We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raving (realistically) about The Reef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our first trip to Grand Cayman and to the Reef Resort and we loved it. We took a studio for 2 weeks as part of a package with Air Canada Vacations. We had superb views of the ocean and the cloud formations lit up by the sun setting behind us. Landscaping staff worked very hard to keep the beach clean of seaweed and eelgrass during the somewhat stormy, but warm weather we experienced in early November. A studio fully met our needs for preparing basic breakfasts and lunches using groceries from the Fosters Express (IGA) across the road. For evenings we mostly ate at the beach bar. We were glad to see they support Cayman Islands Brewery with a full line up of their beers. We particularly liked Ironshore Bock (7% ABV, available all year round) and Pirates Gold Lager (4.5 % ABV, brewed around Pirates Week). Collin’s recommendation “barrel-matured spiced rum” was something special. You can keep your bar bill under control by also patronizing the local liquor store. Los Tropicanos at the Monday night welcome party were great fun; Barefoot Man not so much (unless you have the smutty mind of an 11-year old boy and plenty of pina coladas on board). Snorkelling under the docks of The Reef and the adjacent Morritts resort was amazing in terms of the number, variety and size of fish. Tarpon were huge but harmless, as were a reef shark (Morritts) and nurse shark (The Reef) that came by. I would also recommend the early morning Stingray Sandbar and snorkel trip with White Sands Water Sports, based on site. We rented a car for a couple of days and should probably have kept it longer. We also used the very basic resort bikes (backpedal to brake) to access nearby beaches. Beaches were un-crowded, particularly once you got away from the resort to the less-developed areas North and South. There was a horrifying amount of plastic washed up on shore from the cruise ships and the adjacent Islands, but we were pleased to see a few other tourists picking up stuff, as we did on our morning and evening walks. The staff were all marvellous, particularly Cathy the Concierge Lady. She significantly exceeded our expectations in terms of knowledge, organization and communication. She was also helpful with access to bird books, bird and butterfly recognition cards and flower books which were perfect for us amateur naturalists. How does she manage to be so chirpy every morning with her phone messages (no ring) about the day’s events.

Room Tip: Room 212B was very quiet, being well away from the bar and far enough away from the hot-tub. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoop56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our first trip here, My husband and I were looking for a small, no frills, ocean front property and found it here. Room 206B, Deluxe Suite overlooking the ocean, room was small, for us it was fine. This is not a luxury resort, it's a Timeshare property, but we thought they did a nice job. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and early lights out. Outdoor beach bar was fun. White Sands is right on the property for all your water activities. If you wish to go to Stingray City, go with White Sands on the 7AM trip, you'll be the only one there, Chris our Captain was awesome, it's a memorable experience. Also through White Sands we took the Hobie Cat snorkeling tour right off the beach, Captain Alan was awesome! White Sands, what a wonderful family(you too Collin)! The beach and water is awesome, water was 86 daily. Bring water shoes. Small grocery store & liquor store across the street. Car rental on site if needed. Italian Kitchen, Tukka, Kirks, Over the Edge, Lighthouse, all wonderful dinner meals. There is nothing inexpensive about this island, so be prepared to dig deep. Yes we would go back as a couple sometime in the future for some R & R.

Room Tip: Being by the pools can have it's drawbacks, loud kids can put a damper on the peace and quite on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was nice, clean, quiet, and the beach was great for snorkeling (not for swimming; too much sea grass). Staff was friendly and helpful. View off the balcony was great, including watching the sun rise. The price was good. I had no idea when I booked it that it is literally as far away from the airport as you can get; a good 45 minutes by car... but that wasn't a big deal because there were plenty of dive sites and things to see on the east end of the island. I would have given it four stars except for three things; one, the food was subpar for resort prices (although the built in Subway sandwich place was good for a fast lunch, and I wish I had visited Tukka, ten minutes down the road, earlier, for truly exceptional food). Two, drinks at the bar were ridiculously expensive (which I didn't find out until I got the bill; room rates are in USD, but bar rates are in Grand Cayman Dollars, which are pegged at a $1.25 exchange rate... but then a gratuity is added to that, which is fine, but end result is a Pina Colada is going to cost you $13. Third, the kitchenette was kind of weird; sparsely populated with dishes and flatware, the sink was clogged every day, the coffeemaker had so much burned on gunk I was afraid it would catch on fire if I used it. Still, all things considered, I was happy enough with it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for offering feedback on how we can further enhance our guest’s experience. We are located on the beautiful secluded East end of Grand Cayman and as you noted we are fortunate to enjoy the very best snorkeling and diving Cayman has to offer. We are also one of a select few resorts on island that has turtles nesting on our beach throughout the summer; indeed we have released over 300 baby turtles so far this year

Regards our food we appreciate that we might not get it right, first time, every time for all of our guests and in these instances we implore you to bring any issues to the attention of a staff member. We would never expect a guest to pay for a meal that they were not satisfied with. Regards your sink and coffee maker, we have a dedicated maintenance and housekeeping team who could and would have resolved both of those issues in a moment. We implore all of our guests to take a second to feed back your experiences and allow us the opportunity whilst on site to rectify them leaving you free to enjoy your vacation.

Thanks again for leaving an honest and informative review, best wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from The Reef Resort in Grand Cayman. This was our 2nd time in less than a year. Our previous visit was in February. The water temps were too cold in February so we wanted to try November thinking the water would be warmer after a long hot summer! We were right. It was a bit rainier, but not enough to stop our activities! The Reef is a great place to stay because it's not too crowded. (like Seven Mile Beach Resorts can be) It really is a beautiful, low key resort with decent service. We had done the all inclusive plan the time before and were planning to do it for part of our stay this time but ended up not doing it after all and definitely spent less money! We ate several meals at The Reef and while the food is very good, it's not great. Lots of choices on the menu though and the servers are all friendly. Nice to be able to eat meals directly on the beach if you choose. The drinks are great! Both my husband and his sister and her husband all agreed that The Reef has the best mudslide on the island. (Even better than the touted mudslide at The Wreck over at Rum Point!) You could stay at The Reef for your entire trip but I'd recommend you rent a car for at least part of the time and get out and see the sights and eat at other places too. Eating at Grand Cayman can be expensive, but we found not as nearly expensive as some have posted on other forums.

My SIL and I tried the water aerobics with Lindsey as well as the tie dye and bead craft workshops and had a great time! Make sure if you need to buy sunscreen you buy from the folks at White Sand Sports (they have a small shop at the resort) as they are at least a dollar cheaper than the market across the street.

Room Tip: The studio rooms have a sliding door right next to the beach front so you can be lulled to sleep by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjoyful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

First place I have ever stayed in Grand Cayman, and it let a fantastic impression. The resort and amentities left nothing to be desired. The location was perfect for a first timer. Calm, cool, and relaxing is the way of the island, and the resort. The condo was clean, well maintained, and more than appropriate for our trip. First floor was nice to be able to walk straight out to the pool and then the beach. The grounds were well taken care of, and the bar, and bartenders, were welcoming and friendly. Since then, I've been back to Cayman more than a dozen times, but I always return to the facility to remind myself of what started my infatuation with the island. Great for any group of people, and boy have they added on since I started going there. It is only getting better year after year.

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor accomodations. Easy in and out, and you can have pleasant discussions with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 310scottb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for a week after staying at three mile resort for the previous 3 days. We really liked three mile resort but liked the east end much better . The Reef resort was idyllic quiet great snorkelling and really helpful friendly staff. We will be going back if we get the opportunity.

Room Tip: I would recommend a one bedroom as we only had a suite and just a microwave fridge and coffee maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jikijester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It sounds like you had a great vacation and I’m pleased you got to relax and enjoy our world class snorkeling.

Best wishes from all of the staff at theReef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Although the resort is beautiful, quite and clean, they have over looked many simple amenities.If you get a deluxe studio be prepared to find that the kitchenette is unusable. They provide no utensils. No sharp knife , no cutting board, no grill utensils, no ice bucket, no table to dine on. The counter top is less then 24'' You have to cradle the coffee maker in your arms in order to fill it with water. The sink is too small to fit a dish in. We were temped to do the dishes in the whirl pool tub. When I asked the concierge to provide these things, he said no one has ever asked for these things before. He had a hard time providing them for us. The beach bar is frustrating as well. during the day, all seats on the south side of the bar are in direct sun and unusable. The floor on the east end of the bar has sunken making the bar too high to sit at comfortably. Basically, the bar ranges from uncomfortable to unusable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for allowing us to clarify some of the points that you have raised. Our deluxe studio rooms come with a mini kitchen which comprises of a microwave, mini fridge, eating utensils for 2 with a separate small sink. These rooms are not ideal for cooking in and such will not carry the list of items that would be found in a full 1 bedroom suite. These all contain a large kitchen, full oven, large microwave, dishwasher, complete set of pots and pans including chopping boards and all other relevant items. These rooms are designed for guests that choose to cook on site and are fully equipped to allow them to do so. As you noted we were able to provide you with everything that you requested however we would recommend that guests view all of our available room options and choose the best fit for their needs.

Thanks again for the review and best wishes for the future from all of the staff at theReef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
545 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,450 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £172 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing