We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get away from it all on Grand Cayman! And it comes with the world's best diving!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Get away from it all on Grand Cayman! And it comes with the world's best diving!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We traveled down to the East Side of Grand Cayman for a week filled full of some of the world's best diving and Compass Point did not disappoint. Upon arrival we headed to our room to find crates next to the door to drop our Scuba gear in. The next morning it was picked up and taken to the boat (we were diving with the onsite outfitter Ocean Frontiers) and we did not touch it again until the final day. Being as this is a review of the Dive Resort however I will stick to that largely, rather than review OF here.

The resort is small but nice. It has 2 pools (the one on the main deck is mainly used for teaching during the day and the second one is across the street in with the new addition. Both pools were nice, clean, and very adequate considering as much time as we were going to be in the Ocean and as little as were were going to be in the pool.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and accommodating from Day 1 and we enjoyed just hanging out and talking to them all very much. There was a diver's welcome Rum Punch Party on Sunday where they give you a nice lay of the land and all of the dive trips they offer throughout the week.

I am sure if you are considering staying here that you realize it is on the East End, which is about 40 minutes from Seven Mile Beach. The privacy of the East Side is exactly what we were looking for, however if you are wanting to spend every night out eating and need tons of other things to do besides diving then the East End is definitely going to be out of the way for you. And a car is an absolute must if you are going to be staying on this side just FYI.

The condo itself was comfortable and large enough for the two of us. I do not recall what the resort website said in terms of a bed but it should be noted that the room we were in contained only a Full-Sized mattress and was not really all that comfortable even for two small people (we weigh 275 lbs together). It was also quite springy so if either of us moved, the other was awake immediately. All in all that is why I had to give the resort only 2 stars for sleep quality because if all of the rooms have this small of a bed, then good, restful sleep is going to be hard to come by. One of us often ended up sleeping on the couch because the bed was so small.

Like the previous reviewer, I also feel that the entire cost of the car rental should be included when free car rental is stated and although it was only a $30 charge roughly, a guest should not have to pay taxes on a car rental that is considered to be "included with the room."

With that said however, I would recommend Compass Point to anyone looking to go to Grand Cayman on a dive trip. Ocean Frontiers is a top, top notch dive operator and I will probably never dive with anyone else in GCM after having dived with them. I would not recommend Compass Point to anyone looking just looking for a place to stay and relax as there are better options on the island.

I will more than likely stay there again in the future but will also consider other options close by simply because of the terrible bed. If the bed was replaced with a queen or heaven forbid a king then I would recommend Compass Point no matter what the purpose of your trip to Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for Beach Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrighj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBroadbelt, General Manager at Compass Point Dive Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Wrighj9,

We greatly appreciate your trip report and agree with all your comments other than what appears to be a misunderstanding in regard to bed sizes.

The smallest bed size we have in any of our condo bedrooms is a Queen Sized bed. We do not have any full size beds. A twin bed is 38" wide, full size bed is 54" wide (sometimes called Double), Queen is 60" wide and a King is 76" wide (same size as 2 twins put together).

This does not negate the fact that you were not comfortable in a queen bed and would have preferred a larger bed. There is no need for you to look else where :) Our One Bedroom Deluxe Condos and our Studio Suite all have King Size beds at Compass Point Dive Resort.

As additional note, all of the condos do have the pull down Murphy Beds (Twin Size) in the living room and some condos also have a pull out couch as well as the Murphy beds.

We greatly appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed your dive vacation.

Please contact me directly on your next trip to the Cayman Islands.

Kind regards,

Steve Broadbelt
Managing Director
Compass Point Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    60
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
131
204
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed at Compass Point and dove with Ocean Frontiers on a package that included six two-tank boat dives and a small rental car for the week. Lesley, the reservation specialist, was extremely responsive to email inquiries.

You can opt for any level of maid service (i.e., just towels and sheets, full make-ready, or nothing) for each day of your stay. Of course, anything more than "nothing" does cost extra. The condo was immaculate when we checked in; we opted for no service, and were perfectly happy at that. Just needed a little sweeping toward the end of the week.

Our one-bedroom condo had a reasonably equipped kitchen with a small "starter kit" including dish and laundry detergent, paper towels, and the like. Very comfortable bedroom with queen bed, lots of storage options, individual reading lights, and ceiling fan. Full bath includes jetted tub (we didn't use it). Large living room had LCD TV, DVD player, stereo, and two murphy beds, in case you want to sleep more than two people. It opened to a balcony overlooking the beachfront and dock. We could hear waves breaking on the barrier reef all week -- lovely!!

Management really has their act together. Everything worked, and they thought of every contingency, in case it didn't. We made good use of our kitchen for breakfasts and lunches, so we felt more free to spend on dinner. However, there is a local restaurant a few minutes walk north, Vivine's Kitchen, which is *very* unpretentious, but has wonderful island food at really reasonable prices. Other restaurants were equally good in their own ways, but lacking those "reasonable prices."

Like the accomodation, the dive operation was a well oiled machine. We left our gear in large crates outside our room on check-in. Someone came for it, and it was on the boat, set up on our first tank, every day afterward. Thorough dive site briefings, with guided tours (if you want them) for 20-30 minutes, then you're left on your own under the boat to extend your dive time as you wish. We were not given a time limit, though they do run two trips a day (morning and afternoon), so they must have some return time in mind. They treated all divers like responsible adults. They rinsed it and hung the wetsuits and BCs after every trip. I won't comment here on the actual diving, as that is not a feature of Ocean Frontiers. I'll probably write a review for the Travelin' Divers Chapbook, though, that will include comments about the underwater attractions.

There were two very minor downsides that in no way diminish my satisfaction with our visit there. (1) Many of the divers were staying elsewhere, and dropping in for a day or two of diving. So the group doesn't have the same continuity and camaraderie that you might see at a more insular resort. And, (2) upon returning my rental car, I found I was charged $4.50 per day government fee. I would have thought that should be part of providing a rental car with the package.

That's it. Really good place. If you want Grand Cayman, but to get away from the Georgetown/Seven Mile Beach scene, this is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBroadbelt, General Manager at Compass Point Dive Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Thank you for the review. Glad you had a great time staying and diving with us. Many of our divers stay with us for 5-7 days, but you are correct with your comment as we do also get divers coming in for just 2-3 days of diving too.

Come back soon!

Steve Broadbelt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The East end of Cayman is much more secluded and quiet than the West and Compass Point is a great, quaint place to enjoy this end of the island. This side of the island is great for running, walking, and biking. While you have to drive futhur for other (non scuba!) things to do during the day & night but it's still worth the stay due to its peacefulness.

Fantastic dive outfit w/ great staff (my primary reason for staying), but the double condos (didn't see the singles) are also great for relaxing and enjoying the ocean breeze and beautiful coast. The separate baths for each bedroom are great, and all the rooms are a good size.

The recent addition w/ leisure pool, hot tub, and grills is a nice upgrade. Only thing that's missing is the poolside bar!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTDilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The staff at Compass Point go well beyond expectations in providing high quality service. They know your name by the time they check you in, greet you with a smile and are always willing to help with whatever you may need. If you're a diver, the service here just doesn't get any better. The dive staff ensure your equipment is well cared for and do everything possible to make your dives as easy and carefree as possible.

The accomodations are top notch with 2 private bedrooms and 2 full baths. Having a fully furnished condo for vacation is great because we can prepare meals with ease and still get the convenience of a hotel like clean up if you want service on a daily basis. I like being able to select how often I want someone to clean the room as well.

The new pool and hot tub are fantastic additions to the location as we've vacationed here several times now. Great way to relax after a few dives or when you just want to spend the evening relaxing.

As always, we really look forward to returning here soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjwycoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Joseph, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Had such a great time at Compass Point. Love the new pool and hot tub. Had a great vacation that was completely relaxing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daltonsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We recently returned from a one week stay at Compass Point Condominiums and diving with Ocean Frontiers.

We have another great time and very relaxing stay. The 2-bedroom ocean front condo was spacious and beautiful. Breakfast on the ocean side patio was always great.

The second phase of this development was recently completed. We really enjoyed the addition of a second pool, hot tub and gas grill area. The huge patio that allows view of the ocean is beautiful. This is a great addition to Compass Point.

Diving was again great with the extensive reef structure on the East End of Grand Cayman island. We saw several sharks and turtles along with the array of typical coral fish. We did see a giant grouper which we seldom have seen in the past.

We visited a new restaurant that replaced Portifono's. The food was great.

Will definetely be returning to Compass Point.

The dive service at Ocean Frontiers is second to none!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wycoffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at Compass Point. The rooms are lovely and quiet with balconies overlooking the ocean. The kitchen is completely stocked, right down to the dish soap. Each unit also has its own washer/dryer. Each bedroom has its own TV.
The valet diving is terrific-the boats and gear are in good shape and well maintained. The staff is professional and very conscientious about safety. They are also intimately familiar with the many different world class dive sites and able to point out sea-life that we would otherwise have missed. They are also respectful of the sea-life and take care to keep it from being harmed. We have absolutely enjoyed this hotel, the diving and dive staff every time we have stayed here. That's why we keep coming back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitroxbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Property: Compass Point Dive Resort
Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing