We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had room 307A & B. We stayed there April 12-19. In the studio the bedroom faced the ocean so we slept in there! Beautiful ocean view every morning! Tho the Tv in there is really small. then 1 bedroom is very nice but the king bedroom was in the back. Fully stocked kitchen is very good as food there is really expensive good... but be prepared to spend some $$. We exchanged thru interval so be warned you will be paying for an electric fee, $300.00 for a one week stay for a 2 bedroom then be also aware you will have a $10.00 a day resort fee. so before we were even there for a day we had fees of $370.00. lol Food at the restaurant was very good we did have themed dinners one was steak night we had the rib-eye highly recommended so very good. the spicy wings yum! also loved the jerk chicken wrap oh my!! but be prepared for the price tag! they also have a subway on the premise so that was nice. taxi rides cost $100 from George town. but they do have public bus that will take you there for a nominal fee! which we opted for. be aware they are on island time! we never did get good maid service never changed out linens in a week or towels unless you asked for them. they did come in daily to empty your garbage. ocean very rocky you will need to wear water shoes. beach very nice. plenty of chairs to choice from. i would come back again love this place!

Room Tip: ground floor nice to have if you have children easy access! but no privacy as people are walking by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Lori G,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

We are pleased to hear you were properly informed about the conditions of exchanging through interval to avoid any unpleasant surprises. As an island most materials are shipped and due to our beautiful climate we must operate our air conditioning units around the clock for your comfort and to ensure you enjoy your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant and will be sure to pass your compliments to the team.

We look forward to your next visit - greetings from theReef team.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Reef Resort for 6 days last week. What a beautiful hotel and area! From the moment we stepped into the resort everyone (staff and visitors alike) were extremely friendly! Anytime that we needed assistance from a staff member (i.e. someone to help us jump our car, new towels, suggestions on where to go to dinner, what attractions to see, what tours to go on, etc.) we were helped immediately. The hotel room and beach were very clean and exceeded our high expectations. While there we jet skied with Allen from White Sands (highly suggest using White Sands for activities!!), took a bioluminescent tour with The Sweet Spot, and went with Chris (also from White Sands) to Stingray City on the 7AM tour. It was nice to be at a resort away from the bulk of the other hotels in Seven Mile Beach and Georgetown. I highly recommend staying at the Reef Resort!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Mary Courtney R,

It is with a big smile we read your review, we are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a great trip and truly enjoyed your vacation.

A special thanks for mentioning the White Sands team members who made your stay even more memorable.

We hope to welcome you soon back to theReef resort!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Reef as owners this time. It's a beautiful resort, clean, staff members friendly and helpful, the view from our sliding doors is gorgeous. It is much quieter than the resorts on seven mile beach, but that's the way we like it. It's just perfect to get away from our hectic and sometimes stressful life at home. Total relaxation on a beautiful spot. It is off the beaten path being all the way on the east end, but there is a small grocery store and liquor store across the street to stock up and save some money. The restaurant on site has very good food; we've never been disappointed, and the drinks are excellent! Tony and Nick at the bar make some great cocktails. Thanks guys! I also want to say thank you to all the staff at the Reef that make us feel so welcome with their smiles and friendliness. A special thank you to Cathy and Rochi at the concierge. They both are so helpful and go above and beyond to make our stay so enjoyable. I highly recommend visiting the Reef for a quiet and relaxing getaway on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Marlou82,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you back to theReef Resort as one of our valued owners - we already look forward to your next visit!

Thank you for your review of the resort on TripAdvisor and sharing with other travelers your experience and valuable input. As you mention we are the ideal place for peace and quiet, and total relaxation giving you the space to 'breath' and get away from the everyday stress.

A special thanks for pointing out our team members who made a difference during your stay, we are committed to exceeding your expectations and delivering the best possible service at all times.

Greetings from beautiful Grand Cayman,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The Reef Resort was quiet clean and peaceful.just what the doctor ordered.it was on the east end of the island (quiet side)with enough places to eat and things to do to make us happy.we're glad we stayed here because when we went to the west side where all the hotels are and tourists it was very
busy. Across the street from the hotel was a market and liquor store to cut down on costs. Starfish point is also a spot close by that is
a must see to get up close to the starfish in knee deep sandy bottom water.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardhatt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear hardhatt30,

Thank you for taking the time to review theReef Resort on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you had an excellent vacation and were able to relax and enjoy. We hope the doctor will order more relaxation soon and that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Greetings from sunny Grand Cayman,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Reef is a great spot to just get away and chill.
It is at the Eastern end of the island and quite a way (40 mins is quite a way in Cayman) from George Town and Seven Mile beach. West End, Turtle Farm etc and another 15 - 20 mins further).
About to become part of the Wyndham chain the reef offers plenty for families and/or couples.
Tip - request a beach front (ground floor) room. These rooms open directly onto the beach and makes things so much more convenient.
All rooms face the beach, and those on the 2nd or third levels have a balcony, so all is not lost. If you want privacy, go for the third level. beach access - ground level.
Anothertip - if you want all day sun - park yourself near the pool to the left of reception as you face the beach. The sun moves behind the buildings from about 2pm and shades the majority of the beach front, but there aren't any buildings near that pool, so you can have all of the sun you like.
You can get a unit with a decent kitchen as well, in case you wish to prepare some of your meals. There is a supermarket and a bottle shop across the street so you can stock up (not open Sundays).
Nice Italian resturant across the street as well. Busy on Friday nights,
Tukka - Aussie restaurant about 5 mins down the road is also very good and worth a visit for Sunday Brunch or Dinner at any time.
The Reef also has a restuarant and bar food available.
This is a timeshare place as well, so on Sunday, get your breakfast before 10am as that is when they start the 'Big Sell' session.
There are a couple of Dive companies there as well. One operating from Morrit's next door. Fishing trips as well.
Snorkeling is also fine in around the docks/piers. Rum Point is about a 15 min drive.

Anyway, you can't really go wrong if all you want to do is chill, enjoy the beach, the breeze and some sun.

Room Tip: Beach front ground floor rooms make life a whole lot easier. Ask for a late check out as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Dave B,

Thank you so much for your review of theReef Resort in Grand Cayman. I am happy to hear that you find our property to be a quiet and peaceful getaway and that you had a great vacation with us. You have shared very good tips and advise to fellow travelers, we would also like to mention that we have a concierge dedicated team that will answer any questions as well as help you with all details big or small to organize your perfect vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at theReef Resort.

Greetings from paradise,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from a week staying at the Reef resort and we're very impressed. The only unexpected turn was when we arrived we found out our room was thru a private indivual instead of the resort... But only down side was could not charge food and drink to room , could not exchange wet beach towels for dry and room only clean once in a weeks time .
Location could not be any better , we stayed at end of resort on 3rd floor , great view and very peaceful. Very good snorkeling ...lots of fish on north side of dock. Great bar ...Tony does a great job. You will need a car to get around but not a big deal , adjusted to driving on other side of road quickly ...only had wipers turn on several times. We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear jglinco,

Thank you for your review of theReef Resort, for sharing your experience and opinion which we highly value. As you mentioned your room was through a private individual instead of us, however, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs.

For those not used to driving on 'the other' side the wipers instead of blinking is typical and your comment makes us smile - it sounds like you had a great time and we look very much forward to welcoming you again!

Greetings from the beautiful Cayman Islands,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for a week in March 2014. Although this is high season--lots of US families on Spring Break--The Reef didn't seem crowded, presumably because many of the privately owned apartments were empty. We took a one bedroom suite for the two of us because no studios were available. It cost more, but the extra space made it worthwhile and we'd do it again. The beach seems to get less busy as you go further to the left from reception, so we'll request an apartment at that end next time also. See the photo. The pink building in the distance is Morritt's, adjacent to the Reef.

The $99 per day meal package isn't good value. It gives you a restricted subset of the menu (maybe OK if you really want key lime pie for dessert every night for a week) isn't valid at the on-site Subway, and there's a good supermarket and excellent Italian restaurant over the road, and the kitchen in the apartment has all you need for simple meals and more. Tukka's Australian restaurant is a few miles away, and the proprietor will shuttle you to and from the Reef.

The hotel restaurants are good, and you can sit right on the beach for dinner. Concierge, room service etc. are friendly and efficient.

We went for the SCUBA diving and the on-site dive shop is as good as anywhere, although we were unable to dive one morning because they only run trips if at least four sign up. If you prefer snorkeling, meet the fish under the pier opposite the restaurant. See photo.

One day we rented a car from the car rental shop over the road and toured the island. This confirmed our decision to stay away from the bright lights of Seven Mile Beach. We look forward to returning, next time without the meal package.

Room Tip: Request an apartment to the far left from reception if you'd like less crowds. Ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Hugh54,

Thank you so much for your review on theReef Resort and recommendation for our property. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and were able to take in the beautiful scenery from the comfort of your room. I appreciate your feedback and I'm disappointed to hear that you did not find our meal package a good value, we are currently working on some changes such as a new menu. Our specialty is making each and every one of our guests' stays memorable and I am beyond happy to hear that we were able to do just that.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again on your next vacation.

Greetings from your friends at theReef.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
503 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,366 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,378 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £175 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing