We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Beautiful as Before”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As Beautiful as Before”
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This was our second visit to the Reef Resort. The first visit was in 2002 when the property was only 2 years old. In 2004, resort had millions of dollars in damage from Hurricane Ivan. The resort is in beautiful condition. The property is clean and well-maintained. Many of the rooms are beach-front. Our room (a studio) was in excellent shape- everything looked new. The beach and pool were clean and inviting. The only evidence of Ivan's destruction were the new palm trees planted to replace those destroyed by the hurricane. Several larger palms remained that provided comfort and shade from the sun. The staff and management were welcoming and professional.
The resort is in the East End of the island- quite a nice change from the hussle and bussle of Georgetown and 7 Mile Beach. We were looking for peace and quiet and were not dissappointed.
The drive from Georgetown to the resort is interesting and beautiful taking you through several of the districts (towns) on the island where many of the Caymanians live, work, and play. The drive gives you a real sense of island life and the resiliency of the people after the devasation of the hurricane.
The Reef Resort is a peaceful, beautiful property.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dhanchuruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    533
    175
    61
    28
See reviews for
495
793
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2006

We arrived Tuesday, October 17 and enjoyed the Barefoot Man show at the hotel as an introduction to Cayman. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the hotel employees are friendly and eager to please. The people of the island are generous and happy, a true extra blessing that enhances the beauty of the surroundings. We will definitely return in the future!

  • Liked — very clean, everything you would need - appliances, dishes, cooking facilities
  • Disliked — far away from town
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring lots of sunscreen and don't forget to use it
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TexasTravelers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Another absolutely perfect vacation! This was our 6th visit to the REEF and we are already counting the days until our return in April of 2007. The friendly staff, the cleanliness of the resort, the pristine beach faithfully tended to every day....right down to the straightening of the beach chairs. A truly relaxing location, offering peace, tranquility, and mesmerizing views with gorgeous sunrises.. The sound of the ocean waves along with the beautiful tropical breeze creates an ambience that captures the spirit. If you are truly looking for a place to "get away from it all"..the REEF is your place. Although, if a more "active" night life beckons, a ride to Georgetown and the Seven Mile Beach side of the island is only about a 45 minute drive away.... However, for us, the REEF and the East End with its' solitude and less congested area is what makes this such a paradise. There are no cruise ships docking on the East End, so, you are not besieged by thousands of cruise ship passengers roaming the town during the week. There is a grocery store right across the street from the Reef now which is very convenient.. and the Concierge can handle any reservations you might need, or, obtain any information that you may want. So, although the Reef is somewhat "secluded" in comparison to the chaotic Seven Mile beach side of the island, it is not SO remote that day trips or night life are out of the question. The Ocean Frontiers dive shop on site at the REEF makes it easy to handle diving reservations, and the actual Ocean Frontiers facility is less than a 10 minute drive down the road.. We would recommend making dive reservations with them via their website as soon as you know your vacation itinerary rather than wait until you get "on the island" as, they are a popular dive facility on the island ...with good reason...they are excellent at what they do..
The Reef Resort.....Our home away from home........

  • Liked — The location, the staff, and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to leave it at the end of the vacation!
  • Tips/Secrets — Great beach with a great reef for snorkeling with LOTS of fish right under the dock, but, a bit of a rocky access and not a real "swim" area which might limit beach activities for people with small children. Would recommend renting a car to get around the island to increase your options with regard to dining and activities.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jrrncnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

We researched a great deal before deciding to pick the Caymans and then therefore the Reef Resort. The only negative report was that this resort was located on the east side which was quiet and away from all the tourist nightlife area(west). Well this was exactly what we wanted so we booked a week at the Reef. We rented a car which is a must since it is on the opposite side of the island(45 minutes). However the drive is very nice large sections of just riding along the shore. The Reef Resort was as close to perfect as one could get- except maybe if you own a house on the island!! I am a clean freak and I could not have asked for it to be cleaner. The beach at the resort is beautiful- walk out of your room and snorkle right there- neat fish,crab, conch, and coral- did see a stingray but he stayed on the bottom! I think we may have seen three couples on the beach the whole time we were there- the complete opposite of what you will get staying on seven mile. We walked on the beach at night totally secluded- just the sound of the waves. Also the pools and hottubs are very nice especially late at night(no closing times)I was expecting to get harrassed into buying a time share but there was just a small note in the room saying if we wanted to know how to get our stay for free(take the tour) then to stop by the office- well after staying you may seriously consider buying something on the east end so no wonder they don't have to harrass you like other islands do!! There is a Fosters express and a tasteful gift shop across the street. Someone did mention on a review that we read before we went that there was a Wendys and it seemd like a busy home shopping place- this is not the case- there is no Wendys or any other chains on the east end. The grocery store is quite charming and like I said before I felt very seculded, but when you need something it is there!! The only negative would be the dive shop that is on site- they seem to change their price based on what they think you can pay!! So do not go on the price tags- Beware- you can get things alot cheaper at other places.
The island is known as the culinary capital of the carribean and we had a hard time deciding what ones to chose- pick up a Good Taste mag for free at the ariport/hotel it has samples of the resturants menus. The resort has a resturant which the food is just ok compared to the whole list of others on the island- Lighthouse is close to the east end and has a great view and food. Bacchus- has great atmosphere and food that is outstanding. Raggazi has a good selection of wines and romantic type setting- food is very good- Black Pearl is located closer to the east end by the surf/skate park it is a fun place to hang out and pretty good food! Chicken!Chicken! is a fun place for a quick good lunch! Lots of cafe/pastry places to many to list fabalous baked goods. You should check out the botanical garden- very pretty and the staff is so friendly. Amazing to see how much the hurricane destroyed and how the park was put back together. We saw an iguana about three feet long sitting on a rock staring at us- pretty cool place!! turtle farm is so cute have to at least go by and see them in the tanks on the side of the road. Hell was a neat place to run by a see. Cayman are a great place to visit safe and all the ammenities you would need plus absolutely beautiful water.- but if you want close to perfect then the Reef on the east end for seclusion and relaxation- then just drive to the seven mile tourist trap for any nightlife because then you can always come back to that perfect hidewaway!!!

  • Liked — felt like the place was ours- the whole place is absolutely clean
  • Disliked — dive shop but this is a seperate company just located at the site- which is nice but price tags seem to not be a standard way to know how much something will cost.
  • Tips/Secrets — research on trip advisor all the activities/resturants you want to experience- this resort is worth it!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 3men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

The Reef is truly an outstanding resort! The rooms were extremely clean and had a beautiful view (only feet from the beach!). The staff were very friendly and were helpful with planning activities, rental cars, and dinner reservations.

The resort is on the East End of the Island otherwise known as "the quiet side" so a rental car is a must! There are so many amazing things to see on the island: the blow holes (south side), botanical gardens, rum point, sting ray city(Red Sail Tours), Hell, turtle farm, and much more. There are two restaurants that I highly recommend: Portofinos and the Kaibo Yacht Club. Both restaurants have wonderful food for a reasonable price. But if you want to cook in, there is a great little grocery store across the street called Fosters with a pretty good selection of food. If you are looking for exercise, there is a great gym across the street run by one of the staff.

If you stay at the Reef, the staff already has some activities planned at the resort. Here are a few-
Sunday- Orientation Breakfast (enjoy a great breakfast, meet the staff, and hear about the week's activities)
Tuesday- Sting Ray City and Barefoot Man during the evening
Water Aerobics (some week days)
At noon everyday, a man feeds the fish off the dock


The Reef Resort is perfect if you don't want to be in a busy area! 7 mile beach is very busy... there are tons of hotels, shops, restaurants, and people squished onto a tiny beach. When I went over to 7 mile beach, I found it quite overwhelming. If you are looking for a clean resort, beautiful beaches, plenty of things to do, and some relaxation: stay at the Reef Resort!

Ashley Darnell
Travel Advisors, Inc.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AshleyNicole223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

We went to see this place following on from reading all the reviews on this website. We live on-island but were looking for a quick get-away weekend.

Rooms: The rooms are all that people have said - perfect, clean, all that you could ask for.

Food: The food at the beach bar was poor at best. Everything we ordered was pretty disgusting. My husband had the conch which he couldn't eat. I had a ceasar wrap thinking you couldn't go far wrong with that. It was greasy and over cooked. I couldn't eat it and I am not fussy. There was nothing Greek about the Greek salad and the dressing was awful (definitely out of a bottle). Even the children couldn't eat their chicken as it was hard and dry.

Staff: The staff was friendly - bar staff particularly nice.

Atmosphere: Difficult to put a finger on this one because it has SO MUCH POTENTIAL! Alas, they somehow don't quite get it right. No shady areas or hammocks gently swaying in the breeze. The bar area doesn't really have an "atmosphere". It looks like a big hotel, a big beach, a nice pool (and this area is well designed, particularly for those with kids) but not much Caribbean charm.

Next time, I think we will stick with Little Cayman which as much more of that small, lost in time, relaxing charm.

  • Liked — Clean and spaceous
  • Disliked — Too large a hotel - the building going on all around - it has lost its Caribbean charm
  • Tips/Secrets — Write a review and hope the management listen and make a change
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank JanJanVanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Reef Resort from August 25th until September 3rd. For the record, I would like to say that we are not time share owners. This was my 6th visit to Grand Cayman and my husband's first. Previously, I have stayed at the Hyatt, Treasure Island, and have rented a private home.

Overall, our experience at the Reef was excellent. I have traveled throughout the United States; Ontario, Canada; France; Ecuador; and Mexico. My travel accomodations have ranged from youth hostels to the Four Seasons.

I expect something far different from a youth hostel than the Four Seasons, but in all cases I expect cleanliness, friendly service, and that where I stay delivers what it says it will.

Our room at the Reef was just as pictured on the web site. The view was fantastic. The room was very clean. I do not think that the mattress was the best quality - clean but much too soft for my taste- and the food is nothing to write home about, but the fact is that at the Reef you will be paying far less for a spectacular location. Personally, I did not expect to find everything on par with what I would expect at a more expensive hotel or resort.

I was very disappointed with the concierge, who mishandled some very simple request. And well I found the staff to be friendly overall, no one seemed to go specifically out of his or her way for us.

Despite some minor disappointments, both my husband and I found the resort to be very relaxing. The breeze was refreshing. We loved being away from the craziness of Seven Mile Beach. We did not find traveling around the island in a rental car a problem. Proximity to Rum Point was a plus. The Light House Restaurant was not too far of a drive, and the food there is excellent.

We would both stay at this resort again. Previously, I was very interested in staying at the Westin; however, seeing how much the Seven Mile Beach area has been built-up and having experienced a very over-priced, non-spectacular brunch there on this recent trip, I no longer have any desire what-so-ever to pay more for a parking lot view at the Westin then I would for an ocean view at the Reef.

We definitely plan on staying at the Reef again on our next trip to Grand Cayman.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Bed was too soft
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to rent a car
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KayeDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
369 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,747 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,129 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing