We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to The Reef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our third trip to the East End and our second stay at The Reef. Before our arrival, Daina helped us set up all of our planned activities. She was very informative and responded quickly to each of our emails. She was also able to get us discounts on some of our activities. When we arrived she had a schedule of our activities waiting for us at the concierge desk.

Our room was located on the third floor as we had requested. We were impressed with how clean the room was. Our one bedroom was spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean. This visit we decided to take the all inclusive package. Nick, Tony and Doris took care of us all week. They always greeted us with a smile and many times were preparing our drinks for us as we walked up to the bar. The all inclusive may seem on the expensive side but if you plan to eat most of your meals at the resort you will save money. The food was excellent all week. The menu is very large and even after 8 nights we were not running out of good options.

During our visit we took the 7 AM Stingray City trip with Chris though White Sands. The trip was amazing. Chris took 6 of us out and we were on the sandbar all by ourselves. He then took us to a great snorkeling spot on the reef. He told us to take as much time as we wanted at both stops. On a previous trip we had taken a larger boat out to stingray city in the afternoon. This trip was much more enjoyable.

The Reef is an extremely relaxing vacation spot. Most days we relaxed on the beach reading and spending time in the ocean. This is their slowest time of year and most days we were one of only a few couples on the beach. It almost felt like our own private getaway.

In the past we have also stayed at Morritt's. After having experienced both resorts we would always return to The Reef. The rooms are much nicer and the over all vibe of the resort is much more relaxing and guest-friendly. The staff goes out of their way to get to know you and make sure you are having a great vacation. I have no doubt that we will continue to return to The Reef in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob878G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Go between September 7th and 14th and you will have the place to yourself. Staff are friendly and the place is meticulously maintained. Not even a burned out light bulb. Not a spot of rust. Forget the food here. The cafe makes a great omelet but that's about it. Take a pass on the buffet. You'll thank me later!

Great places nearby: Tukka for fabulous island fair and The Lighthouse to which I challenge you to find better Italian food short if going to Italy. I am Sicilian-borne and usually very critical of most Italian food. You'll thank me later.

This is our fourth trip to Cayman, we have a timeshare and family here. The decline in the island's economy is remarkable even in a year. Lot fewer cruise ships in George Town means great deals. Warning... Things are expensive here. VERY. Expensive. Also you must rent a car. You don't have a choice if you want to get around.

I've stayed at other time share trades and this,by far, is the best even though its out of the way. Bring an underwater camera because the snorkeling is terrific.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Buffettbassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

While the people at the front desk aren't exceptionally friendly, other parts of the hotel make up for it. The room was so nice! I loved having a condo type room with a kitchen and family room along with the bedroom. I loved waking up in the morning and sitting out on the balcony, breathing in the fresh ocean air and reading a good book. It was truly paradise.

The restaurants were extremely slow on service and the servers were lacking in friendliness. The food was pretty good, though (when you finally got it). If you went to get a drink from the bar while you were sitting at a table because your waiter/waitress was no where around, they wouldn't give it to you because "your waiter has to bring it to you". That was probably the worst part about the hotel. Also, the restaurant where they serve breakfast seems dingy.

Overall, we had a really great experience and even though the hotel is a 45 minute drive from the airport, it was nice being on the secluded part of the island. The water is definitely rougher on this side of the island and not very friendly to swim in. The West side of the island is more ideal for beautiful beaches and lounging around all day.

Room Tip: All rooms were ocean front, so you really can't seem to go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We just returned back to SC after staying 5 nights at the Reef on the East End of Grand Cayman. All rooms are beachfront so we would walk out of our sliding glass door onto the pool deck then to the sand. We did the all inclusive meal and drink plan - best decision EVER. The food is really great. It is all from the menu and all fish is fresh and breakfast was also amazing. If we had not - our food and adult beverage bill would have been enormous because we could not get enough of the great dishes and also bar food - oh and drinks!! For all meals we sat outside at tables in the sand or at the bar where Nick and Tony kept us watered and fed. Doris is sassy and wonderfully witty. Shaker (spelled as we pronounced it) was very social and helpful. He is the night manager and was there every night to assist us with any need we had. We snorkeled every day from the Morrits dock down past the Reef dock - its a drift snorkle when you do it this way. FANTASTIC! We saw stingrays, flounder, huge tarpon, turtles, and all kinds of amazing tropical fish. Don't listen to reviews about the rocky entrance into the water. Go in and enjoy your own aquarium. We don't usually repeat destinations - but this one we will. We did scuba diving trips with Red Sail. They are very professional and are located at Morrits - just one resort down that I mentioned earlier where you begin your snorkel. Give all the staff a chance to get to know you and you will fall in love with the different personalities of each. Relax and enjoy - it's vacation. Oh and tipping never hurts. The staff works hard!

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor so you could walk right out onto the beach. Also the AC was awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 2 week stay at The Reef. We are repeat visitors and love the East End of the island. We find the quiet end of the island perfect for a relaxing get away. We also found The Reef enjoyable as usual. The facility is wonderful and staff is outstanding. They are very friendly and more than happy to help in anyway.Treat yourself to a visit to paradise and The Reef.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved every minute of it. The staff went out of their way to please. The water was perfect. We loved the outside bar. The bartender was very polite.We fished with Captain Herman, that night he picked us up and took us back to his restaurant where he cooked our catch.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach side. Not a bad room anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipbogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In a nutshell, if you like being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of things, then this probably isn't the place for you and you should stick with 7 mile beach. That being said, if you like just enough action and convenience to not be bored to death but love to have some privacy, then I HIGHLY recommend The Reef Resort!!! Our condo was on the ground level and our patio was right on the beach with AMAZING views and just steps to the lounge chairs! We walked the beach and found some awesome shells! Obviously, if you're going to stay here, you need to rent a car, but I would recommend that anyway so you can really see the entire island. There's a restaurant on-site and there's a lovely, little Italian restaurant just across the street next to the small grocery store (which is VERY handy!!!) and there's also a Subway on-site for a quick bite before hitting the road to check out the island! We did the Stingray tour one of the days we were there and it's a MUST DO if you've never done it before! All in all, I can't wait to return to Grand Cayman and when I do, I will definitely stay at The Reef again!!!

Room Tip: Walk-out ground level condo!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lasbille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
552 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,454 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £172 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing