We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb diving vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our 4th trip to Compass Point Dive Resort, diving with Ocean Frontiers. The condo was clean, well appointed & certainly adequate for our stay. The dive dock is just outside our door, so it was the ultimate in convenience. There is now a bar/grill onsite which helps. We only ate there once, & it was pretty good. Overall, this is a very nice place to stay, & we will definitely return for our next dive vacation in Grand Cayman.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was the most relaxing, easiest vacation in a long time. Condo on the beach was clean, comfortable and big enough for a family of four divers: mom,dad and two adult kids. Kitchen had all the basics in good working order: stove, microwave, oven, dishwasher, fridge with freezer, automatic coffee maker, blender. Complaints would be trivial: knives not very sharp, only one cutting board, no wine stopper . . . I have to work to find an excuse to whine, but that's not really fair, because I feel confident that if I had complained about any of these things, the staff would have fixed it right away.
We were provided a welcome package that included paper towels, dishwasher and dish soap, and clean sponge for the kitchen, as well as a single use laundry soap. I had a hair clip, which I used to close the liquid soap pack, so I was able to get four loads out of it (the water is very soft and the washer very small). Because the washer/dryer worked so well, we really only needed a few days clothes - next time I'll bring foodstuff.
Food, especially condiments, was very expensive. There was salt and pepper in the condo, but you will need to buy everything else to cook, and it just does not make sense to buy spices or seasonings. I really like to cook, but it's hard without some more seasonings and fixings. Next time I will bring dried seasoning packs, so that the high carbs divers need can be flavored better.
If you're not going to cook a lot yourself, the food we had at East End restaurants was excellent. Eat lion fish tacos at the on-site Eagle Ray and you're not only well fed, but you are part of the solution! Bombay Chopsticks was also very good, with several vegetarian options.
Diving was very good. Crews helpful and friendly, ocean warm and relatively calm. Saw lots of diverse sea life, including squid, sharks, turtles, parrotfish, angelfish, eels and barracuda. Love the fact that you get off the boat and you're done! Don't have to carry anything; the shop took care of rinsing and hanging everything, and had it all on board when we arrived the next day to dive. So easy, and fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcdt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Spent July 6-15 at the Compass Point, and diving with the great team at Ocean Frontiers for the 6th time. Once again, the dive operation was superb with customer service and satisfaction. Stayed in the 2-BR suites for the first time, having stayed in the 1-BRs every time previously. The resort staff, including housekeeping, once again highly responsive to our needs (like a new coffee pot to replace the defuct one). The suites are fully equipped and we were provided with dishwasher soap, first days worth of coffee, and coffee filters. Having an in-room washer and dryer means we have to pack fewer clothes (undies, T-shirts, shorts), which helps on the airline weight limits for SCUBA divers. Sorry that the new bar and grill, Eagle Rays, was not quite ready to open. But we do know that the menu looks great, and it will be well-run by the folks down the street at Tukka Restaurant. Ocean Frontiers is an incredibly efficient diving operation, and the valet diving experience once again one to really write about. Dive Masters Kevin, Matt, Dean Elliott, Reggie, Dez, Heather, and all the others on our boat were fantastic. Love their sense of humor and rapport that they establish with all the divers. It was great having the same divers on the boat all week, including my own group of 6. The diving was great, with more reef sharks seen on this trip than I have seen anytime previously. Turtles were plentiful, but only one eagle ray all week. You can't go wrong with Compass Point, and I am already looking forward to my next trip there to hopefully complete the Green Shorts Challenge (diving all 55 sites on their menu; I completed my 45th on this trip). Being 40 minutes from the hype and traffic of 7-mile beach is an added bonus. Oh -- and try the new Italian Kitchen restaurant (formerly the home of Dunkin' Donuts across the street from the Moritts). We had dinner there twice, it was so good! Nice to have another good restaurant on the East End.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We chose Compass Point for our first trip to the Cayman Islands for a few reasons: 1. They had great reviews. 2. We are divers and they offer fantastic diving with boats that are docked right outside your door. 3. We thought we would like the quieter East End compared to Seven Mile Beach.
Compass Point far exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were spacious, clean and comfortable (we especially like having a w/d in our rooms). We stayed in an ocean front room on the first floor and it was quiet and convenient. The people were very friendly (both the office staff and the diving staff). The diving was amazing. We brought almost all of our own gear (you don't have to bring your own gear, we chose to) and we loved handing it over on the day we arrived and having it set up for us and then cleaned after every dive. We didn't deal with our gear again until after our last dive! The boats were very comfortable and large enough that we were able to go out regardless of weather (it rained on us one day, high winds on another, and we dove anyway). The dive staff were knowledgeable and friendly and really made an effort to take us to sites suitable for the group and the weather. We dove nine different sites in four dives (we did two tank dives every day for four days, plus one night dive). One nice plus is they offer guides with the dives, and the guide will take you out (to a wall, through swim throughs, whatever) and then lead everyone back to the boat where you can explore within sight of the boat until you get to 700psi, when you should start making your ascent. This was a great opportunity we haven't had elsewhere, where our bottom time was limited by the highest oxygen consumer.
The only downside, if you could call it that, was the resort is located pretty far from everything else on the island. Granted, the island is only 22 miles across but with a max speed of 50mph (and that is rare, it's usually much lower) it takes a while to get anywhere. (Every bit of 45 minutes to GT/7 Mile Beach.) We are still very glad we stayed off the beaten path, the diving was better and it was quieter, but if you are the type to hit the bars every night and enjoy the hustle of a downtown area, Compass Point is probably not for you. There are several really good restaurants near the resort, but the resort did not have its own restaurant (although they were opening one the week we left).
Overall we were very happy with our trip to the Cayman Islands and when we go back we will stay at Compass Point again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austinfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom ocean front unit # 307. Every morning we woke up the unit was 78 to 79 degrees F. Apparently the units 309,308,307,206,205,204,103,102, and 101 are "Eco green and the air conditioning doesn't work well. The units on the other side where our friends stayed were not "Eco green and the AC worked great and the units stayed cool all night all the time. The resort recommends that you do not set your AC below 76 degrees F and 80 degrees when you leave. I've told the front desk every day that the AC is not working and they tell me they checked it and its working fine.
The beds are just adequate not the most comfortable I have experienced. The Television is great and gets most channels that are in the US cable system. Bathrooms come with a nice spa tub. Washers and dryers and a full refrigerator, coffee maker ironing board are available.
The dive operation is first class you never have to touch your gear after the first day they do it all. From set up to tear down to rinsing.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in. The east building as mentioned in the beginning of my review. These are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickstelmat308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The units are upscale, with jacuzzi tubs in both baths in the 2-BR unit. Kitchens are well equipped with nice cookware. There are gas and charcoal BBQ grills. To this nice way of staying, add the dive staff at Ocean Frontiers and their service/attitude (along with princess diving) and you have a winning combination. Stayed 8 days and had a delightful time. Will definitely be back to continue working on the Green Shorts Challenge (diving all 55 sites).

Room Tip: We like the ground floor units as it's easy to walk out the door and down the dock to the dive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webbontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was my second trip to stay at Compass Point and dive with Ocean Frontiers. The staff are very welcoming and helpful with checking in. they'll check your certification and give you the low down on amenities and how the dive operation works. you'll find a large crate outside your condo for each occupant with their names on them. Place all of your dive gear in the crate and leave it outside your condo the on the first morning. Staff will pick it up and lay your gear out on the boat in your assigned seat. Your gear will be rinsed and locked up each evening and back at your location on board each morning. Dive briefs are through and easy to understand. The dives are well led by experienced staff.
Condos are clean, but a little worn. Air conditioning works well. In-unit laundry means you don't have to bring as much in the way of clothing, as you can do a load mid-week. The kitchen appliances work well, but utensils aren't too plentiful. There is an extra charge for daily room cleaning. There are charcoal and gas grills available for cooking, as well as numerous places to eat nearby (usually involving a car ride). My advice is to stop at the local grocery store and liquor store outside the airport and get your shopping done early. This is a GREAT way to get away from the hordes of annoying people invading Georgetown. Check them out.

Room Tip: Ask for unit 110. Ground floor and closest to the dive boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammerhead141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
506 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,705 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £165 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing