We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January birthday retreat was absolutely amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“January birthday retreat was absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In a nutshell, if you like being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of things, then this probably isn't the place for you and you should stick with 7 mile beach. That being said, if you like just enough action and convenience to not be bored to death but love to have some privacy, then I HIGHLY recommend The Reef Resort!!! Our condo was on the ground level and our patio was right on the beach with AMAZING views and just steps to the lounge chairs! We walked the beach and found some awesome shells! Obviously, if you're going to stay here, you need to rent a car, but I would recommend that anyway so you can really see the entire island. There's a restaurant on-site and there's a lovely, little Italian restaurant just across the street next to the small grocery store (which is VERY handy!!!) and there's also a Subway on-site for a quick bite before hitting the road to check out the island! We did the Stingray tour one of the days we were there and it's a MUST DO if you've never done it before! All in all, I can't wait to return to Grand Cayman and when I do, I will definitely stay at The Reef again!!!

Room Tip: Walk-out ground level condo!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasbille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    527
    173
    58
    28
See reviews for
482
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice place to stay on quiet end of the island. Spacious suites and very helpful staff. Snorkeling right on front of the hotel. Takes about 30 minutes to get to Georgetown by car but an easy drive. Would recommend a rental car to explore the island. Don't miss Stingray City.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Grand Cayman is Paradise. But within Paradise is another one, and that's the Eastern Districts. Tucked away from what is a busy city called George Town is the Reef Resort. We stayed here for an overnight business seminar and they took care of us pretty well!

BBQ night was "the" night. It was a great meal, and again don't forget those corn bread!

While being away from it all, a Foster's Supermaket store is just across the street, and ATM as well!

On the beach, you will face an endless expanse of gentle waves. To your right is the same, and so to your left. This is a retreat!

There's a bar right in the middle of the resort's beach, where food is also served. Watersports abound.

But then again, it never crowds in here.

The seminar room is simple, though. In fact, it can't compare to your George Town venues, but not too bad at all. The surroundings would make up for that!

The guest rooms are very spacious! If I'm not mistaken, everything is suite in this place. Ours was one bed room, and the common areas of the unit were very big!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PitonsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Took the family for 5 days at this beautiful establishment which is located in a peaceful section of PARADISE. The management and staff were all friendly and great. The BARBECUE night is awesome! If you don't mind the 40 minute drive and want to get away from the rush and traffic of 7-Mile book your stay at the Reef Resort. All amenities (grocery store, souvenir shop, restaurant etc.) are across the street. For authentic local food! only 5 minute away.

Room Tip: first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I'll start off with the good, the rooms have a fabulous view of the ocean and they are spacious in size. The bad is the ocean is not a swimming ocean as there is much coral and sea grass all over. When I think of the carribean I want to be where the ocean is crystal clear. If you want that you have to go to seven mile beach which is about 50 minutes from the reef. There is also rum point but although much better than the reef the water still isn't as crystal clear as it is on seven mile. The ugly was the rooms bathroom. The toilet had permanent stains and scratches in it that looked gross. The tub had one missing tile and a few others just about falling off. It needed a total overhaul. The room was dated but that didn't bother me as much as the horrible bathroom. The kitchen was missing many pots and pans, plates and silverwear.

We ate at some fabulous restaurants, The Lighthouse for one, The Lobster Pot, Tukka, The Rum Point Restaurant and the little Italian place across the street from the Reef was very good also.

If I go back I will definately stay on seven mile.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Misterfreshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks for taking time to leave a review and for allowing us an opportunity to clarify your points. We are really glad to hear you enjoyed our fantastic views but disappointed that you were not happy with your room. We implore all guests to contact us with any issues whilst on site so we can do our very best to resolve them. We can’t find any record of these issues being reported during your stay. It also sounds that perhaps the water may have been a little cloudy while you were here and for that we are sorry. Please keep in mind however that we are a tiny island in the middle of the Caribbean Sea, as such the water conditions are the same all of the way around the island. Our sea is the same crystal clear sea that you will see 20 miles away on seven mile beach; the water clarity is no different. The main difference between the West and the East of the island is the depth of the reefs and the amount of visitors they receive. They tend to be shallower on the East End which usually means you can see a greater variety of aquatic life whilst snorkeling. Less visitors also means our reefs are generally a little healthier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Besides a bartender that assumed I would be cool with chatting about smoking pot (no thanks bro), the Reef was AWESOME. Very clean, comfortable, beautiful room with balcony. The beach is long enough to walk up and down to see different views of the scenery. The hotel is on the more quiet eastern side of the island, so we really got to "get-away" and enjoy ourselves. There's not much more to say - feel confident staying at the Reef.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our first trip to Grand Cayman, August 10-17, 2013, and we enjoyed every minute. The resort is in the East Bay area, the "quiet" end of the island. Not boring, however! We enjoyed that all rooms face the ocean, and the resort has direct beach/pool access. We felt very safe letting our kids run between pool and beach as we could see them from both sides. The Reef is located right next door to the Morritt's Resort and you can wander down freely. The snorkeling under their pier is better than at the reef, and they have a swim up pool bar with fun pool activities in the afternoon. However, we preferred the more relaxing atmosphere and friendly people at the Reef.

Definitely rent a car for the week! Its easy to drive around this island, although you do have to drive on the left which took some getting used to. We brought our GPS from home and were very grateful to have it! Sunday afternoon at Rum Point was great. We drove to Georgetown on Monday a.m., only one cruise ship was in port so it was easy to do some tax-free tourist shopping. We headed up the coast from there to spend the afternoon swimming with dolphins at Dolphin Discovery, Zoe the head trainer was great. We did an hour at the Turtle Farm which was enough, but allow more time if you want to use the water slide and lagoon area. Check out the Blow Holes, and definitely try the local eateries like Over the Edge, Tukka's and The Lighthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
300 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,300 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,051 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing