We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2008

We did alot of research before picking the Reef...it was exactly what we were looking for. The location was perfect-it was not crowded at all and the weather was gorgeous. The food was outstanding- we ate at the Lighthouse twice-pricey but everything we had there was good, including their desserts! We also ate at Calipso Grill in Morgan's Bay which was an hour drive, but it was worth it!! We tried to have dinner at the Grand Old House as it was reccommended, but they were booked for a private function so maybe next time. Kierra the coincerge was very nice and helpful. My husband enjoyed the snorkeling/stingray city trip-I opted to stay on the boat, but he had a wonderful time. We also listened to the sales pitch for the time share-mostly because we were interested in how it worked and they gave us the stingray city trip at no cost, which was nice. The sales pitch wasn't bad-it's just that they want a decision right away and we both like to look at our options before making a spur of the moment large investment, as well as pay yearly dues.

The only complaints my husband and I had was the bed in our room-it was very hard and uncomfortable. I had a difficult time sleeping and we both woke up with our back and neck hurting. That would be the only reason I would not return. We did hear our neighbors several nights in a row past 11pm, however they were not intentionally loud, it's just that the walls are thin and according to management responses from a few recent reviews they are in the process of fixing this.

All in all, it was a wonderful , relaxing trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethebeach30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2008
Mattresses and bedding are one of the areas that all hotels are focussing on more and more these days.

Five years ago, who knew what "thread count" meant ? :)

Anyway, at theReef we are upgrading all our mattresses (to high quality Serta plush mattresses) and they just arrived in a container this week !

The thing is, though, we can only have one type of mattress, and the most popular mattress is medium/firm, so that is what we have gone with.

I would, then, appreciate the reviewer contacting me (by PM / Email) to let me know which room number they were in, so I can determine if they were on an "old" or "new" mattress.

I really love TripAdvisor and the feedback we get from reviews and forum postings, as we are committed to driving improvements based on what our guests tells us they are looking to see, from building a beach bar, to introducing WiFi on the beach, shade palapas, new mattresses etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    509
    167
    55
    28
See reviews for
463
753
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

What a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of George Town and Seven Mile Beach. In a great location to enjoy everything the island has to offer (so long as you rent a car). A short drive to town and also a short drive to Rum Point and Cayman Kai. Plus, it is nice to relax and snorkle on a secluded and private beach area. Would definitely return to Reef Resort.

P.S. Be sure to drink the Rum Punch and Blue Margaritas at the beach bar. Quite tasty!!

  • Liked — All ocean view rooms and private and secluded atmosphere
  • Disliked — It is a bit of a hike to get to SMB and George Town
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southern_Land_Shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

Seriously, we can't say enough about how great the Reef Resort is to us. It was our second trip back to Grand Cayman and the Reef Resort. We couldn't stay anywhere else.

We stayed in a smaller room this time. First we booked the studio suite which was nice but not our thing. The door in between suites was paper thin and you could hear EVERYTHING the neighbor's were doing. We upgraded to a deluxe studio near the pool/dock and it was much better. The staff was very accommodating to our change. After that the whole trip was terrific.

The concierge was a huge help booking a fishing trip. They are super knowledgeable about the whole island. Go fishing with Phil Bodden at Chip Chip Charters. His stories enough were worth the price.

We ate at Over the Edge twice. A local bar/restaurant on the water. The turtle steak is not to be missed.

You have to rent a car which we did from McCurley's who were great as always. It's super easy to drive on the island and everytime you go out on the road you'll see a new site.

You have to go to the Reef. We met so many couples that stayed on seven mile beach and then the reef and said they'll never stay on seven mile beach again. It truly is a getaway and Grand Cayman and it's people are truly our favorite.

The online pictures don't do this place justice. You just have to be there to experience it.

  • Liked — Snorkeling right off the private beach
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jingram913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2008
We do recognise that we need to improve on sound insulation on the connecting doors on our newer units.

theReef is known for our tranquility and peace and quiet (we have a "quiet resort" policy after 10pm, we don't allow personal watercraft etc). Heck, we even turn off the fountain at one of the pools every night so that guests can better hear the waves lapping on the shore.

As such, anything less than optimal sound insulation is not acceptable, so we WILL fix this.

We do want to make sure that when this is fixed, the job is done "right first time", so it took us some time to research what we believe will be the best possible solution.

We do now have that decision, and the custom solution we have decided upon will be installed in a test units in a few weeks from now. Assuming that works (which we are confident of), we will move as rapidly as possible to fit this solution to all affected units.

I would also note that on July 1st we open our final phase of (42) oceanfront rooms, and with those new rooms opening, we will in almost all cases be able to ensure that guests are accommodated without any potential connecting door noise issues until such time as we get our new sound insulation systems installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

This place is perfect especially if you are looking for a smaller, away from "hotel row", romantic resort. We had a 1-bedroom suite with a full kitchen on the first floor. We stayed in a newer section of the resort (Room 123A). The room was nicely furnished with DVD/CD player, two chairs, sofa, dining room table for six, etc., and very spacious. We could open our fully sliding glass door and walk onto the beach. There were only two things that they could have designed better in the rooms. They are: 1) bathroom sink countertop was too small. Not enough room for your belongings, and there was no clothesline to hang your wet beach towels, wet bathing suits; 2) patios were not very private.

Suggestions if you're staying here:

Rent a car - The resort is a long way from the airport and from any tourist attractions you may want to see.
Rent a room with a kitchen - food is quite expensive and not that great at the resort restaurants. There's a small convenience store directly in back of the resort that has everything you may need with the exception of a large meat selection. Cook yourself.
Restaurants - Guy Harvey's Island Grill in George Town
Attractions - Rum Pointe (gorgeous), swim with the Stingrays, Sea Turtle Farm

  • Liked — Private
  • Disliked — Distance from restaurants and supermarkets
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovetoVacation2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

I think I figured out the key to a wonderful stay at the Reef. We booked this hotel after reading all the rave reviews on tripadvisor and expected the same. At check-in, my husband asked the desk clerk if they could do anything special since we were celebrating my 30th birthday while we were there. The clerk asked if we liked to party (???). My husband told her that actually we were also celebrating the fact that we just found out we are expecting our first child, so partying wasn't going to happen. He asked if maybe we could get a room upgrade or something special in the room on the day of my b-day (he offered to pay for anything they did, including the room upgrade request). The clerk said there was nothing else available and handed us the keys in an envelope which already had the room number written on them. We didn't put up a fight and just went to our room, which was a standard hotel room with a king bed and adjoining bathroom. It was room 125B, on the ground floor of the newest building at the far North end of the resort. There was a small fridge, microwave, sink, and toaster in the area where you enter into the room from the front door. There was a door next to the "kitchenette" which connected to the neighborhing room.

The view from the room was awesome. We could walk right onto the beach from our porch. But then we noticed the huge pile of dirt and backhoe just 30 feet down the beach from our porch. And the swimming in this area of the beach was not good due to the sea grass and rocks in the ocean. You had to walk down the beach with all your stuff to the older sections of the hotel to get good swimming/snorkeling.

My biggest complaint while we were at the Reef was the noise. After arriving our first day, we decided to take a nap. That was out of the question. They were doing renovations and construction on the hotel (which no one had told us about). If the beep-beep of the backhoe didn't keep us awake from the beach, the sound of someone drilling into concrete on the other side of the hotel did. We finally gave up and drove to Georgetown/7 mile beach for dinner. The next morning, we were awoke at 5:15am by our neighbors. They weren't especially noisy and it didn't even seem that they had kids with them, but after seeing other rooms I realized that their kitchen area was right next to the pass-through door connected to our room. We heard them running a blender, washing dishes (clank-clank in the sink), and coughing through the door/walls. We could also hear their television going. We finally gave up and got out of bed, even though it was still dark. The next morning was the same thing at 6:00am. We tried sleeping with ear plugs and stuffing towels around the connecting door but the sound still travelled. We also tried turning on the radio in the room to a channel with no music to act as "white noise". Nothing worked. They were also doing construction on the hotel each morning but Saturday and Sunday so that just added to it. We got to sleep in until 7am on our last day there before the neighbor finally woke us up. We were so tired by the time we checked out. I wish we had just changed hotels or demanded they find us another room.

I wish the resort had just taken a few extra steps and this review would have been so much better. If they had gone out of their way to do SOMETHING/ANYTHING to make us feel special it would have meant a lot to us. We know this will probably be our last vacation for awhile, and the Reef did not make it a good experience. Also, if they could do something about the noise that travels from one room to the other through those pass-through doors, they really should. The only other negative responses I've read on here mentioned the same problems.

So, if you are considering staying here this is my recommendation: Get at LEAST a one-bedroom unit (not the studio/smallest one, or a "B" unit) or get the studio suite with the whirlpool. Everyone that has posted a positive review on here looks like they got a full kitchen/living unit which is the one bedroom or bigger or the studio suite with the whirlpool. The few negative reviews I saw all involved noise in the smallest room like we were given. Also, be comfortable with the fact that this resort is best for people who like to hang out at the hotel and cook their own meals while on vacation. We like to be away from the masses, but we also enjoy going out to dinner at nice places and seeing the sights. This hotel is kind-of far away if that's your preference too. Also, don't let them put you in the new units unless you are sure about construction going on. And last, if you have a special request be sure you e-mail the hotel ahead of time or demand they do something. Just asking at check-in will not get you results (I don't mean to sound demanding but on vacation I like to sleep past 5:15am). And we have never had a hotel not do SOMETHING if we told them we were there to celebrate a special occasion. I think a 30th birthday and expecting your first child is something worth celbrating. I just wish the Reef would have gone a little above and beyond and we would have had a fabulous stay instead of a disappointing one.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
10 Thank dctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2008
Let me start by saying congratulations on your news... and a hearfelt apology for your less than perfect experience.

At the time of the reviewers visit, we were sold out, having had record occupancy this winter, so really didn't have any other rooms available at all.

There was construction on the resort for the past year or so, but up until the last month, we managed the process (time and type of work) so carefully that it was virtually not noticeable at all to guests. Unfortunately, when the reviewer stayed with us, we were in the closing stages of government inspections and when they show up, they aren't keen to reschedule that random fire alarm test.... so, to be honest, our resort manager had his hands full begging to minimise impact on our guests when we were full and could not relocate them... and, wherever he could, he tried to do whatever possible to look after any guests who were impacted.

We are ALL about service, so you can imagine this situation (though it has now past, thankfully!) was one that we found very difficult.

Clearly the reviewer was one guest who we were unable to reach or otherwise assist, so I would ask the reviewer to message me personally so I can try to work with them to arrange a repeat visit to theReef at their convenience, as I don't like to see guests have a poor experience.

Re snorkeling, there is in fact a large sandy swimming area within 200 feet of the room they stayed in, but perhaps on top of everything else they visited at a time when the water was rough and sea grass was washing around and obscuring this area so it all looked rocky.... looking out now, the sea is flat calm and gorgeous... but that won't make the reviewer feel better (sorry!)

Re the noise between units, I've just posted some other responses....a few at once, as I had to wait until I had a substantive response to this issue.

We do recognise that we need to improve on sound insulation on the connecting doors on our newer units.

theReef is known for our tranquility and peace and quiet (we have a "quiet resort" policy after 10pm, we don't allow personal watercraft etc).

As such, anything less than optimal sound insulation is not acceptable, so we WILL fix this.

We do want to make sure that when this is fixed, the job is done "right first time", so it took us some time to research what we believe will be the best possible solution.

We do now have that decision, and the custom solution we have decided upon will be installed in a test units in a few weeks from now. Assuming that works (which we are confident of), we will move as rapidly as possible to fit this solution to all affected units.

In closing, please come back.. there is nothing we like more than the opportunity to to make up for failing to deliver an excellent guest experience :) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

My wife and I stayed for a week in mid April. Pros: We found the staff and especially the concierges very helpful acquainting us with the island. The Red Sail dive shop at Morritts, next door, provided a wonderful afternoon with the Stingrays. Good snorkeling under the piers for beginners. The food at the restaurant was average, though we only ate there once because of all the other great restaurants on the west side. One night some very loud neighbors kept us up until two. We called security and they dealt with the problem quickly. The whirlpool tub was realy nice. There's a Foster's Market across the street and a liquor store, internet cafe on site. The resort was close by to some excellent snorkeling on the north side, but the wind was such that we kept to the south and west. The best snorkeling for us was opposite the Turtle Nest Inn in Boddentown, Cemetery Beach north of Seven Mile, and Eden Rock near Georgetown. Cons: The bed in our luxury room ($250 US per night) was hard. The "kitchenette" was a small sink, a coffee pot and a really small microwave. No footbath outside our first floor room made for a lot of sand everywhere. It was a 45 minute drive to the West End. We had to pay for wireless internet ($4.95 US for 24 hrs). No big pool, just two little ones, mostly for kids. The bar was OK, but the buy two get one free was a little awkward for a couple. Two-fers would have been the way to go. Also, frozen drinks were exempt from Happy Hour. All together it was a nice stay. There's so much to see, and it takes a week just to get into the island mind-set. We went to church on Sunday when everything is closed except the restaurants. Really nice. Also, Rum point is a gas! Gas prices were $4.60 Cayman, or about $5.75 US per gallon. Our rental car from Thrifty, a Toyota Yaris, was efficient, we only put $30 into the car the whole week we were there. Nice thing about Cayman, a four hour direct flight on Cayman Air from JFK with plenty of legroom and a nice meal (not peanuts!) in coach. Only weather drag? It was windy much of the time, making for choppy and sometimes risky snorkeling. Saw enough though to make us want to take up scuba. We'll see!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank playamando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

We visited Cayman and The Reef Resort for the first time and can't wait to return! It was a true vacation. Relaxing and peaceful with many options for excursions and activities. The service at The Reef was outstanding from the front desk to the concierge services, to the waitstaff, it was phenomenal. Our room was beautiful as was our view!

We were relieved that we had done our research in advance and contacted the concierge at The Reef because they informed us that we should rent a car and that we would be on the more secluded end of the island. This was the best decision we have made! We did venture to Georgetown and the 7 Mile Beach one day and although it is beautiful, it was crowded and more of a party scene. That made us appreciate The Reef that much more!

The staff also informed us about the grocery store across the street which was an excellent way of reducing the high cost of food and drinks. The Reef also has the Thirsty Surfer on its premises which is a liquor store and a mini convenience store.

The Reef Resort was a dream!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank MereNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing