We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,953)
Filter reviews
1,953 results
Traveller rating
1,002
613
217
83
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
613
217
83
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum point beach bar east end of the island across the street stingray city fish liquor store time share seven mile beach deluxe studio white sands water sports captain chris grand cayman rented a car full kitchen all inclusive option all inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 1,953 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went to The Reef for our winter vacation. Third time here but haven't been there in about 6 years. We were inI the Castaways section, 1st Floor. I definitely recommend the 1st. Floor since you walk right outside to the beach. Unit was well equipped with maid service everyday. We were there for the Super Bowl. A little disappointed in the tv in the living room. It was tiny and you could hardly see the game. But, guess they figured you aren't there to watch tv! Very nice pool and hot tub which was way too hot. Most days you couldn't get in the hot tub since it was so uncomfortably hot. Gorgeous beach right outside of our door. It was rocky getting I to the water. You definitely need water socks.

Staff at The Reef is the best. Everyone is so helpful and friendly from the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the waiters and bartenders. Our coffee pot broke on Sunday night around 7:00 pm. We called housekeeping and had a replacement within1/2 hour. Wifi is $40 for a week and well worth it. Great speed I. Our unit and even on the beach.

Ate at the bar twice - good food, burgers, fish sandwiches, etc. best mudslides. There is a subway on site and is standard Subway fare. Good Italian Restaurant right across the street, The Italian Kitchen . Great crispy crust pizza. Also ate at Tukka's about 3 minutes away. Food was average. It was nice having a full kitchen and we did cook several meals in. There is also a grocery store and liquor store across the street, very convenient. We rented a car and toured around the East End, going to Rum Point, Kaibo,etc.

We definitely enjoyed our trip and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation at a great resort with the best staff.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the 1st floor to walk right out to the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent vacation with us here at theReef Resort. It is fantastic to read that this was your third trip. We really appreciate your feedback as to how we can further improve our guests’ experiences. You have given us some great pointers. We are happy to report that the hot tub is now cooler.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip down to enjoy our mudslides along with the rest of what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

After our enjoyable visit last March we decided to go back to the Reef for the holidays. They did not disappoint as our stay this time was as enjoyable as the last. The resorts location offers seclusion and the reef off shore provides endless anole opportunities. This time we saw star fish, eel, rays, lobster, and endless amounts of colorful fish while snorkeling with our kids. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4forme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the great review! When guests choose to return to theReef, we consider this the highest possible compliment. We are very happy to read that your second visit met your expectations.

Best wishes for the future from your friends at theReef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Went here with my friend for my "50th" birthday and let me tell you it was the best vacation ever. Everyone at the resort goes out of their way to make every wish you have come true. The beach and the snorkeling was the BEST!!. Saw some awesome sights just snorkeling right off the beach. I recommend this resort for anyone who just wants to relax, chill out and snorkel, snorkel, snorkel.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view!!! First floor rooms are steps from the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korrie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that you had a fabulous time celebrating your birthday at theReef Resort.

We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent the last week of January at The Reef Resort with our two children (11 and 15). This was perfect for us as we wanted to be away from the crowds and have access to a variety of snorkeling sites. We did not do the all-inclusive as we had a one-bedroom with kitchen which we used for breakfast and one other meal each day. There is a small Foster's across the street which had a decent selection of groceries for such a small space. We also visited the larger Foster's in Savannah for the deli and major shopping. We picked a different restaurant each day and at the Pelican Beach Bar a couple times.

Our room was in the Castaway section. The pros were that this area was quieter than the main reef area and allowed for great sleeping and all the beach chairs we wanted. The con was that we were removed from the bigger/nicer pool and restaurants/bar. We were fine with this as it was just a very short walk away and preferred the quiet at night. The one-bedroom is fantastic for a family of four and we had a first floor unit with access directly to a small patio and the beach. The king-sized bed and the murphy beds were both very comfortable. The bathroom was nice; did not like having doors both in the hall and in the master bedroom. Could hear my kids every time they went in the bathroom. Would have preferred just the hall door. We paid the $40 CI for the week for wi-fi and were impressed with the speed and could use it anywhere on the property - even the beach. The only down side is that only one device could log on at a time. This was a bit of a pain as we didn't have a lot of down time, and we had to take turns checking e-mail, news, doing homework, etc. Our unit had a great layout and was very clean. Our only complaint is that we had older appliances that were showing their age. The dishwasher indicator lights didn't always work, so we would think the dishwasher was started, but it was actually on just a rinse cycle. The refrig would occasionally be noisy and didn't bother us except for one night when it was clicking on and off all night. Neither of these were major issues for us.

We loved the beach at the Reef, but our reason for coming to Cayman was to snorkel, not wade in the water. The sand is beautiful, but you should know that you will need water shoes to go in the water. It is very rocky with lots of sea grass. You will not enjoy this if you are expecting just sand. Again, we loved it as we were there for the snorkeling. We would start at the Morritt's pier and float all the way back to our room. We literally could spend hours just floating back and seeing all the marine life. We even ran across a huge crab and starfish. We also loved this location because we could get to Rum Point in 20/25 minutes and also had access to many other snorkeling sites anywhere from 20-45 minutes west. We also used White Sand Sports for a sting ray/snorkeling trip and loved them.

All in all, The Reef is perfect if you are looking for a quiet, reasonably-priced vacation, especially for snorkelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor if you want to walk right out onto a patio and the beach. Castaway buildings are quieter; Reef buildings are closer to the action.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roadtripper087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to read you had a great time. We appreciate your pointers as to where we can improve.

Thank you also for pointing out the snorkeling available at theReef Resort. It seems as if it was one of the high points of your vacation! As you noted being located on an actual reef ensures we get a wide variety of aquatic visitors including some of our larger friends!

Thank you again for taking the time to review your vacation. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Reef (Jan25-Feb1, 2014). We have been to the Reef many times and the weather in Jan. was gorgeous. As always, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless, and the oceanfront view is breathtaking. Looking forward to our return trip in August. Jersey Girls

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for leaving your review. We always look forward to seeing you on your visits. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming back in August on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews