We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE SERVICE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I are frequent travelers to the Carribean and try to stay at different resorts. The Reef sounded perfect... secluded, private, right on the beach. We checked in on Saturday, February 11th.. We found our room to be clean, with a great view of the ocean. There was a notice in the bathroom that we should place dirty towels on the floor and that they would be replaced daily. Between Saturday and Monday, we did not see a housekeeper. On checkin we had been provided 2 sets of towels...I called the desk and asked for clean towels Monday morning and was told they would be provided... On our return from a long day on 7 mile beach, we found our still wet and dirty towels on the floor. To make a long story short, we had to BEG for linens the entire week..towels, sheets you name it! The management was completely unresponsive. They should be fired...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank wahini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCayman, Director at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2011

Posting response on behalf of Jake Morgan, Head Concierge, who researched this situation :

As our reviewer has confirmed, we work hard to ensure that all of our rooms are spotlessly clean for our arriving guests, and of course the wonderful view is a given as the only all beachfront resort in Grand Cayman.

It’s clear here, however, that that our customer experienced some less than satisfactory services during the stay. We have investigated their comments with the following results.

The Reef is a mixed use resort with all units independently owned as either condo, quarter share or timeshare units.

This guest visited our resort as a timeshare owner at another timeshare resort as part of a timeshare exchange program.

The Reef welcomes guests as both timeshare owners and as hotel guests.

However, it is important to note that timeshare owners and hotel guests are accommodated on differing programs and receive different levels of housekeeping.

All hotel guests (it those who rent a room via one of our travel partners, or indeed through The Reef directly) receive daily housekeeping service including replacing fresh towels and linens every day.

All timeshare related guests receive a letter upon check detailing exactly what levels of housekeeping service they can expect to receive during their stay with us. In this instance this would be a full deep clean upon arrival, with a housekeeper visiting every Tuesday and Thursday to replace linens and towels and to remove any trash.

Now my best guess is that these guests either didn’t notice the letter (we give out a number of items upon check in) or didn’t receive it. It’s impossible to say which it was but the result would have been the same with the guests unaware of their service levels.

What would have confused the issue further would have been the card that was inadvertantly placed in the room stating that towels would be removed daily, that was clearly in the wrong room and 100% our fault.

Now, in addition to our policies all guests can request clean fresh towels and linens at all times which it seems these guests did, the problem it appears was that this request was either not passed onto or acted upon by our housekeeping team.

Our biggest concern here is the guest’s apparent lack of response by our managers. On the information provided we can’t identify who the guest dealt with, or indeed how that contact was made. We have no recorded requests in our daily logs to fit this nor can we find any any compaints regarding housekeeping over this period. We would welcome any further comments from these guests to help us shed some light on the matter.

This issue has shown us that we need to work harder to ensure all of our guests are fully aware of what they can expect during their stay, and ensure no requests slip through the gaps. We thank these guests for taking the time to offer us this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,307 - 1,313 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

My husband and I both appreciated our time at the Reef. It was quiet and calm. We did rent a car so that if we wanted to go to the west side and be part of the business of the island we could do that. We were greatful for the quiet at the Reef. Our room was perfect, very clean adn the staff was very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnaandopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Not the Ritz by any means, but a great value. Yes this resort could use some upgrades, but it is very clean and the staff does a decent job keeping the rooms and grounds very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hefele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at a two-bedroom timeshare unit.

What we liked:
.Very clean at check in.
.Ceramic tile floors, rather than dirt collecting carpets.
.Quiet, spacious units, well lit, with plenty of beds.
.Good air conditioning
.The beach was close to the unit, providing a lovely view from both living room & master BR .
.The staff was exceptionally helpful & pleasant.
.Attractive grounds.
.Off shore snorkeling, although limited
.White Sand Water Sports Snorkeling (use your own snorkeling gear, rather than theirs)

What we didn’t like:
.Mosquitoes
.No housekeeping (or cleaning supplies) during the week. Unit became filthy fast!
.Comfortable beds in the bedrooms, BUT bottom sheet didn’t fit on a large mattress. We requested a replacement. The replacement didn’t fit. We didn’t enjoy sleeping on a bare mattress! AND the blankets on the Murphy beds measured approximately 44 inches in width…not wide enough. (To their credit, larger blankets were brought upon request.)
.This property doesn’t have a ‘resort’ feel, although it is very peaceful
.As noted in other reviews, REMOTE from restaurants & activities .
.Nearby grocery store's food nearby was less than fresh.
.Water is not as calm as it is on the west side of the island…where off shore snorkeling is better.

In summary, this property is perfect for those who enjoy cooking, cleaning up after themselves and beach bunnies. Not the best for a selection of restaurants & shops, water sports ... go west. We understand that the fluorescent bacteria night tour is on the east end of the island and we are sorry that we missed this, because we didn't know that we needed to make reservations in advance.


Restaurants:

.Ceviche was good at every restaurant!

.Tukka: Very mediocre. Approximately $45+ including tip, excluding alcoholic beverage.

.Over the Edge: Yuck! Approximately $ 25 for an appetizer, a nonalcoholic beverage,
entrée & tip.

.Rankin’s Jerk Pit: Not bad for a quick lunch. Located in Bodden Town. A shack in front of Rankin's Butcher Shop. Doesn't accept credit cards. $8-$10 for a lunch platter.

.Cracked Conch: Very good. Approximately $ 50 with tip.

.Ragazzi Ristorante: Best of the ones we ate at. Approximately $60 with a tip (nonalcoholic beverage).

.Chicken! Chicken!: Mediocre lunch, although two out of the four of us liked the flavors.
Very garlicky.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
5  Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My husband I just returned from a great week at the Reef Resort. It is on the East Side of the Island, the quiet side, which was perfect for us. We enjoyed being right on the beach and every time we walked in the room were wowed with the wonderful view. Both pools are lovely and were never very crowded. There were always plenty of chairs available and laying in a chair under a palm tree was heavenly. The beach near the water is rocky and you really need water shoes of some type to take a beach walk. We stayed in a studio with a mini fridge, microwave, etc. The microwave would only work for a few minutes and then had to cool off. The front desk/maintenance were very helpful and quickly replaced the unit but we still had the same issues. The concierge staff were extremely helpful and a real joy with which to work, particularly Suzy, Victoria, and Michelle. Arthur at the front desk also went out of his way to help us. We ate a few light meals at the Rusty Pelican and they were very good as well as the drinks. Our snorkeling trip with Dave and Alan of White Sands Water Sports was great. They were professional yet made the trip extremely fun and a wonderful experience. We had dinner at the Lighthouse and Tuka. While both were good they were pricey, over $100 with a shared desert. The best place to eat in the area for us was Over the Edge -- very good seafood Caribbean style with an incredible view and a very reasonable price. We had an amazing week and are looking forward to returning.
Husband's view: NOT for those who love to party, shop, etc. GREAT for those who want a quiet, beautiful, informal, and restful vacation. Wonderful, professional employees who happen to be great people, and I mean all. The timeshare tour was without any pressure: friendly, informed and respectful. Take the snorkeling trip.
NO negatives. We have taken more than a dozen Caribbean vacations, and this one is right up there with the absolute best.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Just returned from one week at the Reef and we absolutely loved it. It is a nice small resort/timeshare complex. It is not a 5 star hotel so, if that is what you are looking for this is not the place for you. We went back and forth as to whether to stay on Seven mile or to stay on the east end. We are so glad we chose the Reef Resort on the east end.
We rented a car at the airport and I would highly recommend doing so. We arrived within 35-40 minutes from the Airport and were greeted by a very friendly staff. We never had any problems with staff being rude to us. Not sure what the issue was with others who have stayed here. Any time we asked for something from the front desk we were answered with smile. Victoria was especially helpful giving us restaurant recommendation and helping out when my daughter jammed her toe on the cement and needed a bandage.
The one bedroom suite was perfect for our family of four and the view is to die for.
Though there are not a lot of restaurants on the east end , we were able to find enough within a reasonable distance to keep things interesting. We ate at the Reef Beach Bar twice and found the food surprising good. We loved the Mahi-Mahi sandwich!
They have a very nice pool, not huge but, very nice. The kids enjoyed the pool and the fact that they could run back and forth from beach to pool and we could see them the whole time. There is also a nice gme room fro the kids and Spa and Fitness Center. Both looked very nice.
We were never hounded to purchase a Timeshare the whole time we were there.
We took a trip to Run Point one day and did the Sting ray tour. That is beautiful and a must do. Another day we went into Seven Mile beach and spent the day. The beach was beautiful but, crowded. Going back to the Reef that night we all commented on how nice it was to return to the peaceful side of the island and the Reef.
As Far as the last post about the backhoe...I really have no idea what this person is talking about. Every morning around 7:30 - 8:00 the backhoe would go along the beach to clean it and we NEVER saw it again for the rest of the day. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing , casual place to stay on Grand Cayman...this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The Reef Resort on the NE coast of Grand Cayman Island is a lovely getaway location. Every room overlooks the water. We had spectacular sunrises, great snorkeling/scuba and wonderful/friendly staff and service. There is excellect waterview dining nearby at "Over the Edge" and "Kaibo". But be sure to see the amazing sunset at Rum Point!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAMEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
545 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,450 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £172 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing