We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our 1st trip to Grand Cayman Islands and The Reef Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want total relaxation. The room, studio, was ok. We were on the 3rd floor end unit, we wish we would have asked for a change. But we also did not spend very much time in our room. The overall hotel was clean, friendly staff, outstanding concierge service. The room was close to the dumpster and it was overflowing and very smelling. We took the Jet Ski tour and would recommend this for everyone. I do not remember the young man who was the guide but he was very informative and friendly. You do not have much to choose from as far as restaurants staying on the east side of the island. Since we did not feel comfortable renting a car, we ate at the hotel or the restaurant across the street. The food at The Reef was great. Small store also located within walking distance. If you want a total relaxing vacation this is the place to stay. I will go back to Grand Cayman Islands but I might try to stay at 7 mile beach area just for more options.

Room Tip: Excellent view from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Dana M,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we highly appreciate all comments to help us improve. Our team members take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations and I'm thrilled that you were able to experience this during your stay.

We are happy to hear that you were able to have a relaxing vacation at theReef Resort in Grand Cayman and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    518
    169
    57
    28
See reviews for
473
769
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lost Creek, WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at The Reef via Apple ending 2/28/14. Its a Well run resort. Everyone was friendly and well trained. The bar tenders were very good and quick. The facility was clean and well kept. The rooms were basic but clean. The sea was very close and the pools were warm and clean. We had the deluze package and it included free wi fi. The resort was not crowded and the best part , for us was the ability to get cooked to order food, all day. The food was pretty good and plentiful. The homemade pizza was a hit with our crowd.They have a Subway franchise attached and that was included in the inclusive package.
The resort was very quiet and relaxing and the snorkeling off the beach was excellant. I am thinking of going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we all work hard to ensure our guests have the best possible vacation and when guests consider returning we know they can pay us no higher compliment.
We’d love to see you back and wish you the very best for your future vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Roomy, clean and reasonably priced with excellent staff. Really enjoyed our time in Cayman. The resort had a restaurant and bar, within walking distance were the Morritz restaurant/bar and a very nice Italian restaurant. Additionally there were water sport rentals (ski-doos and Red Sail scuba - recommended).
Note that a ride from the airport for 4 runs about 100.00 US and Georgetown is next to the airport. So, if you anticipate a need for downtown, 7 Mile Beach or West Bay sites be prepared for an expensive and long ride (over 1/2 hour). Nonetheless, we got along with only a day along those points and enjoyed the property with the pools and excellent beach.
BTW, the small grocery store within 50 yards was really handy.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. One nice thing, since you're on the East side of the island, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltkije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with theReef Resort. We appreciate the compliments to our staff as our goal is always to exceed guest expectations. We enjoyed reading your appreciation of our location. We feel our location is perfect for those who truly wish to get away from it all and as you have noted, we also have plenty to do for our more active and adventurous guests.

Thank you, again, for the review and happy vacationing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
307 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was my first time to Grand Cayman, but from everything I had heard and read, I was already looking forward to escaping from the faster paced George Town / 7 mile beach side to the slower paced east end. I was not disappointed!

From arrival to departure at theReef, everything was above par. All of the staff were exceedingly friendly and the grounds were kept very clean. As we were staying at the unit of an owner, we opted not to do the all inclusive, thus only ate a few meals on property. Those we did have were delicious though - especially the Monday night welcome buffet dinner. We did fully utilize our kitchen and the grill out by the pool - all of the appliances and utilities worked flawlessly.

Truly, our only complaint of the entire visit was the house-keeping. While they came by daily and offered clean towels and took out the trash, not once did our unit get a full cleaning (i.e. brooming, mopping, etc...).

If you are looking for somewhere to escape on the east end of Grand Cayman, look no further - escape to theReef!

Room Tip: All rooms are beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdubbs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at theReef Resort. You have described perfectly our location which we feel is truly one of the best locations in the Caribbean to really and truly relax and get away from it all.

Your comments on housekeeping are a good point as there is a tiered level of housekeeping at theReef Resort depending upon if you are staying in a private owner villa or if you have booked directly with the resort or through one of our travel agent partners. All rental guests in these categories receive full daily housekeeping services including sweeping and mopping as well as thorough cleaning.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Grand Cayman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Having been to an assortment of all inclusives this resort stands out!! NO BUFFETs, great choices from eggs benedict to fresh fruit over yogurt to tuna seared (fav) jerk chicken wrap & dinners were ridiculous!! BBQ night was fun w live entertainment .. Steak, lobster tails n lobster thermidor was all delicious!! We stayed in a studio on the third floor, clean fresh n comfortable accommodations... Larger rooms are perfect for family travelers .....Beach was perfect to relax on w NO TOWEL game rush required:) drinks are top shelf and many bottle beers to chose from. Staff could not have been more accommodating<3 snorkeling was GREAT right off the beach. Bring water shoes as it is very rocky! This is a low key no fussy resort a perfect five days get away from NY.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodiG1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with theReef Resort. We are very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our “deluxe” all inclusive package as we feel it is truly unique. It does indeed offer our guests a far greater choice in how they enjoy their vacation. With a commitment to no buffets, no set meal times and absolutely no restrictions of any kind, allowing our guests to enjoy the finest foods, beers, spirits, cocktails how they want and when they want we think it is a great option and are, again, happy to read you felt the same way.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Grand Cayman and in the meantime whish you happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Reef Resort on the all-inclusive plan. Our stay (Feb 15-21) featured balmy temperatures and some breezy days. The resort is in a beautiful location, relatively quiet (much more relaxed than 7 mile beach) and incredibly helpful staff, well-kept beach and concierge assistance with anything you may need. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.

Bar staff were wonderful - Colin was outstanding, and all were very helpful and friendly. As to the waiters, we particularly enjoyed Vuk, and Rochelle who gave us excellent service and a warm and friendly attitude, but all were good to us. Cathy (concierge) was a wealth of information. Particular thanks for the tip about the little crafts store up the street and opposite Tukka's - the owner makes her own jewelry from local semi-precious stone (Caymanite) and shells, and sells at comparatively decent prices. Her son is an expert on the Cuban cigars and coffee etc. that can also be picked up there - he has lots of know how:), and they were generous with discounts as we bought a few items. Cathy also helped us with car rental and our trip to the botanical gardens - we really loved the blue iguanas as well as the color garden!

White Sand Sports has a place on the property and our friends chartered a boat to take the 4 of us out to Stingray City. It was an amazing experience. Captain Chris was fantastic. The 4 of us were a little anxious initially, but he was able to help us all to have an amazing and intimate experience with the stingrays. He then took us to the reef close by to snorkel, and let our less confident group members wear lifejackets as they snorkeled out to allay concerns of the less than strong swimmers amongst us. Finally he took us to starfish point where we found a half a dozen starfish waiting. Talk about photo ops - the experience was a highlight!

Room (deluxe studio) was nice enough - pretty much what you see in the photos. walking right out onto the beach was wonderful. My husband was initially concerned that being close to the bar and restaurant might make for noise (we were directly in front of the dock), but I was never aware of any disturbance. One big issue though was that the button on the side of the hot tub is not the only thing needed to turn it on. There is a switch above the light switch and beside the sinks that must also be in the upright position. Nobody told us of this, and although we spoke to the front desk and maintenance on 3-4 occasions about problems, we were not informed of the need for the switch (which looked to be redundant to us) to be in the upright position. This needs a little sign - particularly since it is not close to the tub. We spoke to the concierges about this, but I’m noting just in case they haven’t got around to taking care of it yet. The bed was comfortable.

As to the food - the quality was (my friends assure me) very good for an all-inclusive. The all-inclusive package is a great idea for those who really want to indulge in anything anytime, with top shelf and cocktails included! I'd say you are actually encouraged to try everything! Another reviewer criticized frozen fish - while many items are brought onto the island we asked about what was local before we ordered, and used it to inform our choices. The food is not fast in coming out - but so what? We ate outside most of the time - on the balcony for breakfast and at the beach bistro (all the same kitchen) for lunch and in the evening - the view and atmosphere were amazing - soak it in and relax. There is plenty of variety on the menu - I ate something different every meal, although we repeat ordered our appetizer faves (Cuban black bean soup, coconut shrimp and the hummus with pita bread).

All-inclusive guests are given an identifying bracelet on arrival - not thinking about money or the check is rather liberating. When we return (fingers crossed) we will go with the basic option, and will rent a car for the week, since the roads through outside of George town are simple and straightforward - driving on the left is not a big deal - and enjoy more cuisine at other local establishments. Renting a car in advance for the week would have saved quite a bit. We were told about this by concierge Daina in advance, but just didn’t feel the confidence until we saw it ourselves☺

One thought for management - how about making the dolphin pool for children and the north pool for adults and swimming? When it is windy it is hard if not impossible to swim off the shore, and a pool would be great. While the north pool is not really large enough for serious swimming I could swim in it - it was just almost impossible to compete with children, who seemed to occupy both pools on the day I would have liked to use one.

If you are looking for luxury and lots of amenities you should probably go to 7 mile beach. We took a few hours looking at the Georgetown/7 mile beach side of things and knew it was way too commercial for our tastes. The East End and Reef Resort are the way to go if you want to just kick back and relax and soak up some sun and enjoy spectacular views!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for such an extensive review of theReef Resort. Your pointers on our all inclusive options will prove invaluable for future guests. We offer two types of all inclusive packages, a “value “ packag, and a “deluxe” package. Details of each package can be found on our website and our Reservations team and Concierge team are always happy to answer any calls or emails about these great package options.

We appreciate all of your comments and suggestions and of course the compliments to our staff, all of whom take great pride in offering outstanding guest service.

We look forward to greeting you with a warm welcome on your next visit to theReef Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This resort is perfect if you want to be at a quiet part of the island. The Reef has things to do each day and night. It is on the windier side of the island (impacts snorkeling). It has a nice beach bar with good mudslides:)
If you want more activities and being a part of the "action", you would want something on 7 mile beach. We found many really good local restaurants located close to the Reef (Tukka, Capt. Herman's Fish Fry, and Over the Edge). The resort is well taken care of and the staff is very pleasant. All rooms at the Reef are ocean front and have a balcony (which is amazing!). I would recommend staying here if you want to get away from it all. Grand Cayman is a friendly and beautiful island.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Reef are ocean front!! Studio room is a large type hotel room with a small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtrip_dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with our resort. One of our mottos here is total relaxation and we work hard to ensure our guests can simply focus on relaxing and enjoying their time in paradise with us.

theReef Resort is the only resort in the Cayman Islands that offers 100% ocean front rooms, guaranteed. We always smile when we read about guests who have that “amazing” experience of the ocean front room from their balconies. We call it the “Wow” moment when they step out onto the balcony and take in the views and suddenly, simply and utterly relax. We are so happy to read you had that experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again when you want to experience total relaxation with amazing views. Meanwhile, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,995 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing