We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Place to Get Married”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Get Married”
Reviewed 18 September 2009

My husband and I were married on the beach at the Reef Resort in March of 2009. 36 of our closest friends and family members attended. I can not say enough about this resort.

The location is gorgeous. It's at the quieter end of the island, which is perfect for a wedding or any vacation if your goal is to relax. The scuba diving at that end of the island is wonderful, too. The food is a bit expensive, but very very good. The staff were excellent. There were some small glitches, but they always fixed everything quickly and were super friendly.

The wedding packages are great and the resort is very flexible about modifying them to fit your needs. The wedding planner, Linda, was amazing! She took so much of the stress out of planning a destination wedding. She really cared that our wedding was wonderful and it showed.

My grandfather collapsed and had to go to the hospital the day of my wedding. The staff went out of their way, arranging to have the wedding & reception an hour later, calling vendors, etc. He recovered and made it to the ceremony. The staff brought his reception dinner to him in his room. For the rest of the week, they went out of their way to come by and say hi and see how he was doing.

Our guests ranged in age from 18 to 91. Everyone had an amazing time. In fact, several people have suggested that we all go back for an anniversary trip. It was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Saeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    517
    168
    57
    28
See reviews for
471
767
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at the Reef last week and I cannot say enough good about it! The staff is top notch, everyone went out of their way to be helpful to us from the front desk staff to the maids and bartenders. We had a studio which had a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, coffee maker and mini fridge, it made having breakfast and lunch there a breeze. There is a small shopping center behind the resort which has a Fosters grocery store, a liquor store and a gift shop so you can get pretty much anything you want to make for breakfast and lunch there as well as your alcohol, beer and wine. Ladies there are blow dryers in the bathrooms so you don't have to lug you own down there and like other resorts they do provide the basic shampoo, conditioner and soaps in the bathrooms. Our room was very spacious and we had plenty of room to stretch out and relax . It had a king size bed, two side chairs and a coffee table along with the tv stand and tv with cable service a dvd player and a small stereo. The property is so well taken care of you could not ask for a cleaner resort. The pool area is very nice with lounge chairs, two cabanas and bathroom facilities, the pool water was always sparkling clean. The beach was wonderful, we had our pick of lounge chairs every day, this is a nice secluded resort and it's quiet so reading and napping on the beach was always easy to do. They clean the seaweed from the beach every morning and if you are going to be going in the water make sure you take some water shoes its rather rocky in places and tough on the toes. There is a towel shack to get your clean beach towels from every day so there is no need to take your own. Also on the beach is a place to rent snorkle gear, paddle boards, and ocean kayaks. We only ate once at the resort as we have been to the island before and had our favorite restaurants that we wanted to return to as well as some recommended by friends we wanted to try. If you have read any reviews of the Reef that were less than stellar then they came from people who cannot be pleased. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting peace and quiet and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here from Aug 10 to Aug 15, 2009 and this was just a great choice. All the reviews and pictures are dead on. The rooms are clean and the staff is more than accommodating and know how to make you love this resort. This is not for single people looking for nightlife. If you want to relax and recharge, this is the place.

The studio deluxe rooms come equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, sink and utensils so take full advantage of the supermarket and liquor store across the road and buy your own liquor and some basic food items. The resort food is fair and anywhere you eat or drink on the island is expensive. The Lighthouse is a great place for a romantic dinner; we were able to reserve the private outdoor table overlooking the water. The food was great, get the garlic bread. We also rented a car for a day to drive to the west end of the island to visit Smith’s Cove, Seven Mile beach and used it to get to the Lighthouse instead of taking a taxi; ask the concierge to suggest a rental company, it’s worth it for the day.

If you want a free trip to Stingray City listen to the presentation and take the tour, both of these are a must. There are also daily resort activities and some night entertainment so you should look at the schedule and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just a 40 minute drive from owens roberts airport.to the east end of the island. so you will need to rent a car.and that is easy to do , leave everybody curbside at the airport and litterally walk across the street to one of seven different car rental places .pull back through the airport and pick everybody up.it's a beutiful drive along the coast so the 40 min' will pas by quickly. If your staying in the 1 bedroom suite then you will have a full kitchen with all the emenities.when leaving the airport we always stop at the market around the corner from the airport and pick up our groceriesbefore heading to the other side.there is also a small market across the street from the reef where you can get alot of groceries once your there. it is a little expensive but well worth the convienience.the reef is a very cleane and well kept time share facility.the pools are cleaned daily and well everything is cleaned daily.We just love it there.All rooms have a balcony that overlooks the water.the water is not as blue as it is on seven mile beach but there is alot more species of fish to snorkle around especially under the pier that is only in 4.5 feet of water. I think me and my 7 year old counted 20 different species of fish. we even saw a baby ray and a lobster or too. our neighbors saw a baby nurse shark the had beached itself but was able to get back out on it's own.And if you take bread out to the end of the pier and throw it in you can watch the jack fish fight each other for a bite the fish are big and healthy because they get fed regularly by everybody. this is a very quiet resort you will not be waited on hand and foot . and the bar will probably close by 10:30 or 11:00 every nite so stalk up on your favorite wines and rums that you can purchase across the street also. this is an excellent place for a family, or couples on there honeymoon. so if your looking for lots of bars and nite life you should stay along seven mile beach.And may i suggest taking the trip to stingray city at least once. it is really cool and they will book it right at the concierge desk .And if you listen to the sales pitch for buying into the time share thing they will also comp you the trip or give you a 100.00 dollars off you room bill. they do have a resturaunt and the food is good. you could also go all inclusive if you like but since i love to cook i did most of it myself . I even went into georgetown and but a whole tuna 8.5 lbs for 43.00 american. Just go into georgetown and ask around and someone will point you in the right direction.We went to the reef last june 08 and we went right back in august of 09. and we requested our same room overlooking the three pools 310 [A]. a great location .We love this place so much thatwe are considering there offer for a time share so we can go back there year after year. so if you've got a family with young children or you just want a quiet getaway with your better half than this is the place .And go see the dolphins and the turtles at the other end of the island they are really cool to see...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poodleman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We choose to visit TheReef because of a very low priced summer special, but were so impressed by the grounds, the facility, and the friendly staff that we would definitely return. And we can honestly recommend TheReef to anyone who wants a peaceful, restful, safe, and beautiful environment. Grand Cayman's east end is quiet, safe, unpopulated, and idyllic. The resort has two swimming pools, outdoor showers, plenty of beach chairs, and staff so friendly, you'll want to stay on just to chat with them. This resort is a very good value on an expensive island.
We were not looking for nightlife, we actually wanted to avoid that and the noisy crowds it can produce. TheReef was the perfect place for us, and it seems to engender the most pleasant behavior and interactions between guests.
Across from the resort is a small, but expensive, grocery store, liquor store and bakery. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurants except for a few snacks at the beach bar and that food was only fair. We brought dried food and instant drinks and used our room's coffeemaker to heat water to make our own meals and coffee.
We got to snorkel every day, just by walking out into the shallow water between the beach and the reef. The Stingray City tour was a true highlight of the trip. And Apollo, the freelance driver, is an imported treasure (from Jamaica). Spend some time with him and your day or night will improve greatly!
Nearby restaurants worth visiting are Portofino - the owner will pick up and drop off guests; and the Lighthouse - ask the concierge to reserve table 50, a small table on a private deck built over the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed at The Reef with a group of 8, including 2 kids. Had two studios and one 1-BR, all were very comfortable. Nice beach and pool, excellent service from staff. Resort can set up day trips like Stingray City (book thru them: trip is free if you take the condo sales tour) and QE II Botanic Park (do it yourself if you want the optional blue iguana tour). East End location is far from the maddening crowds; loved exploring out here but a rental car is a must. Used Ocean Frontiers for diving, a 7-minute drive away--HIGHLY recommend them! Connolly's Cove was a great snorkel location, just minutes away. Also snorkeled at Eden Rock near Georgetown--GREAT location. If you have kids, try Rum Point Beach: very calm, shallow with white sand bottom. Food & beverage situation on Grand Cayman deserves warning: twice the price of anywhere else I've been. A case of beer runs $45 even in town. Two sandwiches, two beers and two rum punches at The Reef's bar was $50. A lunch in Georgetown cost $110 for two. Still, a great location for diving and snorkeling and The Reef is a great choice, particularly if you are doing the East End.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMartin216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Hts. Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at the Reef Resort and I registered on line before we left and asked that my son and his wife's (studio condo) be put in the same building as us in our 2 bedroom condo. We were only 1 condo away from their condo and we were all on the first floor between the pool and the pier which is a wonderful location. Anything that I asked for, I got. Ice cube trays, new handle on the sliding glass door, and shelf guards or fronts for the shelves on the refrigerator door. The pool is halfway to the ocean. I liked being on the east end instead of 7 mile beach. The sand is wonderful, but we had difficulty getting out of the ocean. We sank in the sand on the edge of the water.
We cooked 2 dinners and bought groceries for all our breakfasts and lunches. The small Foster's grocery store carries basic items. We drove to Savannah to get fish for dinner. The restaurants were very, very expensive. Sandwiches and cokes for 8 was $185 at the Reef. The Lighthouse was $485 for 8 for dinner and one was a child that ordered on the kid's menu. (we also used a 10% off coupon) We ate at Over the Edge and the french lady was very nice to us. Dinner was $208 for 8 with 1 bottle of wine and 2 beers. Order the specials there. Fish was a little over cooked except specials. We went to 7 mile beach to Deckers and the food was fabulous! Take lots of money or a credit card with you. They will charge in US money if you ask. We had no problem with our US money. They ring up groceries in cayman dollars and convert to US. Go to the Elizabeth II Batonical gardens and pay $30 to go on the blue iguana tour. Only place in the world that has them. I would go again to the Reef. Also, you can only take 1 bottle of rum per adult into the country.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bingomartikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,979 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing