We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Compass Point Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$416
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
US$599
US$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,007
US$946
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$287
US$247
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$619
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Nest Inn(Bodden Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
566
67
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
566
67
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontierseagle raysgreat divingswim throughseast end divinggrand caymanlionfish tacoswasher and dryervalet servicerental carvalet divingfull kitchenbar and grillon site restaurantlion fishopen waterbedroom condo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Compass Point has the nicest rooms I have ever encountered in the carribean. To add context we travel very inexpensively and often to timeshare destinations. Check in was quick and efficient, our room was in the newer building across the road. The room had a large balcony with marginally obstructed view of the ocean and a clean line of the pool and hot tub. The room was painted in a soft aqua color and great detail was put into the details that decorated the unit from the canvas mounted sea life photos to the seashell shaped shower rings. Beautiful kitchen with stainless steel full sized appliances. The room was spotlessly clean. Even the grout on the tiled floors was perfectly pristine. We were traveling with young children so were unable to take advantage of the dive program at the resort. Since all of the other guests were there to dive, we had the pool to ourself during the day. Quiet and low key this resort is great if you want to dive or do nothing at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Accommodations: Compass Point takes all the hassle out of travel. For starters pick up your car across the street from the airport and make your first stop be the grocery store as dining out can be very expensive. Be prepared to drive on the LEFT and use roundabouts! I did not feel the need to get car insurance but that is up to your preference. Your condo with have everything you need to do serious cooking. Full fridge, freezer, stove, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle, baking dishes and all of your service wares. Recommend maybe bringing some spices rather than buying them just to kick things up a bit. RESIST overpacking as there is a washer/dryer in the unit and Compass Point provides a nice little welcome package that includes laundry detergent, cleaning supplies and a small package of coffee. The only bathroom toiletries you'll need to bring is shampoo and toothpaste. Robes and towels are provided. Comfortable beds and furniture, flat screen TV, sizable balconies, AC and free WiFI.

Diving: After check in place your dive gear in the assigned crates and JB will come and gather it to get them ready for the next morning. Everything is locked up and secure so you will never worry about your gear. Next morning roll out of bed, check in to see which boat your on and be on your way. The crew will have your gear set-up on the tanks all ready to go. After a short ride out to the dive site you'll be briefed on the area and you can choose to go off on your own or follow the Dive Master. Water is on avg 82 F so go bare or at max wear a 2/3mm. After your dives the crew will handle the rinsing and care for your gear as well as have it set up for you the next morning! Head up and grab a bite at Eagle Rays bar and grill for some Lion Fish Tacos or just relax and take in the ocean blues.

OVERALL: The condo was so much like home we really were sad to leave. Everyone is friendly and helpful and you will want for nothing. If you want to venture out it is easy and safe to get around. This is a 5 star PADI resort so the crew will absolutely look after you at any experience level and give you the best they can offer day in and day out. We've only been back 3 days and we're already planning our return visit!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206, a one bedroom oceanfront and even though we were across from Eagle Rays we never experienced any disturbances. We had a queen bed and two Muprhy single beds in the front room. Really any room would be great at this resort.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent a week at Compass Point on a dive vacation for my husband. We shared a condo with two other friends who are also divers. They all had nothing but good things to say about the dive operation. They loved the service. Once you checked in, all you had to do was get up in the morning and get on the boat. The staff took care of the rest and did it very well. I'm not a diver, but I loved the location. It is far away from the cruise ship crowds on the west side of the island. It's quiet and beautiful. The property is well maintained. Our condo was quite spacious and very clean. It was well stocked with everything we could have wanted. While the divers were out in the mornings, I road bicycles and explored the area around Compass Point. There are several good restaurants and a few parks. If you want to do much shopping, this isn't the location. But it was perfect for relaxing by the pool and reading a good book

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room. There is another building across the street nearer the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Dive vacations don't get any easier or more relaxing. The condos are cheerfully decorated, spacious and have large balconies overlooking the pool or ocean. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to do serious cooking - lots of pyrex baking dishes and bowls, good quality skillets, measuring cups/spoons, graters, and more. Coffee pots that brew into a covered carafe -- we loved having hot coffee during surface intervals back at the resort. Rooms also have washers and dryers with enough soap for a few loads of laundry. If you're staying on the older side next to the ocean, make sure to check out the pool and hot tub across the street.

Diving could not have been more convenient. Upon arrival, guests place their gear in a plastic crate outside their room. Wake up the next morning and walk down the steps to the dock to find your gear on the boat and already assembled. After diving, the amazing crew breaks down your gear, washes it and stores it in a locked shed.

The resort and dive shop staff were tremendously organized and helpful - excellent experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at Compass Point Dive Resort during a quick trip to Grand Cayman. The main purpose of our trip was to refresh our dive skills and get back in the water -- literally. It didn't hurt that we'd also have a day or so for pure relaxation in the Caribbean sunshine. So, Compass Point was a perfect choice. The one bedroom ocean view room provided us with two distinct sleeping areas, a comfortable seating area and a small kitchen (used mostly by us for drinks and snacks). The best and most convenient feature was that the dive boats left right from the on-property dock, just steps away from our room. (Note: the hotel is home to Ocean Frontiers Divers, a top-notch, highly-rated dive company on the island).

It's important to note that there is no actual beach here at Compass Point, but the car that comes with your reservation, enables you to be mobile and get out and visit some of Cayman's other beautiful beaches both in the East End and closer to town. Seven mile beach is about 40 minutes away, but is definitely worth the trip to walk on the soft,white sands and swim in the crystal clear, blue waters. Rum Point, a bit closer to the resort, is also a fun trip for a few hours. But I wouldn't recommend going when there is a cruise ship in town or on the weekend. It can get crowded.

Lastly, one of the benefits of the East End is that it is away from all of the crowds and hustle bustle of Georgetown, but that's what made it so special to us. There are a few really good restaurant choices as well including The Lighthouse and Italian Kitchen.

If you're looking for lots of activity, grand hotels and multiple amenities, this is not for you. But it is a terrific, low-key way to enjoy a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Definitely reserve an ocean front room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews