We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Divers - In every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Perfect for Divers - In every way”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have been to Compass Point 3 times now on vacation. If you are a diver - this is diver paradise. First the good parts - 1) Dive Quality -among the best in the entire world i've been too - there are stunning reefs and wall dives just minutes away from the resort by boat. Additionally, since it's the East End - it's hard to get to - you'll never have a crowd at any dive site. 2) Integrated Hotel/Dive operation - you simply wake up - walk to the boat and your dive gear is set up. No need to drive from a hotel to a dive operator - when you arrive, put your shoes at the door and you'll need them when you leave -but never in-between. wonderful way to vacation. 3) Kitchen option - each unit has a decently enough equipped kitchen so you don't have to buy your meals out every time. This is a really nice option - and can save you a lot of money. However, be aware that fresh food costs a small (sometimes large) ransom on this island. 4) Condo Quality - it's a first rate condo with all the amenities - TV, A/C, shower etc. Definitely nothing lacking here at all. US/UK vacationers will not be disappointed or miss anything. 5) Dive Operator - A+ operator in Ocean Frontiers. This staff is incredibly knowledgable, friendly, helpful - and most importantly - SAFE. I had the best dives day after day - and one great bonus is that they have NO BOTTOM TIME LIMITS - as long as you stay out of the deco range. That means for good breathers like me - I can do those 1 hr 15 minute dives on the reef if things are going well without cutting it short. Wondering to do that.

Now any criticisms - 1) Location - it's the East End - there's nothing there. Seriously - about 50 people live on that end of the island. You'll need a car. And plan on 1 hr to get there or get back to the airport. 2) Location, part 2 - there is a restaurant at the hotel, but only really one serious other choice on that end of the island. You have a subway and a fish stand. And one "mini-mart". So forget "last minute" planning for food. 3) Diving/Weather - the East End takes the brunt of the weather - and you should expect that from day to day - it's a last minute call as to whether the dive site will be open. Don't have your heart set on any location - it really can get rough on that end of the island. 4) Other activities - this hotel is designed for one purpose - diving. If you plan on going to Grand Cayman and staying here and seeing other things - you are really going to be disappointed. This is world class diving and diving accommodations and nothing else. yes there's lawn chairs and you can read by the pool - but that's about it. no shopping and no nature walks, etc.

That said - i love diving the West End once a year and the East End once a year and stay here when I go to the East End. Have fun.

PS the best piece of advice I can give you if you are staying - right around the corner from the airport - right by the rental cars - a "Fosters" grocery store - it's the big one on the island. Stop there and stock up - and take it to the East End. you'll get the food you want - the Foster on the East End is really a "mini mart". Also - next door is a liquor store - get your beer and your wine there - there's a teeny tiny one on the East End with not as much selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Duane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    59
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
131
203
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

2 weekends ago I took my fiancé here for a romantic weekend. We are getting married on June 18. We stayed in unit 103 and it is cozy 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen and an AWESOME patio looking out at the Caribbean Sea and overlooking the dive dock where the dive boats leave.
Upstairs on their pool deck they have a GREAT little restaurant called Eagle Rays and whilst we did not eat there, we did stop in for some rum late in the evening and the menu looks delicious. It is operated by the same owner as Tukka - which I will review soon.
The room was very clean, quiet and the bed supper comfortable. They are also now part of the RCI exchange program so this gives many more travelers options.
The check in was so easy and friendly and check out equally as seamless.
Thanks to all who made this stay so AWESOME!!! Cannot wait to escape again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxJasdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There is nothing I can say that hasn't already been said. This place deserves all the accolades it is getting - superb dive operation, luxurious accommodations and great diving.

I will instead try to provide some practical advice for anyone contemplating a trip. You should be aware that although there is a restaurant on site and one across the road, there is nowhere within walking distance where you can get your breakfast (Eagle Rays opens at 11:30 am). This means that you have to come prepared to do your own thing. This is not a problem if you can stop at the Fosters Grocery store which is right by the airport to stock up on provisions. However, beware if you are arriving on a Sunday as there are no grocery stores open on the island that day. You may be able to get a few basics at a gas station but that's the only option. Aware of this, I did bring a suitcase full of food not only for breakfasts but also for lunches during the week where we might only have an hour or two between dives. I had researched the customs regulations and learned that there were no apparent restrictions on what you could bring in. I even brought in some frozen meat which is all legal under certain conditions which you can check out on the Cayman Islands customs website. What they don't tell you is that you will pay 22% duty on the declared value of anything that you are bringing with you that you don't intend to take home. This can apply to food, gifts for people, anything really. So, there was an easy solution to the problem of catering for breakfast but it meant a little extra $$$ and a long process at customs to pay the duty. Best advice, try not to arrive on a Sunday!

There are some good restaurants within a ten minute drive from the resort so you do have dining options for lunch and dinner. You should note that all restaurants appear to add a 15% service charge to the bill.It is easy to miss this as there is also a tip line on the credit card chit.

The East End, where the resort is located is quiet and peaceful and the driving not too challenging as there is essentially one road out from the airport and it is not too busy. A car rental will come with your accommodation but be aware that you will have to purchase a Caymanian driver's licence for $20 and make arrangements for your own insurance.

Re the condo, we were offered a choice of cleaning services. We opted for the basic no cleaning during the week, only daily trash pick up which worked perfectly for us. We had lots of towels and could easily wash them as required. If you want the full service, it's $70 a day.

We will be back at Compass Point. There are 55 dive sites of which we saw 14 during our week. They have a fun challenge to dive all 55 sites after which you are rewarded with a pair of special shorts and a gold medal. In the meantime, you collect stamps and stickers as you log your dives - clever marketing, I felt like a kid again collecting my cherished stickers. Don't get me wrong though, the operation could not have been more professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our second stay at Compass Point and we will return again I am sure. The staff is wonderful and the condos have everything you need to make your week easy and comfortable. We were in a one bedroom oceanfront deluxe, the water view is amazing and the large balcony makes you want to sit out there all day. They have added a restaurant since our last trip and it is very good. Have the Lionfish and help the reef! This place is a very good deal too, you can book a condo with a car and your diving all included for a great price. The best I have seen on the island!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a wonderful water view but the deluxe rooms have the bedroom on the balcony as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I came for a week. We had suite 119. It is directly across the street within 20 feet of the main office. At first we thought it might be too far away but soon realized it was the best place to be. Directly outside our sliding glass doors we had the hot tub, pool and b-b-q grill. I love to grill and the convenience was a delight. Believe me there is not a bad condo choice here. It is also very quiet if you like to sleep late a few days. We tried the Kittiwake Dive trip again and was guided this time by Kevin who gave us a fantastic tour. On Wednesday we did the 3 Tank Safari with Dez and Captain Elliot. What a treat to go to dive sites that we have never been to before. Lunch was served onboard that we pre-ordered and it was very good. Our entire week was very pleasurable. Steve and Mo have put together a team of people that are committed to providing exceptional service. Special shout out goes to TJ who provided assistance to my wife who had a mechanical malfunction with her regulator. TJ took on the responsibility of making sure the best Scubapro Tech (Adam) at Divers Supply gave her regulator a thorough examination. Two days later her regulator was back and good as new. Thanks TJ you are wonderful. All of our dives were most enjoyable. We had Brittany, Paul, Elliot and Des as our crew. They are very professional and experienced. And very entertaining. We are already booked in October for Suite 119 for two weeks. Can't wait!!!!

Room Tip: They are all great. Suite 119 is first floor on of the closest to hot tub, pool and grill. This su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacayRUs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Everything was fantastic! Dive Master James performed just swimmingly and the skipper Matt was great! Have lion fish pan seared at the over the edge cafe, delicious! Snorkel under the pier u will be surprised what u find.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level Contributor
298 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at Compass Point -- we found an excellent resort/dive/rental car combo at an extremely reasonable price for our first visit to Grand Cayman. We prefer to stay at a quiet hotel/resort with an onsite dive operation for convenience, and Ocean Frontiers was exactly that (see my review of Ocean Frontiers). Thanks to Lesley for helping us reserve a fantastic dive trip and find our way from the airport.

If you are looking for night life and lots of people and cars and places to go, East End is not for you (try Seven Mile Beach/West End instead).

It's not too often I walk into a room and say, 'wow', but Compass Point really impressed.

We stayed in building #2 (nine 2-bedroom 2-bath condos over three floors, all with roomy balcony and ocean view), room 213. Incredibly bright and clean, lovely decor in a butter yellow/tropical theme. Large bedrooms with large closets and comfy beds, with two two-drawer bedside tables (each with lamps) and a large dresser topped with a large mirror. Large bathrooms complete with whirlpool soaking tub and glass shower doors with plenty of towels of all sizes (including pool/beach) and a blow dryer. Modern roomy kitchen-completely well-equipped-with stainless steel frig, microwave, oven with cooktop stove and dishwasher (we only missed small frying pans for our scrambies). Open concept to the dining room and living room with flat-screen TV with cable; DVD player, small library of paperback books courtesy of the travelers between two murphy beds; portable 'boom box'. A/C worked very well (we used it overnights).

The bathrooms come with small soaps but no shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.

I'm hoping Compass Point's website lists everything this great condo has inside to help divers fighting luggage weight limits pack appropriately.

Our room's safe was being replaced, but we didn't miss it (seemed very safe).

Larger pool is conveniently located across the street with many lounge chairs and a hot tub, as well as a pool building offering shade over two tables and a unisex bathroom. A gas grill is also located here.

We shopped at Foster's IGA on the way to Compass Point. Amazed at the selection. Very much like shopping at a US grocery store, but also included some local selections (like local eggs). Bring your grocery bags or pay 5 cents (as of this writing) per plastic bag. We shopped for breakfast (pre-dives) and some lunches. Compass Points provides 'starter' supplies (like paper towels, small package of Surf laundry detergent, salt/pepper in the smallest shakers I've ever seen, dishwasher soap). Washer/dryer (stacked) available and worked well, so we were able to go with the 'minimal' housekeeping. And probably could have packed less clothes.

Very nice to have a combination lock on the door (no key to lose or share).

Room phone is a local cell phone. I have Verizon Wireless and wasn't able to get cell service, but Compass Point provides free unsecured Wifi as well as the option to purchase cell phone credits (min $5CI) that came in handy for calling home and for local calls. Just remember to dial "#" first.

Eagle Rays is also conveniently located on site (see also my review) but is a separate entity (cannot charge to room, although you can arrange to have food delivered to your room). Enjoy the lionfish!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of the building have additional windows on the sides of the building. Building #2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannaqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Property: Compass Point Dive Resort
Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing