We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reef Resort, compared to Morritt's Tortuga Resort right next door.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Reef Resort, compared to Morritt's Tortuga Resort right next door.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I Stayed at the Reef Resort early March 2014 with a seminar group so I shared a one bedroom with one of my classmates. The one bedroom accommodates up to four people, it has a king bed in the bedroom and two single beds in the living room neatly (& quite cleverly) hidden away as murphy beds in the t.v. entertainment center. The beds (even the Murphy beds) were VERY comfortable.

The room is set up very similarly to the Morritt's resort next door - they both even have a full kitchen so you can buy groceries from the express supermarket across the street and have all the utensils needed to prepare a wholesome meal.

Comparing Morritt's to the Reef, I would say that both hotels are very clean, but Reef has the most comfortable beds by far, but Morritt's restaurant is much better. On my previous stay at Morritt's, I thoroughly enjoyed the food...not so with the Reef - I ordered a red conch soup which tasted like something straight from a can (yuk) and it was loaded with vegetables and NO conch! I didn't enjoy the fish and chips either. David's restaurant at Morritt's was EXCELLENT.

If you're looking for an East End resort with a crappy restaurant but comfy beds then Reef Resort is your bet (plus if you don't like their food there's a Subway restaurant located in this resort, & an Italian restaurant across the street).

Morritt's beds aren't as comfortable but their restaurant is DEVINE, so it's all up to what is most important to you in a resort.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammi_Dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Sammi_Dread, Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. We highly appreciate your honest feedback of your dining experience as this allows us to address them and make the necessary changes to satisfy our customers. Your comments have been addressed and I wanted to share with you that we are working on a new menu which will be ready soon and we hope you will visit us soon again to see for yourself the difference.

Best regards, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    527
    172
    58
    28
See reviews for
482
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We're just back from a week at The Reef Resort and it was superb. We awoke every morning to the exquisite beauty of the beach - all units are right ON the beach - and we were just steps away from some of the best snorkeling on the island. Additionally, our "home" was beautifully appointed and everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful - they clearly love the place as much as the guests do. Being in the travel industry, I try not to "repeat" but if I were to break my own rules I'd go right back to The Reef.

Room Tip: Between the tennis courts and the pool if you're without young children - otherwise south of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great vacation at theReef Resort with beautiful views over the ocean as well as some of the best snorkeling in the Caribbean.

We hope you break your rules, so we get to welcome you back soon.

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

As nature-lovers and people who prefer the quiet, our choice of The Reef resort could not have suited us better. If you are looking for nightlife, crowds, and an over-abundance of activities to choose from, this is not your place - but it was exactly right for us. We spoiled ourselves with our first Caribbean vacation specifically to snorkel - and snorkel we did, over and over, by walking out of our room, across the beach, and into the water. While it was windy and wavy on the surface, underwater it was calm and quiet and we got excellent views of most of the characters from "Finding Nemo" (to my daughter's great delight) as well as swimming along behind a nurse shark! Most exciting! When not snorkeling we relaxed poolside or on the beach, or more often at the Tiki bar where we enjoyed many tropical drinks, and our daughter learned to engage the friendly bartenders in a "Who can make the best Virgin Colada?" contest (hint: the winner used the most whipped cream!)

Words about the resort: quiet, clean, friendly staff, wonderful accomodations, average to above-average food, fantastic location, helpful concierge. We were all-inclusive which allowed us to try a little bit of everything whenever we wanted which was a real treat. And eating our meals while sitting at tables actually set up on the beach was both thrilling and relaxing.

Two shoutouts:
To Jake, the head concierge. We did not experience any issues ourselves, but we watched his handling of a situation where travelers were left stranded at The Reef by their no-show airport shuttles. Although it was not a problem of his making and although the guests were leaving his resort, he went to great measures to get them private rides to the airport so they wouldn't miss their flights.
And to Chris, from White Sands Water Sports. Through the Reef we booked a trip with him to Stingray Sandbar on Christmas Eve. Although it was late afternoon and he had family in town, he gave us as much time as we wanted to play with the stingrays (and his delight in the stingrays was palpable - he knows many of them on sight) and snorkel at a nearby reef. When we were exhausted from snorkeling and climbed back into the boat, we were past our contracted return time but he just smiled and never said a word. What a wonderful Christmas Eve gift for which we will always be grateful.

If you want to relax and unwind, this is your place. Enjoy - we did!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PandJ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear PandJ2005,

Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks about theReef Resort and our team members. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. Thank you for naming a few of our team members who really stood out and made your stay memorable, at theReef we take pride in exceeding our guest's expectations.

It was a real pleasure to have had you as our guest and since you had such a great experience, we hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from theReef,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed there at the beginning of Feb. 2014 and the staff running the place couldn't have been nicer. It was clean and just as advertised. The beach and pool area was cleaned and groomed every night. The snorkeling was awesome. Being on the quiet side of the island was the best. When we wanted to go shopping or out for the evening, it was only a short driving away. However, getting use to driving on the wrong side of the road was quite something. The only draw back was the internet could have been better, but I really didn't need my email that badly!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Keeta2,

Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. Our team takes great pride in exceeding our guests expectations and we are happy to hear you were able to experience this.

We are happy to hear you had an excellent vacation and hope to welcome you at theReef resort in the near future again.

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Could not wish for a better apartment overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The rooms and facilities were 5 star.
Having supper on the sand by the beach bar was a lovely experience and the staff very pleasant.
The only small gripe was that the apartment door was VERRY hard to open, but I suspect this is to prevent children from leaving unattended.
Another good aspect was a well stocked supermarket just across the road for self catering.
Altogether a great place on the island!

Room Tip: The upper rooms offer more privacy and good for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordielad6580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Geordielad6580,

Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. It sounds like you had a great time and we would love to welcome you back again in the near future.

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our 1st trip to Grand Cayman Islands and The Reef Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want total relaxation. The room, studio, was ok. We were on the 3rd floor end unit, we wish we would have asked for a change. But we also did not spend very much time in our room. The overall hotel was clean, friendly staff, outstanding concierge service. The room was close to the dumpster and it was overflowing and very smelling. We took the Jet Ski tour and would recommend this for everyone. I do not remember the young man who was the guide but he was very informative and friendly. You do not have much to choose from as far as restaurants staying on the east side of the island. Since we did not feel comfortable renting a car, we ate at the hotel or the restaurant across the street. The food at The Reef was great. Small store also located within walking distance. If you want a total relaxing vacation this is the place to stay. I will go back to Grand Cayman Islands but I might try to stay at 7 mile beach area just for more options.

Room Tip: Excellent view from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Dana M,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we highly appreciate all comments to help us improve. Our team members take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations and I'm thrilled that you were able to experience this during your stay.

We are happy to hear that you were able to have a relaxing vacation at theReef Resort in Grand Cayman and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lost Creek, WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at The Reef via Apple ending 2/28/14. Its a Well run resort. Everyone was friendly and well trained. The bar tenders were very good and quick. The facility was clean and well kept. The rooms were basic but clean. The sea was very close and the pools were warm and clean. We had the deluze package and it included free wi fi. The resort was not crowded and the best part , for us was the ability to get cooked to order food, all day. The food was pretty good and plentiful. The homemade pizza was a hit with our crowd.They have a Subway franchise attached and that was included in the inclusive package.
The resort was very quiet and relaxing and the snorkeling off the beach was excellant. I am thinking of going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeMorgan72, Head Concierge at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we all work hard to ensure our guests have the best possible vacation and when guests consider returning we know they can pay us no higher compliment.
We’d love to see you back and wish you the very best for your future vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,049 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing