We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,930)
Filter reviews
1,930 results
Traveller rating
992
601
216
83
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
601
216
83
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum pointbeach bareast end of the islandacross the streetstingray cityfishliquor storetime shareseven mile beachdeluxe studiowhite sands water sportsgrand caymanrented a carfull kitchencaptain chrisall inclusive optionall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 1,930 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We are a family of 4, two kids @ 10 & 13 yrs. old, and we loved almost everything about this place. People were friendly, relaxed, the rooms were clean, start to finish, we liked the local ownership versus the stiff, chain resort feel, beach was lovely (although have to agree with Hallie T's review that the daily turtle grass clean-up, while understandable, seemed cumbersome at best) and location is fantastic. That is, if you don't have a taste for the nearly insane tourist-trap that 7 mile beach and Georgetown/cruise-ship central have become. If you stay here, make use of the kitchen at least for some meals, skip the all-inclusive if you have a family, try some local restaurants (Tukka and Eagle's Ray were great) and enjoy the beachfront, peace & quiet. Kathy the concierge was extremely knowledgeable, accessible & helpful and made some great suggestions for outings, fishing charters, etc.

Room Tip: the ground level rooms would likely be the best choice for families with littler kids for easy access to beach and water and back again.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLT212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time. Cathy was truly pleased to hear that you found her advice helpful and informative.

We also appreciate the feedback on our beach cleaning efforts; we are constantly looking into new ways to make this as efficient as possible and will be trying out some new methods over the next few months.

We look forward to your next visit to the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was the first time we had been to the Grand Caymans and we loved it! We stayed at the Reef Resort for a week and did the all-inclusive package; we also had our wedding there (which was absolutely gorgeous and highly recommended). We were both very impressive at everybody that worked there as to how friendly and helpful they were. Linda our wedding planner did an exceptional job! Our room was on the bottom floor and we enjoyed being able to walk out and head straight to the beach. The rest of the wedding party had no complaints on the resort or the food. We would all choose to come back to The Reef Resort! The only thing we would change is instead of renting a vehicle for a week we would have gotten the taxi and then rented a vehicle by the day from the resort.

Room Tip: Ground Floor all the way!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Conciege at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review of theReef resort. Of course all of our guests are special, but we do reserve an extra special spot for the couples that choose us as their wedding destination. As you noted Linda, (our weddings and group planner) has set a high standard to meet and exceed all of our guests’ expectations. She thoroughly enjoyed your day and would like to pass on her best wishes to you once more.

You gave a great tip about the rental car. We often find that guests do not need a vehicle for their entire vacation, so having the facility to rent vehicles directly from the resort is sure to save guests some hard earned cash. This is a great way to have a vehicle when you need it and not pay for one when you don’t.

Thank you, again, for the review and tip. All of us at theReef Resort would like to wish you a very long and happy marriage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you are looking for a quiet spot on the beach, this is it! The East End of Grand Cayman is about 40 min. and an expensive taxi ride from the airport or George Town. All rooms have balconies that have an ocean view, the rooms were clean and cleaned daily by the friendly and courteous staff. The hotel restaurant lacks for atmosphere, but the food was good, There were two other places to eat within walking distance (The Italian Kitchen across the street and David's Deep Blue next door) and one (Tukka's) that will come and pick you up. There are several others in the area, with good reviews, but too far to walk to. Otherwise, unless you rent a car, you are pretty much stuck at the Reef. There is a shuttle that will take you into George Town at 9 and bring you back at 3 for a fee, but it would have been nice to be able to get around a bit more than once a day. The are a few tours available at the resort, but it was very windy when we were there and some were canceled. Luckily we met someone who had a car and we were able to get in another tour, but again, if you don't want to rent a car and drive on the left, you are staying at the reef. Otherwise we had a very good time, I would recommend The Reef to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation

Room Tip: The one bedroom was spacious, but the studio was a bit crowded with a Jacuzzi in the middle of the room leaving room for only one chair. Would have been better if they lost the Jacuzzi and put in a table and chairs or a couch.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for leaving the review and for taking time to offer feedback, it’s only by listening closely to our guests can we hope to make everybody’s on site experience truly fantastic.

We have quite a variety of restaurants locally and It sounds like you took the opportunity to visit a few of them, I’m glad you enjoyed them all. We here at the concierge desk are always more than happy to offer what advice and assistance we can when making your dining choices.

Good pointers on the car. As you noted there is a cheap ($5) local bus service that offers guests an easy daily route to the capital Georgetown but if you plan on being out and about a lot then a car is probably you’re most convenient and cost effective option. We are able to organize vehicles on site for as little as one day at a time if that is your preference.

Also good point on your room, you stayed in one of our deluxe studio suites which come equipped with a whirlpool Jacuzzi. Great fun for those guests who enjoy these however if it’s not needed a standard studio suite is also offered.

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have been to Grand Cayman in the past, and going into this trip I knew East End was preferable. Our expectations from The Reef Resort were not very high; we wanted a semi-private beach, minimal amenities, and a good environment for relaxation.
Upon arrival to the resort, we attempted to check in and were told to wait, as our room was not yet clean. Thus, we immediately went out to the beach and tried to relax, only to find there were no chairs available! Furthermore, the chairs at this resort are very uncomfortable (even for us, and we are not particularly tall or large). Two and a half hours later, we were able to check in completely and move into our room. I must say, the room was simple, clean, and very usable-- only complaint I would have is the very, very small bathtub.... The Reef Resort also makes a practice of charging for little services; for example, the wifi was $3 CI for only 30 minutes. Now, I am not a person who gets on the internet all of vacation, but sometimes it is nice to check up on email or correspond briefly.
With regard to the overall atmosphere of the resort I was extremely disappointed; this is the primary reason for the poor review. Every morning, a backhoe drove up the beach (slowly), following people raking turtle grass and other debris up. Not only was this practice time consuming, ruining the ambiance of the beach, but it was also detrimental to local air quality. Overall, the beach was clean for an hour or maybe a few, eventually returning to the prior smattering of turtle grass and other debris, making this a very wasteful and annoying process each morning! If I wanted to watch a backhoe in use, I would have just gone to a farm for the holidays. This is something I do not expect to see at a resort!!!
To others reading this, I would suggest Compass Point Dive Resort, just down the road from The Reef, particularly if you are diving. It is a little more private and feels more friendly. However, it is a little more expensive, but worth it for the free wifi, gorgeous and low-traffic beach, and room locks that don't require you to carry keys!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Hallie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. You have made some good points so we appreciate the opportunity for us to clarify some of them.

Our check in starts at 4pm however we work very hard to get rooms deep cleaned and turned around as quickly as possible. If your room is not ready immediately upon your arrival (before 4pm) we would ask for a little patience. Our goal is to ensure that each room is fully ready for the new guest having been through a thorough deep clean. As you found, should a guest experience a short wait we are happy to provide a complimentary rum punch for you to enjoy on the beach.

Regards our internet, one thing that has changed dramatically over the last few years is our guest’s demand for high speed, quality internet. A lot of our guests must have a dependable internet access for home commitments so a decision was made to invest in a completely new system. As a result we now have some of the fastest speeds and most reliable internet anywhere on island. Our feedback consistently shows that guests are happy to pay a small fee for outstanding service.

I’m sorry about the backhoe, as you saw we have the longest beach of any resort in The Cayman Islands and it is quite literally the ‘jewel’ in our crown. With such a large beach leaving it not cleaned for even a day is not an option for us and would not be acceptable for our guests. We do have a specialized machine for just this purpose however it is currently in repair and an alternative was needed. Our maintenance team work hard from 7am to complete this task so rarely is it still on the beach by 9am. We are however working hard to get the right machine back quickly.

The other resort that you mentioned has some great facilities, however they do not experience the issues we do because their property is roadside and does not have a beach.

Thanks again for the feedback and happy holidays for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Located on the east end of the island, this resort is adjacent to the Morritts resort, and they share a long sandy beach. Our family of seven stayed in two one bedroom units and one studio unit for two nights in early January. The one bedroom units were well appointed with a fully equipped kitchen, two cable TV's, a king size bed in the bedroom, and two pull down murphy beds in the living area. The studio has a king size bed and a kitchenette with refrigerator & microwave. All units are beachfront with patios or balconies over the beach. As mentioned in another review, I also had an issue with figuring out how to make the shower work. The gold ring at the end of the tub faucet must be pulled down to operate the shower head. Finally figured it out after my tub bath and before my wife's shower. At check-in, each adult is provided with a coupon for a free rum punch at the Tiki bar. Each one bedroom unit shared a balcony with the adjacent studio apartment, and there is a connecting door between them if both are rented by the same group. The beach is sandy and clean but, in most areas, rocky just after entering the water. However, there is good snorkeling in places, especially near the pier. While we were there, the beach was never very crowded though we were rarely alone. There are two pool areas, one with three separate sections including a hot tub. The tiki bar is convenient and serves very good drinks at relatively reasonable prices for Cayman. The mudslides there were the best of all sampled on the island! The bartender there was very helpful with area information and recommendations for restaurants, etc. The menu at the bar is a bit limited but cheaper than the upstairs restaurant where a full menu is provided.

A car is a necessity if you plan to do anything other than hang out at the Reef or in that general area. There is some shopping across the street with a small grocery, a liquor store for alcohol, and a gift shop or two. The Reef can arrange tours around the island as well as stingray city tours, though you may do better arranging those on your own.

All in all, I'd recommend The Reef as a good place to avoid the crowds of Seven Mile Beach area.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front - units near the center are closest to the office, bar, & restaurant.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your recent vacation. It sounds like the whole family had a great time and you’ve left some useful pointers for future guests.

Your right about the faucets, it can be a little confusing if you have not seen them before so we are now in the process of playing cards in every room to advise guests how these work, thanks for the feedback.

We’re also glad that (among other things) you enjoyed your time at the beach bar, the guys there take great pride in their work and I’ll be sure to pass on your comments about their famous mud slides. As you found out the view from the bar is quite spectacular so a great place to kick back and relax.

You are spot on when you say that we are the best place to avoid the crowds on seven mile beach and I would add only this. If the thought of walking for miles down beautiful, deserted beaches is not for you then you may be happier in town.........but if not, we'd love to welcome you to theReef resort

Thanks again for the review and happy holidays for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews