We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort
Hometown, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Times”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This resort has very friendly staff and the group I was with was pleased with our service. The Grand Pool is nice because it is ocean side but the other two pools were not as lively, which is fine when you want some peace and quiet. We had a 2 bedroom condo with a pull out couch in the living room. The beds were a little small and the pull out definitely needs replaced but otherwise there was plenty of space for the 6 of us. I think they are in the process of updating. Overall, it is a nice resort and I would go back. The only reason I didn't give it a 4 or higher is because I personally prefer a little more lively resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view, first floor by the grand pool and close to mimi's bar is where I would book my next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank satisfied542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    517
    274
    108
    84
See reviews for
488
591
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our first visit to Morritt's was in 2011, we absolutely fell in love with the East End and Morritt's hospitality and staff. Since we have upgraded to the new Londoner penthouse, which we will be visiting soon. As a diver, having a full service dive center on location with very knowledgable staff, that caters to all level divers makes for a easy trip.
We are so pleased with Morritt's and have brought family and friends that have complimented the timeshares and Cayman from young to old.
I would highly recommend Morritt's hands down. A special thanks to Tiffany at the front desk, Robert and Jim in sales and last but not least "Fabio" the entertaining bartender. See you all soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOVABulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent the third week of May & despite some challenging weather to start the week, the location & property was wonderful. We stayed in two different buildings on the property due to an upgrade as owners. The older building (our 1st location) will be upgraded over the next 18 months, but we found it very comfortable for an island vacation. The newer building was (of course) fantastic with an amazing ocean view. Plenty to do at the resort for water sports (jet skis, wind surfers, snorkeling & dive trips). Because Red Sails (excursion & rental company) is on Morritt's property, everything can be arranged right there. Three very pretty pools, with two of them having swim-up bars. However, our real interest was the Caribbean water, not the pools. You can literally see tons of varieties of fish (& squid) right from the properties beach. If you look under the docks at the bar & grill, it looks more packed than an aquarium.
The food I would rate as "okay" & as with any restaurant, some dishes being better than others. We enjoyed Mimi's bar for good cocktails, beers & some munchies. David's was good for breakfast (very good all you can eat buffet price) & there was the opportunity to have an omelet made fresh for you as well. Dinner at David's was okay, but with so many Great restaurant options in the area (w/i 20 minutes), eating off property was our preference. They are in the process of trying to hire a new head chef, so maybe our opinion will change on this the next time we're there.
The latest building is in it very final (interior) stages & was not an interruption to us at all. Keep in mind though that the immediate surrounding area of the new building is not as pristine as it will be until the work is completely finished.
The Staff were wonderful, helpful, attentive & very friendly. Tiffany (front desk) was always pleasant & very professional. As far as check in goes, I would recommend packing an extra bag with a towel, bathing suit & whatever you might need for the beach, leaving your luggage with the front desk & go enjoy the beach or a pool instead of being concerned with when your condo will be ready. The staff has a lot to turn over in a very short amount of time, so check-in may be a little longer than everyone would like.
The last time that I had stayed here was 12 years ago & there's obviously been a number of changes & upgrades. We're definitely looking forward to many more frequent returns to Morritt's.

Room Tip: Anything with a view is always preferred, but even when we initially had a condo closer to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concho, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently traveled to Morritt's Tortuga Club and Resort in East End, Grand Cayman. We read so many reviews before we went, from excellent to stay away, we were a little concerned, but that is reality when we travel, is it not?

The best advice we gleaned from TripAdvisor was to ask for the highest floor with an ocean view. No worries, we had a 3rd floor room, beautiful ocean view. There was an elevator in the building, too, though stairs are good exercise so we took them most of the time. Not all the buildings have elevators, though, so don't count on one. We were in the Wembley, fyi.

Everyone we met in Grand Cayman was nice. They pride themselves on the safety of their island home and they are genuinely nice folks. As visitors we need to remember that we are their guests, that we should ask for things politely, that we cannot and should not simply expect them to respond if we do not. So, go in with a nice attitude and you'll be ahead!

Now, the resort! We worried we were staying at the Tortuga rather than the Grand. It's just the other side of the resort ~ they are the SAME resort, only two buildings are called "the Grand". The Tortuga was lovely! The room was well equipped, the bed comfy, the view amazing. We had maid service DAILY! This was unexpected ~ I looked at my husband and said, "when did you do the dishes!"

The food was very good. We ate at both restaurants and at one down the beach at the next resort and everything we had was good and quite reasonably priced. We shopped across the street at the little local IGA market (a nice touch from home, right?). It was suggested we stop at the IGA in Georgetown, but having shopped at the little market across the street, I'd say don't bother unless you plan to cook A LOT, because the little market has everything you need. Really, the prices were not much higher than US prices. And, you're going to want to try the great food at the restaurant to free up more time to play, right?

The surcharge for electricity, which so many reviewers worried about was $58 for the week for a one bedroom. Really, are we going to fuss about that? Nope. We ran the AC as much as we wanted. We turned it off when we left, we conserved like we would if we were home, we didn't waste the electricity by leaving the sliding door open while it ran. Sure seems reasonable to us!

And, the snorkeling! Oh my! You won't find a better place to snorkel! The dockside restaurant provides snacks to the fish daily. There is a huge crowd of blue tangs, tarpons and some other fish I didn't catch the name of. They will eat apple out of your hand while you snorkel. We saw starfish, sea cucumber, a ray, and oh, so many fish! We saw the same fish we saw on a submarine ride in Georgetown going 130' deep, but were snorkeling in 4-6' of water! Can't beat that!

We will go back. We'd choose to stay on the East End because we don't want the big hotels and all the shopping right up on us. The shuttle can take you to Georgetown if you want that, or you can rent a car, either at the airport or right at Morritt's.

It's a great place to visit, to unwind, to relax, to snorkel and feed the fish. If you are a diver, it must be even more incredible, as there were two boats a day going out fully loaded twice a day. That's a lot of divers! The Cayman Trough, also called The Cayman Trench, is so very deep, second only to the Marianas Trench.

So, go to Morritt's! Have a blast! You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Ask politely for the highest up room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AzMtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for a week and had a great time. We stayed at The Grand Side of the resort and could not of been happier. The unit was updated and clean. Beautiful ocean view from our balcony. All the staff were very welcoming. The Resort is on the quiet end of the island, but we rented a car so traveling all over the island was easy. We took our boys ages 12 & 9 they loved it. Definently would return. As for The island (Grand Cayman) Loved it!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Morritts Tortuga Club for a week in June 2013. We had an enjoyable time. The building we were in was without an elevator and we were on the third floor. The stairs were loose and became very slick when it rained. The room was a two bedroom that we shared with another couple. The common areas were large and nicely appointed. The internet was unreliable and you are charged for each device that you connect with, so if you want to connect your phone and laptop you will pay for two connections. We have been around the Caribbean and thought that we might have found an inexpensive location for our vacations. This didn't work out as we were charged for things such as electricity in the room. We were also charged taxes that aren't disclosed prior to our arrival. We did enjoy a couple of meals at the restaurant. The price wasn't bad and was offset by the convenience. There is a local grocery store within walking distance that is fun to shop at and in the same plaza are a couple of decent restaurants. The resort was doing construction the entire time we were there. They seemed to be considerate about the hours but the constant hammering of an impact hammer (jackhammer) caused a distraction from the quiet ambiance while were relaxing on the beach or at one of their nicely maintained pools. The buildings are in need of sprucing up and it would be great if they would install elevators for each of their buildings. As divers we had a lot of gear that we had to carry up and down the stairs numerous times. We enjoyed being on the "quiet side" of Grand Cayman and may consider staying on that side again but we would investigate other resorts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdublyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The scenery was beautiful the room outstanding. The construction noise unending! Day and night while we were there. (The building is now complete for the most part) The front desk staff were rude or stand offish at best which really did not help. Would not recommend it. The Reef next door was much more friendly and fun. Some standout people were Elizabeth who cleaned our room and Kenny the entertainment person, who were both absolutely delightful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mardi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
18.9 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,739 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
353 reviews
19.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,628 reviews
19.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,112 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Property: Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort
Address: 2289 Queens Highway, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morritt`s Tortuga Club And Resort
Morritt`s Tortuga Club Hotel East End
Morritt's Tortuga Club Resort Grand Cayman
Morritts Tortuga Club And Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing