We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We heard it was quiet , and it certainly was. All the sights to see are a LONG way by bus,car or taxi . Grocery across street a Godsend . Having been to over 60 Caribbean resorts , this would be our 3rd poorest choice .Spend a little more and go to one of the true 5-star resorts on the main 7-mile Beach on the west side . Hey ,just our opinion . D & J

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek_Josee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Derek_Josee, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. Grand Cayman is a small island that has a lot to offer and we do recommend renting a car to see as much as possible and the same time, those who prefer not renting a car we offer to organize and we organize many activities, tours and events.

East End, where we are located is ideal for world class snorkeling, deserted beaches and a bit more peace and quiet.

Best regards from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a great time at the Reef Resort. The room (a 2-bedroom suite) was spacious, clean and well-equipped. You can't beat the view. The beach was nice although they do have a truck cleaning up seaweed every morning. There are activities every day at the hotel (most for a price), tennis, a fitness center, a spa (which we didn't use) and a restaurant. The food at the restaurant was good although not the best on the island - I wouldn't do the all-inclusive plan as it seemed pricey for average food. Instead, rent a car and explore the island. Otherwise, you will be stuck eating at the hotel restaurant, Subway, the restaurant at the hotel next door, or an italian place across the street. There is a grocery store across the street as well, which is great. The location is definitely away from the more touristy end of the island, but nice for just relaxing. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask to stay by the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear lcosette, Thank you very much for taking the time to review theReef Resort and share with us your experience. We highly value your opinion as this is our best resource for improving, we are currently working on a new menu which we hope to surprise you with on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hello Everyone
Last week my wife and I spent a week at The Reef resort.
Throughout the planning of our rental car, our excursions, and our dinners the Concierge Desk was always available for us. Our questions and creating an agenda was excellent.
The Reef Resort offered us a service level we had never received from another vacation hotel.
The Reef Resort we will be coming back for another stay in 2015. Everyone at the hotel made our stay very special and memorable.

Bill

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Bill, Thank you for taking your time to review theReef resort and share your experience with us and fellow travelers. We are very happy to hear we not only met but exceeded your expectations, our team always tries to go above and beyond to make our guests feel welcomed and help ensure they enjoy their vacation. I will be sharing your review with them.

We look very much forward to seeing next year and please feel free to contact us at anytime to help organize activities, transportation, prior to your arrival.

See you soon back in paradise,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I picked the Reef Resort for my wife and I to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The resort staff were welcoming and helpful at every turn. Our studio room was clean, bright, functioning and afforded a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. In spite of the high season,the resort was not crowded and the beach and pool chairs were more than adequate. The food at the resort's restaurant was excellent. But there were also restaurants close by that would even provide a shuttle service..Tukka's in particular was outstanding. The resort also has a workout facility and this could be upgraded. Two treadmills is not enough for that size of a resort. Hopefully this will be addressed by the owners. Excursions and surf activities were readily available and easily arranged by the helpful concierge service.

Room Tip: Although the first floor rooms provide easy access to the beach and pool, the upper floors provide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Jack O, Thank you not only for taking your time to review theReef Resort but also for choosing us to celebrate your 40th wedding anniversary. We are very happy to hear you had a great vacation and celebration. Thank you for your feedback, we highly value feedback to improve. We are planning some renovations and upgrades and we will discuss your advise.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your wife again in the near future.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This resort is about 30-40minutes from George Town and is in the East End. However, it is well worth the drive. Rent a car, see & stay in the East End, you won't regret it. By doing so, you will get to see the island, interact with the locals and have a more relaxing vacation. All the rooms have beach front views. My room was towards the end of the property, which was perfect because it was away from the bar area and more private. The resort also offers water sports & tours such as a jet ski tour and Stingray city. Recommend both of these! We had a "celebrity" spotting & interaction with Mary, the owner, who was lovely. Small shopping center across the street with a grocery store and souvenir shop, which was very useful, when we realized we should have brought snorkeling gear! With that said, the Reef is the perfect spot to snorkel and see all kinds of colorful fish.

Room Tip: Rooms on the building farthest east are recommended since it's more quiet and away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iReenieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear iReenieS1, Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs. Your tips and insights will be very helpful to fellow travelers.

We are very happy to hear you had great time and we would love to welcome you back again in the near future. Sunny greetings from theReef.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our first trip to the Reef Resort, and it was awesome! So different from Georgetown with its big hotels, cruise ship passenger traffic and strip malls. This was truly getting away from it all and getting a chance to really see the beauty of Grand Cayman. There's nothing like waking up each day to see the blue expanse of the Caribbean Sea right outside your porch. The beach was gorgeous, the snorkeling right in front of the resort was great (we even swam with a green sea turtle right off the beach and loved the variety of fish that lived under the dock), and everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful. Cathy, the concierge, really helped us out and recommended some great trips for us. She is a fantastic person:) We had the all-inclusive package and loved eating our meals right on the beach and having drinks at the beachfront bar…food was great for us and our 3 kids (they loved the smoothies!), the wait and bar staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and we had great conversations with them. The Whitesands Sports guys took us on a fantastic tour on the seadoos…saw some shipwrecks and had time to zip the jet skis around and have a great time. They provided us with snorkel gear each day as well as kayaks and paddle boards. We saw a great variety of sea life in the reefs near the resort and were also able to visit the nearby Botanic Gardens to learn about the program that saved the Grand Cayman blue iguanas from extinction. In addition, we visited the Turtle Farm on the west end of the island and learned about the sea turtles. Our boat trip to stingray city was awesome, we had some great deeper sea snorkeling right off the boat and wrapped the trip up with a visit to starfish point to hold and see some huge starfish.
We loved staying at the resort, and we all made great friends during our stay….our boys made several great friends at the resort and spent lots of time swimming, playing basketball and tennis. Very relaxing vacation and would love to go again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Laura H, Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at our resort. We appreciate your kind words about our premises, services and our team members. Your feedback helps us to continue focusing on reaching and exceeding your expectations to create a great vacation memory. Hopefully we will see you back again very soon!

Warmest regards from sunny Grand Cayman,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our 4th visit to The Reef, and we love it even more than ever. Here is my list of the top 5 things we love about The Reef:

5. The room. Spacious, clean and well appointed. We love having a full kitchen for eating in when we feel like it.
4. The food. We eat both on and off the property, but are always happy with our meals at the resort. Food is expensive everywhere on the island, but there is a wide range of items (and prices) available at The Reef.
3. The staff. Always friendly and helpful. Never met anyone who didn't seem genuinely happy doing their job.
2. The beach and water. White sand beach and a great reef for snorkeling right outside your door.
1. The location. Forget Seven Mile Beach -- on the East End you don't have to fight the crowds for a beach chair or wait in line for dinner. If you have a car there are many options for activities, and driving (though on the left!) is easy with little traffic. On the other hand, if you want to do nothing, there is plenty of THAT available as well!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front. Choose one on the first floor for walk-out beach access, or on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJtravelrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear NJtravelrabbit, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us as well as give fellow travelers some insight of our resort as well as of Grand Cayman.

We are delighted that you had great experience and each time we have managed to exceed your expectations. We cant wait to welcome you back for your 5th visit :).

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
579 reviews
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,833 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,532 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £169 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing