We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Reef Resort
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$824
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$688
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$524
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$596
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$496
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Point Dive Resort(East End)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,830)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveller rating
944
584
203
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
584
203
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum pointbeach baracross the streeteast end of the islandstingray cityfishtime shareliquor storeseven mile beachdeluxe studiorented a carwhite sands water sportsgrand caymancaptain chrisfull kitchenall inclusive optionall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,010 - 1,015 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We enjoyed the ocean view and porch area on the first floor for easy access to the beach. It was very peaceful and quiet on the east end. Loved the convenience of the Italian Kitchen and grocery store across the street. I don't know why people say the beach is not clean unless you don't wake up early enough to see them cleaning it daily. It's a beach and is going to get seaweed - I don't expect them to clean it all day long - it's the Caribbean. There were grills that were used nightly by the guests - smelled great! Enjoyed the Reef.

Room Tip: 1st Floor room if you want to walk right onto beach
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribbeangirlTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a time share trade the week of July 27th. This was a great place and very quiet. About a half hour from the airport. Beautiful beachfront rooms. We were on the third floor and loved the view from up high. Concierge services were very helpful. We did a one hour time share presentation and got to do a Stingray City and snorkel tour for free. (A $160 value for two and well worth the one hour of time). Nice orientation on Sunday mornings and an included continental breakfast for free. Lots of water sports rentals right on the beach. We did not eat at the hotel but did so at many other restaurants. You can check out my other reviews for where we ate. We had a one bedroom unit and it was very spacious for two of us. Bring lots of suntan lotion because it was extremely hot and humid. Also bring bug spray as I found the bug bites a big problem for me especially at dusk. We ate breakfast in every day and packed lunch to save money. We had a full kitchen in our unit. Right across the street is a small shopping center with a nice restaurant (The Italian Kitchen), a liquor store, a clothing store and a small supermarket, Foster's. They had everything you would need and are open every day except Sundays. Food is very expensive all over the island, but there were many good choices of restaurants at the East End. Also, Morritts Resort is right next store and they have nice facilities too. We actually sat on their beach a few times because they had more shade. They provided big umbrellas on the beach. The Reef had chairs under palm trees which was okay, but I needed more shade. Great snorkeling right from the beach and lots of fish to see. We had no problem with any sea grass, but I would suggest water shoes, as many of the beaches in the Caymans are rocky. We had two concerns that I had to call the front desk about and they were taken care of right away. ( A broken clock and a clogged tub drain). Very nice facility and a Subway on site if you want sandwiches. We never went there. Overall a nice resort and a plus being on the more quiet side of the island.

Room Tip: Loved the third floor because of the views. If you have children, first floor may be better because you walk out your door right onto the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melissa328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the Reef. We enjoy the peace and quiet of the east end. We did the all inclusive this year, what a great way to relax and enjoy, e erroneous had what they wanted and all were happy. Colin, Nick and Tony were fabulous as always, and Sandra..... Love her.
Tortuga/ Red Sail great diving from Morrits, and car rental was easy thanks to Daina.
Capt Chris and our sunrise stingray city trip was the best ever, we were the only people there and had a great time with the sting rays.
The Internet was a little spotty at times and the tv reception in the room was poor and the excuse we were given seemed to be just that... An excuse. But overall we always look forward to our return to The Reef.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Bidwillty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Overall had another nice time at the reef resort. It is quiet relaxation at it best and as stated previously if you are not expecting a 5 star resort this is a nice place to stay. The only problem we ran into was with the staff cleaning the beach . Seaweed builds up on the beach and has to be removed on a daily basis . I know it's hot and they are working hard but on several occasions they pulled up the cart they were using in front of our room and took a drinking and smoking break on the chairs that should be reserved for the guests in addition cleaning the beach is a 8 hour a day endeavor . That being said I would return as the overall experience was very positive

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There is snorkeling, but it is not a reef. There are rocks that protect the shore where the reef would be. No coral to be seen, but there is sea life if you keep your face in the water long enough. Best is to jump in at the dock at Merritt's next door and let the current take to back. The is a small school of large tarpon at the dock. I saw a school of Permits there too. Swimming back we saw a nurse shark. Yes!. A Shark Sucker that was on it started following us and trying to latch on our legs. How cool is that!

You have to pay for the kayaks and other activities. They say it goes to feed the cats on the island, but really. There is a pool in front of the north buildings that is for owners only. Really. The wi-fi is free for owners. The rest of us pay $40 per week for one device at a time. It kept kicking me off. Too slow to consider watching a streaming video.

A good thing is that late afternoon the buildings shade the pools and lounge area. There is a gazebo by one pool that provides a corner of shade mid-afternoon. It didn't feel crowded when we were there mid-July.

Free continental breakfast at 10:00 AM on Sunday where they give you the information about the resort and the island.

The room had a kitchen with just enough stuff. We ate there nearly every meal. Two pull down Murphy beds in the living room were a space saver. Every room has an ocean view.

There is a Subway on premises open until 10:00 PM. The grocery across the street has everything you need, just not with the selection you'd find in a larger store. Plenty of produce though.

East ends is deserted. Hardly any traffic on the road no matter the time.

Best snorkeling is Rum Point by far. It is a fifteen minute swim with fins to the second channel buoy. Right from shore snorkeling is at Coneley Cove. About tens minutes North in a clump of houses. Walk 200 yards East and let the current take you back to the car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AndyinBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews