We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in East End”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We had already intended to spend the day in the East End when WestJet changed out inboud flight. When we found ourself arriving two days earlier than anticipated, we turned our day trip into an overnight.

Upon arrival we were checked in promptly and offered a complimentary rum punch. Resort activites and amenities were explained and we were directed to our room. We had a third floor room in one of the farther out buildings, which was fine with us. It was nice and quiet and we heard no noise from our neighboring rooms or the outer walkway.

The grounds were nicely kept and the room was clean. Nice full sliding doors to the balcony with a small table and 2 lounge chairs. Beach was steps away. Beach bar had a fun atmosphere, although drinks were very pricey (even by Cayman standards).
Room had a small fridge and coffee maker. We were able to pick up some snacks and juice across the street at the Foster's. There is also a souvenir shop and liquor store directly across the street. We had dinner at the Italian Kitchen in the same plaza, and grabbed lunch at Tukka, just a short drive away.

One word of caution...the house next to Morritt's had 2 large, unleashed dogs that were very aggtessive and ran out to the road when I was passing on a run. Be careful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CDNJehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We enjoyed the ocean view and porch area on the first floor for easy access to the beach. It was very peaceful and quiet on the east end. Loved the convenience of the Italian Kitchen and grocery store across the street. I don't know why people say the beach is not clean unless you don't wake up early enough to see them cleaning it daily. It's a beach and is going to get seaweed - I don't expect them to clean it all day long - it's the Caribbean. There were grills that were used nightly by the guests - smelled great! Enjoyed the Reef.

Room Tip: 1st Floor room if you want to walk right onto beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribbeangirlTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a time share trade the week of July 27th. This was a great place and very quiet. About a half hour from the airport. Beautiful beachfront rooms. We were on the third floor and loved the view from up high. Concierge services were very helpful. We did a one hour time share presentation and got to do a Stingray City and snorkel tour for free. (A $160 value for two and well worth the one hour of time). Nice orientation on Sunday mornings and an included continental breakfast for free. Lots of water sports rentals right on the beach. We did not eat at the hotel but did so at many other restaurants. You can check out my other reviews for where we ate. We had a one bedroom unit and it was very spacious for two of us. Bring lots of suntan lotion because it was extremely hot and humid. Also bring bug spray as I found the bug bites a big problem for me especially at dusk. We ate breakfast in every day and packed lunch to save money. We had a full kitchen in our unit. Right across the street is a small shopping center with a nice restaurant (The Italian Kitchen), a liquor store, a clothing store and a small supermarket, Foster's. They had everything you would need and are open every day except Sundays. Food is very expensive all over the island, but there were many good choices of restaurants at the East End. Also, Morritts Resort is right next store and they have nice facilities too. We actually sat on their beach a few times because they had more shade. They provided big umbrellas on the beach. The Reef had chairs under palm trees which was okay, but I needed more shade. Great snorkeling right from the beach and lots of fish to see. We had no problem with any sea grass, but I would suggest water shoes, as many of the beaches in the Caymans are rocky. We had two concerns that I had to call the front desk about and they were taken care of right away. ( A broken clock and a clogged tub drain). Very nice facility and a Subway on site if you want sandwiches. We never went there. Overall a nice resort and a plus being on the more quiet side of the island.

Room Tip: Loved the third floor because of the views. If you have children, first floor may be better because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melissa328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the Reef. We enjoy the peace and quiet of the east end. We did the all inclusive this year, what a great way to relax and enjoy, e erroneous had what they wanted and all were happy. Colin, Nick and Tony were fabulous as always, and Sandra..... Love her.
Tortuga/ Red Sail great diving from Morrits, and car rental was easy thanks to Daina.
Capt Chris and our sunrise stingray city trip was the best ever, we were the only people there and had a great time with the sting rays.
The Internet was a little spotty at times and the tv reception in the room was poor and the excuse we were given seemed to be just that... An excuse. But overall we always look forward to our return to The Reef.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Bidwillty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Overall had another nice time at the reef resort. It is quiet relaxation at it best and as stated previously if you are not expecting a 5 star resort this is a nice place to stay. The only problem we ran into was with the staff cleaning the beach . Seaweed builds up on the beach and has to be removed on a daily basis . I know it's hot and they are working hard but on several occasions they pulled up the cart they were using in front of our room and took a drinking and smoking break on the chairs that should be reserved for the guests in addition cleaning the beach is a 8 hour a day endeavor . That being said I would return as the overall experience was very positive

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There is snorkeling, but it is not a reef. There are rocks that protect the shore where the reef would be. No coral to be seen, but there is sea life if you keep your face in the water long enough. Best is to jump in at the dock at Merritt's next door and let the current take to back. The is a small school of large tarpon at the dock. I saw a school of Permits there too. Swimming back we saw a nurse shark. Yes!. A Shark Sucker that was on it started following us and trying to latch on our legs. How cool is that!

You have to pay for the kayaks and other activities. They say it goes to feed the cats on the island, but really. There is a pool in front of the north buildings that is for owners only. Really. The wi-fi is free for owners. The rest of us pay $40 per week for one device at a time. It kept kicking me off. Too slow to consider watching a streaming video.

A good thing is that late afternoon the buildings shade the pools and lounge area. There is a gazebo by one pool that provides a corner of shade mid-afternoon. It didn't feel crowded when we were there mid-July.

Free continental breakfast at 10:00 AM on Sunday where they give you the information about the resort and the island.

The room had a kitchen with just enough stuff. We ate there nearly every meal. Two pull down Murphy beds in the living room were a space saver. Every room has an ocean view.

There is a Subway on premises open until 10:00 PM. The grocery across the street has everything you need, just not with the selection you'd find in a larger store. Plenty of produce though.

East ends is deserted. Hardly any traffic on the road no matter the time.

Best snorkeling is Rum Point by far. It is a fifteen minute swim with fins to the second channel buoy. Right from shore snorkeling is at Coneley Cove. About tens minutes North in a clump of houses. Walk 200 yards East and let the current take you back to the car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AndyinBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a great stay at the reef with our family and friends! We did the all-inclusive meal and drink plans and I think it was the hi-light our kids' vacation! Waitstaff and bartenders were great. Rooms are big and comfy-we were in the suite with king bedroom, full kitchen, and Murphy beds for the kids in the living. We didn't really need the kitchen on the all-inclusive plan, but it's nice to have the room. The food was really good as well. I was worried it might not be very good based on reviews, but it was all fresh and delicious! We loved the all-inclusive and felt we were really being treated! We only saw a few others with wristbands for the meal and drink plans & we felt bad everyone wasn't able to enjoy all the food and drinks we were able to all day every day!! Plan even includes the Subway on the resort grounds! That was great for stopping and getting lunch to take on our excursions! We rented a car- a real must-and went to Rum Point one day, and Georgetown & Seven Mile one day. We did two excursions with White Sands-Two Stop Snorkel with Dave and Sunrise Stingray City (only way to go!) with Chris & those guys are great!! The Reef is not crowded - you don't have to worry about getting a chair on the beach under a palm tree-there's plenty of room and no crowds. Snorkeling right off the beach and fun paddle boards and glass bottom kayaks for guests to use on the all-inclusive plan! We had a great time. Great staff, great food, great beach, great water, great fun!!! We really want to come back!! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom floor-door opens right onto the beach! Rooms 103 & 104 are great spots-close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
449 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,351 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,300 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £148 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing