We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I picked the Reef Resort for my wife and I to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The resort staff were welcoming and helpful at every turn. Our studio room was clean, bright, functioning and afforded a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. In spite of the high season,the resort was not crowded and the beach and pool chairs were more than adequate. The food at the resort's restaurant was excellent. But there were also restaurants close by that would even provide a shuttle service..Tukka's in particular was outstanding. The resort also has a workout facility and this could be upgraded. Two treadmills is not enough for that size of a resort. Hopefully this will be addressed by the owners. Excursions and surf activities were readily available and easily arranged by the helpful concierge service.

Room Tip: Although the first floor rooms provide easy access to the beach and pool, the upper floors provide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Jack O, Thank you not only for taking your time to review theReef Resort but also for choosing us to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary. We are very happy to hear you had a great vacation and celebration. Thank you for your feedback, we highly value feedback to improve. We are planning some renovations and upgrades and we will discuss your advise.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your wife again in the near future.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This resort is about 30-40minutes from George Town and is in the East End. However, it is well worth the drive. Rent a car, see & stay in the East End, you won't regret it. By doing so, you will get to see the island, interact with the locals and have a more relaxing vacation. All the rooms have beach front views. My room was towards the end of the property, which was perfect because it was away from the bar area and more private. The resort also offers water sports & tours such as a jet ski tour and Stingray city. Recommend both of these! We had a "celebrity" spotting & interaction with Mary, the owner, who was lovely. Small shopping center across the street with a grocery store and souvenir shop, which was very useful, when we realized we should have brought snorkeling gear! With that said, the Reef is the perfect spot to snorkel and see all kinds of colorful fish.

Room Tip: Rooms on the building farthest east are recommended since it's more quiet and away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iReenieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear iReenieS1, Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. Your tips and insights will be very helpful to fellow travelers.

We are very happy to hear you had great time and we would love to welcome you back again in the near future. Sunny greetings from theReef.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our first trip to the Reef Resort, and it was awesome! So different from Georgetown with its big hotels, cruise ship passenger traffic and strip malls. This was truly getting away from it all and getting a chance to really see the beauty of Grand Cayman. There's nothing like waking up each day to see the blue expanse of the Caribbean Sea right outside your porch. The beach was gorgeous, the snorkeling right in front of the resort was great (we even swam with a green sea turtle right off the beach and loved the variety of fish that lived under the dock), and everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful. Cathy, the concierge, really helped us out and recommended some great trips for us. She is a fantastic person:) We had the all-inclusive package and loved eating our meals right on the beach and having drinks at the beachfront bar…food was great for us and our 3 kids (they loved the smoothies!), the wait and bar staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and we had great conversations with them. The Whitesands Sports guys took us on a fantastic tour on the seadoos…saw some shipwrecks and had time to zip the jet skis around and have a great time. They provided us with snorkel gear each day as well as kayaks and paddle boards. We saw a great variety of sea life in the reefs near the resort and were also able to visit the nearby Botanic Gardens to learn about the program that saved the Grand Cayman blue iguanas from extinction. In addition, we visited the Turtle Farm on the west end of the island and learned about the sea turtles. Our boat trip to stingray city was awesome, we had some great deeper sea snorkeling right off the boat and wrapped the trip up with a visit to starfish point to hold and see some huge starfish.
We loved staying at the resort, and we all made great friends during our stay….our boys made several great friends at the resort and spent lots of time swimming, playing basketball and tennis. Very relaxing vacation and would love to go again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Laura H, Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at our resort. We appreciate your kind words about our premises, services and our team members. Your feedback helps us to continue focusing on reaching and exceeding your expectations to create a great vacation memory. Hopefully we will see you back again very soon!

Warmest regards from sunny Grand Cayman,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our 4th visit to The Reef, and we love it even more than ever. Here is my list of the top 5 things we love about The Reef:

5. The room. Spacious, clean and well appointed. We love having a full kitchen for eating in when we feel like it.
4. The food. We eat both on and off the property, but are always happy with our meals at the resort. Food is expensive everywhere on the island, but there is a wide range of items (and prices) available at The Reef.
3. The staff. Always friendly and helpful. Never met anyone who didn't seem genuinely happy doing their job.
2. The beach and water. White sand beach and a great reef for snorkeling right outside your door.
1. The location. Forget Seven Mile Beach -- on the East End you don't have to fight the crowds for a beach chair or wait in line for dinner. If you have a car there are many options for activities, and driving (though on the left!) is easy with little traffic. On the other hand, if you want to do nothing, there is plenty of THAT available as well!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front. Choose one on the first floor for walk-out beach access, or on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJtravelrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear NJtravelrabbit, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us as well as give fellow travelers some insight of our resort as well as of Grand Cayman.

We are delighted that you had great experience and each time we have managed to exceed your expectations. We cant wait to welcome you back for your 5th visit :).

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We absolutely loved the Reef Resort! Even my husband, who is hard to please loved it. He kept saying what a good job I did in choosing the place, which meant a lot to me. We spent one week 2/16 to 2/23/14. It was my husband, me and my two daughter 9 and 12. We like quiet and not too much hustle and bustle. We are definitely "away from it" all kind of people We rented a car from Thrifty and it was great to get around. We went to the Turtle farm, and swam with the dolphins one day and sting ray city another day. (Totally Awesome) Having the grocery store and liquor store across the street was just perfect. We had breakfast and lunch in the room and went our for dinner most nights. I loved the room, you just walk right out to the beach and we had our own palm tree and chairs!!! I liked being on the ground level and did make that request. There was no fighting over chairs or getting up early to claim beach chairs. We loved it so much, we are considering booking for next year. This would be the only place we've been back to a second time. It will be hard to beat.

Room Tip: We liked being on the ground level and walking right out to the beach. We also had and end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShazSoundBeach_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear ShazSoundBeach.., Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We are so delighted to hear that you and your family had a great relaxing vacation with us. TheReef Resort is definitely as you mention, a place to relax away from the hustle and bustle and yet close enough so that you can discover and experience the beautiful island and all it was to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again at theReef.

Sunny greetings,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We are just home today from our weeks stay at The Reef Resort. My husband, and I brought our 14 year old daughter and her friend and I have to say, we are sad to have left.
Our family has been to Grand Cayman 8 times, always staying at resorts on the 7 mile beach area (Marriott mainly). This time, we decided to shake it up and travel out to the East End. The island is 22 miles long and it is quite a journey out to this resort but I hope to give you plenty of reason to go.

Concierge- Roche (pronounced Rocky and she's a girl), Kathy, & Dana are superb. They are there from 8-5 to help with trips, restaurants, or just giving you island tips and recommendations. Kathy does an excellent island orientation Sunday mornings and we learned a lot of great things that we had never heard about. Check in was pretty smooth, we arrived at noon and check in is at 4. We opted for the all-inclusive plan which was WELL worth it when you see the prices in the Caymans. Plus it was easy for our girls to eat and drink where ever and whenever they wanted.
Room- We stayed in 107A&B which meant we had a one bedroom suite/dining room/full kitchen/bathroom/living room w/2 murphy beds (A) and a connecting deluxe studio (B) Kitchenette/king bed/jacuzzi/bath/shower. We decided to give the girls the bigger room because the king bed is in the back and we wanted the beachfront view. (Should have switched this because we were right in front of the pools and they little kids woke up early every day and made a bit of noise and we did not have privacy nor could we really open up our curtains until later in the mornings). The girls were hidden back in their dark, cozy quiet room and would have slept till noon each day if we let them.
Food- We really loved it. Being all-inclusive we were able to try lots of things. B'fast was B'fast, black bean soup was great if you asked for onion & vinegar, girls loved chicken fingers & pizza, spring rolls great, grilled fish every day, ribeyes AMAZING... Great selection of drinks at the bar- Colin, Nick & Tony were always fun and chatty.
White Sands- You MUST do the sunrise Stingray city tour. You have to be in the lobby at 6:15am but it was totally worth it! Each trip is limited to 10 people, we had only 9. Captain Chris took us out and we WERE THE ONLY BOAT at stingray city. 9 people and about 75 rays. (You must kiss a ray for 7 years good luck by the way). Chris has great stories and is in no rush to leave. Price for adults was about $55 US. He also took us to a snorkel area nearby that was beautiful. Again, we were the only ones there. This area is near a 5,000 foot drop off for divers and close to a 25,000 foot drop off as well. It was breathtaking.
Snorkeling- Great to do off the resort. If you start at Morritt's dock (HUGE TARPIN) and drift down to the Reef dock (Many species) you will not be disappointed. The girls also loved to look for sea glass along the shore every day.
BAREFOOT MAN- Super fun night at the REEF. He is like a Jimmy Buffet type with some funny songs.
Local Restaurants- You Must try Tukka. Nadine will come pick you up and drop you off for free. Food is amazing. I had the lion fish tacos, my husband loved the fish and chips.
The Italian Kitchen is across the street from the hotel, it is adequate. They do make a nice expresso martini though. :)
Rum Point- if you are on East end, you may as well go there but there is not much to do. The water is calm and there are a couple restaurants but the beach area is small and kinda boring.
We went in to Georgetown one day (takes about 45-1 hour)- hit the Turtle Farm, Hell & CIMBOCO (The BEST restaurant in the world in our opinion). Fun day but do it all at once because it is too far to go back.
The hotel will arrange a taxi to bring you to the hotel (expect to pay $100 for 4 to get there). Our driver, Norma, offered us a great deal. $250 for the week to come and get us and take us where ever and when ever we wanted. She was totally legit. She took us into Georgetown, Turtle Farm, Hell, Shopping, Rum Point, & back to the airport. She is a little cranky sometimes and can be a little late (30 min one day) but she did as she said and we made it to the airport in plenty of time.
I hope this helps you choose to stay at The Reef- we heard Wyndam is investing in this property and that they are getting new mattresses and a makeover of the beach bar & lobby area... we will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have beachfront views. We would maybe take a 2nd or 3rd floor room next time so we could l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robinsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Robinsga,

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful remarks about theReef Resort and our team members. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. Thank you for naming a few of our team members who really stood out and made your stay memorable. I'll be sure to share your kind words with them and thank them for their continued service.

It was a real pleasure to have had you as our guest and since you had such a great experience, we hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you again.

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I Stayed at the Reef Resort early March 2014 with a seminar group so I shared a one bedroom with one of my classmates. The one bedroom accommodates up to four people, it has a king bed in the bedroom and two single beds in the living room neatly (& quite cleverly) hidden away as murphy beds in the t.v. entertainment center. The beds (even the Murphy beds) were VERY comfortable.

The room is set up very similarly to the Morritt's resort next door - they both even have a full kitchen so you can buy groceries from the express supermarket across the street and have all the utensils needed to prepare a wholesome meal.

Comparing Morritt's to the Reef, I would say that both hotels are very clean, but Reef has the most comfortable beds by far, but Morritt's restaurant is much better. On my previous stay at Morritt's, I thoroughly enjoyed the food...not so with the Reef - I ordered a red conch soup which tasted like something straight from a can (yuk) and it was loaded with vegetables and NO conch! I didn't enjoy the fish and chips either. David's restaurant at Morritt's was EXCELLENT.

If you're looking for an East End resort with a crappy restaurant but comfy beds then Reef Resort is your bet (plus if you don't like their food there's a Subway restaurant located in this resort, & an Italian restaurant across the street).

Morritt's beds aren't as comfortable but their restaurant is DEVINE, so it's all up to what is most important to you in a resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sammi_Dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Sammi_Dread, Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. We highly appreciate your honest feedback of your dining experience as this allows us to address them and make the necessary changes to satisfy our customers. Your comments have been addressed and I wanted to share with you that we are working on a new menu which will be ready soon and we hope you will visit us soon again to see for yourself the difference.

Best regards, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
478 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,336 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £163 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing