We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Clean but not where it's happening...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet & Clean but not where it's happening...”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My husband & I wanted to get away to celebrate the New Year. We choose the Reef based on the other reviews stating that it is quite because we wanted to get away from the hussle & bussle of life. This resort is about 45 minutes away from the airport. You should get a rental car (careful you will drive on the opposite side of the road if used to North America)because the taxi is about $50 one way and chances are you are going to want to come back to town at some point. Their New Years celebration was perfect, great food, music and fireworks all on the beach. Staff was very pleasant over all & the room was very clean & quiet. Beds were plesant & plenty of pillows. Drawbacks? Not sure if it was the time of year, but this side of the island was extremely windy, so much so that you had to wear long sleeves to be comfortable. Pools were ok, but the whirlpools were yellow and it wasn't even that busy. We never were able to find the spa or get a hold of them to book anything. Strangest thing - we kept hearing dogs barking in the maintenance room, Big dogs. The next morning a local drove up with a truck filled with wooden boxes with breathing holes and each box was filled with mean barking dogs. The dogs were "fighting" dogs for sport and someone on the staff was keeping the dogs in the maintenance room. That was it for me - beach too windy, nothing to do other than sit by the pool or beach, whirlpools yellow, no spa service...we booked for a week and checked out after two days...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 3boysand1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
As with all guest concerns and issues, we do ask that all of our valued guests do express any concerns or questions to management whilst on our property, as we are always happy to assist. It is particularly unfortunate that in this case this guest did not do so and so cut their vacation short. On one point in particular, re a concern over dogs at the resort, the guest review misrepresents theReef and, should they have asked during their stay, they could easily have been given the following information.

The dogs described by the guest as barking were in a basement maintenance room and were part of a professional canine security patrol. These are highly trained working dogs that are on property every night to enhance our guests safety. These dogs are well looked after and are brought out to The Reef from the kennels by the security company every evening and picked up again each morning. There is a short period of time each day between the Security dog being dropped off and the Security Officer starting his shift when he patrols the property throughout the night with the dog. During this in between time, the security dog is kept in an airconditioned space for comfort and the same each morning once the Security Officer has finished his shift.

These dogs are only on property for security purposes, at no time would anyone here at The Reef condone such a thing as dog fighting as the guest said. Our staff are animal lovers and we many strongly support the animal shelter on island, in addition to spaying and neutering any stray animals that do venture on to our property, supporting the Blue Iguana rescue program on island and protecting turtle nests on our beach every year during nesting season.

With regard to not being able to find the Le Soleil Spa, thisis open every day and is on site. Our concierge, activities director or front desk staff would have been more than happy to have assisted this guest with directions and any reservations for treatments via phone or in person in our lobby had they been asked.

Our pools and hot tubs are cleaned and treated every morning, this treatment does take about an hour to neutralize and clean the water. Our Operations Manager was asked about the issue the guest review raised and noted that, due to exceptionally high occupancy during the period that this guest stayed, the hot tubs were very heavily utilized each day and additional treatments were administered. This heavy usage of the hot tubs can often result in discoloured water due to sunscreen, spillages and other such factors during these busy times.

Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the weather and have experienced a few weeks of intermittent windy weather which is often determined by the Winter Storms on the East Coast on the US. However, our version of the blizzards and ice storms is a stiff breeze and temperatures in the 70’s! Today it is a beautiful 85 degrees with absolutely no breeze whatsoever –perfect! As far as activities and things to do, as this reviewer mentions, most of our guests do come to The Reef to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Seven Mile Beach area and love our relaxing, peaceful, tranquil location with the ‘real island feel’.

Once again, we do highly encourage all of our guests to address any issues or concerns that they have with The Reef with a Manager whilst they are on property. If there is anything that we can do to assist we will!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    527
    172
    58
    28
See reviews for
482
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Just back from a one-week stay at the Reef. We were looking for some quality time with our six year old son, and loved being on the quiet end of Grand Cayman, away from the commercialism of Seven Mile Beach. We found that the eastern part of the island had almost everything we needed – great ocean views, decent beaches and snorkeling and some good restaurants (Tukka and Over the Edge stand out). We hung out at Rum Point and visited Stingray City from there. The Botanical Gardens are worth seeing. The only thing we did at the other end of the island was visit the Turtle Farm – great for kids.

It was cooler and winder than normal when we visited Grand Cayman, and the seas were a bit rough as result, but this did not stop us for having a great time.

Overall, our stay at the Reef was very positive. We had a huge two bedroom unit with a full kitchen and an ocean view. It was great falling asleep to the sound of the waves. We could sleep with the windows open as the breeze kept the mosquitoes away. The unit was well maintained and very clean. The pools and watersports facilities were fine. The continental breakfast (free with our room) was adequate, and can be supplemented through ordering off the menu. Most staff, including the concierges, were friendly and helpful. We got the obligatory time share pitch, but this was not really a “hard sell”.

Negatives? Well, the front desk staff at the Reef did not impress. We did not try the main restaurant, as we heard it was not very good. The only food store near the Reef was very small and lacked fresh produce. The island itself is quite pricey and lacks the Caribbean vibe found elsewhere.

Overall, however, Grand Cayman is a great destination for a relaxing, low key kind of holiday, and we would stay at the Reef again. We were surprised by several recent negative TripAdvisor reviews. It seems clear that the people involved were looking for a very different holiday experience, and perhaps they did not do their homework before booking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P5367klm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Reef Resort last week as new timeshare owners. We bought one week here because of the location (on the quiet side of the island) and because all villas are beach front, clean, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. I would not say this is a 5 star resort (as the resort claims) or even 4 star and could not be included in the same category as a Ritz Carlton resort or Four Seasons Hotel resort for one primary reason; the service here needs much improvement. The staff at the front desk do not smile and aren't warm and welcoming. They could be a lot more helpful upon check-in. The waitstaff has the same problem but the bartenders are friendly. Some of the concierge staff are helpful and pleasant (Lindsey) while others (Cathy) rush you along so they can assist the sales staff with the herd of people in the lobby awaiting the timeshare tour. The bottom line is the customer-facing staff needs to attend hospitality classes and the timeshare tour people should be directed to another area (how about the banquet room?) so the paying guests and members receive good service are are made to feel special. Afterall, we paid to stay here and most of the timeshare people are there only to get a free excursion or services ;) This would surely increase sales of food, beverages, excursions and spa services and make the members/visitors want to return for future vacations. Oddly, guests can only get beach towels at the front desk so you must wait in line for these while others in front of you are checking-in or out, and many times, clean towels are not available in the beginning of the day. I recommend visiting the guys at White Sands Water Sports on the Reef's property. They are friendly and can take you on great snorkel trips on their little Hobie cat. January visitors should be aware of the high winds this time of year. Also be prepared to pay high prices for groceries because most of these are imported. Internet access in the villa was very spotty but visitors have free use of three computers in the game room. The fish and chips and jerk chicken wrap at the bar are our favorites. Drinks are priced high. Overall, this is a good resort to chill-out on an uncrowded beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrustyPirateWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
As this guest noted, they are timeshare owners, so the first point to emphasise is that theReef does have condo, fractional and timeshare owners as well as hotel/resort guests stay with us and owners do have different housekeeping service levels and other concerns.

A few notes on this review, in that context.

First, it is a constant cause for confusion that Interval International (a timeshare exchange company) uses the designation "Five Star" for their top resorts. I have to agree with this guest, we cannot be compared to a Five Star hotel, neither on service nor (crucially) on price. We are positioned (quite accurately, we feel) as a 3.5 star resort on Tripadvisor and other sites.

With regard to Front Desk service, as I have posted in other review responses, we have taken these comments on board and have commenced a comprehensive training programme to improve the consistency of delivery of quality service.

This guest mentioned a crowded lobby. This can occasionally (very occasionally ) happen when people are gathering for our very popular weekly Stingray City trip, but is not the norm.

As I also just noted in another response, drinks at theReef are very competitively priced, it is just that local taxes make all alcoholic drinks pricey in Cayman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Just got back from the Cayman's and stayed at the Reef Resort. The rooms were neat and clean and the resort staff was kind and helpfull.

Lunch at the bar was resonable and the bar staff were enjoyable and friendly.

The resort staff recommended the Lighthouse and Tukka restaurants and both were good choices. Check out the kangaroo at Tukka's!! Very tasty believe it or not.

The drive to seven mile beach is every bit a 45 minute drive so plan accordingly. Went to Casanova's and were treated well and the food was excellent.

Have been to the Cayman's two other times and Reef was exactly as advertised. Sunny and relaxing.

Dr. B. D. Hudson

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRHUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed for 5 nights early January and it was perfect, quiet place to relax after the Holidays! We had a one bedroom suite in the last building, and the decor/furnishings were updated -- couldn't have been more than 1-2 years old. The views off the patio were great...right on the beach and steps to the ocean and the pool. Never had the chance to eat at the hotel except for breakfast which was fine. Beach bar was fun, and snorkeling was the best!!!

All in all nice relaxing place -- excellent value, but do not expect a 4 star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Location on the quiet side of the island was perfect; away from the strip. Concierge ladies were awesome, especially Michelle. Always out of beach towels at the front desk. Front desk employees not helpful, nor did they ever smile or want to help. Staff at the outdoor bar were great, especially Colin. Food and beverage prices were way too high. $11 for a pina colada? Something's not right with the prices. I would go to St. Croix or Cozumel again instead of the Caymans due to the extreme prices on Grand Cayman. Sting Ray City, Ultimate Swim with the dolphins, and the bioluminescence kayak tour were awesome.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatdanes1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Many thanks to the guest for posting a review, we depend upon feedback to help us improve, though naturally we love to get as much feedback in person while the guest is staying with us so we can address it right away.

Re the concerns over Front Desk service and beach towel availability, these have been recognised and a full training programme to enhance consistency of quality of Front Desk service has been commenced.

Re food and drinks prices, we have to say that this is a Cayman issue, particularly high drinks prices, as we are subject to very high local taxes on alcohol. Drinks prices at theReef are actually very competitive (your eyes would water at prices at certain of the most upscale places in Cayman!), and we do have daily happy hour specials.

However, as you rightly noted, we have great bartenders, so we do everything we can to give you value for money in serving those drinks !

Oh, and I concur with the recommendations for the tours, sounds like you made use of our concierge team for their ideas and to make your bookings, as you picked three of the best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We have just returned from our Christmas-New Year stay at the Reef in Grand Cayman. We had a nice holiday but I can't say it was brilliant, as the stay in the Reef has spoiled the enjoyment.
From the beginning the service was poor. We have arrived about 8 pm on Christmas Eve and were obviously tired after 13 hour trip from london plus 45 min from the airport. We were served by check in guy extremely quickly, just given some envelope with key and rushed back to the taxi, so we could go and find our room by ourselves. They had no luggage porter and taxi driver wouldn't know were our room number could be ( how could he!) so my husband went to look for it while I waited with our 2 young children. The room was at the end of the building on the first floor and we did not know at the time there was a lift so ended up carrying all our suitcases upstairs by ourselves! Not a great start ! The person who was checkin us in would not even answer any questions or give us any information just treated us like some nasty fly you want to get rid of as quick as possible!
Next morning just got better when arrived at breakfast and found rather poor variety buffet and coffee you make yourself in a take away cup!!! At this point I felt rather ripped off and regretting paying the hefty all inclusive supplement! The lunch meals were served on a grease proof paper in some sort or wire baskets! Something you would expect in fish and chip shop or McDonald's but not a place which dare to rate itself 4*!! Even alcohol like wiskey or wine they serve in a plastic cups(check my photos) makes it taste horrible!
Overral the service in the restaurant ( with few exceptions) was dreadful, menu was very limited and not changing so if you get to make a mistake like us and pay for all inclusive you get bored of it quickly. We had quite bad night when we were waiting for our dinner 45 min and they bring our food first not the kids' , meantime my younger one fall asleep on the table waiting(!!!) and what arrived was rather cold and stale! The catering manager happened to pass by asking if we ok, so we told him that this service is extremely bad and I asked him if this is one or two star property for what he answered it is 4*!!!!! what a joke!!! I have stayed in many 4* properties and few of which was caribbean but surely this hotel can not get more than 2 1/2*!!! We have spent last year Christmas-New Year in St James Club, Antigua 4* and OMG comparing to the Reef I would give 6*.
Since then manager seemed to avoid even looking at us, and there was no further response, even after I left a comment card, not very professional.
The good point about this place was accommodation, our 1 bedroom suite was pleasant and cleaned daily, but then there was no other dining options outside you could choose if you don't like the hotel restaurant.
Entertainment.....well if I knew they gonna put that Barefoot man as a New Year party entertainment I wouldn't bother booking baby sitter. Even though we went at 10 pm I only managed to stay for an hour and opted to go back to celebrate new year on our terrace at least we could drink our Champagne in proper glasses:) As our neighbour told us that night half of the people pulled out before we even came!
Check out was almost as good as check in. I asked if we can check in late and very grumpy lady said "no you have to move by 12". She did not inform me if they had any transit room or if we can stay longer upon payment, I had to drag every information out of her which was rather awkward. If you want your room for longer you have to pay $50 per hour!!!! Rip of!! As we had our flight in the evening we checked out after 11 and headed to Rum Point to enjoy our last day.
I loved Grand Cayman, there is many beautiful beaches lots of thing to see and do but I wish I did not choose the Reef for our stay. Thanks God we managed to get a car and went places every day and ate some nice lunch in different places ( even tiny local restaurant served food on the plate, plates and glasses strangely started to feel like a luxury:)
We definitely did not get a value for our money! I would not mind all that if I paid $100 per night and was aware that it is 2*property then it would be exactly what I expected, but we paid almost the same as for last year St James Club stay and the reef has got a lot to catch up on so please don't offend real 4*properties calling yourself one!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank m1lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Submitting this on behalf of Jake Morgan, Head Concierge :


As a fellow Brit I was truly disappointed to hear that these guests had a less than enjoyable vacation, especially as I’m well aware how long that flight can be. A number of issues have been raised here so I’ll try and address them accordingly.

This check in experience was clearly unacceptable and this has been raised with all relevant staff to ensure there is no repeat. First impressions are paramount in any environment and we clearly dropped the ball here. Excuses are easy to make and we stand prepared to be rated as to how we have addressed this issue for our future guests. My only regret is that we did not have an opportunity to have dealt with this one whilst the guests were on site.

The free continental breakfast is only part of what we offer every morning as in addition we have a full hot breakfast menu available every day for all of our guests. As these guests were taking advantage of our all inclusive package they were able to order any items they chose from the breakfast menu at no additional cost. All of our menus are available for review on our website.
Coffee is available all morning and guests can choose whether or not to serve themselves at their own leisure or simply ask a member of our serving staff. TheReef management decided some years ago to make a solid investment in reducing our own carbon footprint. Part of this ongoing initiative is to offer guests a choice between using tradional tableware or take away cups made from 100% recycled materials. This initiative does also include serving a small selection of our more casual lunches and finger foods in this manner. Should a guest prefer a traditional plate please simply ask and one will be provided.

We are hugely proud here at the reef to have the longest beach front (1600ft) of any resort in the Cayman Islands and indeed to remain the only all beachfront resort available. As such we take the safety of our guests and the stewardship of our beach very seriously. We feel that using non breakable items in these areas helps us ensure that our beach remains safe and beautiful for all our guests to enjoy. We should also note however that any drinks ordered inside the main restaurant would always be served in normal glassware, in this instance the guests ordered drinks from our beach bar and took them into the restaurant.

The legendary Barefoot Man is a highly popular entertainer here at theReef and has been for a number of years. Our entertainment schedule for the Christmas period was published 6 months in advance on our website however we do fully accept that our guests will enjoy a wide variety of music.

As a boutique resort during our busiest period of the year we often do not have a selection of vacant rooms available for guests to extend their check out. We are most happy to help store luggage and offer continued full access to all of the resorts facilities for guests with a late flight. However the room would be prepped for a full deep clean on the same day and any extension would have severly inconvenienced our incoming guests.

We take our reviews seriously and we are disappointed to hear that these guests felt we did not live up to our rating as a 3.5 star boutique resort. We thank all of our guests and especially those who have take the time to leave feedback, it does not go ignored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,049 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing