We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunrises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderful place to stay! Sunrise coming over the balcony, white sand beach, easy access to snorkeling... We booked through VRBO, and found the resort's amenities perfect for our family. White Sands Water Sports is right on-premise and great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msperrucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for the review, it is wonderful to read you had a great time and we are really pleased that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer on site. We have passed your comments to White Sands Water Sports, the guys say hi!

We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Grand Cayman and in the meantime, wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel and staff were great, with the location being tops!
This is a very normal, no-frills place compaired to other resorts in seven mile beach, but you will not be disapointed if you are looking for peace, sun, pool, and ocean. Just enough food and supplies in walking distance to make you not want for much of anything else.
Water sports available in house for extra costs, but very good staff and trips!
Perfect breezes on this side of the island!
We would return again down the road, for more fun in the sun!

Room Tip: Pick a ground floor to walk out to beach, and a full kitchen if you want your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobertWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased we could be your “fun in the sun” vacation experience. It sounds as if you had a great time while getting the chance to distress. We are sure that other guests will appreciate your helpful tips as much as we do.

We look forward to the next time you come to see us. Thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went to The Reef for our winter vacation. Third time here but haven't been there in about 6 years. We were inI the Castaways section, 1st Floor. I definitely recommend the 1st. Floor since you walk right outside to the beach. Unit was well equipped with maid service everyday. We were there for the Super Bowl. A little disappointed in the tv in the living room. It was tiny and you could hardly see the game. But, guess they figured you aren't there to watch tv! Very nice pool and hot tub which was way too hot. Most days you couldn't get in the hot tub since it was so uncomfortably hot. Gorgeous beach right outside of our door. It was rocky getting I to the water. You definitely need water socks.

Staff at The Reef is the best. Everyone is so helpful and friendly from the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the waiters and bartenders. Our coffee pot broke on Sunday night around 7:00 pm. We called housekeeping and had a replacement within1/2 hour. Wifi is $40 for a week and well worth it. Great speed I. Our unit and even on the beach.

Ate at the bar twice - good food, burgers, fish sandwiches, etc. best mudslides. There is a subway on site and is standard Subway fare. Good Italian Restaurant right across the street, The Italian Kitchen . Great crispy crust pizza. Also ate at Tukka's about 3 minutes away. Food was average. It was nice having a full kitchen and we did cook several meals in. There is also a grocery store and liquor store across the street, very convenient. We rented a car and toured around the East End, going to Rum Point, Kaibo,etc.

We definitely enjoyed our trip and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation at a great resort with the best staff.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the 1st floor to walk right out to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent vacation with us here at theReef Resort. It is fantastic to read that this was your third trip. We really appreciate your feedback as to how we can further improve our guests’ experiences. You have given us some great pointers. We are happy to report that the hot tub is now cooler.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip down to enjoy our mudslides along with the rest of what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

After our enjoyable visit last March we decided to go back to the Reef for the holidays. They did not disappoint as our stay this time was as enjoyable as the last. The resorts location offers seclusion and the reef off shore provides endless anole opportunities. This time we saw star fish, eel, rays, lobster, and endless amounts of colorful fish while snorkeling with our kids. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4forme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the great review! When guests choose to return to theReef, we consider this the highest possible compliment. We are very happy to read that your second visit met your expectations.

Best wishes for the future from your friends at theReef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Went here with my friend for my "50th" birthday and let me tell you it was the best vacation ever. Everyone at the resort goes out of their way to make every wish you have come true. The beach and the snorkeling was the BEST!!. Saw some awesome sights just snorkeling right off the beach. I recommend this resort for anyone who just wants to relax, chill out and snorkel, snorkel, snorkel.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view!!! First floor rooms are steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korrie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that you had a fabulous time celebrating your birthday at theReef Resort.

We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent the last week of January at The Reef Resort with our two children (11 and 15). This was perfect for us as we wanted to be away from the crowds and have access to a variety of snorkeling sites. We did not do the all-inclusive as we had a one-bedroom with kitchen which we used for breakfast and one other meal each day. There is a small Foster's across the street which had a decent selection of groceries for such a small space. We also visited the larger Foster's in Savannah for the deli and major shopping. We picked a different restaurant each day and at the Pelican Beach Bar a couple times.

Our room was in the Castaway section. The pros were that this area was quieter than the main reef area and allowed for great sleeping and all the beach chairs we wanted. The con was that we were removed from the bigger/nicer pool and restaurants/bar. We were fine with this as it was just a very short walk away and preferred the quiet at night. The one-bedroom is fantastic for a family of four and we had a first floor unit with access directly to a small patio and the beach. The king-sized bed and the murphy beds were both very comfortable. The bathroom was nice; did not like having doors both in the hall and in the master bedroom. Could hear my kids every time they went in the bathroom. Would have preferred just the hall door. We paid the $40 CI for the week for wi-fi and were impressed with the speed and could use it anywhere on the property - even the beach. The only down side is that only one device could log on at a time. This was a bit of a pain as we didn't have a lot of down time, and we had to take turns checking e-mail, news, doing homework, etc. Our unit had a great layout and was very clean. Our only complaint is that we had older appliances that were showing their age. The dishwasher indicator lights didn't always work, so we would think the dishwasher was started, but it was actually on just a rinse cycle. The refrig would occasionally be noisy and didn't bother us except for one night when it was clicking on and off all night. Neither of these were major issues for us.

We loved the beach at the Reef, but our reason for coming to Cayman was to snorkel, not wade in the water. The sand is beautiful, but you should know that you will need water shoes to go in the water. It is very rocky with lots of sea grass. You will not enjoy this if you are expecting just sand. Again, we loved it as we were there for the snorkeling. We would start at the Morritt's pier and float all the way back to our room. We literally could spend hours just floating back and seeing all the marine life. We even ran across a huge crab and starfish. We also loved this location because we could get to Rum Point in 20/25 minutes and also had access to many other snorkeling sites anywhere from 20-45 minutes west. We also used White Sand Sports for a sting ray/snorkeling trip and loved them.

All in all, The Reef is perfect if you are looking for a quiet, reasonably-priced vacation, especially for snorkelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor if you want to walk right out onto a patio and the beach. Castaway buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roadtripper087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to read you had a great time. We appreciate your pointers as to where we can improve.

Thank you also for pointing out the snorkeling available at theReef Resort. It seems as if it was one of the high points of your vacation! As you noted being located on an actual reef ensures we get a wide variety of aquatic visitors including some of our larger friends!

Thank you again for taking the time to review your vacation. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Reef (Jan25-Feb1, 2014). We have been to the Reef many times and the weather in Jan. was gorgeous. As always, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless, and the oceanfront view is breathtaking. Looking forward to our return trip in August. Jersey Girls

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for leaving your review. We always look forward to seeing you on your visits. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming back in August on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
449 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,351 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,299 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £148 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing