We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Reasonably Priced Resort for "mini honeymoon" with small issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent & Reasonably Priced Resort for "mini honeymoon" with small issues”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Reef for four nights after our wedding on the Seven Mile area of Cayman. We have spent a decade with our family on the island where we have property, and are intimately familiar with the island as a result. As part time residents we were looking for a secluded section of Cayman (somewhere in the East End) to spend a few days during our “mini moon” to unwind and relax after the wedding festivities.

In many ways, the Reef was a perfect option to unwind and relax, and mostly met our expectations. The rate during May (considered “off season”) was extremely reasonable compared to the rates on Seven Mile (Westin or Ritz Carlton) and other parts of the island, and the staff was beyond helpful and friendly – and in many ways went above and beyond for us. In fact, a highlight each morning was getting to know the early morning restaurant staff so I would meet them at 6:45am when the restaurant opened and they made me an Iced Latte (surprised that they had such a high end espresso machine). Those working at the Reef were always friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile for us when necessary, especially when we ran into problems.

Foremost was the issue of bugs. During our stay, we consistently had a problem with ants in our unit, which was 206B. It was a second story, ocean facing unit, and although we were offered the option to move to a different unit, given our short time there, we attacked the ant problem with pesticides with the Reef’s help and felt we would just deal with the problem and mostly ignore it (given we didn’t spend all that much time in the unit itself).

However that does not mean that they were as proactive as we would have liked on the ant problem, nor did they seem to take it seriously enough (and when they did, they used chemicals (or brought them to the unit) that went felt were dangerous to put down near our clothes, food (fridge) and sink (toothbrush, toothpaste, etc). In exchange for this problem, the General Manager graciously provided us with one night free dinner for our problems, and while quite generous, this issue still took away from some of our enjoyment during the mini moon as we were having to constantly ensure no food or even liquids (water included) was out as the ants were drawn to this. We found Ants in our refrigerator and each morning asked that our room was the first to be cleaned to avoid further problems. No matter what we did, the problem persisted, and while we have no idea how many other rooms have this issue in general, we are aware that, as long time part-time residents of the island, we have never had this problem before at our house or other hotels we’ve stayed in. As a result of our experience, this was a major disappointment for us and one that was not appropriately handled (see attached pictures and video).

However the room was quite nice for the rate, and the view to the ocean ahte sunrise was wonderful (see pictures). It was spacious, had ample room for two persons to get ready in the bathroom, and an open and airy bedroom area.

Further, they had originally promised us a first floor unit so we could walk out onto the beach and pool but that was not available when we checked in. Also notable, it seems the Reef has both condos and time shares so a hotel guest is competing with other parties for time and attention throughout the stay.

On the upside, it’s in a secluded spot on East End, an approximate 45 minute trip from the airport and George Town, and an hour from Seven Mile Beach and West Bay. There is a Fosters “express” directly across the street from the Reef which we used and were able to find everything we needed, and although we didn’t take advantage of this, there is a “Subway” next to the Reef, and it seemed many patrons did use this quick option.

That being said, in our opinion, there was no need for a Subway sandwich as the Reef’s restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was quite delicious and exceeded our expectations. We ate during all three meals, and felt the bar was also excellent. High marks go to the severs and bartenders who work there and get to know the residents and hotel guests providing exquisite service.
One of the biggest upsides of The Reef is that it is on pristine beach that’s quite wide and beautiful. Much of the rest of the island (Seven Mile Beach notwithstanding) is actually on “iron shore” and thus not true sandy beach. The Reef’s location was a highlight and we couldn’t have enjoyed the beach chairs, large pool, or unfettered access to the ocean more. There was never a rush to get beach chairs and always enough for the guests, and the servers were always available for a drink or food throughout the day.

As a result it’s a treat to be able to walk a mile or two up and down on a remote section of Cayman (not far from a favorite destination of ours – Rum Point) that has both sandy beach and a great restaurant/hotel available to guests for reasonable rates.

Overall, besides the ant issue, we felt the Reef was a great value, provided excellent service by the staff (management was on top of the issue, apologetic and did the best they could), and exceeded most of our expectations, providing incredible picturesque moments as we celebrated our marriage.

We hope to come back to the Reef in the near future to continue enjoying ourselves.

Room Tip: Ensured you have a first floor unit to walk out onto the beach, ensure there are no bugs or ants in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank weissguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear weissguy11,

Greetings from theReef Resort and once again congratulations on your wedding. We are very honored you and your wife stayed with us a few days after your wedding to unwind and relax and we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very sorry about the ants issue you encountered, we understand you stayed with us for a short period of time and it would have been a hassle to change rooms and nevertheless we wish we could have spared you from this issue. This is not a common problem and while we took measures during your stay, for your safety these were limited and upon your departure we took additional measures.

Despite the ant issue we are glad to read you had a great stay and enjoyed yourselves. We wish you both a lifetime of happiness and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to theReef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    527
    173
    58
    28
See reviews for
483
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip this year to this little piece of paradise, and I still can't say enough good things! Very laid back and super friendly. The staff is excellent and go the extra mile to make your visit the best ever! The snorkeling is beyond belief.. It's like swimming in an aquarium. Special shout out to Daina who made the awesome tie dye tee-shirts, all the great bartenders ( love you Susanne), and the staff of White Sand Watersports ( Kevin is the best)! Will definitely be back soon!!! FYI: this resort is NOT for people who want to do all the touristy things that are offered at 7mile beach... This resort is uncrowded and somewhat deserted on the other end of the island. They do have a van that will take visitors to 7mile beach however... Where you can fight for beach area with the thousands of cruise ship people. ;)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jill G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read you had a fantastic time with us again. We put high emphasis on customer satisfaction and it is with great pleasure we read your review and thank you for pointing out our co-workers who made your stay extra special.

We look very much forward to welcoming you in the near future back to paradise!

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned home yesterday. We had a great first time trip to the Caymans!

We had swapped our time share and had researched the options available in I.I. and chose The Reef. We were very glad that we did. The location is on the East side of the Island. It is more secluded and the trip to Seven Mile beach and all the shopping areas is about 45 minutes. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of all the crowds and the snorkeling right in front of the resort was wonderful.

The staff at the Front Desk were friendly and professional. The Housekeeping staff would greet us with a smile and did their job well although you hardly knew they were there. Both bartenders, Tony and Collin made great drinks (go to the daily happy hour - 2 for 1) and were fun to hang out with.

While at the Reef, you MUST take advantage of their Concierge Desk!! Cathy's knowledge of the Island and directions were spot on and Daina bent over backwards with reservations (she got us the best tables at The Lighthouse Restaurant). They were very friendly and treated us like friends. Our trip would not have turned out as fun as it was without their assistance. Cathy suggested that we visit Camana Bay for shopping (much better than downtown) and gelato (YUM!) Both ladies pointed out local gems for gifts (we especially liked The Wreck View Art Gallery across from Tukka's) and meals.

If you want to go to Stingray City - we STRONGLY recommend using White Sands Sports with Captain Chris. They have a rep at The Reef and Cathy or Daina can set this up for you. Even though you are on vacation, take the 7am trip and you'll be glad that you did. We were the only boat out there (8 passengers) - why would you want it any other way?! The stingrays were like large friendly dogs rubbing up against you to be fed or patted. They wanted your attention and Chris was a wealth of information and just plain fun to be with. When we left to go to the second location to snorkel (it was just like being in an aquarium!), the armada arrived with the cruise ship passengers- glad we weren't part of that.


Our only concern was that we did not have a full kitchen. One became available later on in the week, but at that point we had settled in. As food is imported, it is more expensive that in the U.S. and money that could have been used for trips or gifts had to be allocated to it.

We plan on going back in the near future and will sure to get a unit with the kitchen.

I would give the score a very good only because we spent so much for food and did not have a unit with a kitchen. There are extra fees to be paid at the end of the week so budget for that as well. The resorts apparently charge each room for utility fees and that is higher depending on what you have for a unit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a full kitchen. Almost all food is imported and having to eat out con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank B_D_Crowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear B_D_Crowell,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort. We are thrilled to read that our team's warm welcome and genuine hospitality gave you a trip to remember. We are glad our team assisted in ensuring you experienced and saw the jewels of Grand Cayman.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the reef resort on a solo trip. It was summer and the resort was nice and quiet. As a rule I dine in my room, just across the road (5 minute walk) is a nice little market with ALL you need, there is also a nice restaurant ( I got a pizza one night and it was very good). Small shop also there with shirts etc.. The resort is NOT for people looking to walk to nightlife. It is on the far side of the island away from it all. All the staff were great,helpful,and friendly. The best sunrises. Great beach for a morning or evening walk. Book a trip to stingray island with some great snorkeling attached. Morning stingray island trip I was told is far less crowded.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be facing the sea, Middle rooms are closer to the pool,which would be fine if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Glenn M,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort. We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience and received excellent service from all of our team members. We are also very glad you were able to take advantage and enjoy the beautiful sunrises Grand Cayman has to offer right from our private beach.

We hope it's not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my second trip to The Reef Resort. I was there in February and had such a great time, I came home in February and rebooked to go back in May with my two friends. Everyone is super friendly and willing to go out of their way to accomadate all of your needs. On Tuesday's they tie-dye shirts and we were not around for that, so I asked Diana at concierge services if there was anyway possible to do it another day and she had no problem with setting us up to do it on Wednesday when it was convenient for us. I also asked for the same room that we had when we were there in February and got exactly what we wanted. It is a GREAT place to relax and snorkel, snorkel, snorkel.

Room Tip: I enjoy the Castaways Building cause it is at the end and nice and quiet and private!!! All rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Korrie A,

Thank you for your review on theReef resort and for coming back to see us again. We are very happy to read that you had yet another wonderful vacation and that not only did we meet but exceeded your expectations. A special thanks for mentioning Daina, we pride in customer satisfaction and we are glad we were able to show you this.

We hope you will come back soon again to visit us and enjoy the weather, the beach and the underwater world that never ceases to amaze us.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Last summer my wife and I stayed down the road from the Reef, we were out one afternoon exploring the east end and found the Reef and decided to visit the Bar and enjoy lunch on the beach. I walked around a bit and found a great location and even better beach and was extremely curious what we had stumbled across. The employees were very nice and helpful and our meal was very tasty and as prices go on the island, very managable. We talked about it abit and decided our next trip to GC would be at the Reef and not a Villa and chose to stay there! We arrive Saturday and I am really looking forward to waking up and strolling out to the beach and pool and possibly some scuba training and dive. I hope you all are ready becasue we are. see ya soon (Saturday)! David and Bev

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear David and Bev,

We look very much forward to welcoming you home on Saturday! We are certain you will have a vacation to remember. Have you booked a car rental? Would you like more information from White Sands, our in-house watersports providers who can take you to stingraycity for a morning experience you will never forget? Any information/tips/advise you need please email us to concierge@thereef.com and we will be more than happy to assist you and make sure we deal with the 'admin' part so once you arrive its all about relaxing and enjoying.

See you soon!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 4 fantastic nights at The Reef. May is the perfect time to go. Not crowded and great service in the Restaurants. We loved having the Suite with the kitchen and the balcony. There is a grocery store and Liquor store right accross the street which helped us save a little money.
The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the beach was perfect. Snorkeling between the piers of the Reef and the Hotel next door was really good. Huge Tarpon and plenty of colorful fish to chase - can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and loved it. Great views and quiet! This resort is on the far east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueput11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear sueput11,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort. We are very happy to read your review and find out that you had a fantastic vacation with us. The snorkeling around our pier as you mention is wonderful and an experience not to miss while visiting us, it will never disappoint you.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again in paradise.

Greetings form your friends at theReef!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
304 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,302 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
598 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,054 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing