We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for divers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just returned from a week at Compass Point and diving with Oceans Frontier. The condos are nice and clean and have everything you need. The boats are right at the hotel and the dive staff take care of everything. You never mess with your gear once you arrive until departure. The dive staff are very knowledgable, attentive, helpful and fun. Extremely customer oriented. Loved our week, can't wait to return. It is very quiet on this end of the island so if you are looking for lots of activity, noise, etc. this is not the place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Compass Point Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Picked Compass Point so that we can finish our dive cert. The staff was friendly and patient to help us get through all the various requirements. The dive sites were great, and the staff will try to pick other sites if you have been to one proir. The condo was clean, and well kept. Great location away from all the busy Georgetown stuff. If you like to dive or want to get your cert, this is this place

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

WE have stayed at Compass Point Dive Resort several times. The condos are clean, convenient, and more that I expected in a rental. All of the amenities are available and the staff is there to make your stay comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happypappy714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Compass Point resort for the last 3 days of our two week stay on the island and it was awesome! Far away from the tourist area there is charm and character on this end that just isn't possible on SMB.
When we checked in Marc took the time to walk over to our room with us and tell us all about the resort and the things to do in the area - he also recommended a great restaurant not far away.
This hotel primarily caters to divers (although we are not in that category), so one of the greatest things is that it is extremely quiet at night, while the divers are getting their rest for the next day.
The room was HUGE, had everything that we could ask for...even a blender in the full size kitchen! Being able to do laundry in the room was awesome too.
Neat touch...they have cell phones in the room that you can take with you and call internationally as well if you wish to purchase credits, it was cool to leave the hotel and have a phone!
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again ourselves too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you want to get away from the overdevelopment of 7-mile beach, mega resorts, and chain restaurants, this is the place to go. On the quiet end of the island that gives you a feel for what Grand Cayman was before it became an outpost of South Florida. Very nice condos, all with balcony with ocean view. Very professional dive operation (Ocean Frontiers) that takes you to both the southside and northside of the east end, depending on wind and current conditions. Not a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but if you book directly with the resort your booking includes a rental from Avis, so you can get out and about and buy groceries nearby. I'd go again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and 4 daughters just spent the week after Christmas at Compass Point diving with the Ocean Horizons team on site. We have been on a number of dive vacations and have been to GCI several times.THIS WAS OUR BEST DIVE VACATION. First of all, everything was exactly as described - No Negative Surprises. Everyone was professional and extremely pleasant from reservations to the housekeeper to the food service people to the dive guides. It is the perfect combination of laid back feel and highly competent service. After delivering our dive equipment the first day, we did not touch it all week - the dive guides handled all the set ups and breakdowns (no sherpa type activity for dad). Great family time - cannot wait for a return visit

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joecool1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a clockwork operation that leave nothing to be desired if you are a scuba diver. Very comfortable large fully equipped condo units in combination with Ocean Frontiers dive operation is about the best we have experienced in 25 years of dive travel around the word. If you are a diver who travel with non diving family, the nearby The Reef resort would probably better option to stay.
If you want to learn and get certified for scuba diving, this is about as good as it gets.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank redberryphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,340 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
436 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,667 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £136 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing