We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the ocean front condos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the ocean front condos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The units are upscale, with jacuzzi tubs in both baths in the 2-BR unit. Kitchens are well equipped with nice cookware. There are gas and charcoal BBQ grills. To this nice way of staying, add the dive staff at Ocean Frontiers and their service/attitude (along with princess diving) and you have a winning combination. Stayed 8 days and had a delightful time. Will definitely be back to continue working on the Green Shorts Challenge (diving all 55 sites).

Room Tip: We like the ground floor units as it's easy to walk out the door and down the dock to the dive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    58
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
198
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was my second trip to stay at Compass Point and dive with Ocean Frontiers. The staff are very welcoming and helpful with checking in. they'll check your certification and give you the low down on amenities and how the dive operation works. you'll find a large crate outside your condo for each occupant with their names on them. Place all of your dive gear in the crate and leave it outside your condo the on the first morning. Staff will pick it up and lay your gear out on the boat in your assigned seat. Your gear will be rinsed and locked up each evening and back at your location on board each morning. Dive briefs are through and easy to understand. The dives are well led by experienced staff.
Condos are clean, but a little worn. Air conditioning works well. In-unit laundry means you don't have to bring as much in the way of clothing, as you can do a load mid-week. The kitchen appliances work well, but utensils aren't too plentiful. There is an extra charge for daily room cleaning. There are charcoal and gas grills available for cooking, as well as numerous places to eat nearby (usually involving a car ride). My advice is to stop at the local grocery store and liquor store outside the airport and get your shopping done early. This is a GREAT way to get away from the hordes of annoying people invading Georgetown. Check them out.

Room Tip: Ask for unit 110. Ground floor and closest to the dive boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammerhead141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned from our 5th trip to Compass Point Dive Resort in the Cayman Islands. The condominiums are first class all the way and the onsite dive company, Ocean Frontiers, is by far the most top notch company for your best diving experience. They have certfied both our older children as divers in a most professional and personal manner. Their boats are comfortable and the service of the captains and dive crew is fabulous. You are given tours of each dive site and the crew takes time to point out many creatures and formations while u are under water. Even if you are not a diver, the pool and hot tub is relaxing and enjoyable. You are made to feel so welcome and important. The resort is spotless, there are many restaurants now in the area and several within walking distance. Eagle Rays Grill is onsite at Compass Point and will be opening soon with a most delicious menu. ..We will never stay anywhere else when diving in Grand Cayman. It is peaceful and serene away from the hustle and bustle of town. You can't find any better than Compass Point.

Room Tip: all the rooms at compass point are beautiful. The front rooms are beach front rooms, but some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I am just back from a fabulous week of diving at Compass Point Dive Resort.
First of all, the location is superb! Being in Grand Cayman's East End, this resort is away from the crowd of 7 Miles Beach and George Town in a very quiet and beautiful location. The accomodations are immaculately clean, well supplied and very spacious. The well appointed kitchen allows you cook and dine-in. The area has several very good restaurants (see specific reviews of Tukka and The Lighthouse restaurants). Every unit has a very comfortable balcony with chairs and tables to relax or eat in front of a wonderful view. The sandy beach is nice for a nap on some reading. The staff is amazing and always ready to assist. The property has two pools, one that is use for dive training purposes and another one, resort style, across the road from the rest of the complex.
And most importantly, these amazing apartments are just a few steps from amazing diving (see separate review on Ocean Frontier).
An absolute 5 star!
And a place to return to!

Room Tip: The apartments on the outsides of the buildings are much brighter because of additional windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Legal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Another beautiful week at Compass Pt diving with the crew of Ocean Frontiers. It was good to see our old friends & make new ones ;o) You just can't beat the team work here & the Princess Diving ;o) We are more than half way there to earning our Green Shorts ! See you all again in August ;o) Thank you everyone....best wishes to all of you ;o)

Room Tip: All the condos are beautiful...we have stayed in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimshawsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Compass Point continues to amaze me in the quality of service they and Ocean Frontiers provide to their customers. You really don't feel like a customer....it is more like family when you are greeted at the front desk. The resort is always clean and comfortable and each condo is well appointed. The pool and hot tub area provide a gathering spot to relax and meet other divers. The views are great, and rolling out of bed with a short walk to the dive boat can not be beat.
The office staff provides great service in scheduling all your dives, and are there to answer any questions that you might have. Everyone greets you and makes you feel at home during your stay.
A great place on the East End!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Compass Point and Ocean Frontiers have quite simply figured it out. The condos at Compass Point are spacious, fresh and incredibly well appointed. The check in process is efficient and informative without belabouring the point. The diving scheduling, timing and billing are streamlined and make it absolutely EFFORTLESS for the guest.

I am uber anal, I ask a million questions, I take nothing for granted, I confirm everything twelve times... NONE OF THAT WAS NECESSARY. They had it all taken care of, all sorted and printed out on one perfectly easy to understand piece of paper. Here are the dates of your dives, the check in times, the boat you will be on and the gas mix you are using... simple. That didn’t stop me from sending a million emails before I landed, all of which were answered in a concise, timely manner and never once did they tell me (as they would have been right to do) "dude, relax... we do this sort of thing for a living you know..."

Now to the diving. WOW! The walls on the East side of Grand Cayman are EPIC. Tight cavernous descending swim-throughs to a wall that drops of into 'The Deep' (approximately 3000 feet). Deep dive depths around 100 feet followed by varied and interesting shallow dives between 40-65 feet. I did 4 dives a day most days (5 the first day). Never the same location twice during my 5 days. The boats were clean, well maintained and staffed by real professionals. The dive masters/instructors were a mix of Yankee and Brit. They were expert, knowledgeable and fun.

I would wake up to the sound of tanks clanking, walk 15 seconds to the boat, get on, ride out to the dive site (furthest was maybe 1/2 hour) and by the time I got there, I had my Nitrox analyzed, regs set and I was ready to go. They helped you into and out of your equipment if you wished. They helped you out of the water and they had your tanks switched before you could say… “No thanks, I can do it.”

The Dive briefing was informative and fun without turning into a long drawn out process. The DM would take us down, guide those who wished it, then return us to below the boat and ascend. From there on out you were on your own to explore and take in the AMAZING GRAND CAYMAN EAST SIDE DIVING EXPERIENCE.

I cannot say enough about this place. I will be going back. I just wish it were tomorrow.

Room Tip: Room 122 is not on the ocean, but it is on the pool, with an ocean view, walk out access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rucksack-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Property: Compass Point Dive Resort
Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing