes, our WiFi was problematic when you were here as it was provided by a third party service and we were in the process of installing our own internet service. As of October 1st we have completed our new system and are happy to provide a quality high-speed internet service throughout the entire resort.

Your observation of service level at the beach bar is very troubling. It is imperative that all our guests are treated with the upmost courtesy and we have brought this matter to our new General Manager for Food and Beverage. You are assisting us in identifying an area where we can do some improvements and even though we are truly sorry about your experience of inferior service received we are very grateful that you are making us aware of it so we can address it.

Our weekly activities schedule provides many different types of entertainment choices as well as our exercise and yoga classes. We have different activities for every day of the week and receive many rave reviews from our guests.

In closing, we are proud of our great reviews and our ranking as a top destination in the Caribbean and sincerely apologize that your experience was less than stellar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just got back from enjoying a week at the reef resort. Loved the location. The staff was very helpful. This is definitely the place to stay in Grand Cayman. It is located on the east end of the island. Definitely the place for relaxation and the ability to snorkel right out your door. We plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daltongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband won a week here bidding on a Rotary International fundraiser and so we were guests on a timeshare exchange program that was donated from a fellow Rotarian. I love that international friendship family. We came to dive the less traveled East End with Tortuga Divers located at the Moritts property next door and were not disappointed in any way. The Reef Resort had everything we needed to make us comfortable. I loved the quiet, as we were there the week before they closed for maintenance, (September 8-15th 2012) what a dream to have the resort mostly to ourselves. The view made for very pretty sunrise photos down on the soft sandy beach. Fosters market saved us a small fortune getting our own food to prepare meals and drinks. Staff members of The Reef were courteous and prompt in responding to our requests for more paper towels and dish soap. Rocky at the concierge desk helped me make my first tie died t-shirt and Travis helped us book transportation for our return to the airport. I loved the Crabtree & Evelyn soap, shampoo and conditioner so now you know it’s there you can leave yours at home and save some room in your luggage. I always recommend getting a room on the top floor in most places I stay because I don’t like upstairs neighbors if at all possible.

Room Tip: I liked the top floor, better views and usually more piece and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMMTIGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort in August. It's a smaller resort away from all the crowds, retail shops and hustle & bustle. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place to stay. We love to snorkel... This resort is on the end of the island and has amazing snorkeling just a few steps from your room. The fish are Beautiful... Will definetly return to this island and resort.... We had a great relaxing vacation... Thanks Reef Resort.....

Room Tip: We prefer higher floors so you don't hear people above you.. Plus, you have a better view..
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scvrdll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Located on the quiet, peaceful side of the island, we love visiting there! We enjoyed our stay so much the first time that we bought a timeshare! The people are friendly, the food is delicious and the view is breathtaking! You definately will want a car as there is so much to see and do on the island. The drive from the airport to The Reef is beautiful. You have the option to get all inclusive. If you are going to be touring around a lot, as we did, we just bought groceries and refreshments across the street at the mini-mall. We loved to have a drink each day at the beach bar as the staff is incredible. Our home away from home!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. We have stayed on second and third level. The view is amazing at the top!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was my third trip to the reef and the first time that the weather was not great every day. It is not a five star resort and to enjoy the reef you have to be looking for quiet relaxation. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a great view. Although this was my third time to the reef it was the first time I have spend any time in their 2 pools/ hot tubs,,,,, constructive criticism for the management in the southernmost pool the ladder to enter the pool was broken and the hot tub situated in the pool to the north was not working properly. Overall a nice stay I would like to return

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
437 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,344 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,263 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £140 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing