We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Paradise destination we all dream about...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I'd experienced a difficult year, loss of job, death in the family, and just needed a complete r&r getaway. Someplace that was beautiful, peaceful, where nothing was difficult or high-maintenance. It was my first time at The Reef - my co-worker and friend came with me, we stayed in a one-bedroom condo.

Yes, every room has an ocean view! The water is gorgeous, and the snorkelling great. The staff is so well chosen. The sharp efficiency of theReef’s staff, added to their warmth and sincere love of each other and their job, makes for a seamless experience – we felt truly cared for and at home! The food is great, and all the returning owner members were so welcoming as well.

We didn't rent a car and were perfectly happy. Fun games, yoga, water sports -- all were offered. Buffets good, and loved Beach Bar food - fish taco wrap and caesar salad with mahi excellent! Yoga with Lindsey is wonderful. Many thanks to Apollo, Alan, Sam, Laura, Susie, Cathy, Tanya, Seby......I have never experienced such a fun-loving and top-notch bunch of employees. They sincerely love what they do and it shows! And in my very raw state, they were so kind and helpful.

Stingray City was amazing. Glad I brought water shoes, as the beach is rocky for sensitive types like myself : ) We enjoyed homemade smoothies in our room and simple lunches (saved $$) and ate dinner out every night. If you are into bars and mingling, this is not your place. But for relaxing and renewing the spirit, this is the best vacation I've had in my life, and I've travelled many places.

Our room was spotless, and nothing was a problem to deal with. As Apollo says, "No grief at The Reef, Mon!"

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoulSingerCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,426 - 1,432 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2010

We just returned from a wonderful 2 week vacation at the Reef Resort in Grand Cayman. All of us decided it was one of our best vacations ever (and we travel a lot :-) The weather was warm and sunny, and we spent every day outside enjoying numerous activities. The condo's (2 BR and deluxe suites) were immaculate, fully furnished, and had a beautiful view overlooking the beach, pool and perfect tourquoise & blue ocean. The meals at the beach bar were all good, and we especially enjoyed the Monday night Beach BQ (and the free drinks and limbo contest!).

Activities at the Reef Resort that we participated in were: volleyball in the pool, tennis, couples massage at the spa, bike riding, fitness center, snorkeling, pools & hot tubs, Andrew Bacon entertainment at the beach bar, the resort's Stingray City trip on a sailboat which left from Kaibo Yacht club, and a deep sea fishing charter.

Other activities we did included: Scuba Diving with Ocean Frontiers (pick up from the resort), Botanical Gardens tour - near the resort, Maestic (sp?) Trail hike - near the resort, Para-sailing - 7 mile beach, Submarine ride - Georgetown.

We enjoyed everything. The snorkeling at the Reef Resort was fantastic, the diving was top notch, the rum punch on the sail boat after the stingray city trip was super & plentiful, the 107' deep submarine ride was amazing, the deep sea fishing exciting, and the dinner prepared in our condo by the captain was fantastic. I would be hard pressed to choose our favorite thing!

Our favorite meals were the fresh catch prepared in our condo by Captain Herman after our fishing trip, Portofino's (nice restauranta near the resort), the resort's fish/ribs/chicken Beach BQ, and Breezes in Georgetown (casual & fun overlooking the cruise ship ports - for lunch try the conch chowder served in a bread bowl).

For sure get a rental car, and make sure and explore the island. The beaches are amazing, the people are friendly and helpful, the food is great, it is very safe, but it isn't cheap! However, like with most things, you get what you pay for. One of my favorite things about Grand Cayman is that there is no peddling ("want to buy a necklace or joint?" - while you're relaxing on the beach...) or poor areas on the island that make me feel bad on the way to the resort, like other islands we've been to. The standard of living is high, and it is a conservative island. If you are looking for a party scene, casinos or topless beaches, this is not the destination for you. But if you are looking for rest & relaxation, mixed with lots of fun in the sun activities, in a safe and beautiful area, this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

As parents of 4 wonderful, very active children, we decided that when we got married we wanted to get away from it all (including the kids) for just a few days. We searched high and low for a place to get away from it all. We found The Reef and decided this was our get away from it all place, and boy, were we ever surprised!
This place had everything we wished for.
Being from South Louisiana, we love the outdoors and the beach and we found that here at The Reef. From our arrival at the Airport, to the Resort is a gorgeous drive through South Sound and Bodden Town. Everyone on the Island we met were extremely friendly.
After being married on a Saturday afternoon at home and getting on a plane in New Orleans @ 6am, flown to Miami and then on another plane to Grand Cayman, we were exhausted. We walked in and told the welcoming staff our names and went straight to our beautiful Deluxe Studio Suite. I don't think we really looked around when we first got there because we were exhausted, and we went straight to sleep. We awoke @ 7pm our first night and went back to the desk to inquire about our All-Inclusive and were told they saw we were exhausted and had a wake up call to speak to us about it for 8pm. We were earlier than our wake-up call though and they gave us all of our instructions. The food at the Rusty Pelican is phenomenal and we realized we never needed to eat anywhere from that day forward. We checked out our room and were thoroughly please. It was very neat, clean, and cozy. It was everything we wanted. We sat outside on our patio after dinner and every was so nice as they passed by. We did sting ray city and a couple of other places, but we enjoyed being @ the resort. We snorkeled right there near the pier and it was awesome. Where else can you say that you can snorkel with Tarpons in waist deep water. There was always available chairs on the beach and there was no arguing or fussing. What a wonderful place. Please get to know the staff, all of them! They are wonderful people, even the cleaning staff was really respectful and very nice to all of us! All inclusive was very all inclusive. Snorkel rental, beach towels, all meals and meals with benefits as we called it. Monday was a welcome party with bar-be-que (devine), Tuesday was the Barefoot man with another lavish meal, Wednesday was a live band and steaks, Thursday was Thanksgiving dinner with Turkey and all the fixings. It was all great. The meals were great and the friends we met were even more wonderful. We cannot wait to go there with our children soon, and show them what a wonderful place it is.
Just a quick hint, breakfast is to die for, so go eat! I had this wonderful sun-dried tomato wrap stuffed with bacon, onions, and scrambled eggs with a home-made salsa on the side. It was the highlight of my day!
Take us seriously when we tell you we would never go anywhere else again for simple relaxation!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Booked this hotel because of the good things I read about it, and did not go wrong in doing so, got a very good deal because of the special they had on!
You definetly need some kind of transportation unless you only want to leave the hotel on tours, it is not just around the corner from the city, did notice they had a good bus system now though.
Had no problems with orientation, got around very well, took our car to go to different beaches and see the sights, loved Cemetary Beach.
We also did the Stingray-City tour and it was fantastic, took the DVD - and that we have watched a few times, our only souvenier of this trip.
The hotel staff is friendly, though the front desk at times a little bashful, need some more quidance from management. The concierge though makes up for that in everyway.
We ate outside mostly and sometimes in our room, you cannot cook, only warm-up the bought food from the supermarkets, we found the main restaurant very cantine like and not like a see-side restaurant at all, outside you sat the beach in the warmness of the evening, too cold in the restaurant.
We had a studio room, coffee maker and sink and refrigerator, good sized bathroom with lack of storage space for toilett articles though, had to keep most in the bag, or on the toilett tank, not good.
Our two week stay was very relaxing, though we did not spend it in our room, but whent and did things, the snorkeling was good, even off the hotel beach you could spend time in the water enjoying the fish.
This has nothing to do with the hotel, but we had extensive problems with Avis-rent-a-car, had delays getting the car, and had extra charges after bringing it back, we had a prepaid booking, all-included and still had charges, got that handled though afterwards through our agent, we usually have no problems with Avis but this station is different!
We enjoyed our stay very much, recommend it fully, just rest and relaxation, even when doing something you still are relaxed and that is what a vacation is for.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Active56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Sayed from December 25 - January 2, 2010. Third trip to the Reef. Always amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I thought the Reef was a neat east end place to stay. Some specifics:

In terms of location. I thought the East end was ideal. It is away from the busy west side of the island, so it is more quiet. It is about a 40 minute drive from seven mile beach, but it is not a hard drive. If you want to go to seven mile beach area, would plan on leaving early and spending the whole day in the area (couple it with a trip to georgetown, turtlefarm, hell or whatever else you want to do on that end).

Things to do close by: would recommend mastic trail (did with guide Stuart Mailer w/ national trust), snorkeling, diving (east end is less crowded--liked Ocean Frontiers a great deal), sting ray city is not to be missed, went to rum point but found that crowded and less interesting. The resort can book activities for you. They will offer free events with time share pitch, but no one pressured us when we said no. I thought the concierge service was excellent. Went to barefoot man, which is mostly calypso style music--it is from 7 till 10 pm and was too exhausted from the day to really enjoy it.

Eating: The resort food is ok. Ate mostly at beach bar, where service was mostly good but spotty on occasion. Since I was with family would order Pizza and bring back for ease. Favorite place to eat was Over the Edge on the north side (no frills, great food). Portofinos and the lighthouse were also good, and all within a twenty minute drive.

Staff: Very friendly. The main negative I found was that you can charge events and meals to your room. We all had charges that were not ours added, the staff did remove most without hastle--but there is still one charge that we noticed later and are still trying to correct. I would make sure you carefully inspect your bill prior to leaving. I wish they would tighten up the process of charging to your room.

Some specific comments

Snorkeling: Yes there is ocean is rocky at entry in front. It is the East end and some days the surf may be prohibitive (drive to seven mile beach or rum point those days), but for the most part the snorkeling was excellent. When looking at the pier you can snorkel the left or right side. On the left, there is a sandy entry immediately in front of the pool between the second and third building. I entered here, and swam out about 20 yards. There is a coral/rock wall that runs parallel to shore all the way to the pier. I followed this along. Here I saw tropical fish, sting rays, baracudda, lobster, tarpon. Just be careful if the surf is strong, it could push you on top of the coral. On the right side, I entered by the pier and swam towards Morritts. Here I swam through a school of tarpon, saw a bunch of lobster, tons of tropical fish. Just exit the way you came in by the pier because the beach is rocky and you do not want to exit on the rocky shore.

The rooms were clean, the maid service was reliable.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay, and would go back without reservation

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed from Dec 12 - 18th. Best vacation we ever took. The resort is great. We stayed in a Studio, next time we will upgrade to the one bedroom. Although we loved waking up to the ocean view, the more room and larger kitchen would be great. Food was wonderful, staff was great. Colin, aka 'Chatty Cathy' from what we were told, and the other bartenders were so friendly and hard working. Wish i could remember all their names. Saw The Barefoot Man, one show everyone should see. It was hilarious. We rented a car for just a day, and that was enough to look around the island, run to Georgetown, shop. Other than that we stayed at the resort and soaked up the sun and relaxed. Didn't stomp on the Blackberry though. The resort is very quiet. Perfect place to unwind and just be. Already planning on returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilfeat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
544 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,447 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £166 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing