We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beachfront resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely beachfront resort!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Reef Resort in October, 2013. All rooms are facing the beach, and we loved the 1st floor and walking 20 steps to our beach chairs. Rooms were super comfortable, including the bed. New furnishings. Jetted tub! Terrific wi-fi for a fee, even accessible on the beach. Nice snorkeling if the winds are favorable. Not a swimming beach but good for snorkeling which we love. Walk past the dock at the Morritz and snorkle back to the Reef with the current. Quiet setting. 45 min drive to George Town. Rental cars are very affordable on the island, not like Mexico. Staff arranged for an early trip to stingray city with a small group of 10 and a snorkel at the reef. Very special! Restaurant was great, but pricy like everything on the island. Grocery store across the street. We stayed the second week next door at the Morritz and it was AWEFUL! Maybe if you own there you would get a good room, but the visitors are stuffed in little rooms that are noisy and outdated. Loved the Reef Resort!

Room Tip: 3 floors but there are elevators. Loved the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry N LaNell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, its clear that you had a great time and we’re all really pleased you enjoyed yourself.

You’ve left some great pointers for future guests which I can only endorse. As you will recall rental vehicles can be arranged on site for a very reasonable price with the additional benefit of either collecting or returning the vehicle directly from the resort. You can contact our concierge team in advance for full details of this facility.

Regards our WiFi service, over the last few years our guests have advised us that fast, secure, easily accessible WiFi is imperative to allow them to fully relax and enjoy their vacation. Our new internet system offers some of the fastest download speeds anywhere on island and our feedback repeatedly shows that guests are happy to pay a small fee for outstanding service.

Thanks again for leaving a review and happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    526
    172
    58
    28
See reviews for
481
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the the Reef for five nights in January 2014. We booked the diving package that included three two-tank dives with Tortuga Divers (located at the Morrit's resort, just a very short walk from the Reef). The Reef's staff was very helpful even before we arrived, with booking a car service from the airport. Our room (studio unit) was a good size, with a small kitchen unit that included a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. There is a grocery store across the street from the hotel and we made breakfast and lunch every day and two dinners in the room.
The Reef offers daily activities on location and elsewhere. Cathy Richardson, the Reef's concierge, was fantastic. Cathy was friendly and helpful. She helped us with information on different activities and tours, booked our tour to the botanical gardens (recommended!), answered all of our questions (such as - what's on the menu for the welcome BBQ?) and requests (fit activities with our busy diving scheduled) and even helped with identifying birds and butterflies.
We only stayed for five days... wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. There are two or three floors - the view from the upper floor is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your experiences here at the Reef. You clearly had a great time and we’re grateful that you chose to stay with us. The diving here on the East End is considered to be the very best Cayman has to offer with some of the most pristine coral reefs anywhere in the Caribbean. With wall drops exceeding a mile in some places we also have some of the most spectacular under water scenery anywhere on earth.

The dive boats leave from a dock which is located no more than a 5 min walk down our beach so it’s incredibly convenient for reef guests. In addition to diving Grand Cayman has a lot more to offer and our friendly, full time concierge team are always more than happy to ensure you get the very best out of your well earned vacation.

Cathy says hi and she would love to see you back again. I think the only thing you missed seeing this trip was the famous Grand Cayman Parrots, but as you know that will have to wait for your next visit, because along with our blue iguanas they are found no where else on earth!

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Reviews read on TA are pretty much what we experienced. Room was clean, beach was nice, and overally very quiet. We were there after Christmas, and for the first couple of days, there was a bit of "beach chair hoarding" on the beach. We just walked down to the other end and were able to find chairs. No coffee in the rooms, but they provided filters. We purchased a can of coffee across the street and passed on what we had left of the coffee and some other misc items to our neighbors before we left. We also had a family pass on a bag of food they had not finished (bagels, a few beers, etc). This is the kind of place where you feel comfortable doing something like that - you see a lot of the same people every day, since a smaller resort.

One room tip I will give - there is a gold ring around the bottom of tub faucet - you have to pull that down to get the shower head to work. I have never experienced that feature, and after my whole family could not figure it out, I finally called the front desk (who indicated they get that question all the time).

Mattress in the bedroom was very soft and the Murphy bed mattresses were very hard. Just something to note, if you have issues with that kind of thing. Our room did not get cleaned one of the days we were there, but after a call to front desk, we were promptly delivered clean towels, so no big deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wego810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we sincerely appreciate all feedback and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your vacation.

Christmas is by far our busiest period of the year and even then I’m a little surprised you had to look for a beach chair! We enjoy the longest beach of any resort on island so such a situation is rare. I’m glad it was easily resolved and we would like to remind all future guests to simply talk with a staff member if they need something, we will resolve it.

Your right about the ring on the tub faucet, it is an unusual feature (I don’t think they use these in the USA) so we are currently placing cards in guest rooms explaining how this feature works. Thanks for the feedback.

Also, good point on the mattresses. We find our guests have many preferences when it comes to how firm they like them. The good news is we hold a full selection on site and will be happy to change it to one that suits you better.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visited The Reef the week after Christmas 2012. Nothing deceptive about what they offer. Did have some transportation issues but that had nothing to do with the resort and funjet is supposed to be resolving that. Request a first floor room and you walk right out onto the beach. Everything was clean and nice. Not crowded at all. Collin and Tony at the bar were great. Food was the best I had at an all inclusive. I have traveled to several resorts before and never returned to the same one twice. Not that they were bad but we just like seeing what else is out there. The Reef, however, is defiantly a return trip. Top shelf liquor and US domestic bottle beer(Bud Light) are also included as well as the Subway on premises. Excursions can be booked right in the lobby. Stingray city is a must. Only thing to beware of is most businesses in Cayman are closed on Sunday. Everything in Cayman is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neko1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thanks for leaving such a nice review, its great to hear that you had a fabulous vacation and we would of course love to see you back again.

As you know we are the only resort in Grand Cayman that offers an all inclusive package and as you noted it’s quite different to the kind of packages offered elsewhere. Our bar stocks a huge variety of drinks from the most popular American bottled beer right through to fine wines and spirits. None of our food is pre prepared (no buffets left out all day I’m afraid) Guests choose what they want, when they want it and it all freshly prepared by our chefs. Also remember that a variety of water sports are also included from snorkeling gear to stand up paddle boards and Kayaks.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family was there for one week our daughter was a Make-a-Wish child and we were treated so wonderfully by the staff of this resort. The rooms were very nice and clean and face the carribean sea. The pool and hot tub only feet from our room and the beach right there in front of you. The food was great and my girls enjoyed snorkling and water sports at the resort. Only a short 35 minute ride to town (we used the bus service very inexpensive) and away from the tourists in Georgetown and cruise ships -very relaxing and beautiful. Anyone who stays at this resort will enjoy themselves, very family friendly, we hated to leave, and definitely we want to return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water any room would be great to stay in we had a two bedroom master suite ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for leaving such a nice review, of course we remember you and your family well and we are all very pleased that you had a wonderful vacation.

Happy holidays for the future and best wishes from all of your friends at theReef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Reef Resort for 2 nights. The room was very spacious. We were there with 3 teenage sons and it provided a great space for all of us. Each room has a magnificent view. We were in #307 (A and B) which was on the top floor right above the pool. It was nice to be close to the pool but the families with young children seemed to all be there very early making it tough to sleep in and another night adults were in the hot tub late. We did have our door open to let in the ocean breezes so perhaps that issue could have been solved by keeping the door closed.

We paid a lot more to stay here than at the Comfort Suites on Seven Mile Beach where we spent the first 5 nights of our vacation. I am not sure it was worth the increased price when we were also having to pay for Internet/WiFi and for coffee/breakfast. We did save a lot by grocery shopping at Kirk's in Georgetown and not eating out while we were there. It is a great place for just lounging on the beach -plenty of beach chairs and a large beach to spread out. It was pretty windy while we were there. I read it is windier here than on the west coast of the island. That made the water murkier for snorkeling (the waves).

The bed was very soft (more so than I prefer) and the kitchen could stand to by updated (the dishwasher although working, had a rack had a lot of rust).

The way the rooms are set up would be ideal for a family traveling with grandparents-one unit with a king, full bath and kitchenette and the adjoining unit with a bedroom, 2 murphy beds, full bath and a full kitchen.

Room Tip: If you have young kids: stay near the pool and on the ground floor. Otherwise, I think it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goredraidersFairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in the beautiful secluded East End of the island. The Reef Resort is proud to be the only 100% beachfront resort throughout the entire Cayman Islands and at 1600ft our beach is the longest of any resort on island.

As you noted we do have an additional cost for our WiFi service. We recently installed a brand new system that offers 100% coverage of our entire resort (including the beach) and provides some of the fastest download speeds available anywhere on island. Our feedback has shown that guests are happy to pay a small fee for outstanding service

We are sorry to hear that we could have made your nights sleep even more comfortable. Our guests have varying ideas of how soft a mattress should be and should you find yours less than perfect we will be happy to swop it for one more to your liking the very same day. Likewise with the dishwasher, being a beachfront resort means that we have to keep a closer eye on general maintenance and it seems we dropped the ball here. We again implore all of our future guests to report any issues as they encounter them and they will be resolved.

Thanks again for leaving a review and happy holidays for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent three nights and four days in the Reef resort and I have to say that every minute of it was enjoyable. Our suite was 131B, which was the very last building on the resort, but I did not mind the walk to and from our room as the scenery was beautiful and I got a chance to see and meet others who were vacationing there. The only complaint that I have is that some of the staff were not as attentive as they should have been. This resort is quiet and peaceful, but there is enough entertainment and activities onsite that we did not feel compelled to leave the resort to seek entertainment at all. I would definitely go back and stay at this place any chance I get.

Room Tip: All the room are beach front. Ours was on the first floor, Room 131B, and our patio opened up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
What a wonderful way to ring in the New Year and we are delighted that you chose theReef for your vacation. We are proud of our secluded location and glad that you enjoyed it as well.

Its great to hear you enjoyed some of the many activities we have available here at theReef and I hope you had a chance to enjoy the legendary Barefoot mans performance.

We put a lot of effort into training our staff and understand that they are the foundations of our resort. We sincerely appreciate your observations and ask when possible that they are made on site so we can address any issues immediately.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,048 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing