We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Compass Point Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$416
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$163
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$250
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
US$549
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,033
US$903
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$223
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$619
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
US$326
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
564
67
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
564
67
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontierseagle raysgreat divingswim throughseast end divinggrand caymanlionfish tacoswasher and dryervalet servicerental carvalet divingfull kitchenbar and grillon site restaurantlion fishopen waterbedroom condo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Compass Point and Ocean Frontiers together make an excellent combination. We stayed in anime bedroom condo on the ocean front side, no extra cost for a room with a view, with a pig including 2-tank dives each day, option to add more dives. Included was a rental car from Avis. Upon check in, 2 crates were delivered to our room to put our dive gear in, with our names. They picked them up and all week they hauled our gear to the boat, rinsed it, dried our wetsuits, everything. Even when we had to dive one time with another operation because of scheduling, they loaded our car for us. The condo was charming, clean, full kitchen, balcony to dry bathing suits, 2 pools, BBQs to use. If you want to stay at East End in GC, stay with these folks...they ROCK! Only thing missing is a restaurant.

Room Tip: Just ask for an ocean view on the 1st flr
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubagirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBroadbelt, General Manager at Compass Point Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Bar & Grill coming soon. Stand-by and we'll keep you posted :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

There's a reason this place has a lot of 5 star reviews through trip advisor. BECAUSE IT IS AN AWESOME OPERATION. Everything from the condos to the dive operators through Ocean Frontiers. Great vacation. Quiet East End was fantastic for a relaxing vacation with fabulous scuba diving. We also went shore diving at Sunset House, Cracked Conch and Lighthouse just to mix it up a little from the boat diving. You will not be disappointed with Compass Point and Ocean Frontiers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NC-Sunshine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We traveled down to the East Side of Grand Cayman for a week filled full of some of the world's best diving and Compass Point did not disappoint. Upon arrival we headed to our room to find crates next to the door to drop our Scuba gear in. The next morning it was picked up and taken to the boat (we were diving with the onsite outfitter Ocean Frontiers) and we did not touch it again until the final day. Being as this is a review of the Dive Resort however I will stick to that largely, rather than review OF here.

The resort is small but nice. It has 2 pools (the one on the main deck is mainly used for teaching during the day and the second one is across the street in with the new addition. Both pools were nice, clean, and very adequate considering as much time as we were going to be in the Ocean and as little as were were going to be in the pool.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and accommodating from Day 1 and we enjoyed just hanging out and talking to them all very much. There was a diver's welcome Rum Punch Party on Sunday where they give you a nice lay of the land and all of the dive trips they offer throughout the week.

I am sure if you are considering staying here that you realize it is on the East End, which is about 40 minutes from Seven Mile Beach. The privacy of the East Side is exactly what we were looking for, however if you are wanting to spend every night out eating and need tons of other things to do besides diving then the East End is definitely going to be out of the way for you. And a car is an absolute must if you are going to be staying on this side just FYI.

The condo itself was comfortable and large enough for the two of us. I do not recall what the resort website said in terms of a bed but it should be noted that the room we were in contained only a Full-Sized mattress and was not really all that comfortable even for two small people (we weigh 275 lbs together). It was also quite springy so if either of us moved, the other was awake immediately. All in all that is why I had to give the resort only 2 stars for sleep quality because if all of the rooms have this small of a bed, then good, restful sleep is going to be hard to come by. One of us often ended up sleeping on the couch because the bed was so small.

Like the previous reviewer, I also feel that the entire cost of the car rental should be included when free car rental is stated and although it was only a $30 charge roughly, a guest should not have to pay taxes on a car rental that is considered to be "included with the room."

With that said however, I would recommend Compass Point to anyone looking to go to Grand Cayman on a dive trip. Ocean Frontiers is a top, top notch dive operator and I will probably never dive with anyone else in GCM after having dived with them. I would not recommend Compass Point to anyone looking just looking for a place to stay and relax as there are better options on the island.

I will more than likely stay there again in the future but will also consider other options close by simply because of the terrible bed. If the bed was replaced with a queen or heaven forbid a king then I would recommend Compass Point no matter what the purpose of your trip to Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for Beach Front
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrighj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBroadbelt, General Manager at Compass Point Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear Wrighj9,

We greatly appreciate your trip report and agree with all your comments other than what appears to be a misunderstanding in regard to bed sizes.

The smallest bed size we have in any of our condo bedrooms is a Queen Sized bed. We do not have any full size beds. A twin bed is 38" wide, full size bed is 54" wide (sometimes called Double), Queen is 60" wide and a King is 76" wide (same size as 2 twins put together).

This does not negate the fact that you were not comfortable in a queen bed and would have preferred a larger bed. There is no need for you to look else where :) Our One Bedroom Deluxe Condos and our Studio Suite all have King Size beds at Compass Point Dive Resort.

As additional note, all of the condos do have the pull down Murphy Beds (Twin Size) in the living room and some condos also have a pull out couch as well as the Murphy beds.

We greatly appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed your dive vacation.

Please contact me directly on your next trip to the Cayman Islands.

Kind regards,

Steve Broadbelt
Managing Director
Compass Point Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed at Compass Point and dove with Ocean Frontiers on a package that included six two-tank boat dives and a small rental car for the week. Lesley, the reservation specialist, was extremely responsive to email inquiries.

You can opt for any level of maid service (i.e., just towels and sheets, full make-ready, or nothing) for each day of your stay. Of course, anything more than "nothing" does cost extra. The condo was immaculate when we checked in; we opted for no service, and were perfectly happy at that. Just needed a little sweeping toward the end of the week.

Our one-bedroom condo had a reasonably equipped kitchen with a small "starter kit" including dish and laundry detergent, paper towels, and the like. Very comfortable bedroom with queen bed, lots of storage options, individual reading lights, and ceiling fan. Full bath includes jetted tub (we didn't use it). Large living room had LCD TV, DVD player, stereo, and two murphy beds, in case you want to sleep more than two people. It opened to a balcony overlooking the beachfront and dock. We could hear waves breaking on the barrier reef all week -- lovely!!

Management really has their act together. Everything worked, and they thought of every contingency, in case it didn't. We made good use of our kitchen for breakfasts and lunches, so we felt more free to spend on dinner. However, there is a local restaurant a few minutes walk north, Vivine's Kitchen, which is *very* unpretentious, but has wonderful island food at really reasonable prices. Other restaurants were equally good in their own ways, but lacking those "reasonable prices."

Like the accomodation, the dive operation was a well oiled machine. We left our gear in large crates outside our room on check-in. Someone came for it, and it was on the boat, set up on our first tank, every day afterward. Thorough dive site briefings, with guided tours (if you want them) for 20-30 minutes, then you're left on your own under the boat to extend your dive time as you wish. We were not given a time limit, though they do run two trips a day (morning and afternoon), so they must have some return time in mind. They treated all divers like responsible adults. They rinsed it and hung the wetsuits and BCs after every trip. I won't comment here on the actual diving, as that is not a feature of Ocean Frontiers. I'll probably write a review for the Travelin' Divers Chapbook, though, that will include comments about the underwater attractions.

There were two very minor downsides that in no way diminish my satisfaction with our visit there. (1) Many of the divers were staying elsewhere, and dropping in for a day or two of diving. So the group doesn't have the same continuity and camaraderie that you might see at a more insular resort. And, (2) upon returning my rental car, I found I was charged $4.50 per day government fee. I would have thought that should be part of providing a rental car with the package.

That's it. Really good place. If you want Grand Cayman, but to get away from the Georgetown/Seven Mile Beach scene, this is ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenBroadbelt, General Manager at Compass Point Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you for the review. Glad you had a great time staying and diving with us. Many of our divers stay with us for 5-7 days, but you are correct with your comment as we do also get divers coming in for just 2-3 days of diving too.

Come back soon!

Steve Broadbelt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The East end of Cayman is much more secluded and quiet than the West and Compass Point is a great, quaint place to enjoy this end of the island. This side of the island is great for running, walking, and biking. While you have to drive futhur for other (non scuba!) things to do during the day & night but it's still worth the stay due to its peacefulness.

Fantastic dive outfit w/ great staff (my primary reason for staying), but the double condos (didn't see the singles) are also great for relaxing and enjoying the ocean breeze and beautiful coast. The separate baths for each bedroom are great, and all the rooms are a good size.

The recent addition w/ leisure pool, hot tub, and grills is a nice upgrade. Only thing that's missing is the poolside bar!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTDilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews