We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving Grand Cayman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diving Grand Cayman”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This place was excellent. The condo and view were great. When you spend 10 days in the same place with another couple and have fun that says alot. That aside, the last time we were in Grand Cayman was 1993. Grand Cayman except for the East End has allowed its reefs to be overfished and overdived. The dive guides at Compass Point know their reefs but they can do nothing about the lack of large fish on the reefs. Grand Cayman MUST put a stop to fishing inside a large area around their island. Until that happens I will advise friends to find someplace else to dive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseScarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    61
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
132
209
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were immediately impressed w/this place. The rooms had every creature comfort. Kitchen: dishwasher, stove, oven, full fridge, toaster, blender, coffee maker, pots/pans, plates/bowls, cups/mugs, dishwash liquid. If you're going to use the oven, bring tin foil. If you're a coffee snob, bring you're favorite grind.

Bedroom: chest, closet with plenty of hangers, TV, nightstands, clock.

Washer/dryer, iron, ironing board, mop, broom, laundry detergent.

Living room: sofa, TV, boom box, books, Scubalopoly, coffee table. Ocean view w/patio area.

Bathroom: jacuzzi tub, hair dryer, soap, tissue, lots of towels. Bring your own shampoo.

The entire floor was tiled, I guess because they figure we'll be dragging wet gear and clothing around.

They offer coffee and water by the dive shop. The people here, mostly Brits, were very nice. The diving spots offered by Ocean Frontier were all spectacular so if your main objective is to dive, you won't be disappointed by staying here. As other reviewers mentioned, if you want more city action, you should stay in Seven-mile beach as the drive there from the East side is pretty tedious.

Minor critique: More hooks in the bathroom to hang wet clothes would be nice.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0garibaldi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This place is really special. From the moment my wife and I checked in, the staff made every effort to make us feel welcome. The room is beautiful, especially with the view of the ocean off the balcony. The diving staff also goes out of their way to make sure everyone is safe, comfortable, and getting the best out of the dives. I'm a new diver, and was a little wary about going down 100 ft at first, but the dive masters were very helpful in getiing me to feel safe about it. The equipment is great. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The resort was very nice, well maintained and clean. It is isolated and you do need to drive to all activities and restaurants. There is a market and liquor store fairly close. The diving is great. The resort is a long trip to all of the so called tourist stuff. Staff was very good and the diving was effortless, never touch your gear once you are there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at Compass Point for the month of December. The diving was excellent and the accommodations are top shelf. The staff is also excellent!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubacjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

If your are a diver, you can not miss a trip to Compass Point. This is the greatest place to stay if you want a lay-back dive trip. To say this is a World Class resort would be an under statement. As for the dive operation - Ocean Frontiers, this has to be one of the best in the world. Set up your equipment once at the start of the week and you are done, the staff takes care of all the washing for you. The East end of the island has to have the best diving found on Grand Cayman. Would I go back, you can put that down as a for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverJack130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The photos tell most of the story. The rest:

The best dive operator i've been with.
Pristine sites
Good divers - Even the novices are serious about their skills
Quiet and restful (no nightlife here). Again, for serious divers (or kiteboarders)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,718 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,604 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Property: Compass Point Dive Resort
Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing