We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Reef Resort for 2 nights. The room was very spacious. We were there with 3 teenage sons and it provided a great space for all of us. Each room has a magnificent view. We were in #307 (A and B) which was on the top floor right above the pool. It was nice to be close to the pool but the families with young children seemed to all be there very early making it tough to sleep in and another night adults were in the hot tub late. We did have our door open to let in the ocean breezes so perhaps that issue could have been solved by keeping the door closed.

We paid a lot more to stay here than at the Comfort Suites on Seven Mile Beach where we spent the first 5 nights of our vacation. I am not sure it was worth the increased price when we were also having to pay for Internet/WiFi and for coffee/breakfast. We did save a lot by grocery shopping at Kirk's in Georgetown and not eating out while we were there. It is a great place for just lounging on the beach -plenty of beach chairs and a large beach to spread out. It was pretty windy while we were there. I read it is windier here than on the west coast of the island. That made the water murkier for snorkeling (the waves).

The bed was very soft (more so than I prefer) and the kitchen could stand to by updated (the dishwasher although working, had a rack had a lot of rust).

The way the rooms are set up would be ideal for a family traveling with grandparents-one unit with a king, full bath and kitchenette and the adjoining unit with a bedroom, 2 murphy beds, full bath and a full kitchen.

Room Tip: If you have young kids: stay near the pool and on the ground floor. Otherwise, I think it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goredraidersFairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in the beautiful secluded East End of the island. The Reef Resort is proud to be the only 100% beachfront resort throughout the entire Cayman Islands and at 1600ft our beach is the longest of any resort on island.

As you noted we do have an additional cost for our WiFi service. We recently installed a brand new system that offers 100% coverage of our entire resort (including the beach) and provides some of the fastest download speeds available anywhere on island. Our feedback has shown that guests are happy to pay a small fee for outstanding service

We are sorry to hear that we could have made your nights sleep even more comfortable. Our guests have varying ideas of how soft a mattress should be and should you find yours less than perfect we will be happy to swop it for one more to your liking the very same day. Likewise with the dishwasher, being a beachfront resort means that we have to keep a closer eye on general maintenance and it seems we dropped the ball here. We again implore all of our future guests to report any issues as they encounter them and they will be resolved.

Thanks again for leaving a review and happy holidays for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent three nights and four days in the Reef resort and I have to say that every minute of it was enjoyable. Our suite was 131B, which was the very last building on the resort, but I did not mind the walk to and from our room as the scenery was beautiful and I got a chance to see and meet others who were vacationing there. The only complaint that I have is that some of the staff were not as attentive as they should have been. This resort is quiet and peaceful, but there is enough entertainment and activities onsite that we did not feel compelled to leave the resort to seek entertainment at all. I would definitely go back and stay at this place any chance I get.

Room Tip: All the room are beach front. Ours was on the first floor, Room 131B, and our patio opened up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

What a wonderful way to ring in the New Year and we are delighted that you chose theReef for your vacation. We are proud of our secluded location and glad that you enjoyed it as well.

Its great to hear you enjoyed some of the many activities we have available here at theReef and I hope you had a chance to enjoy the legendary Barefoot mans performance.

We put a lot of effort into training our staff and understand that they are the foundations of our resort. We sincerely appreciate your observations and ask when possible that they are made on site so we can address any issues immediately.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This property has so much to offer that it's easy to look past it's bumps and bruises. Located on the VERY quiet East End of Grand Cayman, the location is lovely with a wonderful snorkeling reef 100 feet off your balcony. Every room has an ocean view and decent amenities - although they really need to update their mattresses, bedding and soft goods. The on-site restaurant is okay but there is GREAT dining in the area and a grocery across the street. There is a very experienced water sports recreation group located on property, White Sand Water Sports that provides everything you need to take full advantage of the location and offers GREAT service. The beach bar and outdoor dining is very relaxing. A couple of small, well placed pools provide a great opportunity for those not quite ready for the reef. I would recommend this property for a family getaway.
Truthfully, I would have preferred to have given it a 3.5 star rating but that was not an option. They really missed the boat in a couple of important areas. First, the vast majority of the people working the property are lovely, nice and happy to see you - but in need of training and other management support. Ask the front dest a fairly standard question and you may find they are comfortable telling you - however nicely - "I don't know." They need to monitor their beach and make sure the beach chairs are available for their guests and not being used by locals or neighboring properties, something I witnessed everyday. I would totally do this property again - I would just manage my expectations. At the $$ rate, I expected it to be a more service oriented property. Again, the nicest people you would ever want to meet - they just need some training.

Room Tip: First floor is great with kids but the view is better on the second. They mean it when they say eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a detailed review about your vacation here at theReef. We appreciate your kind words and we are grateful for the constructive feedback as to how we can improve further.

As you noted we are located on the beautiful secluded East End of Grand Cayman which offers some of the very best snorkeling and diving on island, and indeed anywhere within the Caribbean.

We firmly believe that friendly, welcoming staff is a key part of any successful resort and we work hard to give local youths an opportunity to work in and progress through the hospitality industry. Wherever possible we will have experienced staff mentoring in these situations to assist whenever one of our newer staff members does not have the information at hand. It appears that this did not happen in this case and for that we sincerely apologize. Please remember that we will always have at least one duty manager available on site at all times (usually 2 or 3) so should anybody not receive the information they need please speak to the Manager. We also have a full time vastly experienced concierge team available 7 days a week during the hours of 8am-5pm to assist in any way needed.

Regards your bedding, its a common occurance at theReef for guests to request a different kind of mattress. Some people like them hard, some prefer them soft. We are happy to accomodate everybody, simply let us know which kind you prefer and it will be changed the same day.

Our facilities are only available to our registered guests and due to our secluded location it’s rare that guests would attempt to visit us from another property. Should anyone feel that these facilities are being used by someone other than a registered guest our management and security team will resolve the situation in an instant.

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review and we would all like to wish you happy holidays for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Reef was a nice stay for my large family over XMas week. The resort is clearly well-run and we had no major hiccups. The rooms were comfortable and the food was pretty good (although some dishes were definitely better than others - the shrimp curry is a winner while while the lobster was over cooked). The beach is always clean and the snorkeling - particularly if you walk down towards the Morritt's and float back towards the Reef - is very nice (be careful of the current if you stray too far out - its is positively dangerous). The front desk and concierge were always helpful. Definitely recommend a stay for families - although I'm not sure I'd call this a romantic get-away spot. Yes, highly recommend a rental car since everything is a drive from the Reef, although being on the quiet side of the island, away from the congestion and hyper-activity of Seven Mile Beach is great.

Room Tip: They do have elevators for the upper floors, but being on the ground floor is a nice way to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 103BruceX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thanks for leaving a review, we appreciate your kind words and are really pleased that you enjoyed a fabulous vacation.

You’ve left some great tips for future travelers and I would only add that guests be sure to use our full time concierge team. We can of course assist with everything from booking excursions to tracking down lost luggage, however in addition to this we know all of the best snorkeling sites and have a real insiders view on how to get the very best out of your own personal vacation.

Thanks again for your review and happy holidays for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just finished a 7 night stay at the Reef Resort. Well kept comfortable suites with full kitchens. The best snorkeling on the island just off your porch. Quiet with good food but not great food. Easy to get around the island from the hotel if you have a car. A small grocery is just across the street and well stocked. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: all rooms front the beach but beware the third floor in one building, ask for ground floor (with wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience at theReef Resort.

It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable experience and found our one bedroom suites to your liking.

We are proud of our resort in the beautiful East End and as you found it is quiet easy to get around for those who choose to rent a car. Should one choose not to rent a vehicle during your stay you will find our concierge team very accommodating in arranging the best and least expensive way to see the island and try some fabulous local cuisine.

Thank again for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to theReef in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the reef. The front desk person David was very helpful in making our stay the best. He knows how to treat people. It service like this that makes me want to go back to the Reef.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review of your staycation at theReef Resort!

We believe our secluded location in beautiful East End is the perfect location to escape the hustle and bustle and we’re glad you experienced the same.
We appreciate your kind words about our front desk employee, David, and will be sure to pass along your compliments.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just finished a 9 day trip to the Reef. The accommodations were nice and the location was perfect. We didn't want the crowds on the other side of the island. We were looking for a more adventurous vacation and this fit the bill. The staff were very accommodating and super friendly, especially the maintenance staff. Hated to leave!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank ogiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thanks for leaving a review, I think the staff here enjoyed your stay almost as much as you did!

We're all pleased we were able to make your vacation that bit extra special

Happy holidays for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
478 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,336 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £163 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing