We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We came to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. All rooms are ocean view. We were on the 2nd floor and had a one bedroom. We came as an exchange from another timeshare that we own. We were so pleased with this resort. All staff were so friendly, and any problems easily and quickly resolved. We were especially impressed with Lawrence (GM) Cathy, Jake, Kevin, all the staff at the bar and White Sands. Lots of fun activities, and the food was good. We ate almost every meal outside either on our balcony or on the beach. We rented a car so we could explore the island. We had to get used to driving on the left side of the road! We are scuba divers and snorkeled and the dives are amazing! The water is clear and visibility outstanding! We like this resort so much, that we ended up buying in! We will be back in March for more diving and fun!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Robin K,

Thank you for your wonderful review on theReef Resort on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a lovely vacation with us and that we will soon again have the pleasure of welcoming you back at your home away from home. Thank you as well for pointing out our valued team members who helped ensure everything was covered so you could enjoy your time here.

We look forward to March and welcoming you back!

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Reef with my mother and daughter. We had a great time! The rooms are truly beachfront...a few steps out your door and you're on the beach! Everyone was friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The sting ray tour was great! Go for the first one in the morning, it's worth it! We took th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Jenny O,

Thank you for your review of theReef Resort. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at The Reef, east end, in Grand Cayman with another couple for eleven days in May. Very nice accommodations. Not extremely high end, but some of that is the tile floors everywhere. This is a plus for divers with equipment. We were in, and I would recommend, the bottom floor. There was a concrete patio, covered by the patio above, 8 feet from the stone path paralleling the ocean, with a ground cover median. Siting there in the comfortable chairs, with tables and looking out at the sandy beach with spaced palm trees looked like a Corona commercial. 150 yards away was the Tortuga dive company. Directly behind the resort, across the parking lot where we had a reserved parking place, was a fantastic but reasonable Italian restaurant and a small grocery store. The condo had a full kitchen and we made breakfasts, lunch and drinks ourselves. Only going out for dinners. Cayman is expensive and this cut the price. I would recommend bringing in bottles of liquor, duty free, from whatever US airport you leave from. The beach was never crowded. I rarely saw more than four people. The Reef Resort has a restaurant and beach bar, but there are many better places to eat. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We did not ask for much, but any request was quickly fulfilled. They have tennis, two pools and two hot tubs as well as water jet boats and kayaks. Nothing was ever so busy we could not do it whenever we walked over. They had a reasonably priced internet connection, but not the quickest.

One caution. Order thru The Reef management. Some neighboring guests paid for their units directly thru the owners of the condo. They could not buy internet or get anything from the staff. Their rooms were the same, but they were constantly frustrated at being denied services.

Room Tip: Ask for the bottom floor and book through the management, not an individual condo owner. You do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stanley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Stanley J,

Thank you for your review of theReef Resort, for sharing your experience and opinion which we highly value. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs.

It sounds like you had a great time and we look very much forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Reef Resort in the Cayman Islands during the first week of May 2014.

The oceanfront view from the balcony is beyond amazing! We spent each morning on our balcony overlooking the ocean and beach; our room was on the second floor of the three story building. Our one bedroom suite was large and the kitchen was modern. Our room was located in the building away from the pools and hotel dining/bar areas, and we were very happy with our quiet room location. One item to note is that the balconies are shared, meaning that your neighbors are right next to you and there is not much of a wall barrier. However, we had quiet neighbors during the first few days of our stay, and once they departed that room was vacant. Very nice for us! The entire hotel was quiet during the duration of our stay in early May.
The hotel restaurants are expensive, but we purchased most of our meals from the small market across the street from the hotel. The market offers many items, including a variety of frozen food (pizza, fries, burger patties, and so forth), fresh produce, dairy, cereal, bread, coffee, juice and regular beverages, beauty/health care products, magazines, and more. There is also a souvenir shop that carries beachwear, clothing, hats, etc. One recommendation is to go on the sting ray swim and to make the arrangements through the hotel’s staff. We did and it was great!

The intention of our trip was only for pure relaxation at an oceanfront property. We could not have asked for more from The Reef! We recommend this hotel to friends and family, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROKChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear ROKChicago_IL,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort on tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a fantastic vacation and found our facilities and amenities to your satisfaction. We pride on customer satisfaction and giving our guests the opportunity to relax and enjoy their time on vacation while exploring the island and enjoying the beautiful views, even from the comfort of their rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was traveling with my newly high school graduated daughter and a friend. We arrived at the Reef Condos about 10 pm (tired) and were greeted by a great guy at the front desk who quickly checked us in and helped get our bags to the room. I booked this condo on reviews and pictures on Trip Advisor. Fortunately, when I opened the curtains in the morning, it was stunning. Just like the pictures. Everyday a housekeeper came and replaced towels, swept the sandy floor and made our beds. What a great service. The concierge, Cathy, was great. She booked our stingray trip, and gave us good info about the other activities. The beach was clean and the chairs in good condition. The guys at White Sands outside the main lobby were a great resource for snorkeling, paddleboarding, sea doos, sailing and they had a small clothing shop. We rented snorkeling gear for $45 for the week.
We felt very safe and they had security on site every night.
Overall, very good experience. We will definitely go back to The Reef.

Room Tip: 3rd floor best view, they have Murphy Beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Machelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Machelle B,

Thank you very much for your review on theReef Resort. We are very happy to read your review and see that not only did we meet but exceeded your expectations and that you had a fantastic vacation. We pride on customer satisfaction and ensuring everything is taken care of so that you can enjoy your stay and have a memorable vacation.

Special thanks for mentioning specific members of our team who assisted you during your stay.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your home away from home.

Greetings from your friends at theReef.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from a wk at the Reef. We previously have enjoyed Grand Cayman at the more populated Seven Mile Beach. The East End is truly like visiting a different island. We found the Reef to be a great option. Our 1 BR was clean and well furnished (mattresses and sofa NOT comfy but the whole place is gearing up for remodel). All units are oceanfront, big plus. Nice pool areas. The on site bar was very "uneventful" and bartenders not really "engaged" no biggie. The pier bar at Morritt's next door is an easy walk away with a much better staff and good food. Also tons of fish to watch off Morritt's dock. The Italian Kitchen across from the Reef has very good food. We were pleasantly suprised at the variety avail at Foster's Express Market across the street. They also will deliver from their larger market any items you ask for (one day later). We did buy some produce and fresh chicken there and were pleased with prices. Our fav East End restaurant was Over The Edge about a 10 min drive as well as the casual and well priced Kurt's Korner.(best conch fritters, steamed fish and fry bread)! Kaibo was nice with a gorgeous setting for the Tues night BBQ. The Lighthouse Restaurant remains a favorite and Eagle Ray's was a new place where we enjoyed Lionfish tacos....We'll def be willing to return to the Reef. The water is beautiful. Nice private beach with plenty of loungers. "Rocky" beach entry with turtle grass out front. Water Shoes a MUST. Ck out Red Sail Sports for diving, snorkeling and stingray city. Families with Children found plenty to do and seemed happy to be staying at the Reef!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank obxpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear obxpat,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort. We are very happy to read you had a fantastic vacation in Grand Cayman, where you were able to discover, relax and enjoy.

We are indeed getting ready for our renovation and at the same time taking the opportunity of updating our menu's doing some training and much much more. Its exciting times at theReef Resort.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to theReef Resort in the near future.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Reef for four nights after our wedding on the Seven Mile area of Cayman. We have spent a decade with our family on the island where we have property, and are intimately familiar with the island as a result. As part time residents we were looking for a secluded section of Cayman (somewhere in the East End) to spend a few days during our “mini moon” to unwind and relax after the wedding festivities.

In many ways, the Reef was a perfect option to unwind and relax, and mostly met our expectations. The rate during May (considered “off season”) was extremely reasonable compared to the rates on Seven Mile (Westin or Ritz Carlton) and other parts of the island, and the staff was beyond helpful and friendly – and in many ways went above and beyond for us. In fact, a highlight each morning was getting to know the early morning restaurant staff so I would meet them at 6:45am when the restaurant opened and they made me an Iced Latte (surprised that they had such a high end espresso machine). Those working at the Reef were always friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile for us when necessary, especially when we ran into problems.

Foremost was the issue of bugs. During our stay, we consistently had a problem with ants in our unit, which was 206B. It was a second story, ocean facing unit, and although we were offered the option to move to a different unit, given our short time there, we attacked the ant problem with pesticides with the Reef’s help and felt we would just deal with the problem and mostly ignore it (given we didn’t spend all that much time in the unit itself).

However that does not mean that they were as proactive as we would have liked on the ant problem, nor did they seem to take it seriously enough (and when they did, they used chemicals (or brought them to the unit) that went felt were dangerous to put down near our clothes, food (fridge) and sink (toothbrush, toothpaste, etc). In exchange for this problem, the General Manager graciously provided us with one night free dinner for our problems, and while quite generous, this issue still took away from some of our enjoyment during the mini moon as we were having to constantly ensure no food or even liquids (water included) was out as the ants were drawn to this. We found Ants in our refrigerator and each morning asked that our room was the first to be cleaned to avoid further problems. No matter what we did, the problem persisted, and while we have no idea how many other rooms have this issue in general, we are aware that, as long time part-time residents of the island, we have never had this problem before at our house or other hotels we’ve stayed in. As a result of our experience, this was a major disappointment for us and one that was not appropriately handled (see attached pictures and video).

However the room was quite nice for the rate, and the view to the ocean ahte sunrise was wonderful (see pictures). It was spacious, had ample room for two persons to get ready in the bathroom, and an open and airy bedroom area.

Further, they had originally promised us a first floor unit so we could walk out onto the beach and pool but that was not available when we checked in. Also notable, it seems the Reef has both condos and time shares so a hotel guest is competing with other parties for time and attention throughout the stay.

On the upside, it’s in a secluded spot on East End, an approximate 45 minute trip from the airport and George Town, and an hour from Seven Mile Beach and West Bay. There is a Fosters “express” directly across the street from the Reef which we used and were able to find everything we needed, and although we didn’t take advantage of this, there is a “Subway” next to the Reef, and it seemed many patrons did use this quick option.

That being said, in our opinion, there was no need for a Subway sandwich as the Reef’s restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was quite delicious and exceeded our expectations. We ate during all three meals, and felt the bar was also excellent. High marks go to the severs and bartenders who work there and get to know the residents and hotel guests providing exquisite service.
One of the biggest upsides of The Reef is that it is on pristine beach that’s quite wide and beautiful. Much of the rest of the island (Seven Mile Beach notwithstanding) is actually on “iron shore” and thus not true sandy beach. The Reef’s location was a highlight and we couldn’t have enjoyed the beach chairs, large pool, or unfettered access to the ocean more. There was never a rush to get beach chairs and always enough for the guests, and the servers were always available for a drink or food throughout the day.

As a result it’s a treat to be able to walk a mile or two up and down on a remote section of Cayman (not far from a favorite destination of ours – Rum Point) that has both sandy beach and a great restaurant/hotel available to guests for reasonable rates.

Overall, besides the ant issue, we felt the Reef was a great value, provided excellent service by the staff (management was on top of the issue, apologetic and did the best they could), and exceeded most of our expectations, providing incredible picturesque moments as we celebrated our marriage.

We hope to come back to the Reef in the near future to continue enjoying ourselves.

Room Tip: Ensured you have a first floor unit to walk out onto the beach, ensure there are no bugs or ants in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank weissguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear weissguy11,

Greetings from theReef Resort and once again congratulations on your wedding. We are very honored you and your wife stayed with us a few days after your wedding to unwind and relax and we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very sorry about the ants issue you encountered, we understand you stayed with us for a short period of time and it would have been a hassle to change rooms and nevertheless we wish we could have spared you from this issue. This is not a common problem and while we took measures during your stay, for your safety these were limited and upon your departure we took additional measures.

Despite the ant issue we are glad to read you had a great stay and enjoyed yourselves. We wish you both a lifetime of happiness and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to theReef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
501 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,366 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,378 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £174 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing