We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation but!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort
somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation but!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I’ve just spent 3 weeks at Morritt’s resort and had a wonderful time.

ACCOMMODATION

The accommodation is very well appointed with everything you would need to use, is there.

We stayed in Wealdstone block room numbers in block are 4000. Numbers to stay at are 4000, 6000 and 7000 these are all ocean view. We stayed on the top floor for the views.

Well stocked Supermarket is 3minutes walk away.

Check in very fast & efficient. All staff very polite and helpful.

Utility bills need to be paid so we kept our back door and patio door open to keep cool.

Our utility bill was usd $75 then dropped to $30 a week.

There is a government tax per day of usd $10 and most purchased items have a 15% gratuity added. We found this holiday the most expensive ever and we have travelled world-wide.

============================

BEACH


The beach is beautiful but very badly managed. The manager should be transferred or -------.

1) The beach seaweed is cleaned when everybody is on the beach so sand is in the wind being blown around as the weed + sand is loaded onto the back of a truck. So plenty of engine fumes to sniff as well as sand is blown in your face while you’re on the beach.

2) There are 5 umbrellas where we were staying under block 4000 and 60 sunbeds. As it is so hot 95% of the beds aren’t used. People go back to their rooms or hide in the shade somewhere.

3) The beach was never raked over so plenty of cigarette, cigar buts and paper in and on the sand.

4) I personally picked up 5 plastic mugs off the beach in the morning as did other people. We all cleaned the beach. I left 2 cups on the beach. They were still there when we left after 2.5 weeks.


SECURITY

Security on the beach at night is non-existent as there is NO lighting so if you are on the ground floor and your window doors are open in the evening you could well be paid a visit from an unknown person. Beach Lighting would be a great bonus apart from that how nice it would be to sit on the beach in the evening as it gets dark about 7 o’clock.

Other than the beach management which would take very little to improve a magnificent three week holiday.

EXCELLENT HOLIDAY

Very good holiday.Would definitely go again, once beach and security lighting was sorted out as above inc a lot more umbrellas.

Room Tip: Stay in the ocean view blocks/ rooms as listed in my main review. Ground floor no good for security...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeS0mersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    506
    262
    107
    82
See reviews for
467
579
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent last week at Morritt’s on a trade through Interval. From the reviews on Trip Advisor I was not expecting much so was not overly shocked about what I encountered. Morritt’s is the third timeshare we have been to in Grand Cayman. I will say that I prefer it over the other two we have stayed at. It is on the quiet end of the island and close to Rum Point.

We were placed in Room 5329, and were told that it was the Penthouse. (LOL) It was in the Wantage Building, 3rd floor – no ocean view but a beautiful porch and pool view. However, the porch only had resin chairs on it, which were uncomfortable, so we never sat out there. The pool by our building was quiet and laid back, no bar, no children.

We were most disappointed with the energy surcharge. We literally kept our room dark and kept the air conditioner on 80 in the day and 76 at night. OUR SURCHARGE AND TAXES WERE $260. There is no recourse or proof that you used the energy they charged you for – you might try to see the meter when you check in or out, but I wouldn’t count on it. It seems that not all rooms are created equal at Morritt’s. Looking inside the other rooms in our building, I could see some had fans and we didn’t. Maybe that would have helped with the energy usage or a lower floor.

One phrase I would use to describe this resort is “outdated.” The décor is one example. If you are used to the all-inclusive resorts that are available in some locales – this is NOT one of those. IT boasts 3 pools, but they really can’t be compared to the pools in more modern resorts. There is no poolside service. The Grand Pool is an infinity pool, but seems to be a very early version of infinty The 3 pools, however, did seem to be able to support the guests at the resort, none of the pools were ever over crowded.

I would also describe the resort using the phrase “poor upkeep.” For example the tiles around the bar in the middle pool had fallen off and were not replaced. Or trim work had fallen off the buildings and not been replaced. There was mold on much of the tile grout in the pools. The chairs around the middle pool were filthy dirty. As we climbed the stairs to our room for the first time we saw a big hairball on the steps.

A plus was the maids came in every day and performed some sort of service. It was not consistent, some days they changed towels, some days they mopped floors, once they changed the sheets entirely. We weren’t really sure what they were supposed to be doing daily.

About the beach…we are snorkelers so we loved the beach at Morritts. The beach is equipped with new chairs and permanent straw umbrella huts. These provided shelter from the sun for most of the day. The fish under the pier were numerous and wonderful – we saw several small rays under the pier actually. Away from the pier we saw a couple of very large rays and some beautiful starfish among the usual beautiful fish. The reef in front of Morritts is very rocky. Don’t go outside the reef, there is quite a current and it is very hard to get back in. There are calmer places to snorkel on the island and it is worth the trip to them – the snorkeling in the Caymans is some of the best - but to have a quick snorkel experience with lots of fish the dock is great. If you want to play in the ocean waves and sandy beach 7 mile beach is for you.

We enjoyed our week in the Caymans – it is a beautiful island – however you won’t see the Caymans on the list of affordable destinations. I don’t plan to return for a while.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KentuckyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Morritt's is a great option for Grand Cayman, but the resort was all timeshare owners/traders as far as we could tell. We used Interval's getaway program, which was a decent bargain compared to most hotel rooms on the island. The electric fee and local taxes added another 200 on top of the getaway fee, but still cheap compared to 7 mile Beach. The room was nice and the resort amenities excellent (3 pools, gym, watersports). The resort beach is beautiful but not really a swimming beach due to the reef which makes it great for snorkeling instead. Morritt's is on the quieter East End so restaurant options are limited. The two onsite are okay but a bit pricey. It's well worth taking the easy 20 minute drive to beautiful Rum Point to enjoy the sunset and activities. The Tortuga Dive shop on-site was great and works with Red Sail diving so you can get a package for any of the other dive sites like Stingray city or Kittiwake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We traded a 3 br Marriott in Spain for this unit. Location was nice, albeit isolated. We arrived early, just after noon, and we're told check-in was 4pm, which we knew, but expected to be able to get a room earlier as they became available. There was no place to change, my wife said the lobby bathroom was disgusting, so we left to eat lunch at a nearby restaurant. Upon return, the lobby was filled with people waiting for rooms. We waited, along with at least 50 other people until they started handing out rooms after 4pm. Our room was in one of the oldest buildings. No elevator. The bed was a queen and scooted around on the tile floors. The ceiling fan did not work. The pool had old tile that had very obvious mold. The hotel restaurant was ok, but the buffet was terrible. We left, after 2 days on a week booking, and went to the marriott on 7 mile beach. Our vacation was saved, but at substantial cost. If you are looking for a resort lodging, do not book this place.

Room Tip: Avoid this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jetro2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We received a deal to stay at the Morritts and based on their outdated website and other reviews, I wasn't expecting the Ritz of course, but still expected a decent place. I knew we were a ways out from 7 mile beach, but didn't realize we were this far out. The beach at the hotel is horrible, you can't really swim because of all the kelp and rocks. It sucks when you experience the beaches at seven mile and have to come back. Our room is outdated, dingy and the bathtub is horrible looking. The spout will break unless I hold it in place when turning on the shower head, which has no flow power. Probably one of my biggest complaint besides the quality of the room and location is the fact that you have to pay for WI-FI....in this day and age wherever you are, I believe wi-fi is always free. A daily rate of 8 or 11 is just ridiculous. I would never recommend staying on the East end of the island, unless you are into diving. The pools are decent, but besides that nothing else is on property. Can't wait to go home and I am supposedly in paradise.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Hea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hometown, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This resort has very friendly staff and the group I was with was pleased with our service. The Grand Pool is nice because it is ocean side but the other two pools were not as lively, which is fine when you want some peace and quiet. We had a 2 bedroom condo with a pull out couch in the living room. The beds were a little small and the pull out definitely needs replaced but otherwise there was plenty of space for the 6 of us. I think they are in the process of updating. Overall, it is a nice resort and I would go back. The only reason I didn't give it a 4 or higher is because I personally prefer a little more lively resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view, first floor by the grand pool and close to mimi's bar is where I would book my next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank satisfied542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our first visit to Morritt's was in 2011, we absolutely fell in love with the East End and Morritt's hospitality and staff. Since we have upgraded to the new Londoner penthouse, which we will be visiting soon. As a diver, having a full service dive center on location with very knowledgable staff, that caters to all level divers makes for a easy trip.
We are so pleased with Morritt's and have brought family and friends that have complimented the timeshares and Cayman from young to old.
I would highly recommend Morritt's hands down. A special thanks to Tiffany at the front desk, Robert and Jim in sales and last but not least "Fabio" the entertaining bartender. See you all soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOVABulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
18.9 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
19.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
19.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,995 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Property: Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort
Address: 2289 Queens Highway, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morritt`s Tortuga Club Hotel East End
Morritt`s Tortuga Club And Resort
Morritt's Tortuga Club Resort Grand Cayman
Morritts Tortuga Club And Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing