We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent experience!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had the best time there! the staff were very friendly, especially the new restaurant manager Martin Pilat, which we had the pleasure of meeting. He was very friendly and went out of his way to help out us out and other guests at the bar and restaurant due to the slow service given there. Since we stayed there 8 days, we stayed around the resort and eating and drinking there quite often. really wish the food was better at the restaurant for the price you pay. It wasn't up to par. It was my boyfriend's Markus 50th birthday celebration week, we were so glad we've found this gem. We rented a car so we were able to get to Rum Point, and George Town, and other areas from here. Thank you for making it memorable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Inikcharan,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort. We are very happy to read that you had a fantastic vacation and found our services and amenities well suited for your needs. Thank you for mentioning our colleague Martin, we are busy improving our services and our menu offering is on our list too.

We hope we will get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from theReef Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    518
    169
    58
    28
See reviews for
473
772
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We chose The Reef because it was away from the busy Seven Mile Beach area. It is a nice facility, though a bit dated, but a little too remote. We wanted to see everything on the island so we did a LOT of driving. On days when we spent time on Seven Mile Beach or West Bay, we just couldn't face driving back across the island for dinner. Other than that, we had a great stay. The suite was roomy and nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the beach was perfect. If you don't mind a 40-50 minute drive to get to anything (other than a few restaurants in the area) or you aren't worried about getting away from the resort much, we highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank The3Powells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear The3Powells,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort. We are glad to read you had a great vacation in Grand Cayman and were able to enjoy your stay with us. As you mention we are the perfect place away from the busy Seven Mile Beach area and we offer peace and tranquility.

Greetings from Grand Cayman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copake, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from our second year at the Reef. Doris and Sandra are always there with a smile and "can-do" attitude. Always helpful Cathy and Daina at the concierge with lots of ideas and ways to make it happen. Is there anything that Collin and Nick can't do at the bar? The staff at White Sands are amazing, creative, and wonderful. If you are looking for a relaxing, laid back, memorale time with your family, this is it. We look forward to many more years at the Reef.

Room Tip: All are great with unbelievable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeGal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear YankeeGal25,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort. We are very happy to read you had yet again a great vacation and found our services and facilities well suited for your needs. It sounds like you had a great time and we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your friends at theReef Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent U.K
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We are currently at The Reef for our seventh time. This year we was here for two weeks in May and now three weeks in August. Each time we come here we bring different friends or family members. Each and evertime over the last 6 years we have all had an amazing time. I was particularly dismayed reading the review just before this one where the professional complainer launched a personal attack on staff members Cathy and Jake stating they 'are awful.' Over the years we have got to know Cathy and Jake well and have both become personal friends, as have most of the staff here, and I have always chose my friends wisely. I can categorically say that no single member of staff here are anything short of great. They will even sometimes attempt to perform the impossible. But to all the professional complainers out there sometimes in life some things requested just can't be accommodated. Just look at the many hundreds of reviews on here complimenting the staff. If The Reef was not the best place on earth we simply would not come back year after year. As I have said in my previous reviews it is the staff that make this place. Come here and you will see I'm right.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank Galvers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Galvers77,

Thank you for your review of theReef resort on TripAdivsor. We are happy to read that yet again you have had a great experience with us and we already look forward to your next visit.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The resort is very well maintained and the service and responsiveness was very good. The largest challenge for the resort is the location if you do not want or have a car. It is about a 45 min ride into Georgetown and a bit further for 7 mile beach. The team here makes the best of it with arranging a daily shuttle into Georgetown at a reasonable fee and 1st class arrangement of excursions that include pick up and drop off. Because of the remote location you have the beach and snorkeling right off shore without the crowds!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Neumee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Neumee,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort. We are glad you were able to escape the cruise crowds and simply enjoy and relax with us in paradise in East End. We are very happy to read you had a fantastic time and look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It was a fantastic hotel, the personnel were so helpful and lovely! From front desk, to restaurant staff, to concierge, to grounds keepers, it was just exceptional! It was an actual vacation in an actual paradise! Our rooms were comfortable although I do believe they should have cleaned the rooms and not for an extra charge ($15 but still)! The rooms were in excellent condition and the view, spectacular! The beach and 3 pools, PERFECT! I/we will be back...that is a promise! One little thing....rent a car, the taxi is very expensive and it is not near very much especially the airport! Like I said....an escape away from it all!

Room Tip: The view on third floor is incredible and less sand to find its way into your beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lisa K,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort. We are so happy to read you had a fantastic vacation and found our services and amenities well suited for your needs. We are glad you were able to relax in our little paradise and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Greetings from your friends at theReef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipersville, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Reef is a delightful contrast to Seven-Mile Beach. I have never cared for resorts and fell in love with the Reef because it was peaceful and low-key. We have the full suite with the small studio as well that can house up to 6 comfortably. We cook our meals and go out to the Rusty Pelican Bar when we feel like a drink or meal out. Aside from that - there is little to do in terms of shopping, nightlife, entertainment! The Grocery and Liquor Stores are across the street, what more could I want? My perfect getaway. If you enjoy snorkeling, paddle boarding, lounging by the beach or pool, this place is for you. The Concierge will gladly help you with any pursuits you might have - if you are interested in swimming with stingrays, dolphins or turtles - talk to them! They can help you arrange transportation as well. We do have a car and have travelled about the island to visit various sites of interest -see my blog for more specifics http://www.barclaycardtravel.com/t5/Stories/Turtles-beach-and-snorkeling/ba-p/1068507

Room Tip: All rooms are beachfront - so yo really can't go wrong with any of them. I am told the second a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear azayas,

Many thanks for your kind review on theReef Resort. We are very happy to read you had a great vacation in Grand Cayman and found our facilities, services and amenities well suited for your needs. As you mentioned we are located in a secluded location so if you want to relax and unwind this is the perfect destination. Very glad to read that our team took care of your inquires and ensured the only thing you had to do was enjoy yourselves.

We look very much forward to your next visit!

Your friends at theReef Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing