We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Just finished a 9 day trip to the Reef. The accommodations were nice and the location was perfect. We didn't want the crowds on the other side of the island. We were looking for a more adventurous vacation and this fit the bill. The staff were very accommodating and super friendly, especially the maintenance staff. Hated to leave!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ogiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for leaving a review, I think the staff here enjoyed your stay almost as much as you did!

We're all pleased we were able to make your vacation that bit extra special

Happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    507
    167
    55
    28
See reviews for
462
749
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were really happy that we ended up staying on this end of the island because we prefer less commercialized places when we travel. A few things to know before you go...

The kitchenette in the two lowest of the four price points is not really a kitchen but just a coffee maker, little fridge and toaster. Unfortunately we didn't realize this and stocked up on things from the grocery store upon arrival Saturday night before checking in because all the grocery stores are closed on Sunday. We had to give away food we were unable to cook without a stove or oven. We were able to make some microwave eggs and salvage a few things but hopefully this review will save you the same mistake we made.

The Barefoot Restaurant is not spectacular. We went for breakfast and wish we would have saved our money and just ordered a breakfast sandwich from the Subway for a few bucks. I ordered the breakfast tacos with a request for no meat. It took forever for the food to arrive and sure enough there was meat. Understandable mistake, but a mistake. I didn't want my husbands food to get cold so he had his breakfast and mine did not arrive until after he had finished. My husband had two cups of coffee, here coffee usually comes with refills. No big deal but would have been nice to know ahead of time they would charge 2.25CI for each. Oh well. We didn't go back for dinner!

Maintenance
Excellent service for maintenance. We thought the jetted tub was broken and let the front desk know. The maintenance beat us back to the room and were waiting outside by the time we got back.

Room Selection
We loved being on the 1st floor because we could walk right out to the beach. Just be aware that there is more traffic and noise through the day and night on the lower floor. We had a really loud family that was pretty annoying playing volleyball and other various sports on the sidewalk in front of our (wishfully peaceful) ocean view the whole trip. Security is happy to make the quiet rounds at 10pm which stopped the noise thankfully.

Snorkeling
Great even just out front. The best snorkeling we did the whole trip was next door at the pier of the neighboring resort. Lots of big fishies!

Room Tip: 1st floor walk out to the beach from your patio but expect a little more noise than an upper level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we’re all pleased that you had a great time and have given us some feedback as to how we can make things even better.

You’re right about our studios, they offer a mini kitchen which includes (but not limited to) a fridge and a microwave with full utensils for 2 people. Should you wish for a more comprehensive kitchen we would recommend that you look at either a 1 or 2 bed roomed suite. These rooms offer a full kitchen (inc dishwasher) with all necessary pots, pans and utensils required to enjoy a full family meal. If you are the kind of family that likes to cook (maybe a few locally caught fish) then these rooms are ideal.

We’re sorry about the mistake with your breakfast, we appreciate that mistakes like these are not acceptable and we humbly apologize. You are also correct about the coffee, you only pay for the first and all refills are complimentary. It would seem perhaps that maybe the server got confused and thought they were serving coffee for 2 people, again we apologize. In these instances, whenever possible we implore guests to talk to us on site. We would have gladly adjusted your bill to reflect this error before you left.

Great to hear you enjoyed the snorkeling; due to the pristine condition of our reefs some of our larger aquatic friends are regular visitors to thereef and can often be found very close to shore. It’s truly a memorable experience when something as big as you decides to swim by and take a closer look!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave an honest and constructive review
Happy holidays for the future from your friends at theReef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I recently returned from a week (12/14-21) at The Reef. Primarily there for a diving vacation I was also pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The front desk personnel were always helpful and accommodating. The only negative that I had was the weekly charge of $220 for utilities in addition to the $10 daily fee. I had no problem with the $40 wifi fee as that is very much in line with other resorts that I have stayed coat. I had a second floor one bedroom and the view was wonderful as was the room. I ate at the restaurant only twice and the food was good, not great. Sad, because you can sit at tables in the sand and enjoy the view which would be enhanced by an excellent meal. There is an Italian restaurant across the street that was very good and other restaurants within driving distance. Located in the East End a car is a must to get around. They have a dive operation on site however I dove with Ocean Frontier who I would recommend highly (see my review).
Overall The Reef met and exceeded my expectations. Checkin and checkout were both done efficiently with a minimum amount of wait time. Again the front desk personnel were very helpful in providing information about the area.
If you are looking for some peace and quiet and don't want the hustle and bustle of Seven Mile beach this may be the place for you. I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks for leaving a review

Its great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we sincerely appreciate the feedback on how we can improve even further.

Fantastic beachfront dining is one of the many things that make thereef resort special. Whenever possible we implore our guests to give us feedback on the spot as any tips on how we could have made your meal great would have been gladly listened to and acted upon.

I’m not surprised to hear you enjoyed the diving, the East End of Grand Cayman offers some of the finest diving in the world with surprises (sometimes big!) around every corner and reef.

As you know the utility fees payable for Timeshare Exchange guests visiting Cayman are supplied to you directly by Interval International when you book, and should you have missed that information on your booking form we also hand out this information to guests upon check in.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Never going back. We booked two suites originally, and then cancelled one, but they charged us for BOTH anyway, Even though they could tell that no one was using the other one since the maids come in every day. No one in the lobby was helpful and never apologized or anything. Our family has been going to the Caymans for 22 years and this was the worst treatment we ever got. Morritt's is so much better. So disappointing. Never ever going back. Rip off!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thanks for leaving a review but sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. I have investigated your complaint with the following results.

You booked (and have the benefit of) a 2 bed roomed suite for the duration of your stay. At check out you advised us that you were not using the other room and didn’t want to pay for it. We explained at the time that if you cancelled the room at the start of your vacation there would have been no charge however as the room was out of use for that time we were not able to waive the fee. Should any guests feel that their suite is too large and they would prefer a smaller one we ask that you please advise us of your wishes at the start of your vacation and we will be happy to make those changes.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We went to the Resort for Pirate Week. Checked out everything online before the trip. The Beach and views from the rooms are amazing, we were suppose to have a suite but that did not happen. Coffee pot but no coffee left in the room to put in the coffee pot. The bathroom had one towel, no soap to name a few of the room problems. There was no information on the resort web site showing a $40.00 fee would be charged if you wanted the WIFI connection for the week. The Final straw came when an iguana dumped at our front door and a call was made to the front desk twice, no clean-up. We made a visit to the front desk and ask for it to be cleaned again, the comment from the person at the counter "I can get you a mop and you can clean it yourself." This was not my reason for a vacation. My husband finally called them one more time and someone from maintenance came and cleaned the mess at the front door.
We changed resorts and where we went was the most wonderful place I could have gone to. I would Not recommend this as a Place to stay. It Does have a Beautiful Breach but the guest service department is VERY VERY POOR.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Dnares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for allowing us an opportunity to discuss the issues you encountered while on site.

We are sorry that your room was missing some items. However, as you did not report these issues to any member of staff on site before you left, we were unable to refill the missing items. We have a full-time housekeeping team and would have promptly resolved any issues. Please take the time to allow us to resolve any of your problems whilst you are enjoying your vacation.

You mentioned that when you reported the issue one of our front desk team said that you could clean it yourself. Such comments (if made) by any staff member would clearly have been unacceptable. However, you did not mention this at any point whilst you were here. We pride ourselves on ensuring our guests have the best possible vacation experience. Indeed, as you know, we offer a guarantee that if any issues within our control are not fixed the same day then you will not have to pay for that night’s accommodation.

As you noted we do have a charge for unlimited WiFi access. We recently installed a completely new system that gives our guests 100% coverage on site (including the beach) and offers some of the fastest WiFi anywhere on island. Our feedback has shown that our guests are happy to pay a small fee for outstanding service.

We are genuinely sorry an Iguana pooped on your balcony and even sorrier that it took a member of staff nearly an hour to clean it. Blue Iguanas are rare visitors to theReef resort and they are one of the most endangered Iguana species anywhere on earth. In addition, they are only found on Grand Cayman. They are easily recognizable by their distinctive blue color and can exceed 4 feet long when fully grown. They are, however, completely harmless and fully protected by law. To see a mess is rare and we do appreciate it’s not nice to find and we apologize.

Upon check out when we asked if we could do anything further you mentioned that you were not happy with our location. We are located on the beautiful secluded east end of Grand Cayman around a 45 minute drive from the airport. If you want to walk for miles along a beautiful deserted beach then we are definitely for you. However if you prefer a more active and busy vacation one of the resorts on seven mile beach may be more suited to your taste.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've just been on email with The Reef to book our 4th return to the Resort in April, and we can't wait to get back to the beach and the Rusty Pelican (bar), and to meet up with the guests and staff who've become friends over our few years there. The rooms are well-equipped and comfortable, our beach is raked cleaned everyday, and our views (day and night) out over the Caribbean Sea are superb. The East End of Grand Cayman Island is home to some of the best (and least crowded) scuba diving I've experienced anywhere. The concierge team is cheerful and it's just a short hop to Rum Point or to our favourite restaurants nearby (Italian Kitchen, Tukka, Over the Edge). Last year it was great to have the breakfast cafe open again!
Whether we're there for a few weeks with the kids or just on our own, The Reef's been a great place to escape these British winters. Just wish we could stay longer.

Room Tip: We prefer the first floor rooms, better views across the Caribbean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cormacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed in many timeshares throughout the Caribbean (St Martin, Curacao, Cancun, to name a few) and while our unit was very clean as were the grounds, the lobby and restaurant left something to be desired. Our unit was on the 3rd flood with a lovely view. The reception area is sad looking compared to other 5 star Interval timeshares we have visited. The restaurant decor was awlful - ripped blinds on the windows, dark walls, wobbly tiled top table. The food was fair. I had called the concierge with a couple questions and while I was told they would get back to me with answers, we never heard anything. Next door is the Morritt's, we walked through the lobby and restaurant and there is absolutely no comparison. The Morritt's appearance was heads above that of The Reef and I can't believe The Reef is considered a 5 star while the Morritt's isn't. The resort location is wonderful, away from the hype of Seven Mile. All rooms face the water which is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate all feedback and work hard to meet the expectations of our guests.

We are proud recipients of the Interval International Premier award (which is only awarded to a small percentage of resorts throughout the world) and indeed there is only one other resort in Cayman which has received this prestigious award. In addition to this (but not limited to) we have a AAA diamond rating, the Expedia insiders select award, the Trip Advisor certificate of excellence and the Family vacation award for one of the top all inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean. These awards are given based on location, facilities, and service. We are proud to have received these awards consistently since 2009. If other resorts on Island have not received these awards it would be because of one or more of these reasons.

I’m sorry that you felt our concierge service was lacking, we take great pride in our customer service skills with this dept but it appears we fell short on this occasion, please accept my apologies.

We are the first to admit that we have to work hard each day and we will always have room for improvement. Your comments regards one of our restaurants has been passed directly to our F&B director to look into the issues you have mentioned. Regards our reception you would be correct in stating that it is not as large as some of the major hotels, however as we are more of a boutique resort we do feel it currently serves its purpose.

Thanks again for the review and happy travels for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
217 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,260 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
579 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4,907 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing