We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We loved our stay at The Reef! ! We stayed in a one-bedroom unit, and found it perfect for our family of four. The two pull-down Murphy beds were ideal for our two kid (11 & 13).

The staff was most gracious and accommodating! Everyone we met greeted us with a smile and a kind word.

Although full maid service is only offered twice a week, this was more than enough for us! We didn't feel that we had to work our schedule around the maids cleaning schedule. A maid did check in on us daily and provided anything that we needed such as towels. We never felt that we went without.

The snorkeling right off the beach was amazing! It was the perfect spot for our kids to learn to snorkel and at the same time see an amazing variety of fish and sea life

A rental car is needed since the East End is more secluded than the Seven Mile Beach area! Although we enjoyed visiting other parts of the island, we always looked forward to returning to The Reef for peace and relaxation! The nice breeze on the East End was wonderful; it provided relief from the heat, which we didn't find on Seven Mile Beach.

The Reef was the perfect spot for a family vacation! We look forward to returning to The Reef soon!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jlvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,667 - 1,673 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2006

We had the pleasure of staying at the Reef Resort earlier this summer. It was certainly a memorable experience!!! My fiancé and I stayed in a room fit for royalty! We had a Jacuzzi tub and a patio that led straight to the pools and beach. We also really enjoyed the beach bar and had some wonderful meals from the restaurant there. Another fabulous convenience was the Foster's Express grocery store that was in walking distance. Of all the things I loved at the Reef, the best of all were the caring and helpful staff. Everyone there was very accommodating and hospitable. They would do what ever they could to grant your request. I absolutely loved my trip to the Reef Resort in Grand Cayman and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RachBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
17
Reviewed 9 July 2006

My husband and I went to the Reef Resort for our honeymoon. Though we haven't vacationed so much outside of the U.S at our young age this was a trip never to forget. The Reef Resort was a very secluded place. We knew this going into it though. The hotel was ridiculously clean and our suite was very large. We got a one bedroom but could have be fine with a studio. The one bedroom was larger then our apt. at home.

The snorkeling right off the beach was amazing. There were puffer fish, tarpon, and tons of other reef fish that would swim right up to us. There was a snorkel fee but it was well worth it's price.

So the other great things were:

Friendliest staff ever.
Good food and great bar (happy hour was awesome)
Beautiful secluded beach.
Fun local market and liquor store that had everything we needed for our kitchen.

The only thing is that if you are looking to be in the middle of all the tourism this isn't the place but you can rent a car and travel anywhere. Don't let the driving on the wrong side of the road scare you.

This island is full of heart and the Reef Resort is a place my husband and I will never forget and will be back to real soon.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2006

We just returned from a week long stay at the Reef Resort on Grand Cayman Island. We have visited Grand Cayman the past 2 years and always stayed on Seven Mile Beach at Aqua Bay Club. We loved being away from the hustle and bustle of that area. Yes, it takes about 40 minutes to drive into town from the Reef Resort but it was worth it! You need to rent a car for this area. All of the rooms at The Reef Resort are oceanfront! There isn't anything blocking your view of the ocean while you sit in your unit or on your patio/balcony. The beaches weren't crowded and they have 3 pools so we were the only ones at one of the pools most of the time. We stayed in a ground unit so the beach was just footsteps away. There is wonderful snorkeling at The Reef Resort! We saw tarpoon and many others. Also, we liked the fact that Rum Point was only a 15 minute drive. The east end of the island is isolated and not for those who like constant noise or traffic. The Reef Resort serves a complimentary orientation breakfast in which they give away free dinners, souvenirs and tell you about the events of the week at the resort. The east end can be windy but it actually felt nice when the temperatures are in the 90's so we didn't mind the wind. The food at Castro's Hideaway at The Reef Resort was excellent - we were the only couple in the restaurant that evening! The Reef Resort's staff are very accomodating and helped my husband team up with another individual to go deep sea fishing twice during our stay. He loved the trip and caught lots of mahi and tuna on the fishing trip. Other great restaurants include Neptunes, The Reef Grill - all at Seven Mile Beach. We went to Stingray City with Dexter Ebanks of Fantasea Tours. He owns his own catamaran and gives a great personable tour - never rushed. [--]. Rum Point is a must - paradise! There is some construction going on at the Reef Resort and Morritt's, which is next door, but the noise was minimal and not enough to be distracted. There is a Foster's Supermarket across the street from the Reef Resort where you can find food to cook in your room. This helped save a lot of money especially for breakfast and lunch. Our two bedroom unit was beautifully decorated and we had plenty of room. Grand Cayman can be expensive so the Reef Resort is a great value!

11  Thank sarnpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2006

We stayed here for our honeymoon March 5-12, 2006. We loved it! The bartenders and staff were great (except for the night staff at the front desk). The view was beautiful. We walked out of our patio door right onto the beach. All of the rooms have a beautiful ocean view. The hotel rooms were extremely clean everyday and had everything that you needed (well almost, there was no stove but who wants to cook food on their honeymoon!). There was also no construction going on like other hotels, when we were there. No noise problems. The hotel was a long way from restaurants and attractions but that was easily solved with a rental car. We are very happy that we did not stay on Seven Mile Beach. That side of the island is VERY commercialized and less of a 'tropical get-away'. The East End truly feels like you are far, far away from the rest of the choatic world. If we had things to do over again, we would probably get a hotel closer to Rum Point because there are more things to do there but it is not too busy. Don't get me wrong, we loved it at The Reef Resort! We would love to go back soon! The hotel is EXCELLENT but the location is not the best for activities.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CarFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2006

Just got back from a week at the Reef Resort, and if you're planning a trip to Grand Cayman, I can't recommend it highly enough. Clean, well maintained, in a beautiful, idyllic setting away from the hustle and bustle of Georgetown. A word of caution: don't go if you're expecting easy access to shopping, restaurants, and a lively nightlife. However, if you crave a relaxing, quiet vacation on a beautiful beach in a natural setting, by all means, book it. We had a two bedroom unit with two full baths, a fully equipped kitchen, and two balconies (every room is ocean view). Both bedrooms have king size beds, and there are two Murphy (pull down) beds in the living room, if you need them. There's also a large whirlpool tub in the larger bedroom (though we didn't use it), as well as a small refrigerator and microwave (I think this can be rented by itself, as a studio). Anyway, there's plenty of room. It's nicely furnished, clean, and comfortable. You'll love it.

A few people have written reviews saying that this side of the island is windy, with rough seas. My advice -- don't worry about it. There IS a breeze, but it's really quite refreshing, given the heat. And even though the ocean isn't swimming-pool calm, I wouldn't exactly call it rough, either. You can snorkel right at the beach, which is nice. There are a lot of fish around the dock. Or you can take a snorkeling trip with Ocean Frontiers (you can book it at the hotel) -- we went out on a small boat with 8 other people, and it was the high point of the trip!

DEFINITELY rent a car so you can get to restaurants and sight see. We rented from McCurley's, and they were great. Be sure to pick up groceries before you get to the Reef -- the Foster's across the street from the resort is comparable to a US mini-mart; there's not much there. There also aren't a lot of restaurants on this side of the island, but if you're there on Sunday, don't miss the once a week barbecue at The Driftwood Bar. And Over The Edge has terrific local fare.

All in all, a wonderful vacation. We'll definitely be back.

11  Thank Skilift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2006

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Reef Resort from 5/4-5/13/06. We can honestly say that this was one of the BEST vacations that we've ever had.
We enjoyed our stay at the Reef Resort very much and would give it a 4.75 if we could. Our one-bedroom, second floor condo. was immaculately clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. The one odd thing was that our balcony was shared with the unit next door. This isn't the case with all of the condos., so I suppose they do this for families requiring 2 connecting units. We enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony every morning and relaxing there at the end of the day. The view couldn't be beat!

Everyone that we encountered working at the Reef Resort was very nice. We made a point of saying "Hello." to all of the staff members, because they worked so hard and it seemed that most of the resort guests weren't very appreciative. The bartenders were fabulous and made delicious drinks of all kinds! The concierge was great and helped us find some very unique activities and eating establishments that were off the tourist track.

Some have complained about the beach at the Reef, but my husband and I thought that it was lovely. If you require shade, however, I highly recommend that you pack your own beach umbrella as the resort does not provide them. There are a few palm trees, but lounge chairs under them are "reserved" by other guests early in the morning. The snorkeling is fantastic under the resort's dock and in the area just off of the beach. We have never seen water clearer than that on Grand Cayman...we're spoiled for life! Oh, one last thing about the beach - if you enjoy taking long strolls along the water, at this point at least, you'll be unable to. Between construction at Morritt's (next door) that extends onto the beach and into the water, and debris on the beach, it's difficult to stroll for more than 1/8 of a mile in each direction. You won't find the long, wide expanses of white sand beaches as you will on 7-Mile Beach, but personally, I'll take the Reef Resort's uncrowded, peaceful beach over 7-MB anyday!

We rented a car at the airport, which, as long as you don't mind the left side of the road driving, we HIGHLY recommend. We spent several days touring the island and ate out every night but one. We got lost a few times and drove after dark, but we never felt uncomfortable or in harm's way. We are used to being careful and always being aware of our surroundings, so in that respect it was no different from driving in NJ, except that we did it British-style!
The people of Grand Cayman are very friendly and welcoming. On the Sunday we spent there, we attended a tiny little church down the road from the resort and were welcomed with smiles, handshakes, and a wish for our return from the members and Pastor. It was an awesome experience.

Our first evening, we ate at the resort's restaurant and saw the "famous" Barefoot Man show. Our dinner was fine, but we were sad to see that the Barefoot Man, (who, incidently is VERY talented) was basically a nightclub act. He belongs on an outdoor stage or at least in a spot other than the corner of the restaurant. We were happy to have finally gotten to see him though after all of the hype. We found that his 50 year old groupies were very entertaining!

I've learned that vacations are as unique as the people that experience them. Everyone has their own opinion and has different expectations. I think that you'll enjoy the Reef Resort very much if you're: fun-loving, but not wild; if you're looking to have a nice, relaxing vacation with your spouse, family, and/or friends; if you appreciate very nice accomodations, but not the Ritz; and if you are willing to rent a car. We are definitely planning on a return trip within the next year or two. Have fun planning your vacation!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank pbjandthou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
579 reviews
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,834 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,533 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £169 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing