We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay over XMas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A nice stay over XMas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Reef was a nice stay for my large family over XMas week. The resort is clearly well-run and we had no major hiccups. The rooms were comfortable and the food was pretty good (although some dishes were definitely better than others - the shrimp curry is a winner while while the lobster was over cooked). The beach is always clean and the snorkeling - particularly if you walk down towards the Morritt's and float back towards the Reef - is very nice (be careful of the current if you stray too far out - its is positively dangerous). The front desk and concierge were always helpful. Definitely recommend a stay for families - although I'm not sure I'd call this a romantic get-away spot. Yes, highly recommend a rental car since everything is a drive from the Reef, although being on the quiet side of the island, away from the congestion and hyper-activity of Seven Mile Beach is great.

Room Tip: They do have elevators for the upper floors, but being on the ground floor is a nice way to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 103BruceX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks for leaving a review, we appreciate your kind words and are really pleased that you enjoyed a fabulous vacation.

You’ve left some great tips for future travelers and I would only add that guests be sure to use our full time concierge team. We can of course assist with everything from booking excursions to tracking down lost luggage, however in addition to this we know all of the best snorkeling sites and have a real insiders view on how to get the very best out of your own personal vacation.

Thanks again for your review and happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    496
    164
    55
    28
See reviews for
448
741
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just finished a 7 night stay at the Reef Resort. Well kept comfortable suites with full kitchens. The best snorkeling on the island just off your porch. Quiet with good food but not great food. Easy to get around the island from the hotel if you have a car. A small grocery is just across the street and well stocked. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: all rooms front the beach but beware the third floor in one building, ask for ground floor (with wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience at theReef Resort.

It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable experience and found our one bedroom suites to your liking.

We are proud of our resort in the beautiful East End and as you found it is quiet easy to get around for those who choose to rent a car. Should one choose not to rent a vehicle during your stay you will find our concierge team very accommodating in arranging the best and least expensive way to see the island and try some fabulous local cuisine.

Thank again for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to theReef in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the reef. The front desk person David was very helpful in making our stay the best. He knows how to treat people. It service like this that makes me want to go back to the Reef.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review of your staycation at theReef Resort!

We believe our secluded location in beautiful East End is the perfect location to escape the hustle and bustle and we’re glad you experienced the same.
We appreciate your kind words about our front desk employee, David, and will be sure to pass along your compliments.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Just finished a 9 day trip to the Reef. The accommodations were nice and the location was perfect. We didn't want the crowds on the other side of the island. We were looking for a more adventurous vacation and this fit the bill. The staff were very accommodating and super friendly, especially the maintenance staff. Hated to leave!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ogiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for leaving a review, I think the staff here enjoyed your stay almost as much as you did!

We're all pleased we were able to make your vacation that bit extra special

Happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were really happy that we ended up staying on this end of the island because we prefer less commercialized places when we travel. A few things to know before you go...

The kitchenette in the two lowest of the four price points is not really a kitchen but just a coffee maker, little fridge and toaster. Unfortunately we didn't realize this and stocked up on things from the grocery store upon arrival Saturday night before checking in because all the grocery stores are closed on Sunday. We had to give away food we were unable to cook without a stove or oven. We were able to make some microwave eggs and salvage a few things but hopefully this review will save you the same mistake we made.

The Barefoot Restaurant is not spectacular. We went for breakfast and wish we would have saved our money and just ordered a breakfast sandwich from the Subway for a few bucks. I ordered the breakfast tacos with a request for no meat. It took forever for the food to arrive and sure enough there was meat. Understandable mistake, but a mistake. I didn't want my husbands food to get cold so he had his breakfast and mine did not arrive until after he had finished. My husband had two cups of coffee, here coffee usually comes with refills. No big deal but would have been nice to know ahead of time they would charge 2.25CI for each. Oh well. We didn't go back for dinner!

Maintenance
Excellent service for maintenance. We thought the jetted tub was broken and let the front desk know. The maintenance beat us back to the room and were waiting outside by the time we got back.

Room Selection
We loved being on the 1st floor because we could walk right out to the beach. Just be aware that there is more traffic and noise through the day and night on the lower floor. We had a really loud family that was pretty annoying playing volleyball and other various sports on the sidewalk in front of our (wishfully peaceful) ocean view the whole trip. Security is happy to make the quiet rounds at 10pm which stopped the noise thankfully.

Snorkeling
Great even just out front. The best snorkeling we did the whole trip was next door at the pier of the neighboring resort. Lots of big fishies!

Room Tip: 1st floor walk out to the beach from your patio but expect a little more noise than an upper level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we’re all pleased that you had a great time and have given us some feedback as to how we can make things even better.

You’re right about our studios, they offer a mini kitchen which includes (but not limited to) a fridge and a microwave with full utensils for 2 people. Should you wish for a more comprehensive kitchen we would recommend that you look at either a 1 or 2 bed roomed suite. These rooms offer a full kitchen (inc dishwasher) with all necessary pots, pans and utensils required to enjoy a full family meal. If you are the kind of family that likes to cook (maybe a few locally caught fish) then these rooms are ideal.

We’re sorry about the mistake with your breakfast, we appreciate that mistakes like these are not acceptable and we humbly apologize. You are also correct about the coffee, you only pay for the first and all refills are complimentary. It would seem perhaps that maybe the server got confused and thought they were serving coffee for 2 people, again we apologize. In these instances, whenever possible we implore guests to talk to us on site. We would have gladly adjusted your bill to reflect this error before you left.

Great to hear you enjoyed the snorkeling; due to the pristine condition of our reefs some of our larger aquatic friends are regular visitors to thereef and can often be found very close to shore. It’s truly a memorable experience when something as big as you decides to swim by and take a closer look!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave an honest and constructive review
Happy holidays for the future from your friends at theReef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I recently returned from a week (12/14-21) at The Reef. Primarily there for a diving vacation I was also pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The front desk personnel were always helpful and accommodating. The only negative that I had was the weekly charge of $220 for utilities in addition to the $10 daily fee. I had no problem with the $40 wifi fee as that is very much in line with other resorts that I have stayed coat. I had a second floor one bedroom and the view was wonderful as was the room. I ate at the restaurant only twice and the food was good, not great. Sad, because you can sit at tables in the sand and enjoy the view which would be enhanced by an excellent meal. There is an Italian restaurant across the street that was very good and other restaurants within driving distance. Located in the East End a car is a must to get around. They have a dive operation on site however I dove with Ocean Frontier who I would recommend highly (see my review).
Overall The Reef met and exceeded my expectations. Checkin and checkout were both done efficiently with a minimum amount of wait time. Again the front desk personnel were very helpful in providing information about the area.
If you are looking for some peace and quiet and don't want the hustle and bustle of Seven Mile beach this may be the place for you. I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks for leaving a review

Its great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we sincerely appreciate the feedback on how we can improve even further.

Fantastic beachfront dining is one of the many things that make thereef resort special. Whenever possible we implore our guests to give us feedback on the spot as any tips on how we could have made your meal great would have been gladly listened to and acted upon.

I’m not surprised to hear you enjoyed the diving, the East End of Grand Cayman offers some of the finest diving in the world with surprises (sometimes big!) around every corner and reef.

As you know the utility fees payable for Timeshare Exchange guests visiting Cayman are supplied to you directly by Interval International when you book, and should you have missed that information on your booking form we also hand out this information to guests upon check in.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Never going back. We booked two suites originally, and then cancelled one, but they charged us for BOTH anyway, Even though they could tell that no one was using the other one since the maids come in every day. No one in the lobby was helpful and never apologized or anything. Our family has been going to the Caymans for 22 years and this was the worst treatment we ever got. Morritt's is so much better. So disappointing. Never ever going back. Rip off!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thanks for leaving a review but sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. I have investigated your complaint with the following results.

You booked (and have the benefit of) a 2 bed roomed suite for the duration of your stay. At check out you advised us that you were not using the other room and didn’t want to pay for it. We explained at the time that if you cancelled the room at the start of your vacation there would have been no charge however as the room was out of use for that time we were not able to waive the fee. Should any guests feel that their suite is too large and they would prefer a smaller one we ask that you please advise us of your wishes at the start of your vacation and we will be happy to make those changes.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,840 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing